DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 (Fig.1) in the reply filed on 10/28/2025 remains acknowledged.
Claims 1-15 and 17 are canceled.
Claims 16 and 18-31 are examined below.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 16 and 18-31 set forth limitations that meet the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181 (I) and will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder “actuating drive” that is coupled with functional language without claiming sufficient structure to perform the recited functions. Such claim limitations are as follows:
Claim 16. “wherein in a first starting operation, the actuating drive operates the drive motor and the locking motor asynchronously”.
Claim 16. “wherein in a normal operation, the actuating drive operates the drive motor and the locking motor synchronously”.
Claim 16. “wherein in a second starting operation, the actuating drive activates the drive motor first, and the actuating drive activates the locking motor only after activating the drive motor”.
Claim 20 depends from claim 16 and further limits the actuating drive function “wherein the drive motor and the locking motor are operated during a restart after a period of inactivity and/or upon a reversal of a direction of rotation of the actuating drive, first in the first starting operation and, thereafter, in the normal operation.
Claim 21 depends from claim 16 and further limits the actuating drive function “wherein during the normal operation, the locking motor is operated such that a first tooth flank of a third transmission element of the locking transmission precedes a corresponding first tooth flank of a second transmission element of the locking transmission and/or that a second tooth flank of the third transmission element follows a corresponding second tooth flank of the second transmission element.”
Claims 22. “wherein the first starting operation in order to avoid or release a blockage of the locking transmission, energizes the locking motor first and, after a first time frame, energizes the drive motor, the first time frame being stored in the actuating drive.”
Claim 23 depends from claim 22 and further limits the actuating drive function “wherein the locking motor is energized first in the first starting operation such that a third transmission element of the locking transmission is rotated in a direction of rotation which corresponds to a planned actuating motion of the actuating drive, so that a tooth flank of the third transmission element that is adjacent to or in contact with a corresponding tooth flank of a second transmission element of the locking transmission moves away from the corresponding tooth flank of the second transmission element.”
Claim 24 depends from claim 23 and further limits the actuating drive function “wherein the drive motor is energized in the first starting operation after the first time frame such that the second transmission element is rotated in a direction of rotation that corresponds to the planned actuating motion of the actuating drive, so that the tooth flank of the second transmission element follows the corresponding tooth flank of the third transmission element.”
Claim 25 depends from claim 24 and further limits the actuating drive function “wherein the first time frame is established and/or determined such that rotation of the second transmission element begins before another tooth flank of the third transmission element, which is moving towards the corresponding tooth flank of the second transmission element, collides with the corresponding tooth flank of the second transmission element.”
Claim 26 depends from claim 16 and further limits the actuating drive function “the locking motor is energized and simultaneously with or after the energization of the locking motor, reverse the direction of the rotation of the drive motor”.
Claim 27 depends from claim 26 and further limits the actuating drive function “wherein the drive motor is energized first in the second starting operation such that a second transmission element of the locking transmission is rotated in a direction of rotation that corresponds to or is opposite a planned actuating motion of the actuating drive, so that a tooth flank of the second transmission element that is adjacent to or in contact with a corresponding tooth flank of a third transmission element of the locking transmission moves away from the corresponding tooth flank of the third transmission element.”
Claim 28 depends from claim 27 and further limits the actuating drive function “wherein the drive motor, in the second starting operation, when the second transmission element has been rotated in a direction of rotation opposite the planned actuating motion of the actuating drive, is subsequently energized such that the direction of rotation thereof reverses, so that the second transmission element rotates in the direction of rotation corresponding to the planned actuating motion of the actuating drive.”
Claim 29 depends from claim 27 and further limits the actuating drive function “wherein the locking motor is energized in the second starting operation after a second time frame such that the third transmission element is rotated in a direction of rotation that corresponds to the planned actuating motion of the actuating drive so that the tooth flank of the third transmission element follows the corresponding tooth flank of the second transmission element.”
Claim 30 depends from claim 27 and further limits the actuating drive function “wherein a second time frame is established and/or determined such that the rotation of the third transmission element begins before another tooth flank of the second transmission element, which is moving towards the corresponding tooth flank of the third transmission element, collides with the corresponding tooth flank of the third transmission element.”
