DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagle et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0004315) in view of Khosravi et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0095898).
With regard to Claim 1, Nagle teaches a storage system comprising:
one or more storage devices comprising flash memory ([0032] “the storage drive 171A-F may be one or more solid-state drives (‘SSDs’), flash memory based storage, any type of solid-state non-volatile memory, or any other type of non-mechanical storage device.”); and
a storage system controller (Fig. 1A: Controller 110A), operatively coupled to the one or more storage devices, configured to:
store encrypted data in the flash memory for a plurality of tenants, wherein each of the plurality of tenants has one corresponding encryption key for both encrypting and decrypting data stored for the plurality of tenants ([0172] “volumes may be encrypted with a volume key that itself is encrypted with a tenant key that only the tenant can provide (e.g., either through Key Management Interoperability Protocol (KMIP) or some other schema).” [0169] “Each tenant may separately manage the encryption key or keys used to encrypt and decrypt the data stored on the blocks belonging to each respective tenant. In one embodiment, each volume may be assigned a volume key and each tenant may be assigned (or may select) a tenant key.” [0024] “an encryption key, as referred to herein, may be an encryption/decryption key as used in a symmetric encryption algorithm,” wherein the “encryption/decryption key”, i.e. a symmetric encryption key, is the “one... encryption key for both encrypting and decrypting”.);
receive, from a particular tenant of the plurality of tenants, an input/output (I/O) request to access a portion of the encrypted data associated with the particular tenant, ([0183] “Referring to FIG. 5, at block 502, processing logic receives a request to write a data block to a volume resident on a multi-tenant storage array. In one embodiment, the request is associated with a first tenant of the multi-tenant storage array.”).
With further regard to claim 1, Nagle does not teach the request comprising protection information as described in claim 1. Khosravi teaches
the I/O request comprising protection information for the portion of the encrypted data that includes a tenant identifier and excludes the corresponding encryption key ([0030] “FIGS. 4-5 depict an embodiment of the multi-tenant system 100 of FIG. 1 in greater detail. In particular, these figures depict embodiments including memory controller 120 arranged to encrypt and decrypt portions of SCM [Storage Class Memory] 130 based on keys 200.” [0043] “Logic flow 800 can begin at block 810. At block 810, ‘receive a memory access request to include an indication of a physical address, the physical address to include an indication of the unique tenant identification and a physical address of the SCM,’ memory controller 120 can receive a memory access request including an indication of a physical address which includes an indication of a unique tenant ID. For example, physical address parser 122 of memory controller 120 can receive physical address 301 including an indication of key ID 212-1 (e.g., in a number of the most significant bits of the physical address, or the like),” see Fig. 5 showing the received “memory access request” comprising a unique “Tenant Key ID 212-1”, i.e. the “tenant identifier”, without including the corresponding encryption key.);
identify the corresponding encryption key associated with the particular tenant using the protection information by performing a lookup in a stored mapping between tenant identifiers and encryption keys using the tenant identifier included in the protection information ([0044] “Continuing to block 820... the memory controller 120 can access the SCM based on the physical address and the unique tenant ID. For example, physical address parser 122 of memory controller 120 can determine an SCM physical address 303 from physical address 301 and a tenant encryption key 211 (e.g., tenant encryption key 211-1, or the like) based on key ID 212 (e.g., key ID 212-1, or the like),” wherein the “Tenant Encryption Key 211-1” is the “corresponding encryption key”. [0038] “MMU 610 can configure key ID 212 in context entry table 601, which can be used by memory controller 120 to reference an encryption key 211 from key table 200 with which to encrypt or decrypt I/O device data,” see Fig. 2 showing “Key Table 210,” wherein “Key Table 200” is the “stored mapping”.); and
perform the requested I/O operation using the corresponding encryption key ([0044] “Additionally, memory encryption/decryption unit 124 can access data in the SCM using the SCM physical address 303 and encrypt or decrypt the data based on the tenant encryption key 211.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the storage system as disclosed by Nagle with the request comprising protection information as taught by Khosravi in order “to provide security and isolation between individual tenant data” (Khosravi [0019]).
With regard to Claim 2, Nagle in view of Khosravi teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as described above. Nagle further teaches wherein the portion of the encrypted data is stored in a portion of the flash memory allocated to the particular tenant ([0069] “Flash memory is one type of solid-state memory that may be integrated with the embodiments, although the embodiments may be extended to other types of solid-state memory or other storage medium, including non-solid state memory.”).
With regard to Claim 3, Nagle in view of Khosravi teaches all the limitations of Claim 2 as described above. Nagle further teaches wherein the portion of the flash memory is one or more pages of flash memory ([0053] “Flash memory devices 120a-n, may be presented to the controller 119A-D as an addressable collection of Flash pages, erase blocks, and/or control elements sufficient to allow the storage device controller 119A-D to program and retrieve various aspects of the Flash. In one embodiment, storage device controller 119A-D may perform operations on flash memory devices 120a-n including storing and retrieving data content of pages”).
With regard to Claim 4, Nagle in view of Khosravi teaches all the limitations of Claim 2 as described above. Nagle further teaches wherein the portion of the flash memory includes metadata identifying at least one of the particular tenant or the corresponding encryption key associated with the portion of the encrypted data ([0172] “each block of a volume may include (e.g., in a metadata header) an index into the tenant key table, which may identify the tenant and/or volume key.”).
