Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,7-10,12-14,16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desai et al (2021/0034869) hereinafter, Desai in view of WO2021103729 hereinafter, ‘729 further in view of Zaloom et al (2019/0066504) hereinafter, Zaloom.
In regards to claim 1, Desai teaches an apparatus for providing extended reality at a first device, the apparatus comprising (abstract):
at least one memory (fig 5 506 [0045]); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to (fig. 5 504):
determine, using one or mor Radio Frequency (RF) signals transmitted between the first device and second device (“direct communication (e.g., BLUETOOTH™, radio frequency,”) [0024]., a location of a second device relative to the first device (fig. 1a (104) and (106));
Generate, based on the location of the second device relative to the first device [0024], virtual content for display at the first device [0023], the virtual content including a distance and direction from the first device to the second device [0027,0031] to direct (fig. 4 420 and 436)(fig. 3 (340, 320, 334) a user of the first device to the location [0033] of the second device [0024-0030,0041-0042] ;
Desai fails to expressly teach determine an updated location of the second device and
However, ‘729 teaches determine an updated location of the second device. Last para of page 13/20 ‘729.
It should be noted that in some possible embodiments, for a series of PDR positions of terminal A and terminal B, it is not necessary to substitute all of the overdetermined equations for solution, but a dynamic time window can be used, as shown in Figure 11. As shown, obtain the PDR position data and distance data of the nearest n+1 time and substitute them into the overdetermined equations, where n is a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. That is, for the current time tk, the PDR position of terminal A, the PDR position of terminal B, and the distance between the two terminals corresponding to n times before tk and tk (that is, a total of n+1 times) can be obtained, according to these The data establishes the overdetermined equations to solve, and then the optimal solution Φ and P03 corresponding to the current time tk can be obtained, and then the position of the terminal B corresponding to the current time tk in the navigation coordinate system (A-XY coordinate system) according to the optimal solution The specific coordinate value of P3k. In this way, on the one hand, due to the cumulative error of the PDR self-positioning method, as the PDR self-positioning continues, the error of the obtained PDR position value will gradually expand, and the embodiment of the present application can ensure that by continuously solving the overdetermined equations The terminal A continuously updates the optimal solution Φ and P03, so that it can continuously correct the representation of the terminal B in the navigation coordinate system based on the distance data between the terminals, ensuring that the two terminals achieve high-precision mutual positioning and are robust. On the other hand, by adopting a dynamic time window to solve the overdetermined equations, it can not only ensure the credibility of the optimal solution, but also ensure the rapid solution of the overdetermined equations, improve the processing speed and processing efficiency of the processor, and reduce The computational burden of the processor ensures that the two terminals can locate each other in a timely and fast manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Desai to further include determine an updated location of the second device as taught by ‘729 in order to be routed to another person or group of people, irrespective of their location and whether they are stationary or moving and provide for high-precision mutual positioning without an anchor point (abstract).
Desai and ‘729 fail to expressly teach location and velocity.
However, Zaloom teaches using location and velocity. [0017-0020, 0035] (fig. 22 254)). Examiner notes velocity includes (speed and direction) [0013].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings Desai and ‘729 to further include location and velocity as taught by Zaloom in order to provide a dynamic positioning determination [003-005, and 012] Zaloom.
Therefore, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom
generate, based on the location and the velocity [0017-0020, 0035] (fig. 22 254)) Zaloom of the second device relative to the first device [0024] Desai, virtual content for display at the first device [0023] Desai, the virtual content including a distance and direction from the first device to the second device [0027,0031] Desai to direct (fig. 4 420 and 436)(fig. 3 (340, 320, 334) a user of the first device to the location [0033] of the second device [0024-0030,0041-0042] Desai;
determine, using one or more additional RF signals transmitted between the first device and the second device, an updated location and an updated velocity of the second device; and Last para of page 13/20 ‘729 [003-005, and 012-0020] (fig. 22 254)) Zaloom.
modify, based on the updated location and the updated velocity [003-005, and 012] (fig. 22 254)) Zaloom the virtual content to include at least one of an updated distance or an updated direction from the first device to the second device to direct the user of the first device to the updated location Last para of page 13/20 ‘729 in view of (fig. 4 420 and 436)(fig. 3 (340, 320, 334) Desai.
