Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salter et al. (US2023/0217167A1), hereinafter Salter.
As to Claim 1, Salter teaches an audio system (Figure 1) comprising: one or more microphones (array of microphones 24-27) for being positioned about a vehicle (exterior of a vehicle, [0017]) to provide a captured audio input signal (an array of exterior transducers and an array of interior transducers to reproduce sounds from the exterior to the interior of the vehicle. [0006]); and at least one controller being programmed to: receive the captured audio input signal (the control circuit receives signals from an array of external transducers 24-27. Transducers 24-27 may be comprised of microphones and/or other sound pickup devices (e.g., window glass-based microphones or body sheet metal microphones using an exciter attached to the flat surfaces See at least [0016]); receive a first signal indicative of a vehicle speed for the vehicle ( Figure 5 shows logical elements including speed information 41A, [0021]); determine an attenuation amount based on the vehicle speed for the vehicle; and attenuate the captured audio input signal based on the attenuation amount to increase clarity of the captured audio input signal, [0017] teaches the invention may utilize a database (e.g., lookup table) covering a range of conditions (e.g., speed, gear, road surface) for estimating noise present at any particular microphone during any driving situation. It is desirable to mitigate this wind noise by filtering it out where possible. FIG. 2B shows a graph with a trace 31 showing an attenuation adjustment of microphone signals varying by frequency. Because the majority of unwanted sound is between the 100 Hz to 1000 Hz range, the attenuation adjustment includes a heavier filtering out of the sound in this range, thus Salter teaches the attenuation amount depends on the vehicle speed and the amount of noise present at any particular microphone during any driving situation.
As to Claim 2, Salter teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein the one or more microphones are positioned in at least one of an engine compartment, a trunk compartment, a chassis, and one or more of a front bumper and a rear bumper (Salter teaches an array of external microphones 24-27 on the exterior of the vehicle can pick up exterior noise including engine noise or noise of tires. [0017].
As to Claim 3, Salter teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and, wherein the captured audio input signal corresponds to a captured audio signal that is external to the vehicle (it uses an array of exterior transducers and an array of interior transducers to reproduce sounds from the exterior to the interior of the vehicle. [0006] and [0017]).
As to Claim 4, Salter teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and, wherein the at least one controller (controller 15, Figure 5) includes a look up table (LUT) (look-up table 42) that includes a plurality of vehicle speeds and a plurality of attenuation amounts,( [0021] teaches vehicle speed 41A is used as an index into look-up table 42A which outputs a unique filter profile 43A corresponding to the vehicle’s speed) wherein each of the plurality of vehicle speeds has an associated attenuation amount from the plurality of attenuation amounts, [0021] teaches speed 41B used as an index into look-up table 42BB which outputs a unique gain profile 43B corresponding to the blower speed. This gain profile will mitigate the effects of competing sounds in the interior of the vehicle by increasing different frequencies of the exterior audio signals at different levels as mentioned above.
As to Claim 5, Salter teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and, wherein the at least one controller (controller 15) includes a gain block (gain profile 43B, Figure 5) configured to have a gain adjusted thereof to attenuate the captured audio input signal, [0022] teaches he gain and attenuation profiles may each be comprised of a function wherein a positive or negative gain is applied at each respective frequency within a range of audio frequencies. The separate gain profiles and attenuation profiles can be applied to the exterior audio signals from the microphone array either separately or together.)
As to Claim 6, Salter teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein the at least one controller is further programmed to transmit an audio output signal corresponding to the attenuated captured audio input signal to one or more loudspeakers positioned in the vehicle ( as audio processor 47 may preferably be a digital audio processor which may convert the gain-modified audio signals to analog signals for distribution to internal transducers (e.g., main cabin speakers 20-23) via a multi-channel amplifier, thereby reproducing the apparent direction to sound sources outside the vehicle. See at least [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter et al. (US2023/0217167A1), hereinafter Salter in view of Du, Yu et al. (CN 103770736A), hereinafter “Du”.
