DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 11/20/2024:
Claims 21-39 are pending
Claims 1-20 are cancelled
Double Patenting
Claims 21-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12178634. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For example:
Regarding claim 1, 12178634 teaches a method for diagnosing heart and/or lung conditions (claim 1, a method of positioning a stethoscope at one or more heart and/or lung listening locations) comprising:
providing an electronic stethoscope comprising a chest piece with a bell comprising a concave face, a light-emitting device on a side opposite the concave face, a microphone, an analog-to-digital converter, and an electronic connection (claim 12, an electronic stethoscope comprising: a hollow bell portion; claim 15, wherein the hollow bell portion comprises a concave face; claim 7, wherein the one or more variably switching light-emitting devices comprise one or more light-emitting diodes; claim 12, a microphone disposed in the microphone compartment; claim 13, wherein the electronic stethoscope further comprises a microprocessor and an analog-to-digital converter; claim 12, an electronic data connection from the microphone);
providing an electronic device comprising at least one input mechanism and a digital display, and comprising or coupled to a digital video camera (claim 1, providing a live video feed…displaying the live video feed on a video screen);
connecting the electronic stethoscope to the electronic device via the electronic connection;
using a visual localization algorithm to guide a user to position the electronic stethoscope at heart valve and/or lung listening locations on the chest and/or back of the user (claim 1, rendering, on the live video feed displayed on the video screen, a shape overlapping with a live location of the visual indicator of the electronic stethoscope, the shape changing in color and/or shape to indicate when the electronic stethoscope is positioned correctly at one of the one or more heart and/or lung listening locations);
recording a duration of heart and/or lung sounds at each of the heart valve and/or lung listening locations (claim 5, recording a duration of heart and/or lung sounds at each of the heart valve and/or lung listening locations);
providing the heart and/or lung sound recordings to a trained audio classification algorithm (claim 5, providing the sound recordings to a trained audio classification algorithm);
outputting, by the trained audio classification algorithm, a classification of each of the heart and/or lung sound recordings corresponding to at least one of normal heart and/or lung function or one or more of a plurality of heart and/or lung conditions (claim 5, outputting, by the trained audio classification algorithm, a classification of each of the sound recordings corresponding to at least one of normal heart function, normal lung function, one or more of a plurality of heart conditions, or one or more of a plurality of lung conditions).
The remaining independent and/or dependent claims are rejected using one or more claims of the patent (whether alone or in combination).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-25, 29, and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claim 22 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “about” in claim 23 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “about” in claim 33 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 22 further recites “…the set of matched pairs comprising a ‘sufficient’ number of data points….” The term “sufficient” is also understood to be a relative term and does not provide adequate metes and bounds to concretely define “sufficient”.
Claims 24-25 and 29 are considered as being indefinite because they depend upon an indefinite parent claim.
Claims 34-37 are considered as being indefinite because they depend upon an indefinite parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall et al (US20230270389, hereinafter “Randall”) in view of Blair et al (US20230096006, hereinafter “Blair”).
Regarding claim 21, Randall teaches a method for diagnosing heart and/or lung conditions comprising:
providing an electronic stethoscope comprising a chest piece with a bell comprising a concave face, a light-emitting device on a side opposite the concave face, a microphone, an analog-to-digital converter, and an electronic connection (Fig. 1, electronic stethoscope with chest piece as shown and bell with diaphragm, LEDs, microphone, AD converter (¶305) and electronic connection (Fig. 3, USB));
providing an electronic device comprising at least one input mechanism and a digital display, and comprising or coupled to a digital video camera (¶196, connecting the stethoscope to an electronic device to display the self-exam guide);
connecting the electronic stethoscope to the electronic device via the electronic connection (¶106, connecting stethoscope to a patient’s smart device);
using a visual localization algorithm to guide a user to position the electronic stethoscope at heart valve and/or lung listening locations on the chest and/or back of the user (Fig. 12, 14, ¶196, using a GUI to guide the user to place the stethoscope at the appropriate positions);
recording a duration of heart and/or lung sounds at each of the heart valve and/or lung listening locations (¶197, placing the stethoscope at the auscultation position for a specific duration and recording the sounds);
Randall fails to explicitly teach providing the heart and/or lung sound recordings to a trained audio classification algorithm;
outputting, by the trained audio classification algorithm, a classification of each of the heart and/or lung sound recordings corresponding to at least one of normal heart and/or lung function or one or more of a plurality of heart and/or lung conditions.