Claim 31. “wherein in a first starting operation, the actuating drive operates the drive motor and the locking motor asynchronously, wherein the first starting operation in order to avoid and/or release a blockage of the locking transmission, energize the locking motor first and, after a first time frame, energize the drive motor, the first time frame being stored in the actuating drive, wherein the locking motor is energized first in the first starting operation such that a third transmission element of the locking transmission is rotated in a direction of rotation which corresponds to a planned actuating motion of the actuating drive, so that a tooth flank of the third transmission element that is adjacent to or in contact with a corresponding tooth flank of a second transmission element of the locking transmission moves away from the corresponding tooth flank of the second transmission element, and wherein the drive motor is energized in the first starting operation after the first time frame such that the second transmission element is rotated in a direction of rotation that corresponds to the planned actuating motion of the actuating drive, so that the tooth flank of the second transmission element follows the corresponding tooth flank of the third transmission element.”
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they should be interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. However, as detailed in the 35 USC 112(a) and 112(b) rejections elsewhere below, applicant’s specification describes the actuating drive as comprising a control unit for performing the functions but fails to set forth any control unit structure capable of performing the claimed functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 16 and 18-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 16, 20-31 have been amended on 7/13/2026 to delete the multiple recitations of a “control unit” throughout the claims and amend the functions previously ascribed thereto to be performed by the broader “actuating drive” invention instead. This change constitutes new matter. The application as originally filed disclosed only the control unit as performing the functions. While the actuating drive is originally disclosed as comprising the control unit, there is no original disclosure of the broader actuating drive on the whole performing the functions nor any component of the actuating drive, other than the control unit, performing the functions. Applicant’s burden under 112(a) is to establish possessing of the full broad scope of the claim via a reduction to practice, drawings and/or written description.
Claim 16 and 20-31 recite numerous limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). See “Claim Interpretation” section above, which is incorporated herein by reference. However, applicant does not appear to have had possession of an “actuating drive” as claimed to be capable of performing the claimed functions thereof. The written description discloses that the actuating drive comprises a “control unit” but only describes the control unit in general terms without any description of any mechanical, computing or other control unit structure that can achieve all of the claimed functions. The functions claimed and disclosed as being achieved by the “control unit” amount to a description of the outcome, not a means for achieving that outcome as is required to establish possession. Note that the “control unit” is not disclosed to be of any particular type of means (e.g., mechanical, computer, etc.) such that applicant’s burden under 35 USC 112(a) is to establish possession of the full breadth of the claim. See the prior art references listed in the conclusion elsewhere below that establish the broad scope of a control unit to encompass not only computer/algorithm control but also purely mechanical or user control, etc. It is noted that applicant’s specification discloses “The control unit 29 is electrically connected to the drive motor 3 via a first electrical line 30. Moreover, the locking motor 13 is electrically connected to the control unit 29 via a second electrical line 31”. However, mere electrical connection is insufficient to perform the claimed functions. If applicant’s disclosed control unit is a computer of some type (though such is not expressly claimed or disclosed) note that a computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation requires express disclosure of the computing hardware as well as the algorithm necessary to achieve the functions. See MPEP 2181 II B.1
Claims 18 and 19 depend from claim 16 and are thus similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 16 and 18-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 16, 20, 21, 22, 26 and 31 have been amended to rewrite numerous functions of the actuating drive by replacing the functional term “35 U.S.C. 112(b) since it unclear whether infringement occurs when one creates the apparatus or only after one actually uses the apparatus.
Claim 16 and 20-31 recite numerous limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). See “Claim Interpretation” section above, which is incorporated herein by reference. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The claimed “actuating drive” as claimed is not sufficient to perform the functions. The written description discloses that the actuating drive comprises a “control unit” but only describes the control unit in general terms without any description of any mechanical, computing or other control unit structure that is capable of achieving all of the claimed functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See MPEP 2161.01(I).2
The remaining claims 18 and 19 depend from claim 16 and are thus similarly unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 and 18-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Masaki US6053833.
Claim 16. An actuating drive for an electrical assembly of a motor vehicle, the actuating drive comprising: a drive train (fig.1) including a drive transmission (4) and a drive motor (8) configured to drive the drive transmission; and a locking unit (6, 13) configured to lock the drive train, the locking unit including a self-locking locking transmission (6, 13) that is operatively connected to the drive transmission, and a locking motor (9) configured to drive the locking transmission; wherein in a first starting operation, the actuating drive operates the drive motor and the locking motor asynchronously, wherein in a normal operation, the actuating drive operates the drive motor and the locking motor synchronously, wherein in a second starting operation, the actuating drive activates the drive motor first, and the actuating drive activates the locking motor only after activating the drive motor. Note: Since all of the claimed actuating drive structure (bolded above) is present in the prior art, the prior art structure must be presumed to be inherently capable of performing the claimed functions (italicized above and elsewhere in the dependent claims below) thereby establishing a prima farcie case and shifting burden to applicant to obtain/test the prior art actuating drive and prove the contrary in accordance with MPEP 2112.01 and 2114.