As to Claim 7, Salter teaches the limitations of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one controller is further programmed to determine a cutoff frequency based on the vehicle speed for the vehicle. However, Du in related field ( sound system in vehicles) teaches on [0012] considering the noise generated during the high speed and low speed running of the vehicle, having a different acoustic characteristic (noise frequency is obviously different), so as one preferred embodiment. further comprising a mode selection module, the module and the filter module and judging and comparing module communication, obtaining the current vehicle speed, setting the working mode of the filter module: when the vehicle is in a low-speed driving mode, the filter module has a low cut-off frequency; when the vehicle is in the high-speed driving mode. the filter module has a higher cut-off frequency. Further on [0026] teaches he central processing unit of the signal processing flow in FIG. CPU2. firstly selecting module according to the real-time speed information selecting the working mode by the mode. when the vehicle speed is more than the predetermined threshold Vth, it enters the speed judgment mode, otherwise it enters the low-speed judging mode. Vth- like the value between the 20 to 30km/h. a high-pass filter module S2 according to the mode selection result the microphone signal into a corresponding high-pass filter processing. low speed mode and the high-pass filter cut off frequency is generally 200 to 300 Hz. Because the outside caused by turbulent air low noise frequency component, such a set can effectively filter air noise effect while sufficiently retaining engine and tire noise from the adjacent vehicle. high-speed mode and the high-pass filter cut off frequency is generally 1000 to 2000 Hz, so as to keep high frequency signal sensitive to sound field boundary condition, which is convenient for subsequent determination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to determine a cutoff frequency based on the vehicle speed for the vehicle, to determine the acoustic characteristic based on the different noise frequency caused due to the different speed of the vehicle. See at least Du on [0012].
As to Claim 8, Salter in view of Du teaches the limitations of Claim 7 and wherein the at least one controller is further programmed to apply the cutoff frequency to one or more filters to filter the captured audio input signal, Du on [0026] teaches a high-pass filter module S2 according to the mode selection result the microphone signal into a corresponding high-pass filter processing. low speed mode and the high-pass filter cutoff frequency is generally 200 to 300 Hz. Because the outside caused by turbulent air low noise frequency component, such a set can effectively filter air noise effect while sufficiently retaining engine and tire noise from the adjacent vehicle. high-speed mode and the high-pass filter cutoff frequency is generally 1000 to 2000 Hz, so as to keep high frequency signal sensitive to sound field boundary condition, which is convenient for subsequent determination.
As to Claim 9, Salter in view of Du teaches the limitations of Claim 8 and regarding the following: wherein the at least one controller includes a look up table (LUT) that includes a plurality of vehicle speeds and a plurality of cutoff frequencies, wherein each of the plurality of vehicle speeds has an associated cutoff frequency to be applied to the one or more filters, Salter teaches [0021] teaches each logical element is used as an index to a corresponding look-up table 42 storing respective predetermined sound modifications to compensate for the different factors impacting the audibility of the exterior sounds. Further speed 41B used as an index into look-up table 42BB which outputs a unique gain profile 43B corresponding to the blower speed. This gain profile will mitigate the effects of competing sounds in the interior of the vehicle by increasing different frequencies of the exterior audio signals at different levels as mentioned above. Salter does not explicitly teach the look up table includes plurality of cut off frequencies and wherein each of the plurality of vehicle speeds has an associated cutoff frequency to be applied to the one or more filters. However, Du teaches on [0012] considering the noise generated during the high speed and low speed running of the vehicle, having a different acoustic characteristic (noise frequency is obviously different), so as one preferred embodiment. further comprising a mode selection module, the module and the filter module and judging and comparing module communication, obtaining the current vehicle speed, setting the working mode of the filter module: when the vehicle is in a low-speed driving mode, the filter module has a low cut-off frequency; when the vehicle is in the high-speed driving mode. the filter module has a higher cut-off frequency. Further on [0026] teaches he central processing unit of the signal processing flow in FIG. CPU2. firstly selecting module according to the real-time speed information selecting the working mode by the mode. when the vehicle speed is more than the predetermined threshold Vth, it enters the speed judgment mode, otherwise it enters the low-speed judging mode. Vth- like the value between the 20 to 30km/h. a high-pass filter module S2 according to the mode selection result the microphone signal into a corresponding high-pass filter processing. low speed mode and the high-pass filter cut off frequency is generally 200 to 300 Hz. Because the outside caused by turbulent air low noise frequency component, such a set can effectively filter air noise effect while sufficiently retaining engine and tire noise from the adjacent vehicle. high-speed mode and the high-pass filter cut off frequency is generally 1000 to 2000 Hz, so as to keep high frequency signal sensitive to sound field boundary condition, which is convenient for subsequent determination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the look up table so as to further include cut-off frequencies and look up table includes plurality of cut off frequencies and wherein each of the plurality of vehicle speeds has an associated cutoff frequency to be applied to the one or more filters to include an active mode selection based on real time speed information [0012].
