Drawings
The legend is not approved by the Office. Legends should contain as few words as possible and only be present where necessary for understanding of the drawing. See MPEP 608.02 V. (o).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the extremity resting surface transitioning to a first platform of the series of troughs of claim 1, the first platform and the second edge of the extremity resting surface transitioning to an intermediate platform of the series of troughs of claim 1, the intermediate platform transitioning to a bottom trough of the series of troughs of claim 1, a transition between the first platform and the second edge of the extremity resting surface being a sloped surface of claims 2 and 14, a suction canister configured to be fluidly connected to the hose of claims 8 and 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “330” has been used to designate cross-hatched surface and first bottom outer surface.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “332” has been used to designate cross-hatched surface and second bottom outer surface.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “326” has been used to designate cross-hatched surface and outer surface.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “124” has been used to designate suction port and suction portal.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “122” has been used to designate downward sloping ramp and extremity resting surface.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “146” has been used to designate edge and lower edge.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: first edge, second edge, first platform, intermediate platform, bottom trough.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation of claim 1 that “the extremity resting surface transitions to a first platform of the series of troughs” fails to comply with the written description requirement. The original disclosure provides “a generally downward sloping ramp 122 forming an extremity resting surface” and that “the forward portion of extremity resting surface 122 transitions to first and second side platforms 130, 132 through sloping surfaces 129, 131”. The extremity resting surface does not transition itself to a first platform of the series of troughs as claimed, but rather transitions through sloping surfaces.
The limitation of claim 1 that “the first platform and the second edge of the extremity resting surface transition to an intermediate platform” fails to comply with the written description requirement. The original discloses provides that “[p]latforms 130, 132 may, in turn, transition to an annular intermediate trough 134 through sloping side surfaces 138, 140”. The first platform does not transition itself to an intermediate platform of the series of troughs as claimed, but rather transitions through sloping surfaces.
The limitation of claims 2 and 14 of “transition between … the first platform and the second edge of the extremity resting surface … comprises a sloped surface” fails to comply with the written description requirement. From the original disclosure “edge 146 of extremity resting surface 122 smoothly transitions to annular intermediate trough 134”. There is no transition in the form of a sloped surface between the second edge of the extremity resting surface and the first platform.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of claim 2 that “at least one transition between the extremity resting surface and the first platform, the first platform and the second edge of the extremity resting surface, or the intermediate platform and the bottom trough comprises a sloped surface” while claim 1, from which claim 2 depends requires that “the extremity resting surface transitions to a first platform of the series of troughs, the first platform and the second edge of the extremity resting surface transition to an intermediate platform of the series of troughs” is led to be indefinite. It is unclear if the at least one transition comprising a sloped surface is in addition to the transitioning or if the claim requires both at least one transition comprising a sloped surface and the transitioning. Said another way does the extremity resting surface both transition to the first platform and have a transition comprising a sloped surface between the extremity resting surface and the first platform?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9, 12-15, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holloway (US 5381562).
Claim 1: Holloway discloses a basin 10 (article) for irrigating extremities, comprising: a bottom 14 comprising an adapter 82 (suction port) and a sump 44, channel 40, and top surface 22 (series of troughs); a plurality of sidewalls extending from the bottom 14 to define a basin and an open top, wherein at least one sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls defines a notch 38 (entry channel) configured to receive an extremity; and an extremity resting surface extending from the notch 38 (entry channel) and into the basin, the extremity resting surface having a first edge opposite a second edge, such that the extremity resting surface slopes downward from the first edge to the second edge, wherein: the extremity resting surface transitions to a first platform of the sump 44, channel 40, and top surface 22 (series of troughs), the first platform and the second edge of the extremity resting surface transition to an intermediate platform of the sump 44, channel 40, and top surface 22 (series of troughs) in as much as the claimed invention does, the intermediate platform transition to a sump 44 (bottom trough) of the sump 44, channel 40, and top surface 22 (series of troughs), and the sump 44 (bottom trough) is configured to transport one or both of: materials or fluids to the adapter 82 (suction port) (see annotated fig. 1-3 and 5 below).
Claim 2: Holloway discloses wherein the transition between the intermediate platform and the sump 44 (bottom trough) comprises a sloped surface in relation to at least the intermediate platform (see annotated fig. 1 above and fig. 5).
Claim 3: Holloway discloses wherein adjacent sidewalls of the plurality of sidewalls are joined by a curved section (see annotated fig. 2 above).