Claim 18. The actuating drive according to claim 16, wherein: a first transmission element (4), a second transmission element (6), and/or a fourth transmission element (gear between 4 and 6) of the actuating drive are jointly in the form of a corotational unit (4, 6 and gear between 4 and 6); and the corotational unit is mounted rotatably about a common axis (axis of 4, 6 and gear between 4 and 6) of rotation of the actuating drive.
Claim 19. The actuating drive according to claim 16, wherein the locking motor is smaller and/or has lower electrical power (when powered off) than the drive motor (when powered on).
Claim 20. The actuating drive according to claim 16, wherein the drive motor and the locking motor are operated during a restart after a period of inactivity and/or upon a reversal of a direction of rotation of the actuating drive, first in the first starting operation and, thereafter, in the normal operation. See the note at end of the explanation of claim 16 above regarding inherency of functional limitations.
Claim 21. The actuating drive according to claim 16, wherein during the normal operation, the locking motor is operated such that a first tooth flank of a third transmission element of the locking transmission precedes a corresponding first tooth flank of a second transmission element of the locking transmission and/or that a second tooth flank of the third transmission element follows a corresponding second tooth flank of the second transmission element. See the note at end of the explanation of claim 16 above regarding inherency of functional limitations.
Claim 22. The actuating drive according to claim 16, wherein the first starting operation in order to avoid and/or release a blockage of the locking transmission, energizes the locking motor first and, after a first time frame, energizes the drive motor, the first time frame being stored in the actuating drive. See the note at end of the explanation of claim 16 above regarding inherency of functional limitations.
Claim 23. The actuating drive according to claim 22, wherein the locking motor is energized first in the first starting operation such that a third transmission element of the locking transmission is rotated in a direction of rotation which corresponds to a planned actuating motion of the actuating drive, so that a tooth flank of the third transmission element that is adjacent to or in contact with a corresponding tooth flank of a second transmission element of the locking transmission moves away from the corresponding tooth flank of the second transmission element. See the note at end of the explanation of claim 16 above regarding inherency of functional limitations.
Claim 24. The actuating drive according to claim 23, wherein the drive motor is energized in the first starting operation after the first time frame such that the second transmission element is rotated in a direction of rotation that corresponds to the planned actuating motion of the actuating drive, so that the tooth flank of the second transmission element follows the corresponding tooth flank of the third transmission element. See the note at end of the explanation of claim 16 above regarding inherency of functional limitations.
Claim 25. The actuating drive according to claim 24, wherein the first time frame is established and determined such that rotation of the second transmission element begins before another tooth flank of the third transmission element, which is moving towards the corresponding tooth flank of the second transmission element, collides with the corresponding tooth flank of the second transmission element. See the note at end of the explanation of claim 16 above regarding inherency of functional limitations.
Claim 26. The actuating drive according to claim 16, wherein the locking motor is energized and simultaneously with or after the energization of the locking motor, reverse the direction of rotation of the drive motor. See the note at end of the explanation of claim 16 above regarding inherency of functional limitations.
Claim 27. The actuating drive according to claim 26, wherein the drive motor is energized first in the second starting operation such that a second transmission element of the locking transmission is rotated in a direction of rotation that corresponds to or is opposite a planned actuating motion of the actuating drive, so that a tooth flank of the second transmission element that is adjacent to or in contact with a corresponding tooth flank of a third transmission element of the locking transmission moves away from the corresponding tooth flank of the third transmission element. See the note at end of the explanation of claim 16 above regarding inherency of functional limitations.
Claim 28. The actuating drive according to claim 27, wherein the drive motor, in the second starting operation, when the second transmission element has been rotated in a direction of rotation opposite the planned actuating motion of the actuating drive, is subsequently energized such that the direction of rotation thereof reverses, so that the second transmission element rotates in the direction of rotation corresponding to the planned actuating motion of the actuating drive. See the note at end of the explanation of claim 16 above regarding inherency of functional limitations.
Claim 29. The actuating drive according to claim 27, wherein the locking motor is energized in the second starting operation after a second time frame such that the third transmission element is rotated in a direction of rotation that corresponds to the planned actuating motion of the actuating drive so that the tooth flank of the third transmission element follows the corresponding tooth flank of the second transmission element. See the note at end of the explanation of claim 16 above regarding inherency of functional limitations.
