DETAILED ACTION
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Regarding Step 1 of the Revised Guidance, it must be considered whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory classes of invention. In the instant case, claims 1-8 are directed to a cleaning control apparatus for a vehicle (i.e., a machine); and claims 9-16 are directed to a cleaning control method (i.e., a process).
Therefore, claims 1-16 are within at least one of the four statutory categories (processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter). See MPEP 2106.03.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong 1
Regarding Prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite a judicial exception (subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) mental processes, and/or c) certain methods of organizing human activity).
Independent claim 9 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (bolded below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 9 recites:
A cleaning control method for a vehicle, the method comprising:
determining a traveling status or a driving environment of the vehicle; and
determining a contamination status outside an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) sensor through the ADAS sensor.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute judicial exceptions in terms of a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim limitations can be “performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper”. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Independent claim 9 recites the limitations of determining a traveling status or a driving environment and determining a contamination status outside. The determining limitations, as drafted, are simple processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of “an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) sensor” and “the vehicle”, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the recitation of “an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) sensor” and “the vehicle” language, the claim encompasses a person determining condition data based on received data and forming a simple judgement. Specifically, the claim merely uses environmental condition data to make a determination. Additionally, the “determining” step is not too complicated to be performed with the aid of pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea. The mere nominal recitation of an ADAS sensor and vehicle does not take the claim limitations out of the mental process grouping. These elements are treated as generic computers/sensors that don’t add a technological improvement.
Thus the claim recites a mental process.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong 2 evaluation: Practical Application - No
In Step 2A, Prong two of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated whether, as a whole, it integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. As noted in MPEP 2106.04(d), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as: merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
The Office submits that the foregoing underlined limitation(s) recite additional elements that do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application. In the instant application, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract ideas are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
In Claim 9:
A cleaning control method for a vehicle, the method comprising:
determining a traveling status or a driving environment of the vehicle; and
determining a contamination status outside an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) sensor through the ADAS sensor.
The claim recites the additional elements of “the vehicle” and “an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) sensor through the ADAS sensor”.
The sensor is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a means of gathering individual data), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. These additional elements that are claimed are just general data gathering and there is no concrete technical element present to improve the system. In this case, the generic sensor is recited only for data collection, which is insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Furthermore, there is no improvement to the cleaning control system as the claim does not change how the logic unit, physically operates and it only interprets data about the elements.
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B evaluation: Inventive Concept: - No
In Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, the claim(s) is to be evaluated as to whether the claim, as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05(f).
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the step of determining by a sensor was considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus they are re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The background recites that the data processing means or the computer, respectively, may comprise one or more of a processor and it is a general purpose processor. Additionally, the specification does not provide any indication that ADAS sensors are anything other than a conventional, basic sensor. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Further, the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Accordingly, a conclusion that the determining step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer.
Thus, claims 1 and 9 are ineligible.
101 Analysis – Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 2-8 and 10-16 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of the dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application [these dependent claims inherit the abstract idea set forth in claims 1 and 9. No other technology or action has been recited in claims 2-8 and 10-16 to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, claims 2-8 and 10-16 also do not confer eligibility on the claimed invention and are ineligible for reasons stated above and for similar reasons to claims 1 and 9. Therefore, dependent claims2-8 and 10-16 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claims 1 and 9.