As to Claim 10, Salter teaches an audio system (Figure 1) comprising: one or more microphones (array of microphones 24-27) for being positioned about a vehicle (exterior of a vehicle, [0017]) to provide a captured audio input signal (an array of exterior transducers and an array of interior transducers to reproduce sounds from the exterior to the interior of the vehicle. [0006]); and at least one controller being programmed to: receive the captured audio input signal (the control circuit receives signals from an array of external transducers 24-27. Transducers 24-27 may be comprised of microphones and/or other sound pickup devices (e.g., window glass-based microphones or body sheet metal microphones using an exciter attached to the flat surfaces See at least [0016]); receive a first signal indicative of a vehicle speed for the vehicle ( Figure 5 shows logical elements including speed information 41A, [0021]).Regarding the following: determine a cutoff frequency based on the vehicle speed for the vehicle; and apply the cutoff frequency to one or more filters to attenuate the captured audio input signal, Salter teaches the invention may utilize a database (e.g., lookup table) covering a range of conditions (e.g., speed, gear, road surface) for estimating noise present at any particular microphone during any driving situation. It is desirable to mitigate this wind noise by filtering it out where possible. FIG. 2B shows a graph with a trace 31 showing an attenuation adjustment of microphone signals varying by frequency. Because the majority of unwanted sound is between the 100 Hz to 1000 Hz range, the attenuation adjustment includes a heavier filtering out of the sound in this range, thus Salter teaches the attenuation amount depends on the vehicle speed and the amount of noise present at any particular microphone during any driving situation. Salter does not explicitly teach determine a cutoff frequency based on the vehicle speed for the vehicle; and apply the cutoff frequency to one or more filters to attenuate the captured audio input signal. However, Du in related field (sound system in vehicles) teaches on [0012] considering the noise generated during the high speed and low speed running of the vehicle, having a different acoustic characteristic (noise frequency is obviously different), so as one preferred embodiment. further comprising a mode selection module, the module and the filter module and judging and comparing module communication, obtaining the current vehicle speed, setting the working mode of the filter module: when the vehicle is in a low-speed driving mode, the filter module has a low cut-off frequency; when the vehicle is in the high-speed driving mode. the filter module has a higher cut-off frequency. Further on [0026] teaches he central processing unit of the signal processing flow in FIG. CPU2. firstly, selecting module according to the real-time speed information selecting the working mode by the mode. when the vehicle speed is more than the predetermined threshold Vth, it enters the speed judgment mode, otherwise it enters the low-speed judging mode. Vth- like the value between the 20 to 30km/h. a high-pass filter module S2 according to the mode selection result the microphone signal into a corresponding high-pass filter processing. low speed mode and the high-pass filter cut off frequency is generally 200 to 300 Hz. Because the outside caused by turbulent air low noise frequency component, such a set can effectively filter air noise effect while sufficiently retaining engine and tire noise from the adjacent vehicle. high-speed mode and the high-pass filter cut off frequency is generally 1000 to 2000 Hz, so as to keep high frequency signal sensitive to sound field boundary condition, which is convenient for subsequent determination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to determine a cutoff frequency based on the vehicle speed for the vehicle, to determine the acoustic characteristic based on the different noise frequency caused due to the different speed of the vehicle. See at least Du on [0012].