Claim 30. The actuating drive according to claim 27, wherein a second time frame is established and/or determined such that the rotation of the third transmission element begins before another tooth flank of the second transmission element, which is moving towards the corresponding tooth flank of the third transmission element, collides with the corresponding tooth flank of the third transmission element. See the note at end of the explanation of claim 16 above regarding inherency of functional limitations.
Claim 31 recites limitations that are present throughout claims 16 and 22-24. Accordingly, claim 31 is suggested by the art in a manner substantially similar to that described above for claims 16 and 22-24.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the claims have been amended to delete the “control unit” such that the 35 U.S.C. 112 issues related thereto have been overcome. This is not persuasive. Applicant has deleted the term “control unit” but has reassigned the functions previously performed thereby to the broader “actuating drive” invention, which was not originally disclosed and thus constitutes new matter as detailed in the rejections elsewhere above. Additionally, the “actuating drive” now serves as a generic place holder to perform the functions in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) since the claims do not recite actuating drive structure that is sufficient to perform the functions. The claims still fail to comply with 35 USC 112(a) and 112(b) since the specification still fails to establish possession and clarify what material or acts are necessary to perform the claimed functions (computer?/algorithm?, mechanical controller?, etc.), which is required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) regardless of whether 35 U.S.C 112(f) is invoked or not.
Applicant argues that the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection should be withdrawn since the Masaki prior art actuating drive is disclosed to function in a manner that differs from the actuating drive functions recited in applicant’s claims. This is not persuasive. Masaki discloses all of applicant’s claimed actuating drive structural elements (see bolded elements in rejection above) and thus must be presumed to be inherently capable of performing applicant’s claimed functions/properties thereby establishing a prima fascia case of anticipation and shifting burden to applicant to obtain/test the prior art and submit evidence proving otherwise in accordance with MPEP 2112.01 and 2114. The fact that Masaki is capable of performing functions that are in addition to those claimed by applicant does not establish incapability in Masaki for the claimed functions. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997), wherein a prior art conical top of Harz was found to be inherently capable of performing Schreiber’s claimed popcorn kernel dispensing functions, despite Harz disclosure of a different oil dispensing function.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on the attached PTO-892 and not relied upon above is considered pertinent to applicant's application. More particularly, the scope of a control unit is not necessarily/inherently a computer/algorithm but could also encompass purely mechanical control or user control as follows:
US7500758 states “The optics controller 34 is an electronic or electromechanical device for controlling the position of elements within the projection optics 30 in response to control signals generated by the user. In alternative embodiments, the optics controller may be a purely mechanical device…” and “…user controls…” (emphasis added).
US20050098236 states “The controller may be purely mechanical or an electronic control device.” (emphasis added)
US7500758 states “The controllers may be purely mechanical devices which operate mechanical responses.” (emphasis added)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTOR L MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618
1 MPEP 2181 II B states, in parts, “An algorithm is defined, for example, as ‘a finite sequence of steps for solving a logical or mathematical problem or performing a task… Applicant may express the algorithm in any understandable terms including as a mathematical formula, in prose, in a flow chart, or in any other manner that provides sufficient structure… In several Federal Circuit cases, the patentees argued that the requirement for the disclosure of an algorithm can be avoided if one of ordinary skill in the art is capable of writing the software to convert a general purpose computer to a special purpose computer to perform the claimed function… Such argument was found to be unpersuasive because the understanding of one skilled in the art does not relieve the patentee of the duty to disclose sufficient structure to support means-plus-function claim terms… A patentee cannot avoid providing specificity as to structure simply because someone of ordinary skill in the art would be able to devise a means to perform the claimed function… [C]onsideration of the understanding of one skilled in the art in no way relieves the patentee of adequately disclosing sufficient structure in the specification… The specification must explicitly disclose the algorithm for performing the claimed function, and simply reciting the claimed function in the specification will not be a sufficient disclosure for an algorithm which, by definition, must contain a sequence of steps… language that simply describes the function to be performed describes an outcome, not a means for achieving that outcome… implicit or inherent disclosure of a class of algorithms for performing the claimed functions is not sufficient, and the purported "one-step" algorithm is not an algorithm at all”.
2 See MPEP 2161.01(I) which states that if the specification does not provide a disclosure of sufficient corresponding structure, materials, or acts that perform the entire claimed function of a means- (or step-) plus- function limitation in a claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) the applicant has in effect failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention as required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) must be made in addition to the written description rejection. The MPEP citing In re Donaldson Co., 16 F.3d 1189, 1195, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1850 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (en banc). See also MPEP 2181(II)(B) which further regards computer-implemented Means-plus-function limitations.