Claim 6: Holloway discloses wherein an outer surface of the bottom 14, underneath the first platform, defines a groove configured to engage with an edged platform and enable drainage of fluids in a downhill manner into the sump 44, channel 40, and top surface 22 (series of troughs) (see annotated fig. 2 above).
Claim 9: Holloway discloses a basin 10 (article) for irrigating extremities, comprising: a bottom 14 fluidly connected to an adapter 82 (suction port); a plurality of sidewalls extending from the bottom 14 to define a basin and an open top, wherein at least one sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls defines a notch 38 (entry channel) configured to receive an extremity; an extremity resting surface extending from the notch 38 (entry channel) and into the basin, the extremity resting surface having a first edge opposite a second edge, wherein the extremity resting surface slopes downward from the first edge to the second edge; and a sump 44, channel 40, and top surface 22 (plurality of troughs) within the bottom 14, wherein the sump 44, channel 40, and top surface 22 (plurality of troughs) have a plurality of levels and a plurality of sloping surfaces such that fluids are configured to flow off the extremity resting surface to the adapter 82 (suction port) (see annotated fig. 1-3 and 5 above).
Claim 12: Holloway discloses wherein the sump 44, channel 40, and top surface 22 (plurality of troughs) surround the extremity resting surface (see annotated fig. 5 above).
Claim 13: Holloway discloses wherein the sump 44, channel 40, and top surface 22 (plurality of troughs) comprises a first platform, an intermediate platform, and a sump 44 (bottom trough) configured to transport one or both of: materials or fluids to the adapter 82 (suction port) (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claim 14: Holloway discloses wherein the transition between the intermediate platform and the sump 44 (bottom trough) comprises a sloped surface in relation to at least the intermediate platform (see annotated fig. 1 above and fig. 5).
Claim 15: Holloway discloses wherein an outer surface of the bottom 14, underneath the first platform, defines a groove configured to engage with an edged platform and enable drainage of fluids in a downhill manner into the sump 44, channel 40, and top surface 22 (plurality of troughs) (see annotated fig. 3 above).
Claim 17: Holloway discloses wherein adjacent sidewalls of the plurality of sidewalls are joined by a curved section (see annotated fig. 2 above).
Claim 19: Holloway discloses a basin 10 (article) for irrigating extremities, comprising: a bottom 14; a plurality of sidewalls extending from the bottom 14 to define a basin and an open top, wherein at least one sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls defines a notch 38 (entry channel) configured to receive an extremity; an extremity resting surface extending from the notch 38 (entry channel) and into the basin, the extremity resting surface having a first edge opposite a second edge, wherein the extremity resting surface slopes downward from the first edge to the second edge; and a sump 44, channel 40, and top surface 22 (plurality of troughs) within the bottom 14, wherein the sump 44, channel 40, and top surface 22 (plurality of troughs) have a plurality of levels and a plurality of sloping surfaces such that fluids are configured to flow off the extremity resting surface to the bottom (see annotated fig. 1-3 and 5 above).
Claim 20: Holloway discloses an adapter 82 (suction port) fluidly connected to the basin, wherein the plurality of troughs comprises a first platform, an intermediate platform, and a sump 44 (bottom trough) configured to transport one or both of: materials or fluids to the adapter 82 (suction port) (see annotated fig. 1 above and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8, 10-11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holloway (US 5381562) further in view of Tapadiya (US 20040225265).
Claim 5: Holloway does not disclose wherein the bottom trough is fluidly connected to the suction port through a passageway through a sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls.
Tapadiya teaches a basin 10 for irrigation of a wound having a base 11 and wall 12 defining a cavity 13, the basin 10 further having a unitarily formed convertible portion 19 along the periphery of the basin 10 or on the base 11 where the convertible portion 19 defines a channel 19b extending therethrough (see P. 0106 and fig. 2E).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have to have modified the drainage system 80 to have replaced the adapter 82, washer ring 84, and nut 86 with a threaded portion 82a unitarily formed with panel 72 akin to the formation of the unitarily formed convertible portion 19, as taught by Tapadiya, in order to reduce assembly steps and associated costs.
The combination results in the sump 44 (bottom trough) being fluidly connected to the threaded portion 82a (suction port) through a passageway through a sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls which extends through panel 72.
Claim 8: Holloway discloses a hose 46 configured to be fluidly connected to the adapter 82 (suction port) (see fig. 6).