In regards to claim 12, Desani teaches a method for providing extended reality at a first device, the method comprising: determining using one or mor Radio Frequency (RF) signals transmitted between the first device and second device (“direct communication (e.g., BLUETOOTH™, radio frequency,”) [0024]., a location of a second device relative to the first device (fig. 1a (104 and 106)); generating based on the location of the second device relative to the first device [0024], virtual content for display at the first device, the virtual content based on a distance and direction from the first device to the second device to direct a user of the first device to the location of the second device (fig. 4 420 and 436)(fig. 3 (340, 320, 334) [0024-0030,0041-0042] ;
Desai fails to expressly teach determine an updated location of the second device and
However, ‘729 teaches determine an updated location of the second device. Last para of page 13/20 ‘729
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Desai to further include determine an updated location of the second device as taught by ‘729in order to be routed to another person or group of people, irrespective of their location and provide for high-precision mutual positioning without an anchor point (abstract).
Desai and ‘729 fail to expressly teach location and velocity.
However, Zaloom teaches using location and velocity. [0017-0020, 0035] (fig. 22 254))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings Desai and ‘729 to further include location and velocity as taught by Zaloom in order to provide a dynamic positioning determination [003-005, and 012] Zaloom.
Therefore, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom teaches
generating, based on the location and the velocity [0017-0020, 0035] (fig. 22 254)) Zaloom of the second device relative to the first device [0024] Desai, virtual content for display at the first device [0023] Desai, the virtual content including a distance and direction from the first device to the second device [0027,0031] Desai to direct (fig. 4 420 and 436)(fig. 3 (340, 320, 334) a user of the first device to the location [0033] of the second device [0024-0030,0041-0042] Desai;
determining, using one or more additional RF signals transmitted between the first device and the second device [0024] Desai, an updated location and an updated velocity of the second device; and Last para of page 13/20 ‘729 [003-005, and 012-0020] (fig. 22 254)) Zaloom.
modify, based on the updated location and the updated velocity [003-005, and 012] (fig. 22 254)) Zaloom the virtual content to include at least one of an updated distance or an updated direction from the first device to the second device to direct the user of the first device to the updated location. Last para of page 13/20 ‘729 in view of (fig. 4 420 and 436)(fig. 3 (340, 320, 334) Desai [003-005, and 012-0020] (fig. 22 254)) Zaloom.. Examiner notes the velocity of Zaloom is the speed and direction ([0019])
In regards to claim 20, Desai teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium is provided having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by at least one processor(fig. 5 504), cause the at least one processor to: determine using one or mor Radio Frequency (RF) signals transmitted between the first device and second device (“direct communication (e.g., BLUETOOTH™, radio frequency,”) [0024], a location of a second device relative to a first device(fig. 1a (104 and 106)); generate based on the location of the second device relative to the first device [0024], virtual content for display at the first device (fig. 4 420 and 436)(fig. 3 (340, 320, 334) [0024-0030,0041-0042], the virtual content based on a distance and direction from the first device to the second device to direct a user of the first device to the location of the second device (fig. 3 (45 334);
Desai fails to expressly teach determine an updated location of the second device and
However, ‘729 teaches determine an updated location of the second device. Last para of page 13/20 ‘729
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Desai to further include determine an updated location of the second device as taught by ‘729 in order to be routed to another person or group of people, irrespective of their location and provide for high-precision mutual positioning without an anchor point (abstract).
Desai and ‘729 fail to expressly teach location and velocity.
However, Zaloom teaches using location and velocity. [0017-0020, 0035] (fig. 22 254))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings Desai and ‘729 to further include location and velocity as taught by Zaloom in order to provide a dynamic positioning determination [003-005, and 012] Zaloom.
Therefore, Desai in view of ‘729 teaches
generate, based on the location and the velocity [0017-0020, 0035] (fig. 22 254)) Zaloom of the second device relative to the first device [0024] Desai, virtual content for display at the first device [0023] Desai, the virtual content including a distance and direction from the first device to the second device [0027,0031] Desai to direct (fig. 4 420 and 436)(fig. 3 (340, 320, 334) a user of the first device to the location [0033] of the second device [0024-0030,0041-0042] Desai;
determine using one or more additional RF signals transmitted between the first device and the second device, [0024] Desai an updated location of the second device; and modify based on the updated location and the updated velocity [003-005, and 012] (fig. 22 254)) Zaloom the virtual content to include at least one of an updated distance or an updated direction from the first device to the second device to direct the user of the first device to the updated location Last para of page 13/20 ‘729 in view of (fig. 4 420 and 436)(fig. 3 (340, 320, 334) Desai.