As to Claim 11, Salter in view of Du teaches the limitations of Claim 10 and wherein the at least one controller is further programmed to apply the cutoff frequency to one or more filters to filter the captured audio input signal, Du on [0026] teaches a high-pass filter module S2 according to the mode selection result the microphone signal into a corresponding high-pass filter processing. low speed mode and the high-pass filter cutoff frequency is generally 200 to 300 Hz. Because the outside caused by turbulent air low noise frequency component, such a set can effectively filter air noise effect while sufficiently retaining engine and tire noise from the adjacent vehicle. high-speed mode and the high-pass filter cutoff frequency is generally 1000 to 2000 Hz, so as to keep high frequency signal sensitive to sound field boundary condition, which is convenient for subsequent determination.
As to Claim 12, Salter in view of Du teaches the limitations of Claim 11 and regarding the following: wherein the at least one controller includes a look up table (LUT) that includes a plurality of vehicle speeds and a plurality of cutoff frequencies, wherein each of the plurality of vehicle speeds has an associated cutoff frequency to be applied to the one or more filters, Salter teaches [0021] teaches each logical element is used as an index to a corresponding look-up table 42 storing respective predetermined sound modifications to compensate for the different factors impacting the audibility of the exterior sounds. Further speed 41B used as an index into look-up table 42BB which outputs a unique gain profile 43B corresponding to the blower speed. This gain profile will mitigate the effects of competing sounds in the interior of the vehicle by increasing different frequencies of the exterior audio signals at different levels as mentioned above. Salter does not explicitly teach the look up table includes plurality of cut off frequencies and wherein each of the plurality of vehicle speeds has an associated cutoff frequency to be applied to the one or more filters. However, Du teaches on [0012] considering the noise generated during the high speed and low speed running of the vehicle, having a different acoustic characteristic (noise frequency is obviously different), so as one preferred embodiment. further comprising a mode selection module, the module and the filter module and judging and comparing module communication, obtaining the current vehicle speed, setting the working mode of the filter module: when the vehicle is in a low-speed driving mode, the filter module has a low cut-off frequency; when the vehicle is in the high-speed driving mode. the filter module has a higher cut-off frequency. Further on [0026] teaches he central processing unit of the signal processing flow in FIG. CPU2. firstly selecting module according to the real-time speed information selecting the working mode by the mode. when the vehicle speed is more than the predetermined threshold Vth, it enters the speed judgment mode, otherwise it enters the low-speed judging mode. Vth- like the value between the 20 to 30km/h. a high-pass filter module S2 according to the mode selection result the microphone signal into a corresponding high-pass filter processing. low speed mode and the high-pass filter cut off frequency is generally 200 to 300 Hz. Because the outside caused by turbulent air low noise frequency component, such a set can effectively filter air noise effect while sufficiently retaining engine and tire noise from the adjacent vehicle. high-speed mode and the high-pass filter cut off frequency is generally 1000 to 2000 Hz, so as to keep high frequency signal sensitive to sound field boundary condition, which is convenient for subsequent determination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the look up table so as to further include cut-off frequencies and look up table includes plurality of cut off frequencies and wherein each of the plurality of vehicle speeds has an associated cutoff frequency to be applied to the one or more filters to include an active mode selection based on real time speed information [0012].