Therefore, claims 2-8 and 10-16 are also ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-10, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacchus (US 2019/0106085 A1) in view of Stahlin (US 2011/0054716 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bacchus discloses A cleaning control apparatus (Fig. 2, 200 and see at
least para, [0035] of Bacchus which discloses a “cleaning system 200”) for a vehicle (Fig. 1A, 100 and see at least para. [0034] of Bacchus which discloses “a vehicle 100 utilizing a LIDAR system … the LIDAR sensor lens cover would benefit from cleaning”), the apparatus comprising:
a driving environment determination logic unit (Fig. 2, 204 with 206 and see at least para. [0036] of Bacchus which discloses “Decision function 204 receives various sensor information inputs from vehicle sensors 206 throughout the vehicle. Non-limiting examples of such sensors include speed sensors, whether sensors, water droplets sensors, windshield wiper status sensors, gear position (e.g., forward or reverse) or other sensors providing information useful to a cleaning system in any particular embodiment. The vehicle sensors 206 provide information that aid in the decision function 204 determination”, *Such sensors provide information indicative of environmental and operating conditions of the vehicle, including weather-related and traveling-status information) configured to determine a traveling status (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “when the vehicle is traveling at low speeds where normal airflow caused by the vehicle moving at higher speeds is not present“) or a driving environment of the vehicle (see at least para. [0010] of Bacchus which discloses “the vehicle sensors providing the information that the processor uses to determine the contaminant type comprise one or more of the following group of vehicle sensors: weather, droplet detector, windshield wiper status, speed and washer fluid levels” and see at least para. [0019] of Bacchus which discloses “the plurality of vehicle sensors providing the respective sensor information that the processor comprise one or more of the following group of vehicle sensors: weather, droplet detector, windshield wiper status, speed and fluid levels”); and
a sensor contamination determination logic unit (Fig. 2, 208 and see at least para. [0040] of Bacchus which discloses “the contamination detectors 208 may determine the presence of water droplets on the sensor lens cover”) configured to determine a contamination status outside (see at least para. [0040] of Bacchus which discloses “the contamination detector 208 may determine the location of the contamination in reference to the affected cells. In the event the contamination cannot be removed by the application of one or more cleaning modalities, the weight value applied to the affected cells may be reduced to the point where contamination in those cells are ignored and an alert provided to the vehicle operator that the sensor lens cover requires service” and see at least para. [0041] of Bacchus which discloses “a video frame 6001 indicates the presence of a dirt particle 6021. By comparing successive video frames, it can be determined that the dirt particle 602N is present N frames later as shown by video frame 600N continuing to detect the presence of the dirt particle 602N”).
Bacchus discloses determining the presence and location of external contamination relative
to a vehicle mounted optical or LIDAR sensor by analyzing data from successive frames or sensor output (see at least para. [0040] – [0041] of Bacchus), so Bacchus thus discloses determining contamination external to a vehicle mounted optical or LIDAR sensor through the sensor. Bacchus may not explicitly disclose an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Stahlin discloses an advanced driver assistance
system (ADAS) (Fig. 2, 11 with 16 and see at least para. [0052] of Stahlin which discloses “The vehicle system 11 comprises a navigation unit 12, a provider unit 13, sensors 14, a satellite signal sensor 15, and a driver assistance system 16 (ADAS=Advanced Driver Assistance System)”) sensor (Fig. 2, 14 and see at least para. [0090] of Stalin which discloses “supplying an ADAS horizon even if no digital map and/or navigation satellite signal is/are available, either temporarily or permanently. In this case, the map matching module 29 is designed to supply the input parameters required to produce the ADAS horizon using the sensors 14” and para. [0092] of Stalin which discloses “This data detected by the sensors 14 are then used as input parameters to produce an ADAS horizon on the basis of this data”, *Stahlin discloses a vehicle system configured for navigation and/or driver assistance, including the use of vehicle surrounding sensors and traffic lane information form a camera to provide a driver assistance horizon (see abstract). Therefore, the vehicle surrounding sensors described in Stahlin which include cameras and the like are vehicle mounted perception sensors used for driver assistance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning control apparatus of Bacchus which already uses vehicle perception sensors of the type used in driver assistance systems as taught in Stahlin with a reasonable expectation of success since both references relate to vehicle perception system and improving the reliability of sensor data used together with driver assistance functionality. See para. [0090] and [0092] of Stahlin for motivation.
Regarding claim 2, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, discloses further including a cleaning
operation mode setting logic unit (see at least para. [0037] of Bacchus which discloses “an intensity and duration recommendation 304 for cleaning operation to remove the contaminant”) operatively connected to the driving environment determination logic unit (Fig. 2, 204 with 206 and see at least para. [0036] of Bacchus which discloses “Decision function 204 receives various sensor information inputs from vehicle sensors 206 throughout the vehicle. Non-limiting examples of such sensors include speed sensors, whether sensors, water droplets sensors, windshield wiper status sensors, gear position (e.g., forward or reverse) or other sensors providing information useful to a cleaning system in any particular embodiment. The vehicle sensors 206 provide information that aid in the decision function 204 determination”, *Such sensors provide information indicative of environmental and operating conditions of the vehicle, including weather-related and traveling-status information) and the sensor contamination determination logic unit (Fig. 2, 208 and see at least para. [0040] of Bacchus which discloses “the contamination detectors 208 may determine the presence of water droplets on the sensor lens cover”) and configured to set a cleaning operation mode according to the driving environment of the vehicle and the contamination status of the ADAS sensor (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “the pressurized fluid dispenser 708 may spray the cleaning fluid 708′ onto the sensor lens cover 702 followed by the activation of the pressurized air system 706 to help remove any excess cleaning fluid from the sensor lens cover 702. This operation may have an advantage depending on the camera location as when the vehicle is traveling at low speeds where normal airflow caused by the vehicle moving at higher speeds is not present”).
