DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Claims 1-11, in the reply filed on July 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
As such, Invention II, Claims 12-20, are hereby withdrawn.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“imaging element” in Claims 1-5, 7, 9 & 11, as described in Applicant’s specification in Para. [0038].
“marking feature” in Claims 1 & 5, as described in Applicant’s specification in Para. [0048].
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nimkar et al. (hereinafter "Nimkar") (US 2014/0228636).
Regarding Claim 1, Nimkar discloses an imaging apparatus (Fig. 1, an imaging system 10; [0027]), comprising
a capsule (Fig. 1, a balloon 112; [0031]) having a first end (Fig. 1, a proximal end 116; [0031]) and a second end (Fig. 1, a distal end 117; [0031]) opposite to the first end (the proximal end 116 is opposite the distal end 117; [0031]);
a sheath (Fig. 1, an elongate shaft 110; [0030]), mechanically coupled with the first end (Fig. 1, the elongate shaft 110 is fastened to the proximal end 116 of the balloon 112; [0029] – [0031]), and associated with a catheter body (Fig. 1, the elongate shaft 110 is slidingly disposed in an endoscope 20; [0030]);
an imaging element (Fig. 1, an imaging assembly 115; [0039]) positioned between the first end and the second end (the imaging assembly 115 is positioned between the proximal end 116 and the distal end 117; see Fig. 1), the imaging element being configured to provide an imaging radiation to a distal tissue and to collect a scattered radiation from the distal tissue (Fig. 1, the imaging assembly 115 produces a three-dimensional image of a lumen L using OCT; [0040]); and
a marking feature (Fig. 1, a plurality of markers 151 and 156-158; [0033] & [0035]) disposed on the capsule (Fig. 1, the plurality of markers 151 and 156-158 are disposed on an outer surface 113 of the balloon 112; [0033]), the marking feature configured to provide at least one fiduciary mark for each full rotation of the imaging element in an image formed with the scattered radiation (Fig. 1, the plurality of markers 151 and 156-158 form reference points, for each 360° rotation of the balloon 112, in the three dimensional image of the lumen L; [0034]).
Regarding Claim 3, Nimkar discloses the imaging apparatus of Claim 1. Nimkar further discloses wherein the sheath houses a torque coil (Fig. 1, an inner member 111; [0053]) configured to provide a rotating motion to the imaging element (Fig. 1, the inner member 111 rotates the imaging assembly 115; [0053]).
Regarding Claim 4, Nimkar discloses the imaging apparatus of Claim 1. Nimkar further discloses a window (Fig. 1, a wall 107 of the balloon 112; [0033]) to protect the imaging element from the distal tissue (Fig. 1, the wall 107 protects the imaging assembly 115; [0054]), the window being transparent to the imaging radiation and to the scattered radiation (Fig. 1, the wall 107 is transparent; [0034]).
Regarding Claim 5, Nimkar discloses the imaging apparatus of Claim 1. Nimkar further discloses wherein the marking feature comprises at least two non-parallel lines (Fig. 1, a first marker 156 and a second marker 157, wherein the first marker 156 is angled obtusely to the second marker 157; [0035] & [0037]) forming at least two fiduciary marks for each full rotation of the imaging element (Fig. 1, the first marker 156 and the second marker 157 each form a longitudinal registration information, for each 360° rotation of the balloon 112, in the three dimensional image of the lumen L; [0040]), the at least two fiduciary marks separated by a distance indicative of a longitudinal position of the imaging element relative to the first end and the second end (Fig. 1, the first marker 156 and the second marker 157 are separated by a distance indicative of a longitudinal position of the imaging assembly 115 relative to the proximal end 116 and the distal end 117; [0040] & [0041]).
Regarding Claim 8, Nimkar discloses the imaging apparatus of Claim 1. Nimkar further discloses an outer sleeve (Fig. 1, a working channel 22 of the endoscope 20; [0030]) that at least partially encloses the sheath (Fig. 1, the elongate shaft 110 is slidingly disposed in the working channel 22 of the endoscope; [0030]).
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gora et al. (hereinafter "Gora") (US 2013/0310643).
Regarding Claim 1, in the alternative, Gora discloses an imaging apparatus (Fig. 1, an optical imaging capsule apparatus; [0057]), comprising
a capsule (Figs. 1 & 2, a capsule 150 comprising a proximal base 220, a window portion 225, a distal cap 230 and a relief tail 240; [0058], [0060] & [0063]) having a first end (Fig. 2, a proximal end comprising a proximal base 220 and a relief tail 240; [0063]) and a second end (Fig. 2, a distal cap 230; [0060]) opposite to the first end (the proximal end is opposite the distal cap 230; see Fig. 2);
a sheath (Figs. 1 & 2, a tether 145; [0060]), mechanically coupled with the first end (Fig. 2, the tether 145 is epoxied to the proximal end; [0063]), and associated with a catheter body (Fig. 2, the tether 145 is associated with a capsule catheter 140; [0058]);
an imaging element (Figs. 1 & 2, an optical core 190 disposed in a distal tube 215; [0065]) positioned between the first end and the second end (the distal tube 215, and therefore the optical core 190 therein, is positioned between the proximal end and the distal cap 230; see Fig. 2), the imaging element being configured to provide an imaging radiation to a distal tissue (Figs. 1 & 2, the optical core 190 is configured to deliver imaging light 155 to a tissue 180; [0059]), and to collect a scattered radiation from the distal tissue (Figs. 1 & 2, the optical core 190 is configured to collect reflected light 155 from the tissue 180; [0059]); and
a marking feature (Fig. 2, marks; [0062]) disposed on the capsule (Fig. 2, the marks are disposed on a window portion 225 of the capsule 150; [0062]), the marking feature configured to provide at least one fiduciary mark for each full rotation of the imaging element in an image formed with the scattered radiation (Figs. 1 & 2, the marks are configured to create an orientation feature, for each full rotation of the optical core 190, in an image formed from the reflected light 155; [0062]).
