DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No additional information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) were submitted for consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 11/16/2023.
Status of Application
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claims 1 and 4 are amended.
No claims are withdrawn from consideration.
No claims are cancelled.
No claims are added.
Claim 1 is an independent claim.
Claims 1-10 will be examined.
This Final Office action is in response to the “Applicant Arguments/Remarks” and “Claims” dated 08/31/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks/Arguments, filed 8/31/2026, with respect to claims 1-10, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference(s) AMANO et al., US 20240287763, and previously disclosed prior art reference(s) SANO, KAZUO, and UDAGAWA. The grounds for rejection in view of amended claims are provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANO et al., US 20250129566, herein further known as Sano, in view of KAZUO, JP 2002167794, herein further known as Kazuo, further in view of AMANO et al., US 20240287763, herein further known as Amano.
Regarding claim 1, Sano discloses a working machine (¶ [0031], digging machine) comprising: a machine body (¶ [0033], upper slewing body); a boom (¶ [0034] coupled to the machine body such that the boom is rotatable about a first lateral shaft (¶¶ [0036-0039], rotate about boom angle sensor S1, coupling pin, see also FIG 1); an arm coupled to a distal portion of the boom such that the arm is rotatable about a second lateral shaft (¶¶ [0036-0039], rotate about arm angle sensor S2, coupling pin, see also FIG 1); a bucket coupled to a distal portion of the arm such that the bucket is rotatable about a third lateral shaft (¶¶ [0036-0039], rotate about bucket angle sensor S3, and S3 coupling pin (i.e. third lateral shaft), is rotation angle of the bucket 6 with respect to the arm 5, see also FIG 1) and including an edge portion located away from a junction of the bucket and the arm, the edge portion being a leading edge when the bucket excavates earth (¶¶ [0129], [0132-0135], claw tip); a rotation sensor to measure rotation of a to-be-measured object which is at least one of the boom, the arm, or the bucket (¶¶ [0036-0039], angle sensors S1, S2, S3); and a controller (¶¶ [0130], [0215-0218]), configured or programmed to control rotation (¶¶ [0162-0169], controller adjusts rotation) of the to-be-measured object (¶¶ [0036-0039], boom, arm, bucket); wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control rotation (¶¶ [0162-0169], controller adjusts rotation) of the to-be-measured object (¶¶ [0036-0039], boom, arm, bucket) based on an output value (¶ [0130], controller 30 acquired information… from S1, S2, S3).
However, Sano does not explicitly state applying a correction function directly or indirectly to a difference between a target angular velocity for when the to-be-measured object rotates and an actual angular velocity of the to-be-measured object for which the target angular velocity is set, the actual angular velocity being derived based on a measurement result from the rotation sensor, the correction function being based on the actual angular velocity.
Kazuo teaches applying a correction function directly or indirectly to a difference between a target angular velocity and an actual angular velocity, the correction function being based on the actual angular velocity (¶¶ [0061-0068], summary: the bucket angle constant holding control, the operation signal of the bucket is directly calculated from the bucket target angular velocity ωc calculated based on the actual angular velocity ωb of the arm and the target angular velocity ωa of the boom. It is also possible to incorporate feedback control according to the difference between the target ground angle of the bucket and the actual bucket ground angle, and to add a control calculation for correcting the value of ωc.).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Sano the applying a correction function directly or indirectly to a difference between a target angular velocity and an actual angular velocity, the correction function being based on the actual angular velocity as taught by Kazuo.
One would be motivated to modify Sano in view of Kazuo for the reasons stated in Kazuo paragraph [0066], more robust methods and system to reduce bias error in the output of the angular velocity sensor when it monotonously increases, and thus increase estimation accuracy of the posture of the object. Furthermore, the more robust methods and system wherein constant holding control can be smoothly performed, and the operability can be greatly improved.
Furthermore, Amano teaches object for which the target angular velocity is set, and the actual angular velocity being derived (¶¶ [0074-0077 target angular velocities output actual angular velocities of the joint portions 18a and 19a (the boom 17, the arm 18, and the bucket 19) of the front work device 3, see also FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate into Sano the object for which the target angular velocity is set, and the actual angular velocity being derived as taught by Amano.
One would be motivated to modify Sano in view of Amano for the reasons stated in Amano paragraph [0006], more robust methods and systems to avoid hydraulic actuator deviating from a target velocity corresponding to the operation of the operation device, and prevent runaway of the hydraulic actuator.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sano, Amano, and Kazuo disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Sano discloses further the rotation sensor is operable to measure rotation of the boom, which is the to-be-measured object (¶¶ [0036-0039], rotate about boom angle sensor S1), about the first lateral shaft (¶¶ [0036-0039], rotate about boom coupling pin, see also FIG 1); and the controller is configured or programmed to control rotation of the boom (¶¶ [0162-0169], controller adjusts rotation), and the actual angular velocity of the boom that is derived based on the measurement result from the rotation sensor (¶¶ [0061-0068, summary: the bucket angle constant holding control, the operation signal of the bucket is directly calculated from the bucket target angular velocity ωc calculated based on the actual angular velocity ωb of the arm and the target angular velocity ωa of the boom. It is also possible to incorporate feedback control according to the difference between the target ground angle of the bucket and the actual bucket ground angle, and to add a control calculation for correcting the value of ωc.).
However, Sano does not explicitly state based on the output value obtained by applying the correction function based on the actual angular velocity directly or indirectly to the difference between the target angular velocity for the boom.