Regarding claim 5, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, discloses further including a vehicle
internal communication unit configured to support communication (see at least para. [0039] of Bacchus which discloses “decision function 204 processes the inputs receives from the vehicle sensors and contaminant detectors and will make a determination whether the sensor lens cover needs cleaning”) between controllers (see at least para. [0036] of Bacchus which discloses “controller 202 that receives cleaning decision from a decision function or algorithm 204”) in the vehicle.
Regarding claim 6, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, discloses further including a piezo (see
at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “a piezoelectric vibrating element”) and cover glass that is attached to a sensor cover and performs electronic cleaning (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “The sensor lens cover 702 is mounted to an actuator 704, that in some embodiments, may be a piezoelectric vibrating element to produce ultrasonic vibrations of the sensor lens cover 702. Such a cleaning modality is effective at removing fluid contamination present on the sensor lens cover 702”).
Regarding claim 8, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, discloses wherein the cleaning control
apparatus (Fig. 2, 200 and see at least para, [0035] of Bacchus which discloses a “cleaning system 200”) is configured for performing electronic cleaning (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “The sensor lens cover 702 is mounted to an actuator 704, that in some embodiments, may be a piezoelectric vibrating element to produce ultrasonic vibrations of the sensor lens cover 702. Such a cleaning modality is effective at removing fluid contamination present on the sensor lens cover 702”), in response that cleaning is not required based on the traveling status or the driving environment of the vehicle (see at least para. [0010] of Bacchus which discloses “the vehicle sensors providing the information that the processor uses to determine the contaminant type comprise one or more of the following group of vehicle sensors: weather, droplet detector, windshield wiper status, speed and washer fluid levels” and see at least para. [0019] of Bacchus which discloses “the plurality of vehicle sensors providing the respective sensor information that the processor comprise one or more of the following group of vehicle sensors: weather, droplet detector, windshield wiper status, speed and fluid levels”) and in response that a foreign substance( see at least para. [0022] of Bacchus which discloses “The system also includes one or more contaminant detectors providing contaminant information to the processor enabling the processor to detect presence of a contaminant”) is detected (see at least para. [0039] of Bacchus which discloses “decision function 204 processes the inputs receives from the vehicle sensors and contaminant detectors and will make a determination whether the sensor lens cover needs cleaning”) based on the contamination status (see at least para. [0035] of Bacchus which discloses “If one or more cells cannot be effectively cleaned of the contaminant, a weight value assigned to that cell is reduced so that continued detection of contaminant in that cell does not re-trigger the cleaning system 200. This operates to both save cleaning resources and to keep the optical sensor in service as much as possible”).
Regarding claim 9, Bacchus discloses A cleaning control method (see at least para, [0035] of
Bacchus which discloses a “cleaning system 200” and see at least para. [0036] of Bacchus which discloses “the automated optical sensor lens cleaning system 200 is controlled by a processor or controller 202 that receives cleaning decision from a decision function or algorithm 204”) for a vehicle (Fig. 1A, 100 and see at least para. [0034] of Bacchus which discloses “a vehicle 100 utilizing a LIDAR system … the LIDAR sensor lens cover would benefit from cleaning”), the method comprising: determining a traveling status (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “when the vehicle is traveling at low speeds where normal airflow caused by the vehicle moving at higher speeds is not present“) or a driving environment of the vehicle (see at least para. [0036] of Bacchus which discloses “Decision function 204 receives various sensor information inputs from vehicle sensors 206 throughout the vehicle. Non-limiting examples of such sensors include speed sensors, whether sensors, water droplets sensors, windshield wiper status sensors, gear position (e.g., forward or reverse) or other sensors providing information useful to a cleaning system in any particular embodiment. The vehicle sensors 206 provide information that aid in the decision function 204 determination”, * Such sensors provide information indicative of environmental and operating conditions of the vehicle, including weather-related and traveling-status information); and determining a contamination status (Fig. 2, 208 and see at least para. [0040] of Bacchus which discloses “the contamination detectors 208 may determine the presence of water droplets on the sensor lens cover” and see at least para. [0040] of Bacchus which discloses “the contamination detector 208 may determine the location of the contamination in reference to the affected cells. In the event the contamination cannot be removed by the application of one or more cleaning modalities, the weight value applied to the affected cells may be reduced to the point where contamination in those cells are ignored and an alert provided to the vehicle operator that the sensor lens cover requires service” and see at least para. [0041] of Bacchus which discloses “a video frame 6001 indicates the presence of a dirt particle 6021. By comparing successive video frames, it can be determined that the dirt particle 602N is present N frames later as shown by video frame 600N continuing to detect the presence of the dirt particle 602N”).