With regard to Claim 5, Nagle in view of Khosravi teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as described above. Khosravi further teaches wherein the stored mapping comprises a table associating tenant identifiers with corresponding encryption keys (See Fig. 2 showing “Key Table 210,” i.e. the “stored mapping”, comprising a table associating “Tenant Key IDs 212” with corresponding “Tenant Encryption Keys 211”. For example, [0038] “MMU 610 can configure key ID 212 in context entry table 601, which can be used by memory controller 120 to reference an encryption key 211 from key table 200 with which to encrypt or decrypt I/O device data.”)
With regard to Claim 6, Nagle in view of Khosravi teaches all the limitations of Claim 5 as described above. Khosravi further teaches wherein the storage system controller accesses the table using the tenant identifier included in the protection information to identify the corresponding encryption key ([0044] “Continuing to block 820... the memory controller 120 can access the SCM based on the physical address and the unique tenant ID. For example, physical address parser 122 of memory controller 120 can determine an SCM physical address 303 from physical address 301 and a tenant encryption key 211 (e.g., tenant encryption key 211-1, or the like) based on key ID 212 (e.g., key ID 212-1, or the like).” [0038] “MMU 610 can configure key ID 212 in context entry table 601, which can be used by memory controller 120 to reference an encryption key 211 from key table 200 with which to encrypt or decrypt I/O device data.”).
With regard to Claim 7, Nagle in view of Khosravi teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as described above. Nagle further teaches wherein the one or more storage devices are managed flash storage devices ([0069] “Flash memory is one type of solid-state memory that may be integrated with the embodiments, although the embodiments may be extended to other types of solid-state memory or other storage medium, including non-solid state memory.”).
With regard to Claim 8, Nagle in view of Khosravi teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as described above. Nagle further teaches wherein the one or more storage devices have corresponding storage device encryption keys and wherein the storage device encryption keys and corresponding encryption keys for the plurality of tenants are used to encrypt and decrypt the data stored for the plurality of tenants ([0169] “Each tenant may separately manage the encryption key or keys used to encrypt and decrypt the data stored on the blocks belonging to each respective tenant. In one embodiment, each volume may be assigned a volume key and each tenant may be assigned (or may select) a tenant key.” [0181] “In one embodiment, volumes may be encrypted with a volume key that itself is encrypted with a tenant key that only the tenant can provide.” [0189] “At block 608, processing logic encrypts the first data block with a non-shared volume key, encrypts the non-shared volume key with the first tenant key (block 610), and provides the encrypted non-shared volume key to the first tenant (block 612).”).
With regard to Claims 9-16, these claims are equivalent in scope to Claims 1-8 rejected above, merely having a different independent claim type, and as such Claims 9-16 are respectively rejected under the same grounds and for the same reasons as discussed above with regard to Claims 1-8.
With regard to Claims 17-20, these claims are equivalent in scope to Claims 1-4 rejected above, merely having a different independent claim type, and as such Claims 17-20 are respectively rejected under the same grounds and for the same reasons as discussed above with regard to Claims 1-4.
With further regard to Claim 17, the claim recites additional elements not specifically addressed in the rejection of Claim 1. The Nagle reference also anticipates these additional elements of Claim 17, for example, Nagle teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed, cause a storage system controller to [perform operations] ([0074] “The memory 154 has instructions which are executed by the CPU 156 and/or data operated on by the CPU 156.” [0182] “FIG. 5 illustrates a first flow diagram for deduplication-aware per-tenant encryption in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. The method 500 may be performed by processing logic that comprises hardware…, software…, or a combination thereof.” See also Claim 37 of Nagle: “An apparatus that includes a computer memory, the computer memory including computer program instructions that, when executed, cause the apparatus to carry out the steps of: …”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 6-9 of the Remarks filed 6/25/26, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of Independent Claims 1, 9, and 17, as well Dependent Claims 5-6 and 13-14 ,have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the Applicant’s argument that the newly amended language of Claims 1, 5-6, 9, 13-14 and 17 is not taught by the previously cited prior art, this argument has been fully considered but is moot in view of the newly cited Khosravi et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0095898) reference as discussed above in the respective rejections.
With respect to the Applicant’s further arguments, Pages 9-10 of the Remarks, that the features of the remaining claims are not taught by the cited prior art, the Office respectfully disagrees. These arguments rely upon the arguments as presented in relation to Independent Claims 1, 9, and 17, and as such the Office directs the Applicant to the response above regarding these arguments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is as follows:
Ferguson et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0319160) discloses a method for deploying an encrypted entity on a trusted entity, including use of a lookup table which is able to identify a tenant’s public key from a tenant ID, wherein the public key is used in the encryption/decryption of data.
Kuppusamya et al. (“Design and Development of Multi-Tenant Web Framework,” 2015) discusses implementation of a Multi-Tenant Web Framework (MWF) which enables transformation of any single-tenant, web based application into a fully multi-tenant one and provides add-on services, including discussion regarding use of a tenant keystore and an encryption/decryption key.
/NICHOLAS J SIMONETTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137 July 11, 2026