Kazuo teaches based on the output value obtained by applying the correction function based on the actual angular velocity directly or indirectly to the difference between the target angular velocity for the boom (¶¶ [0061-0068], summary: the bucket angle constant holding control, the operation signal of the bucket is directly calculated from the bucket target angular velocity ωc calculated based on the actual angular velocity ωb of the arm and the target angular velocity ωa of the boom. It is also possible to incorporate feedback control according to the difference between the target ground angle of the bucket and the actual bucket ground angle, and to add a control calculation for correcting the value of ωc. [0069], the present invention is applied to a hydraulic excavator having three front members of a boom, an arm, and a bucket).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Sano the output value obtained by applying the correction function based on the actual angular velocity directly or indirectly to the difference between the target angular velocity for the boom as taught by Kazuo.
One would be motivated to modify Sano in view of Kazuo for the reasons stated in Kazuo paragraph [0066], more robust methods and system to reduce bias error in the output of the angular velocity sensor when it monotonously increases, and thus increase estimation accuracy of the posture of the object. Furthermore, the more robust methods and system wherein constant holding control can be smoothly performed, and the operability can be greatly improved.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sano, Amano, and Kazuo disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Sano discloses further the rotation sensor is operable to measure rotation of the arm, which is the to-be-measured object (¶¶ [0036-0039], rotate about arm angle sensor S2), about the second lateral shaft (¶¶ [0036-0039], rotate about arm coupling pin, see also FIG 1); and the controller is configured or programmed to control rotation of the arm (¶¶ [0162-0169], controller adjusts rotation), and the actual angular velocity of the arm that is derived based on the measurement result from the rotation sensor (¶¶ [0143], arm command value, may be angular velocities or angular accelerations of the arm 5, [0183], [0188-0189], , angular velocity ω.sub.arm of the arm).
However, Sano does not explicitly state based on the output value obtained by applying the correction function based on the actual angular velocity directly or indirectly to the difference between the target angular velocity for the arm.
Kazuo teaches based on the output value obtained by applying the correction function based on the actual angular velocity directly or indirectly to the difference between the target angular velocity for the arm (¶¶ [0061-0068], summary: the bucket angle constant holding control, the operation signal of the bucket is directly calculated from the bucket target angular velocity ωc calculated based on the actual angular velocity ωb of the arm and the target angular velocity ωa of the boom. It is also possible to incorporate feedback control according to the difference between the target ground angle of the bucket and the actual bucket ground angle, and to add a control calculation for correcting the value of ωc., [0069], the present invention is applied to a hydraulic excavator having three front members of a boom, an arm, and a bucket).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Sano based on the output value obtained by applying the correction function based on the actual angular velocity directly or indirectly to the difference between the target angular velocity for the arm as taught by Kazuo.
One would be motivated to modify Sano in view of Kazuo for the reasons stated in Kazuo paragraph [0066], more robust methods and system to reduce bias error in the output of the angular velocity sensor when it monotonously increases, and thus increase estimation accuracy of the posture of the object. Furthermore, the more robust methods and system wherein constant holding control can be smoothly performed, and the operability can be greatly improved.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sano, Amano, and Kazuo disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Sano discloses further the rotation sensor is operable to measure rotation of the bucket, which is the to-be-measured object (¶¶ [0036-0039], rotate bucket about angle sensor S3), about the third lateral shaft (¶¶ [0036-0039], rotate about bucket about thee coupling pin, see also FIG 1); and the controller is configured or programmed to control rotation of the bucket (¶¶ [0162-0169], controller adjusts rotation), and the actual angular velocity of the bucket that is derived based on the measurement result from the rotation sensor (¶¶ [0143], bucket command value, may be angular velocities or angular accelerations of the bucket 6, [0183], [0188-0189], , angular velocity/accelerations of the bucket).
However, Sano does not explicitly state based on the output value obtained by applying the correction function based on the actual angular velocity directly or indirectly to the difference between the target angular velocity for the bucket.
Kazuo teaches based on the output value obtained by applying the correction function based on the actual angular velocity directly or indirectly to the difference between the target angular velocity for the bucket (¶¶ [0061-0068], summary: the bucket angle constant holding control, the operation signal of the bucket is directly calculated from the bucket target angular velocity ωc calculated based on the actual angular velocity ωb of the arm and the target angular velocity ωa of the boom. It is also possible to incorporate feedback control according to the difference between the target ground angle of the bucket and the actual bucket ground angle, and to add a control calculation for correcting the value of ωc. [0069], the present invention is applied to a hydraulic excavator having three front members of a boom, an arm, and a bucket).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Sano based on the output value obtained by applying the correction function based on the actual angular velocity directly or indirectly to the difference between the target angular velocity for the bucket as taught by Kazuo.
One would be motivated to modify Sano in view of Kazuo for the reasons stated in Kazuo paragraph [0066], more robust methods and system to reduce bias error in the output of the angular velocity sensor when it monotonously increases, and thus increase estimation accuracy of the posture of the object. Furthermore, the more robust methods and system wherein constant holding control can be smoothly performed, and the operability can be greatly improved.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Sano, Amano, and Kazuo disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Sano discloses further the rotation sensor includes a potentiometer (¶ [0039]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Sano, Amano, and Kazuo, in view of UDAGAWA, JP 2014096954, herein further known as Udagawa.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sano, Amano, and Kazuo disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
However, Sano does not explicitly state correction function includes a proportional component and a derivative component obtained by decomposing the actual angular velocity.
Udagawa teaches correction function includes a proportional component and a derivative component obtained by decomposing the actual angular velocity (¶ [0019]).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Sano the correction function includes a proportional component and a derivative component obtained by decomposing the actual angular velocity as taught by Udagawa.
One would be motivated to modify Sano in view of Udagawa for the reasons stated in Udagawa more robust methods and system for improving the drive unit, a variable displacement hydraulic pump to always supply a constant flow rate of pressure oil to the actuator that drives used on the working machine.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRY C BUSE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666