Bacchus discloses determining the presence and location of external contamination relative
to a vehicle mounted optical or LIDAR sensor by analyzing data from successive frames or sensor output (see at least para. [0040] – [0041] of Bacchus), so Bacchus thus discloses determining contamination external to a vehicle mounted optical or LIDAR sensor through the sensor. Bacchus may not explicitly disclose outside an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Stahlin discloses outside an advanced driver
assistance system (ADAS) (Fig. 2, 11 with 16 and see at least para. [0052] of Stahlin which discloses “The vehicle system 11 comprises a navigation unit 12, a provider unit 13, sensors 14, a satellite signal sensor 15, and a driver assistance system 16 (ADAS=Advanced Driver Assistance System)”) sensor (Fig. 2, 14 and see at least para. [0090] of Stalin which discloses “supplying an ADAS horizon even if no digital map and/or navigation satellite signal is/are available, either temporarily or permanently. In this case, the map matching module 29 is designed to supply the input parameters required to produce the ADAS horizon using the sensors 14” and para. [0092] of Stalin which discloses “This data detected by the sensors 14 are then used as input parameters to produce an ADAS horizon on the basis of this data”, *Stahlin discloses a vehicle system configured for navigation and/or driver assistance, including the use of vehicle surrounding sensors and traffic lane information form a camera to provide a driver assistance horizon (see abstract). Therefore, the vehicle surrounding sensors described in Stahlin which include cameras and the like are vehicle mounted perception sensors used for driver assistance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning control method of Bacchus which already uses vehicle perception sensors of the type used in driver assistance systems as taught in Stahlin with a reasonable expectation of success since both references relate to vehicle perception system and improving the reliability of sensor data used together with driver assistance functionality. See para. [0090] and [0092] of Stahlin for motivation.
Regarding claim 10, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, discloses further including setting a
cleaning operation mode (see at least para. [0037] of Bacchus which discloses “an intensity and duration recommendation 304 for cleaning operation to remove the contaminant”) according to the traveling status (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “when the vehicle is traveling at low speeds where normal airflow caused by the vehicle moving at higher speeds is not present“) of the vehicle, the driving environment of the vehicle (see at least para. [0010] of Bacchus which discloses “the vehicle sensors providing the information that the processor uses to determine the contaminant type comprise one or more of the following group of vehicle sensors: weather, droplet detector, windshield wiper status, speed and washer fluid levels” and see at least para. [0019] of Bacchus which discloses “the plurality of vehicle sensors providing the respective sensor information that the processor comprise one or more of the following group of vehicle sensors: weather, droplet detector, windshield wiper status, speed and fluid levels”), or the contamination status (see at least para. [0040] of Bacchus which discloses “the contamination detector 208 may determine the location of the contamination in reference to the affected cells. In the event the contamination cannot be removed by the application of one or more cleaning modalities, the weight value applied to the affected cells may be reduced to the point where contamination in those cells are ignored and an alert provided to the vehicle operator that the sensor lens cover requires service” and see at least para. [0041] of Bacchus which discloses “a video frame 6001 indicates the presence of a dirt particle 6021. By comparing successive video frames, it can be determined that the dirt particle 602N is present N frames later as shown by video frame 600N continuing to detect the presence of the dirt particle 602N”).
Regarding claim 13, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, discloses further including supporting
Communication (see at least para. [0039] of Bacchus which discloses “decision function 204 processes the inputs receives from the vehicle sensors and contaminant detectors and will make a determination whether the sensor lens cover needs cleaning”) between controllers (see at least para. [0036] of Bacchus which discloses “controller 202 that receives cleaning decision from a decision function or algorithm 204”) in the vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, discloses further including performing
electronic cleaning (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “The sensor lens cover 702 is mounted to an actuator 704, that in some embodiments, may be a piezoelectric vibrating element to produce ultrasonic vibrations of the sensor lens cover 702. Such a cleaning modality is effective at removing fluid contamination present on the sensor lens cover 702”).