In regards to claim 2, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the location of the second device includes an absolute location based on a global positioning system [0029] Desai.
In regards to claim 3, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the location of the second device includes a relative distance and a relative direction from the first device [0032] (fig. 4 (420)) Desai.
In regards to claim 5, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from the second device, a radio-frequency signal; and determine the location of the second device based on the received radio-frequency signal.[0024] Desai
In regards to claim 7, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the virtual content is an icon to indicate the location of the second device [0037] Desai.
In regards to claim 8, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: generate a recommendation directing (fig. 4 (436 and 420)) Desai the user of the first device to move locations based on the updated location of the second device Last para of page 13/20 ‘729 in view of [0024-0030,0041-0042] Desai.
In regards to claim 9, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the location of the second device based one or more images received from a camera [0029] camera Desai.
In regards to claim 10, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit a request to a server for the location of the second device; and determine the location the second device based on a response of the server (fig. 1 (102))[0024-0025, 0030] Desai.
In regards to claim 13, Desai in view of ‘729 teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the location of the second device includes an absolute location based on a global positioning system. [0029] Desai.
In regards to claim 14, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the location of the second device includes a relative distance and a relative direction from the first device. [0032] (fig. 4 (420)) Desai.
In regards to claim 16, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: receiving, from the second device, a radio-frequency signal; and determining the location of the second device based on the received radio-frequency signal. [0024] Desai
In regards to claim 18, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the virtual content is an icon to indicate the location of the second device. [0037] Desai.
In regards to claim 19, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: generating a recommendation directing the user of the first device to move locations based on the updated location of the second device. Last para of page 13/20 ‘729 in view of [0024-0030,0041-0042] Desai.
6. Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desai et al (2021/0034869) hereinafter, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom further in view of Hill et al (2015/0221135) hereinafter, Hill.
In regards to claim 6, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom fail to teach the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the location of the second device based at least one of time of arrival or angle of arrival calculations using the received radio-frequency signal.
However, Hill teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the location of the second device based at least one of time of arrival or angle of arrival calculations using the received radio-frequency signal.[0008] (fig. 2-3, RF and TOA)(fig. 4 (102-112) Hill).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Desai and ‘729 and Zaloom to further include wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the location of the second device based at least one of time of arrival or angle of arrival calculations using the received radio-frequency signal because working volumes can be improved and are not dependence on light conditions [008-009].
In regards to claim 17, Desai and ‘729 and Zaloom in view of Hill teaches, see the rational of claim 6, the method of claim 16, further comprising: determining the location of the second device based at least one of time of arrival or angle of arrival calculations using the received radio-frequency signal. [0008] (fig. 2-3, RF and TOA)(fig. 4 (102-112) Hill).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desai et al (2021/0034869) hereinafter, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom further in view of Bahnsen et al (2024/0152949) hereinafter, Bahnsen.
In regards to claim 11, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom fails to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: identify a gesture of a user of the second device; and generate additional virtual content based on the gesture and a relative location of the first device to the second device.
However, Bahnsen teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: identify a gesture of a user of the second device; and generate additional virtual content based on the gesture and a relative location of the first device to the second device.(fig. 4b (424b tap gesture) and fig. 6 (626) (fig. 9 (910-950)[002-007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Desai and ‘729 and Zaloom to further include wherein the at least one processor is configured to: identify a gesture of a user of the second device; and generate additional virtual content based on the gesture and a relative location of the first device to the second device as taught by Bahnsen in order to update all parties with POIs [002-005]
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desai et al (2021/0034869) hereinafter, Desai in view of ‘729 and Zaloom further in view of Ikeda (2019/0220673) hereinafter, Ikeda.
In regards to claim 4, Desai and ‘729 and Zaloom fail to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the virtual content includes an indication of a velocity of the second device.