As to Claim 13, Salter in view of Du teaches the limitations of Claim 11 and wherein the at least one controller is further programmed to determine an attenuation amount based on the vehicle speed for the vehicle, Salter teaches [0017] teaches the invention may utilize a database (e.g., lookup table) covering a range of conditions (e.g., speed, gear, road surface) for estimating noise present at any particular microphone during any driving situation. It is desirable to mitigate this wind noise by filtering it out where possible. FIG. 2B shows a graph with a trace 31 showing an attenuation adjustment of microphone signals varying by frequency. Because the majority of unwanted sound is between the 100 Hz to 1000 Hz range, the attenuation adjustment includes a heavier filtering out of the sound in this range, thus Salter teaches the attenuation amount depends on the vehicle speed and the amount of noise present at any particular microphone during any driving situation.
As to Claim 14, Salter in view of Du teaches the limitations of Claim 11 and wherein the at least one controller is further programmed to attenuate the captured audio input signal based on the attenuation amount to increase clarity of the captured audio input signal, Salter teaches [0017] teaches the invention may utilize a database (e.g., lookup table) covering a range of conditions (e.g., speed, gear, road surface) for estimating noise present at any particular microphone during any driving situation. It is desirable to mitigate this wind noise by filtering it out where possible. FIG. 2B shows a graph with a trace 31 showing an attenuation adjustment of microphone signals varying by frequency. Because the majority of unwanted sound is between the 100 Hz to 1000 Hz range, the attenuation adjustment includes a heavier filtering out of the sound in this range, thus Salter teaches the attenuation amount depends on the vehicle speed and the amount of noise present at any particular microphone during any driving situation.
As to Claim 15, Salter in view of Du teaches the limitations of Claim 14 and Salter further teaches wherein the at least one controller (controller 15, Figure 5) includes a look up table (LUT) (look-up table 42) that includes a plurality of vehicle speeds and a plurality of attenuation amounts,( [0021] teaches vehicle speed 41A is used as an index into look-up table 42A which outputs a unique filter profile 43A corresponding to the vehicle’s speed) wherein each of the plurality of vehicle speeds has an associated attenuation amount from the plurality of attenuation amounts, [0021] teaches speed 41B used as an index into look-up table 42BB which outputs a unique gain profile 43B corresponding to the blower speed. This gain profile will mitigate the effects of competing sounds in the interior of the vehicle by increasing different frequencies of the exterior audio signals at different levels as mentioned above.
As to Claim 16, Salter in view of Du teaches the limitations of Claim 14, and Salter further teaches wherein the at least one controller (controller 15) includes a gain block (gain profile 43B, Figure 5) configured to have a gain adjusted thereof to attenuate the captured audio input signal, [0022] teaches he gain and attenuation profiles may each be comprised of a function wherein a positive or negative gain is applied at each respective frequency within a range of audio frequencies. The separate gain profiles and attenuation profiles can be applied to the exterior audio signals from the microphone array either separately or together.)
As to Claim 17, Salter in view of Du teaches the limitations of Claim 10 and Salter further teaches wherein the at least one controller is further programmed to transmit an audio output signal corresponding to the attenuated captured audio input signal to one or more loudspeakers positioned in the vehicle, ( as audio processor 47 may preferably be a digital audio processor which may convert the gain-modified audio signals to analog signals for distribution to internal transducers (e.g., main cabin speakers 20-23) via a multi-channel amplifier, thereby reproducing the apparent direction to sound sources outside the vehicle. See at least [0022]).
As to Claim 18, Salter in view of Du teaches the limitations of Claim 10 and Salter further teaches, wherein the one or more microphones are positioned in at least one of an engine compartment, a trunk compartment, a chassis, and one or more of a front bumper and a rear bumper, Salter teaches an array of external microphones 24-27 on the exterior of the vehicle can pick up exterior noise including engine noise or noise of tires. [0017].
As to Claim 19, Salter in view of Du teaches the limitations of Claim 10 and, wherein the captured audio input signal corresponds to a captured audio signal that is external to the vehicle, Salter teaches it uses an array of exterior transducers and an array of interior transducers to reproduce sounds from the exterior to the interior of the vehicle. [0006] and [0017]).