Regarding Claim 2, Gora discloses the imaging apparatus of Claim 1. Gora further discloses wherein a terminal portion of the capsule at the first end (Fig. 2, a relief tail 240 of the proximal end; [0063]) has a tapered end that has a section that curves toward a center of the terminal portion (the relief tail 240 tapers towards a center of the relief tail 240; see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, in the alternative, Gora discloses the imaging apparatus of Claim 1. Gora further discloses a window (Fig. 2, a window portion 225; [0060]) to protect the imaging element from the distal tissue (Fig. 2, the window portion 225 seals the optical core 190 from the tissue 180; [0060]), the window being transparent to the imaging radiation and to the scattered radiation (Fig. 2, the window portion 225 is optically transparent; [0062]).
Regarding Claim 6, Gora discloses the imaging apparatus of Claim 1. Gora further discloses wherein the second end has an enlarged end portion that has a width (a width of the distal cap 230; Fig. 2) that is greater than a width of the first end (a width of the relief tail 240; see Fig. 2) to facilitate a pull of the imaging apparatus through anatomical restrictions in the distal tissue (Fig. 2, the width of the distal cap 230 is greater than the width of the relief tail 240 and is therefore capable of facilitating a pull back of a distal portion of the optical imaging capsule apparatus through an esophagus; [0017]).
Regarding Claim 7, Gora discloses the imaging apparatus of Claim 1. Gora further discloses wherein the sheath encloses an optical drive shaft (Fig. 2, a driveshaft 200; [0065]) optically coupled to the imaging element (Figs. 1 & 2, an optical fiber (not labeled) of the driveshaft 200 is optically coupled to the optical core 190; [0015] & [0065]), the optical drive shaft configured to transmit the imaging radiation from a radiation source to the imaging element (Figs. 1 & 2, the optical fiber (not labeled) of the driveshaft 200 is configured to transmit the imaging light 155 from an imaging system 110 to the optical core 190; [0015] & [0065]) and to transmit the scattered radiation from the imaging element to a detector (Figs. 1 & 2, the optical fiber (not labeled) of the driveshaft 200 is configured to transmit the reflected light 155 from the optical core 190 to a detector of the imaging system 110; [0015] & [0059]).
Regarding Claim 9, Gora discloses the imaging apparatus of Claim 1. Gora further discloses wherein the sheath includes a lubricious material (Fig. 2, the tether 145 has a Teflon coating; [0064]) that facilitates at least one of a rotation or a translation of an optical drive shaft (Fig. 2, the Teflon coating facilitates a rotation of a driveshaft 200 disposed within the tether 145; [0065]) that provides a radiative coupling of the imaging element with a radiation source (Figs. 1 & 2, an optical fiber (not labeled) of the driveshaft 200 is configured to couple and transmit the imaging light 155 from an imaging system 110 to the optical core 190; [0015] & [0065]) and with a detector (Figs. 1 & 2, the optical fiber (not labeled) of the driveshaft 200 is configured to couple and transmit the reflected light 155 from the optical core 190 to a detector of the imaging system 110; [0015] & [0059]).
Regarding Claim 11, Gora discloses the imaging apparatus of Claim 1. Gora further discloses wherein the sheath comprises:
a first portion (Fig. 2, a first portion of the tether 145 which surrounds a proximal protective tube 210; [0065]) which is rigid (Fig. 2, the proximal protective tube 210 is made of metal and therefore would create rigidity; [0065]), and a second portion (Fig. 2, a second portion of the tether 145 which surrounds the driveshaft 200; [0065]) which is flexible (Fig. 2, the tether 145 is made of flexible material; [0058]), wherein the sheath extends along a longitudinal direction (the tether 145 extends longitudinally; see Fig. 2) and at least partially covers an optical drive shaft (Fig. 2, a driveshaft 200 disposed within the tether 145; [0065]) optically coupling the imaging element with an optical source (Figs. 1 & 2, an optical fiber (not labeled) of the driveshaft 200 is configured to couple and transmit the imaging light 155 from an imaging system 110 to the optical core 190; [0015] & [0065]) and a detector (Figs. 1 & 2, the optical fiber (not labeled) of the driveshaft 200 is configured to couple and transmit the reflected light 155 from the optical core 190 to a detector of the imaging system 110; [0015] & [0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nimkar et al. (hereinafter "Nimkar") (US 2014/0228636) in view of Bhagavatula et al. (hereinafter "Bhagavatula") (US 20150355413).
