DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to application 18/946,150 filed on November 13, 2024.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3, 11-13 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,1, 5, 6, 7, 1, and 4, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,208,758 (Farooq) in view of Mutter (US2142328).
With regard to claim 1, applicant claims a vehicle comprising: a vehicle frame having a frame-rail end, the frame-rail end having a vehicle-forward face and a vehicle-rearward face; a bumper vehicle-forward of the frame-rail end; a rod supporting the bumper on the frame-rail end, the rod being fixed to the bumper and slidably extending through the vehicle-forward face and the vehicle-rearward face of the frame-rail end; a head fixed to the rod and retained vehicle-rearward of the vehicle-rearward face by the frame-rail end; and a spring on the rod, the spring having a progressive non-linear spring rate.
In Claim 1, Farooq ‘758 claims:
The claimed “stud” is the equivalent of “the rod” claimed in the present application. Farooq claims the limitations of claim 1, but lacks the teaching of a spring with a progressive non-linear spring rate. Mutter ‘328 teaches a similar vehicle comprising: a frame rail (Fig. 1), a bumper 15, a rod 14, a head 16, a spring 18 on the rod, the spring having a progressive non-linear spring rate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Farooq to employ a spring with a progressive non-linear spring rate in view of Mutter in order to improve damping characteristics as well as employ a desired spring rate.
With regard to claim 2, applicant claims: The vehicle as set forth in claim 1, wherein the bumper is moveable vehicle-rearward from an extended position toward the frame-rail end, the spring being loaded between the vehicle frame and the bumper in the extended position.
Farooq ‘758 claims in claim 1:
With regard to claim 3, applicant claims: The vehicle as set forth in claim 2, wherein the spring is resiliently compressible between the frame-rail end and the bumper.
Farooq ‘758 claims in claim 5:
With regard to claim 11, applicant claims: The vehicle as set forth in claim 1, wherein the spring is a conical coil spring.
Farooq ‘758 claims in claim 6:
And Mutter ‘328 teaches the conical coil spring.
With regard to claim 12, applicant claims: The vehicle as set forth in claim 11, wherein the conical coil spring is coiled around the rod.
Farooq ‘758 claims in claim 7:
And Mutter ‘328 teaches the conical coil spring.
With regard to claim 13, applicant claims: The vehicle as set forth in claim 11, wherein the conical coil spring abuts the bumper and the frame-rail end.
Farooq ‘758 claims in claim 1:
And Mutter ‘328 teaches the conical coil spring.
With regard to claim 19, applicant claims:
The vehicle as set forth in claim 1, wherein the frame-rail end includes a base elongated along a vehicle-longitudinal axis and a flange extending radially from the base, and the flange includes the vehicle-forward face and the vehicle-rearward face.
Farooq claims in claim 4:
Claims 4-10 depend on claim 3. Claims 14-18 depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-14 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faruque (US 8113555). With regard to claim 1, Faruque teaches a vehicle comprising: a vehicle frame 110 having a frame-rail end 220, the frame-rail end having a vehicle-forward face and a vehicle-rearward face (top/bottom; Fig. 3/Fig. 6a); a bumper 120 vehicle-forward of the frame-rail end; a rod 190 supporting the bumper on the frame-rail end, the rod being fixed to the bumper and slidably extending through the vehicle-forward face and the vehicle-rearward face of the frame-rail end; a head 230/245 fixed to the rod and retained vehicle-rearward of the vehicle-rearward face by the frame-rail end; and a spring 18 on the rod. Faruque lacks the specific teaching of a spring with a progressive non-linear spring rate. Mutter ‘328 teaches a similar vehicle comprising: a frame rail (Fig. 1), a bumper 15, a rod 14, a head 16, a spring 18 on the rod, the spring having a progressive non-linear spring rate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Faruque to employ a spring with a progressive non-linear spring rate in view of Mutter in order to improve damping characteristics as well as employ a desired spring rate. With regard to claim 2, Faruque teaches the vehicle, wherein the bumper is moveable vehicle-rearward from an extended position toward the frame-rail end, the spring being loaded between the vehicle frame and the bumper in the extended position (Col. 5-6). With regard to claim 3, Faruque