Regarding claim 16, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, discloses further including performing
electronic cleaning (Fig. 2, 200 and see at least para, [0035] of Bacchus which discloses a “cleaning system 200” and see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “The sensor lens cover 702 is mounted to an actuator 704, that in some embodiments, may be a piezoelectric vibrating element to produce ultrasonic vibrations of the sensor lens cover 702. Such a cleaning modality is effective at removing fluid contamination present on the sensor lens cover 702”), in response that cleaning is not required based on the traveling status or the driving environment of the vehicle (see at least para. [0010] of Bacchus which discloses “the vehicle sensors providing the information that the processor uses to determine the contaminant type comprise one or more of the following group of vehicle sensors: weather, droplet detector, windshield wiper status, speed and washer fluid levels” and see at least para. [0019] of Bacchus which discloses “the plurality of vehicle sensors providing the respective sensor information that the processor comprise one or more of the following group of vehicle sensors: weather, droplet detector, windshield wiper status, speed and fluid levels”) and in response that a foreign substance( see at least para. [0022] of Bacchus which discloses “The system also includes one or more contaminant detectors providing contaminant information to the processor enabling the processor to detect presence of a contaminant”) is detected (see at least para. [0039] of Bacchus which discloses “decision function 204 processes the inputs receives from the vehicle sensors and contaminant detectors and will make a determination whether the sensor lens cover needs cleaning”) based on the contamination status (see at least para. [0035] of Bacchus which discloses “If one or more cells cannot be effectively cleaned of the contaminant, a weight value assigned to that cell is reduced so that continued detection of contaminant in that cell does not re-trigger the cleaning system 200. This operates to both save cleaning resources and to keep the optical sensor in service as much as possible”).
Claims 3-4, 7, 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacchus (US 2019/0106085 A1) in view of Stahlin (US 2011/0054716 A1) and further in view of Yoshidome (US 2003/0094133 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, discloses an operative connection to the
driving environment determination logic unit (Fig. 2, 204 with 206 and see at least para. [0036] of Bacchus which discloses “Decision function 204 receives various sensor information inputs from vehicle sensors 206 throughout the vehicle. Non-limiting examples of such sensors include speed sensors, whether sensors, water droplets sensors, windshield wiper status sensors, gear position (e.g., forward or reverse) or other sensors providing information useful to a cleaning system in any particular embodiment. The vehicle sensors 206 provide information that aid in the decision function 204 determination”, *Such sensors provide information indicative of environmental and operating conditions of the vehicle, including weather-related and traveling-status information) and the sensor contamination determination logic unit (Fig. 2, 208 and see at least para. [0040] of Bacchus which discloses “the contamination detectors 208 may determine the presence of water droplets on the sensor lens cover”) and the cleaning operation mode setting logic unit (see at least para. [0037] of Bacchus which discloses “an intensity and duration recommendation 304 for cleaning operation to remove the contaminant”).
Bacchus as modified by Stahlin may not explicitly disclose a variable voltage signal
generation unit operatively connected to the driving environment determination logic unit and the sensor contamination determination logic unit and configured to operate by at least one of a voltage magnitude, a cycle, and an operation time set through the cleaning operation mode setting logic unit.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoshidome discloses a variable voltage signal
generation unit (Fig. 9, 900 and see at least para. [0046] of Yoshidome which discloses “a drive signal 900 produced by a controller (not shown) that controls the operation of the injector/vaporizer 122. The drive signal 900 represents a voltage or current delivered to the one or more piezoelectric grids 405. When the drive signal 900 is at a first level 902, the arrays of stripes 502, 504 are fully expanded to shut-off the flow of liquid material”, *The controller producing the drive signal in Yoshidome is the variable voltage signal generation unit, as claimed) wherein a voltage magnitude (see at least para. [0036] of Yoshidome which discloses “A voltage is applied to each of the arrays of stripes 502, 504 through contacts 506, 508. The amount of expansion for each stripe depends on the composition of the piezoelectric material as well as the magnitude of the applied voltage. As such, varying the voltage applied to the stripes 502, 504 adjusts the size of the opening between adjacent stripes, thereby affecting the flow rate of liquid material into the vaporizer chamber 232” and see at least para. [0044] of Yoshidome which discloses “The stripes 502, 504 may be contracted by varying the applied voltage provided through contacts 506, 508”), a cycle, and an operation time (Yoshidome discloses a controller configured to generate a drive signal representing a voltage, wherein the drive signal alternates between different voltage levels for defined time intervals to establish a cycle and is applied for an overall operation time, thereby constituting a variable voltage signal generation unit configured to operate by at least one of a voltage magnitude, a cycle and an operation time, as recited) set through the cleaning operation mode setting logic unit (*The parameters of Yoshidome’s drive signal are set in accordance with the cleaning operation mode determined by Bacchus. The controller producing the drive signal in Yoshidome constitutes the claimed variable voltage signal generation unit, which is operatively connected as modified by Bacchus’ control structure, and whose voltage magnitude, cycle and/or operation time are set in accordance with the cleaning operation mode determined by Bacchus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning operation mode determined of Bacchus to use a variable voltage signal generation unit with at least one of a voltage magnitude, a cycle, and an operation time techniques as disclosed in Yoshidome with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve electrical control of intensity and duration. See para. [0036] and [0046] of Yoshidome for motivation.
