DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see sections II.A., II.B. and III., filed January 12, 2026, with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1-3 and 5 has been withdrawn. Examiner wishes to point out that while the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) applies to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) of the previous Office action, it does not apply to a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection as outlined below, though a separate 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2) exception may apply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "extruded thermoplastic foam core" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "extruded thermoplastic foam core" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "extruded thermoplastic foam core" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by USPAP 2023/0265255 (Abrevaya et al. ‘255 hereinafter).
The applied reference has a common joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With regard to claim 1, Abrevaya et al. ‘255 discloses a wind turbine blade comprising:
a. a blade shell (10); and
b. a faced foam in said blade shell (10), said extruded foam comprising an extruded foam (Title and paragraph [0011]) having a foam density of from about 125 kg/m3 to about 425 kg/m3 (Paragraph [0173] discloses that all the foam densities discussed have been normalized by the density of PEF polymer 1.43 g/cc and paragraph [0178] discloses that relative foam densities (RFD) range from 0.05 to about 0.15. When multiplied by 1.43 g/cc to remove the normalization, this range becomes 0.0715 g/cc to 0.2145 g/cc. Multiplying by 1000 to go from g/cc to kg/m3 provides a range of 71.5 kg/m3 to 214.5 kg/m3 which overlaps the claimed range) comprising a thermoplastic foam comprising:
(1) thermoplastic polymer cells comprising cell walls forming closed cells, wherein said thermoplastic polymer comprises ethylene furanoate moieties; and
(2) 1234ze(E) contained in the closed cells (paragraph [0063]).
With regard to claim 2, Abrevaya et al. ‘255 discloses the wind turbine blade of claim 1 wherein said thermoplastic polymer comprises from about 0.5 mole% to about 100 mole% of ethylene furanoate moieties (claim 1).
With regard to claim 3, Abrevaya et al. ‘255 discloses the wind turbine blade of claim 1 wherein said thermoplastic polymer further comprises at least about 0.5 mole% ethylene terephthalate moieties (claim 1).
With regard to claim 5, Abrevaya et al. ‘255 discloses the wind turbine blade of claim 1 wherein at least about 75% of the cells are closed cells (paragraph [0063] discloses that at least 50% of the cells are closed cells which anticipates 75% of the cells being closed cells).
With regard to claim 21, insofar as claim 21 is definite, Abrevaya et al. ‘255 discloses the wind turbine blade of claim 1 wherein said extruded thermoplastic foam core has a foam density of from about 130 kg/m3 to about 400 kg/m3. This range overlaps with the range of Abrevaya et al. ‘255 discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
With regard to claim 22, insofar as claim 22 is definite, Abrevaya et al. ‘255 discloses the wind turbine blade of claim 21 wherein said extruded thermoplastic foam core has a compressive strength of from about 1 MPa to about 14 MPa (Tables E1B and 5, and paragraph [0044]).
With regard to claim 23, insofar as claim 23 is definite, Abrevaya et al. ‘255 discloses the wind turbine blade of claim 1 wherein said extruded thermoplastic foam core wherein said thermoplastic polymer cells comprise cell walls comprising at least about 1% by weight of ethylene furanoate moieties (Abstract).
With regard to claim 24, Abrevaya et al. ‘255 discloses the wind turbine blade of claim 1 wherein said thermoplastic polymer comprises from about 0.5 mole% to about 99.5 mole% of ethylene furanoate moieties and from 0.5 mole% to about 99.5 mole% ethylene terephthalate moieties (Abstract).
With regard to claim 25, Abrevaya et al. ‘255 discloses the wind turbine blade of claim 1 wherein said thermoplastic polymer has a molecular weight of from about 25,000 to about 140,000 (paragraph [0070]).
With regard to claim 26, Abrevaya et al. ‘255 discloses the wind turbine blade of claim 1 wherein said thermoplastic polymer has a molecular weight of from about 80,000 to about 130,000 (Table between paragraphs [0155] and [0156]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON R EASTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673