As to Claim 20, Salter teaches a computer-program product embodied in a non-transitory computer read-able medium that is programmed and executable by one or more controllers to attenuate audio in a vehicle (an apparatus used to send sound exterior to the vehicle to a location on the interior of a vehicle which corresponds with the sound’s external location. See at least abstract.); receiving a captured audio input signal from one or more microphones (array of microphones 24-27) positioned about a vehicle (exterior of a vehicle, [0017]); receiving a first signal indicative of a vehicle speed for the vehicle ( Figure 5 shows logical elements including speed information 41A, [0021]); performing one or more of: attenuating the captured audio input signal based on an attenuation amount to increase clarity of the captured audio input signal after determining the attenuation amount based on the vehicle speed for the vehicle [0017] teaches the invention may utilize a database (e.g., lookup table) covering a range of conditions (e.g., speed, gear, road surface) for estimating noise present at any particular microphone during any driving situation. It is desirable to mitigate this wind noise by filtering it out where possible. FIG. 2B shows a graph with a trace 31 showing an attenuation adjustment of microphone signals varying by frequency. Because the majority of unwanted sound is between the 100 Hz to 1000 Hz range, the attenuation adjustment includes a heavier filtering out of the sound in this range, thus Salter teaches the attenuation amount depends on the vehicle speed and the amount of noise present at any particular microphone during any driving situation.
Regarding the following: applying a cutoff frequency to one or more filters to attenuate the captured audio input signal after determining the cutoff frequency based on the vehicle speed for the vehicle, Salter teaches the invention may utilize a database (e.g., lookup table) covering a range of conditions (e.g., speed, gear, road surface) for estimating noise present at any particular microphone during any driving situation. It is desirable to mitigate this wind noise by filtering it out where possible. FIG. 2B shows a graph with a trace 31 showing an attenuation adjustment of microphone signals varying by frequency. Because the majority of unwanted sound is between the 100 Hz to 1000 Hz range, the attenuation adjustment includes a heavier filtering out of the sound in this range, thus Salter teaches the attenuation amount depends on the vehicle speed and the amount of noise present at any particular microphone during any driving situation. Salter does not explicitly teach determine a cutoff frequency based on the vehicle speed for the vehicle; and apply the cutoff frequency to one or more filters to attenuate the captured audio input signal. However, Du in related field (sound system in vehicles) teaches on [0012] considering the noise generated during the high speed and low speed running of the vehicle, having a different acoustic characteristic (noise frequency is obviously different), so as one preferred embodiment. further comprising a mode selection module, the module and the filter module and judging and comparing module communication, obtaining the current vehicle speed, setting the working mode of the filter module: when the vehicle is in a low-speed driving mode, the filter module has a low cut-off frequency; when the vehicle is in the high-speed driving mode. the filter module has a higher cut-off frequency. Further on [0026] teaches he central processing unit of the signal processing flow in FIG. CPU2. firstly, selecting module according to the real-time speed information selecting the working mode by the mode. when the vehicle speed is more than the predetermined threshold Vth, it enters the speed judgment mode, otherwise it enters the low-speed judging mode. Vth- like the value between the 20 to 30km/h. a high-pass filter module S2 according to the mode selection result the microphone signal into a corresponding high-pass filter processing. low speed mode and the high-pass filter cut off frequency is generally 200 to 300 Hz. Because the outside caused by turbulent air low noise frequency component, such a set can effectively filter air noise effect while sufficiently retaining engine and tire noise from the adjacent vehicle. high-speed mode and the high-pass filter cut off frequency is generally 1000 to 2000 Hz, so as to keep high frequency signal sensitive to sound field boundary condition, which is convenient for subsequent determination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to determine a cutoff frequency based on the vehicle speed for the vehicle, to determine the acoustic characteristic based on the different noise frequency caused due to the different speed of the vehicle. See at least Du on [0012].
Conclusion
/SUNITA JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691