Blair teaches providing the heart and/or lung sound recordings to a trained audio classification algorithm (¶66, physiological data can be provided to rule-based system and to a deep neural network so the data can be classified);
outputting, by the trained audio classification algorithm, a classification of each of the heart and/or lung sound recordings corresponding to at least one of normal heart and/or lung function or one or more of a plurality of heart and/or lung conditions (¶66-68, Fig. 5, data is input into rule-based system and deep neural network in order to classify the data as well as make a decision on whether the recordings are clinically relevant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of machine learning (as taught by Blair) to the electronic stethoscope (as taught by Randall). The rationale to do so is to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of improving self-guided auscultation.
Claim(s) 26-28 and 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall et al (US20230270389, hereinafter “Randall”) in view of Blair et al (US20230096006, hereinafter “Blair”) in further view of Mong et al (US20210338631, hereinafter “Mong”).
Regarding claim 26, Randall in view of Blair teaches wherein providing the heart and/or lung sound recordings comprises providing heart recordings (Randall, ¶76, heart and lung recordings); and
Randall in view of Blair fail to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of heart and/or lung conditions comprises heart conditions comprising at least one of aortic valve stenosis, mitral valve regurgitation, aortic valve regurgitation, mitral valve stenosis, patent ductus arteriosus, pulmonary valve stenosis, tricuspid valve regurgitation, and hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy.
Mong teaches wherein the plurality of heart and/or lung conditions comprises heart conditions comprising at least one of aortic valve stenosis, mitral valve regurgitation, aortic valve regurgitation, mitral valve stenosis, patent ductus arteriosus, pulmonary valve stenosis, tricuspid valve regurgitation, and hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy (¶294, the system can distinguish aortic stenosis conditions from others).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of distinguishing heart/lung conditions (as taught by Mong) to the electronic stethoscope (as taught by Randall in view of Blair). The rationale to do so is to apply a known method to a known device ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of improving the parameterization of heart sound signals (Mong, ¶296).
Regarding claim 27, Randall in view of Blair in further view of Mong teaches wherein providing the heart and/or lung sound recordings comprises providing heart recordings (Randall, ¶76, heart and lung recordings); and
wherein the plurality of heart and/or lung conditions comprises heart conditions comprising at least one of an innocent murmur, an aortic stenosis, and a mitral valve prolapse (Mong, ¶294, the system can distinguish aortic stenosis conditions from others).
Regarding claim 28, Randall in view of Blair in further view of Mong teaches wherein providing the heart and/or lung sound recordings comprises providing lung recordings (Randall, ¶76, heart and lung recordings); and
wherein the plurality of heart and/or lung conditions comprises lung conditions comprising at least one of an egophony, bronchophony, and whispered pectoriloquy (Mong, ¶282, lung sounds can be auscultated including egophony, bronchophony and whispered pectoriloquy).
Regarding claim 30, Randall in view of Blair in further view of Mong teaches wherein using a visual localization algorithm to guide a user to position the electronic stethoscope comprises:
bringing the electronic stethoscope and at least the torso of the user into a field of view of the digital video camera (Blair, Fig. 6, guided usage of the stethoscope includes bringing the device and user into view of the camera).
Regarding claim 31, Randall in view of Blair in further view of Mong teaches further comprising:
capturing, via the digital video camera, light from the light-emitting device; and
transmitting the video image(s) and/or digital video to the electronic device (Randall, Fig. 16, the LEDs on top of the stethoscope are captured by the camera).
Regarding claim 32, Randall in view of Blair in further view of Mong teaches wherein using a visual localization algorithm to guide a user to position the electronic stethoscope comprises using a pose estimation algorithm, which outputs key points of a pose of the user, the key points including the locations of at least the left shoulder and the right shoulder of the user (Randall, Fig. 17, key auscultation points include the left and right shoulders).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-25 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 33-39 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/QIN ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691