Holloway does not disclose a suction canister configured to be fluidly connected to the hose.
Tapadiya teaches a suction source 10 (suction canister) connected to a first end of a suction hose 112 whose second end 114 is connected to a fluid and debris collection device 116 (fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided a suction source 10 (suction canister) configured to be fluidly connected to the hose 46, as taught by Tapadiya, in order to more quickly drain the basin.
Claim 10: Holloway does not disclose wherein the bottom is fluidly connected to the suction port through a passageway, such that the fluids are configured to flow off of the extremity resting surface through the passageway to the suction port.
Tapadiya teaches a basin 10 for irrigation of a wound having a base 11 and wall 12 defining a cavity 13, the basin 10 further having a unitarily formed convertible portion 19 along the periphery of the basin 10 or on the base 11 where the convertible portion 19 defines a channel 19b extending therethrough (see P. 0106 and fig. 2E).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have to have modified the drainage system 80 to have replaced the adapter 82, washer ring 84, and nut 86 with a threaded portion 82a unitarily formed with panel 72 akin to the formation of the unitarily formed convertible portion 19, as taught by Tapadiya, in order to reduce assembly steps and associated costs.
The combination results in the bottom 14 being fluidly connected to the threaded portion 82a (suction port) through a passageway through a sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls which extends through panel 72, such that the fluids are configured to flow off of the extremity resting surface through the passageway to the threaded portion 82a (suction port).
Claim 11: Holloway does not disclose the suction port is separated from the bottom by an upwardly extending sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls.
Tapadiya teaches a basin 10 for irrigation of a wound having a base 11 and wall 12 defining a cavity 13, the basin 10 further having a unitarily formed convertible portion 19 along the periphery of the basin 10 or on the base 11 where the convertible portion 19 defines a channel 19b extending therethrough (see P. 0106 and fig. 2E).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have to have modified the drainage system 80 to have replaced the adapter 82, washer ring 84, and nut 86 with a threaded portion 82a unitarily formed with panel 72 akin to the formation of the unitarily formed convertible portion 19, as taught by Tapadiya, in order to reduce assembly steps and associated costs.
The combination results in the threaded portion 82a (suction port) being separated from the bottom 14 by an upwardly extending sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls at panel 72.
Claim 18: See claim 8 above.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 6398062) further in view of Holloway (US 5381562)
Claim 9: Jones discloses a basin 10 (article) for irrigating extremities, comprising: a bottom having a trough 14; a plurality of sidewalls extending from the bottom to define a basin and an open top, wherein at least one sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls defines an entry channel configured to receive an extremity; and an extremity resting surface extending from the entry channel and into the basin, the extremity resting surface having a first edge opposite a second edge, wherein the extremity resting surface slopes downward from the first edge to the second edge (see annotated fig. 1 below).
Jones does not disclose bottom fluidly connected to a suction port or a plurality of troughs within the bottom, wherein the plurality of troughs have a plurality of levels and a plurality of sloping surfaces such that fluids are configured to flow off the extremity resting surface to the suction port.
Holloway teaches a basin 10 having a bottom 14 with a channel 40 and sump 44 (bottom trough) located opposite a seat 36 and configured to transport fluid to a drainage system 80 (suction port) located in the inner sidewall portion 28 (see fig. 1 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the basin 10 (article) to have a sump 44 in the annotated bottom located oppositely from the entry channel and to have provided a drainage system 80 (suction port) in the sidewall located oppositely from the entry channel and in communication with the sump 44, as taught by Holloway, in order to permit drainage of fluids from the basin 10 (article).
The combination discloses the bottom fluidly connected to a drainage system 80 (suction port) and a trough 14 and sump 44 (plurality of troughs), within the bottom, wherein the trough 14 and sump 44 (plurality of troughs) have a bottom 16 and bottom of sump 44 (plurality of levels) and an inner wall 22 and side of sump 44 (plurality of sloping surfaces) such that fluids are configured to flow off the extremity resting surface to the drainage system 80 (suction port).
Claim(s) 1, 6, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 6398062) further in view of Holloway (US 5381562) and Dominguez (US 20110225726).