Regarding claim 4, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin and Yoshidome, discloses further
including: a piezo (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “a piezoelectric vibrating element”), wherein the piezo is electrically connected to the variable voltage signal generation unit and performs electronic cleaning (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “The sensor lens cover 702 is mounted to an actuator 704, that in some embodiments, may be a piezoelectric vibrating element to produce ultrasonic vibrations of the sensor lens cover 702. Such a cleaning modality is effective at removing fluid contamination present on the sensor lens cover 702”) according to voltage input from the variable voltage signal generation unit, according to the determining of the traveling status or the driving environment and the contamination status (Bacchus further discloses a piezoelectric actuator mounted to a sensor lens cover, wherein the piezoelectric element produces ultrasonic vibrations to electronically clean the sensor lens cover in response to contamination as discussed in para. [0042]. Therefore, this teaches a piezo electrically driven to perform electronic cleaning according to operating and contamination conditions).
Regarding claim 7, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, discloses an operative connection to the
driving environment determination logic unit (Fig. 2, 204 with 206 and see at least para. [0036] of Bacchus which discloses “Decision function 204 receives various sensor information inputs from vehicle sensors 206 throughout the vehicle. Non-limiting examples of such sensors include speed sensors, whether sensors, water droplets sensors, windshield wiper status sensors, gear position (e.g., forward or reverse) or other sensors providing information useful to a cleaning system in any particular embodiment. The vehicle sensors 206 provide information that aid in the decision function 204 determination”, *Such sensors provide information indicative of environmental and operating conditions of the vehicle, including weather-related and traveling-status information) and the sensor contamination determination logic unit (Fig. 2, 208 and see at least para. [0040] of Bacchus which discloses “the contamination detectors 208 may determine the presence of water droplets on the sensor lens cover”) and the cleaning operation mode setting logic unit (see at least para. [0037] of Bacchus which discloses “an intensity and duration recommendation 304 for cleaning operation to remove the contaminant”), a piezo (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “a piezoelectric vibrating element”) electrically connected and performs electronic cleaning (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “The sensor lens cover 702 is mounted to an actuator 704, that in some embodiments, may be a piezoelectric vibrating element to produce ultrasonic vibrations of the sensor lens cover 702. Such a cleaning modality is effective at removing fluid contamination present on the sensor lens cover 702”, *Bacchus further discloses a piezoelectric actuator mounted to a sensor lens cover, wherein the piezoelectric element produces ultrasonic vibrations to electronically clean the sensor lens cover in response to contamination as discussed in para. [0042]. Therefore, this teaches a piezo electrically driven to perform electronic cleaning according to operating and contamination conditions) in response that cleaning is required based on the traveling status (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “when the vehicle is traveling at low speeds where normal airflow caused by the vehicle moving at higher speeds is not present“) or the driving environment of the vehicle (see at least para. [0010] of Bacchus which discloses “the vehicle sensors providing the information that the processor uses to determine the contaminant type comprise one or more of the following group of vehicle sensors: weather, droplet detector, windshield wiper status, speed and washer fluid levels” and see at least para. [0019] of Bacchus which discloses “the plurality of vehicle sensors providing the respective sensor information that the processor comprise one or more of the following group of vehicle sensors: weather, droplet detector, windshield wiper status, speed and fluid levels”).