Regarding Claim 10, Nimkar discloses the imaging apparatus of Claim 1. Nimkar fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one portion of the sheath has at least one of a ridge or a groove with a helical configuration in a longitudinal direction.
However, Bhagavatula teaches an imaging apparatus (Fig. 3A, an OCT system 100; [0040]), comprising
a capsule (Figs. 3A & 5, an optical probe 20; [0046]) having a first end (Fig. 5, an end portion 22; [0046]);
a sheath (Fig. 3B, an integrated torque jacket 150; [0041]), mechanically coupled with the first end (Fig. 3A, a distal end 118 of the integrated torque jacket 150 is operably connected to the end portion 22 of the optical probe 20; [0046]), and associated with a catheter body (Fig. 3A, the integrated torque jacket 150 is disposed within a guide tube 50; [0047]);
an imaging element (Fig. 5, an optical fiber 112; [0041]) positioned in the capsule (a distal end of the optical fiber 112 is disposed within the optical probe 20; see Fig. 5), the imaging element being configured to provide an imaging radiation (Fig. 5, light 60; [0038]) to a distal tissue (Figs. 1 & 5, the optical fiber 112 provides the light 60 to a tissue 70; [0038]), and to collect a scattered radiation (Fig. 5, scattered light 60S; [0038]) from the distal tissue (Figs. 1 & 5, the optical fiber 112 collects the scattered light 60S from the tissue 70; [0038]); and
wherein at least one portion of the sheath (Fig. 4A, a bearing element 120 of the integrated torque jacket 150; [0043]) has at least one of a ridge or a groove (Fig. 4A, a plurality of grooves 124; [0052]) with a helical configuration in a longitudinal direction (the plurality of grooves 124 are disposed helically in a longitudinal direction; see Fig. 4A).
The advantage of the helically grooved bearings is to reduce friction between an inner surface of the catheter and an outer surface of the sheath.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the elongate sheath as disclosed by Nimkar, to include the helically grooved bearings taught by Bhagavatula, to reduce friction between an inner surface of the catheter and an outer surface of the sheath.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gora et al. (hereinafter "Gora") (US 2013/0310643) in view of Bhagavatula et al. (hereinafter "Bhagavatula") (US 20150355413).
Regarding Claim 10, in the alternative, Gora discloses the imaging apparatus of Claim 1. Gora fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one portion of the sheath has at least one of a ridge or a groove with a helical configuration in a longitudinal direction.
However, Bhagavatula teaches an imaging apparatus (Fig. 3A, an OCT system 100; [0040]), comprising
a capsule (Figs. 3A & 5, an optical probe 20; [0046]) having a first end (Fig. 5, an end portion 22; [0046]);
a sheath (Fig. 3B, an integrated torque jacket 150; [0041]), mechanically coupled with the first end (Fig. 3A, a distal end 118 of the integrated torque jacket 150 is operably connected to the end portion 22 of the optical probe 20; [0046]), and associated with a catheter body (Fig. 3A, the integrated torque jacket 150 is disposed within a guide tube 50; [0047]);
an imaging element (Fig. 5, an optical fiber 112; [0041]) positioned in the capsule (a distal end of the optical fiber 112 is disposed within the optical probe 20; see Fig. 5), the imaging element being configured to provide an imaging radiation (Fig. 5, light 60; [0038]) to a distal tissue (Figs. 1 & 5, the optical fiber 112 provides the light 60 to a tissue 70; [0038]), and to collect a scattered radiation (Fig. 5, scattered light 60S; [0038]) from the distal tissue (Figs. 1 & 5, the optical fiber 112 collects the scattered light 60S from the tissue 70; [0038]); and
wherein at least one portion of the sheath (Fig. 4A, a bearing element 120 of the integrated torque jacket 150; [0043]) has at least one of a ridge or a groove (Fig. 4A, a plurality of grooves 124; [0052]) with a helical configuration in a longitudinal direction (the plurality of grooves 124 are disposed helically in a longitudinal direction; see Fig. 4A).
The advantage of the helically groove bearings is to reduce friction between an inner surface of the catheter and an outer surface of the sheath.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the tether as disclosed by Gora, to include the helically grooved bearings taught by Bhagavatula, to reduce friction between an inner surface of the catheter and an outer surface of the sheath.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,300.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application limit a broader version of '300 and are thus anticipated by '300.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ntziachristos et al. (US 2020/0196873) teaches a device for endoscopic optoacoustic imaging of cavities.
Petroff et al. (US 2018/0125372) teaches a micro-optic probe for neurology.
Genier et al. (US 2017/0215732) teaches an balloon catheter with transferrable markings for use in OCT.
Zhou et al. (US 2016/0242737) teaches an OCT endoscope for diagnosing cancers.
Srinivasan et al. (US 2006/0187462) teaches an apparatus for optical coherence tomography scanning.
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795