Claim 1: Jones discloses a basin 10 (article) for irrigating extremities, comprising: a bottom having a bottom 16; a plurality of sidewalls extending from the bottom to define a basin and an open top, wherein at least one sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls defines an entry channel configured to receive an extremity; and an extremity resting surface extending from the entry channel and into the basin, the extremity resting surface having a first edge opposite a second edge, such that the extremity resting surface slopes downward from the first edge to the second edge (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Jones does not disclose the bottom comprising a suction port and a series of troughs, the extremity resting surface transitions to a first platform of the series of troughs, the first platform and the second edge of the extremity resting surface transition to an intermediate platform of the series of troughs, the intermediate platform transition to a bottom trough of the series of troughs, and the bottom trough is configured to transport one or both of: materials or fluids to the suction port.
Holloway teaches a basin 10 having a bottom 14 with a channel 40 and sump 44 (bottom trough) located opposite a seat 36 and configured to transport fluid to a drainage system 80 (suction port) located in the inner sidewall portion 28 (see fig. 1 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the basin 10 (article) to have a sump 44 (bottom trough) in the annotated bottom located oppositely from the entry channel and to have provided a drainage system 80 (suction port) in the sidewall located oppositely from the entry channel and in communication with the sump 44 (bottom trough), as taught by Holloway, in order to permit drainage of fluids from the basin 10 (article).
Dominguez teaches a basin 10 having an end wall 22 with a first appendage contour 42 and a bottom 32 with a first platform including baffles 34 transitioning to an intermediate platform, in as much as the claimed invention does (see annotated fig. 1 below and fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the annotated bottom to have the first platform including baffles 34, as taught by Dominguez, in order to slow the flow of fluids and aid in allowing items to precipitate out from the flowing fluids.
The combination discloses the bottom comprising a drainage system 80 (suction port) and a series of troughs, the extremity resting surface transitions to a first platform [see annotated fig. 1 ‘726 below] of the series of troughs, the first platform and the second edge of the extremity resting surface transition to the bottom 16 (intermediate platform) of the series of troughs, the bottom 16 (intermediate platform) transition to a sump 44 (bottom trough) of the series of troughs, and the sump 44 (bottom trough) is configured to transport one or both of: materials or fluids to the drainage system 80 (suction port).
Claim 6: The combination discloses wherein an outer surface of the bottom, underneath the first platform, defines a groove configured to engage with some edged platform and enable drainage of fluids in a downhill manner into the series of troughs (see annotated fig. 10 ‘726 below).
Claim 13: The combination discloses wherein the trough 14 and sump 44 (bottom trough) (plurality of troughs) comprises a bottom 16 (intermediate platform), and sump 44 (bottom trough) configured to transport one or both of: materials or fluids to the drainage system 80 (suction port).
The combination does not disclose a first platform.
Dominguez teaches a basin 10 having an end wall 22 with a first appendage contour 42 and a bottom 32 with a first platform including baffles 34 transitioning to an intermediate platform, in as much as the claimed invention does (see annotated fig. 1 below and fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the annotated bottom to have the first platform including baffles 34, as taught by Dominguez, in order to slow the flow of fluids and aid in allowing items to precipitate out from the flowing fluids.
Claim 15: See claim 6 above.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 6398062), Holloway (US 5381562), and Dominguez (US 20110225726) further in view of Gathers (US 20160213562).
Claim 7: The combination discloses the claimed invention except wherein at least a portion of the outer surface of the bottom has a textured surface.
Gathers teaches a basin assembly 300 having a tub portion 301 with a substantially flat base 302 with protruding waveform shapes 302TP to provide an anti-slip feature (see P. 0085 and fig. 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the outer surface of the bottom to include the protruding waveform shapes 302TP resulting in it being textured to enhance frictional gripping, as taught by Gathers, in order to help prevent the article from shifting during use.
Claim 16: See claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 6398062), Holloway (US 5381562), and Dominguez (US 20110225726) further in view of Stephens (US 20190175432).
Claim 4: The combination discloses the claimed invention except for at least a portion of a sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls defining a semi-circular sidewall surrounding the suction port.
Stephens teaches a limb irrigation pan device 10 having a nozzle 52 that extends through an end panel 14, wherein the end panel 14 has a drain slot 56 defining a semi-circular sidewall surrounding the nozzle 52 (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the sidewall to have a drain slot 56 defining a semi-circular sidewall surrounding the drainage system 80 (suction port), as taught by Stephens, in order to provide some protection from impacts around the now recessed drainage system 80 (suction port).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150328393 and US 20120222210 are considered pertinent to semi-circular sidewalls surrounding suction ports.
/ALLAN D STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736