Bacchus as modified by Stahlin may not explicitly disclose a variable voltage signal
generation unit operatively connected to the driving environment determination logic unit, the sensor contamination determination logic unit and the cleaning operation mode setting logic unit operating by at least one of a voltage magnitude, a cycle, and an operation time set through the cleaning operation mode setting logic unit; and transmits the variable voltage signal to the piezo.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoshidome discloses a variable voltage signal
generation unit (Fig. 9, 900 and see at least para. [0046] of Yoshidome which discloses “a drive signal 900 produced by a controller (not shown) that controls the operation of the injector/vaporizer 122. The drive signal 900 represents a voltage or current delivered to the one or more piezoelectric grids 405. When the drive signal 900 is at a first level 902, the arrays of stripes 502, 504 are fully expanded to shut-off the flow of liquid material”, *The controller producing the drive signal in Yoshidome is the variable voltage signal generation unit, as claimed) wherein a voltage magnitude (see at least para. [0036] of Yoshidome which discloses “A voltage is applied to each of the arrays of stripes 502, 504 through contacts 506, 508. The amount of expansion for each stripe depends on the composition of the piezoelectric material as well as the magnitude of the applied voltage. As such, varying the voltage applied to the stripes 502, 504 adjusts the size of the opening between adjacent stripes, thereby affecting the flow rate of liquid material into the vaporizer chamber 232” and see at least para. [0044] of Yoshidome which discloses “The stripes 502, 504 may be contracted by varying the applied voltage provided through contacts 506, 508”), a cycle, and an operation time (Yoshidome discloses a controller configured to generate a drive signal representing a voltage, wherein the drive signal alternates between different voltage levels for defined time intervals to establish a cycle and is applied for an overall operation time, thereby constituting a variable voltage signal generation unit configured to operate by at least one of a voltage magnitude, a cycle and an operation time, as recited) set through the cleaning operation mode setting logic unit (*The parameters of Yoshidome’s drive signal are set in accordance with the cleaning operation mode determined by Bacchus. The controller producing the drive signal in Yoshidome constitutes the claimed variable voltage signal generation unit, which is operatively connected as modified by Bacchus’ control structure, and whose voltage magnitude, cycle and/or operation time are set in accordance with the cleaning operation mode determined by Bacchus), and transmits the variable voltage signal to the piezo (see at least para. [0046] of Yoshidome which discloses “The drive signal 900 represents a voltage or current delivered to the one or more piezoelectric grids 405”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning operation mode determined of Bacchus to use a variable voltage signal generation unit with at least one of a voltage magnitude, a cycle, and an operation time techniques while transmitting the variable voltage signal to the piezo as disclosed in Yoshidome with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve electrical control of intensity and duration. See para. [0036] and [0046] of Yoshidome for motivation.
Regarding claim 11, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, discloses further including the setting
of the cleaning operation mode (see at least para. [0037] of Bacchus which discloses “an intensity and duration recommendation 304 for cleaning operation to remove the contaminant”).
Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, may not explicitly disclose generating a variable voltage
signal by operating by at least one of a voltage magnitude, a cycle, and an operation time according to the setting of the cleaning operation mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoshidome discloses generating a variable voltage
signal (Fig. 9, 900 and see at least para. [0046] of Yoshidome which discloses “a drive signal 900 produced by a controller (not shown) that controls the operation of the injector/vaporizer 122. The drive signal 900 represents a voltage or current delivered to the one or more piezoelectric grids 405. When the drive signal 900 is at a first level 902, the arrays of stripes 502, 504 are fully expanded to shut-off the flow of liquid material”, *The controller producing the drive signal in Yoshidome is the variable voltage signal generation unit, as claimed) by operating by at least one of a voltage magnitude (see at least para. [0036] of Yoshidome which discloses “A voltage is applied to each of the arrays of stripes 502, 504 through contacts 506, 508. The amount of expansion for each stripe depends on the composition of the piezoelectric material as well as the magnitude of the applied voltage. As such, varying the voltage applied to the stripes 502, 504 adjusts the size of the opening between adjacent stripes, thereby affecting the flow rate of liquid material into the vaporizer chamber 232” and see at least para. [0044] of Yoshidome which discloses “The stripes 502, 504 may be contracted by varying the applied voltage provided through contacts 506, 508”), a cycle, and an operation time (Yoshidome discloses a controller configured to generate a drive signal representing a voltage, wherein the drive signal alternates between different voltage levels for defined time intervals to establish a cycle and is applied for an overall operation time, thereby constituting a variable voltage signal generation unit configured to operate by at least one of a voltage magnitude, a cycle and an operation time, as recited) according to the setting of the cleaning operation mode (*The parameters of Yoshidome’s drive signal are set in accordance with the cleaning operation mode determined by Bacchus. The controller producing the drive signal in Yoshidome constitutes the claimed variable voltage signal generation unit, which is operatively connected as modified by Bacchus’ control structure, and whose voltage magnitude, cycle and/or operation time are set in accordance with the cleaning operation mode determined by Bacchus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning operation mode determined of Bacchus to use a variable voltage signal generation unit with at least one of a voltage magnitude, a cycle, and an operation time techniques as disclosed in Yoshidome with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve electrical control of intensity and duration. See para. [0036] and [0046] of Yoshidome for motivation.