teaches the vehicle, wherein the spring 200 is resiliently compressible between the frame-rail end 220 and the bumper 120. With regard to claim 11, Faruque and Mutter teach the vehicle, wherein the spring 18 is a conical coil spring. With regard to claim 12, Faruque and Mutter teach the vehicle, wherein the conical coil spring 200/18 is coiled around the rod 190/14. With regard to claim 13, Faruque and Mutter teach the vehicle, wherein the conical coil spring 200/18 abuts the bumper 120 (via 210) and the frame-rail end 220 (via 210). With regard to claim 14, Faruque teaches the vehicle, further comprising a latch 305 releasably connecting the rod with the frame-rail end. With regard to claim 18, Faruque teaches the vehicle, wherein the latch 305 is inertia-driven (inertia of actuation fluid) from a locked position connecting the rod with the frame-rail end and an unlocked position disconnected from the rod and/or the frame-rail end. With regard to claim 19, Faruque teaches the vehicle, wherein the frame-rail end includes a base 100 elongated along a vehicle-longitudinal axis and a flange 220 extending radially from the base, and the flange includes the vehicle-forward face and the vehicle-rearward face (Fig. 3).
Suggestions for Applicant
Claims 4-10 and 15-17 contain allowable subject matter should the double patenting rejections be overcome. Should applicant amend claim 1 to include the limitations of claim 4 or claims 15-17 (including intervening claim 14), a terminal disclaimer would not be necessary as the double patenting issues would be overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Davidson (US 1396026) has been cited to show a similar vehicle comprising: frame rails A, a bumper B, a rod 12, a spring E and a head 13.
Leach (US 2717224) has been cited to show a similar vehicle comprising: frame rails 18, a bumper 14, a rod 24, a spring 40 comprising bowing portions and a head 32.
Weed (US 3756643) has been cited to show a similar vehicle comprising: frame rails 12, a bumper 16, a rod 26, a spring 30 and a head 24.
Shyi (US 4807915) has been cited to show a similar vehicle comprising: frame rails 10, a bumper 1, a rod 8, a spring 4 and a head 9.
Faruque (US 20250256671), Faruque (US 20250269813), Faruque (US 20250282315) and Farooq (US 12617360) have been cited to show similar vehicles from the same assignee/inventors that do not have double patenting issues.
FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION
Submission of your response by facsimile transmission is encouraged. The central facsimile number is (571) 273-8300. Recognizing the fact that reducing cycle time in the processing and examination of patent applications will effectively increase a patent's term, it is to your benefit to submit responses by facsimile transmission whenever permissible. Such submission will place the response directly in our examining group's hands and will eliminate Post Office processing and delivery time as well as the PTO's mail room processing and delivery time. For a complete list of correspondence not permitted by facsimile transmission, see MPEP 502.01. In general, most responses and/or amendments not requiring a fee, as well as those requiring a fee but charging such fee to a deposit account, can be submitted by facsimile transmission. Responses requiring a fee which applicant is paying by check should not be submitting by facsimile transmission separately from the check.
Responses submitted by facsimile transmission should include a Certificate of Transmission (MPEP 512). The following is an example of the format the certification might take:
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the Patent and Trademark Office (Fax No. (571) 273-8300) on ____________ (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate: _____________________________________
_____________________________________
(Signature)
If your response is submitted by facsimile transmission, you are hereby reminded that the original should be retained as evidence of authenticity (37 CFR 1.4 and MPEP 502.02). Please do not separately mail the original or another copy unless required by the Patent and Trademark Office. Submission of the original response or a follow-up copy of the response after your response has been transmitted by facsimile will only cause further unnecessary delays in the processing of your application; duplicate responses where fees are charged to a deposit account may result in those fees being charged twice.
/ROGER L PANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/ROGER L. PANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3655B
June 15, 2026