However, Ikeda teaches wherein the virtual content includes an indication of a velocity of the second device [143] (fig. 9 (display) Ikeda.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Desai and ‘729 and Zaloom to further include wherein the virtual content includes an indication of a velocity of the second device as taught by Ikeda in order to provide estimated flow of people [001-0010]
In regards to claim 15, Desai and ‘729 and Zaloom in view of Ikeda teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the virtual content includes an indication of a velocity of the second device [143] (fig. 9 (display) Ikeda.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant contends:
In response to applicant's argument, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Desai teaches an augmented reality may be used to help navigate a user to a desired location. A first location and a device orientation of a user device may be obtained. A second location may be obtained. A path from the first location to the second location may be determined. A camera feed may be displayed on the user device. An indicator of the path may be displayed over the camera feed based on the device orientation. A marker may be displayed over the camera feed in response to determining that the device orientation aligns with the second location, and the marker may indicate the second location.
‘729 teaches an inter-terminal positioning method and apparatus. The method comprises: a first terminal detecting movement information of the first terminal, and determining, according to the movement information, the current first position information of the first terminal; receiving second position information sent by a second terminal, wherein the second position information indicates the current position of the second terminal; measuring information of the distance between the first terminal and the second terminal; according to the first position information, the second position information and the information of the distance, determining a relative position of the second terminal relative to the first terminal; and the first terminal generating, according to the relative position, navigation information used for performing navigation from the first terminal to the second terminal, and prompting the navigation information. By means of implementing the present application, inter-terminal high-precision mutual positioning can be realized without dependency on an anchor point, such that the requirements of various application scenarios are met, and the usage experience of users is improved.
Zaloom teaches a ground based wireless system named the Autonomous Transceivers Positioning System (“ATPS”), performs complete autonomous tracking of multiple moving objects and determines position and velocity components (speed and direction) of a moving object, or the stationary position of an object. For a moving object, the ATPS provides position determination, with accuracy of several centimeters, and velocity determination with an accuracy of centimeters per second. The ATPS tracks the position of multiple objects simultaneously and continuously for as long as the object(s) reside within the workspace of the ATPS wireless system. The ATPS is expandable in its workspace continuously by allowing for tracking information to be autonomously handed over to new added sections of the ATPS. The ATPS contains RFID inspired components including advanced multiple fixed location Autonomous Wireless Interrogators (“AWIs”) within the defined workspace of the system and multiple Autonomous Wireless Responders (“AWRs”) affixed to the moving and/or stationary objects.
Examiner believes it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Desai, ‘729 in view of Zaloom to provide generate, based on the location and the velocity [0017-0020, 0035] (fig. 22 254)) Zaloom of the second device relative to the first device [0024] Desai, virtual content for display at the first device [0023] Desai, the virtual content including a distance and direction from the first device to the second device [0027,0031] Desai to direct (fig. 4 420 and 436)(fig. 3 (340, 320, 334) a user of the first device to the location [0033] of the second device [0024-0030,0041-0042] Desai;
Or in other words, Desai teaches augmented reality [0003] displaying/generating based on location (fig. 4 (420) Desai. Zaloom teaches using positioning and velocity components for added functionality [0012-0013, 0017] and ‘729 tracks a first and second device (fig. 1), and displays the location of the other device (fig. 14) and continuously updates the location of the other device. last para of page 13/20 ‘729. Examiner believes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the references for each of their respective teachings. Examiner also notes ‘729 does a better job bridging the teachings of the various references because it relies on RF, connection directly between two devices (fig. 1) and mentions using a speed sensor (top page 9/20). Examiner also notes with respect to the “modifying…” limitations the same rational applies.
Examiner also notes Daoura et al 2021/0152976 an RF tracker wherein [0206] Devices 10 may use a multi-axis accelerometer 623 to detect movement and velocity of the device, a useful bit of information in understanding what is happening to the device. Is it being moved? Has it fallen still? Answers to these questions can be of great help in knowing where to look for a lost device and systems for generating accompanying alerts and notifications that provide motion sensor data are described for example in U.S. Pat. Nos. 9,564,774, 9,774,410, 9,900,119, 9,961,523, U.S. patent application Ser. No. 15/959,250, and US Pat. Pubs. 2015/0356862, 20150356858, and 20180190103, wherein all said patents and applications are co-assigned at this filing and are incorporated herein in full by reference.
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622