Regarding claim 12, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin and Yoshidome discloses further
including performing electronic cleaning (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “The sensor lens cover 702 is mounted to an actuator 704, that in some embodiments, may be a piezoelectric vibrating element to produce ultrasonic vibrations of the sensor lens cover 702. Such a cleaning modality is effective at removing fluid contamination present on the sensor lens cover 702”) by a piezo (see at least para. [0042] of Bacchus which discloses “a piezoelectric vibrating element”) according to the variable voltage signal (Bacchus further discloses a piezoelectric actuator mounted to a sensor lens cover, wherein the piezoelectric element produces ultrasonic vibrations to electronically clean the sensor lens cover in response to contamination as discussed in para. [0042]. Therefore, this teaches a piezo electrically driven to perform electronic cleaning according to operating and contamination conditions).
Regarding claim 15, Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, discloses setting of cleaning operation
mode, in response that cleaning is required based on the traveling status or the driving environment of the vehicle.
Bacchus, as modified by Stahlin, may not explicitly disclose further including: generating
a variable voltage signal by operating by at least one of a voltage magnitude, a cycle, and an operation time according to setting of cleaning operation mode, in response that cleaning is required based on the traveling status or the driving environment of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoshidome discloses generating a variable voltage
signal (Fig. 9, 900 and see at least para. [0046] of Yoshidome which discloses “a drive signal 900 produced by a controller (not shown) that controls the operation of the injector/vaporizer 122. The drive signal 900 represents a voltage or current delivered to the one or more piezoelectric grids 405. When the drive signal 900 is at a first level 902, the arrays of stripes 502, 504 are fully expanded to shut-off the flow of liquid material”, *The controller producing the drive signal in Yoshidome is the variable voltage signal generation unit, as claimed) by operating by at least one of a voltage magnitude (see at least para. [0036] of Yoshidome which discloses “A voltage is applied to each of the arrays of stripes 502, 504 through contacts 506, 508. The amount of expansion for each stripe depends on the composition of the piezoelectric material as well as the magnitude of the applied voltage. As such, varying the voltage applied to the stripes 502, 504 adjusts the size of the opening between adjacent stripes, thereby affecting the flow rate of liquid material into the vaporizer chamber 232” and see at least para. [0044] of Yoshidome which discloses “The stripes 502, 504 may be contracted by varying the applied voltage provided through contacts 506, 508”), a cycle, and an operation time (Yoshidome discloses a controller configured to generate a drive signal representing a voltage, wherein the drive signal alternates between different voltage levels for defined time intervals to establish a cycle and is applied for an overall operation time, thereby constituting a variable voltage signal generation unit configured to operate by at least one of a voltage magnitude, a cycle and an operation time, as recited) according to setting of cleaning operation mode, in response that cleaning is required based on the traveling status or the driving environment of the vehicle (*The parameters of Yoshidome’s drive signal are set in accordance with the cleaning operation mode determined by Bacchus. The controller producing the drive signal in Yoshidome constitutes the claimed variable voltage signal generation unit, which is operatively connected as modified by Bacchus’ control structure, and whose voltage magnitude, cycle and/or operation time are set in accordance with the cleaning operation mode determined by Bacchus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning operation mode determined of Bacchus to use generating a variable voltage signal with at least one of a voltage magnitude, a cycle, and an operation time techniques as disclosed in Yoshidome with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve electrical control of intensity and duration. See para. [0036] and [0046] of Yoshidome for motivation.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Green (US 2019/0359179A1) discloses a sensor cleaning system that can remove debris from the sensor housing is implemented via a vehicle computer having a memory and a processor programmed to execute instructions stored in the memory. The instructions include determining a vehicle speed, selecting at least one actuator to vibrate a sensor housing based on the vehicle speed, and commanding the at least one actuator to vibrate the sensor housing in accordance with the vehicle speed to remove debris from the sensor housing. May (US 2014/0232869 A1) discloses a vision system that is operable to detect light and dark spots in captured image data and is operable to determine when such spots are indicative of dirt or water droplets or the like at the lens of the camera. The vision system determines such dirt spots via processing multiple frames of video image data. Optionally, the vision system may process image data captured by two cameras at the vehicle with overlapping fields of view, and responsive to detection of one or more spots (at the overlapping regions) in one of the camera's image data and not in the other camera's image data, the vision system determines that the detected spot or spots are indicative of dirt at the lens of the one camera
Conclusion
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/D.D.I/January 7, 2026
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662