DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-26 are currently pending
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “tracking means” in claims 1-26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 11, 14, 17, 20-22, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 12025798 B1 to Dehkordi et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Dehkordi discloses a system implemented in a vehicle, the system comprising: tracking means (at least Fig. 3A-3I camera 305, Col 30 lines 29-30 “Gesture camera 305 can be, but not limited to, an eye tracking device”); a three-dimensional (3D) heads-up display (HUD) implemented using a transparent portion of a windshield of the vehicle (See at least Fig. 3A-3I windshield 26 with hovering image 28); a non-transparent display implemented using a non-transparent portion of the windshield or arranged on a dashboard of the vehicle (See at least Fig. 3A-3I display 1 with optical system 301), wherein a viewing zone of the non-transparent display lies beneath a viewing zone of the 3D HUD (See at least Fig. 3A-3I); and at least one processor configured to: determine a relative location of each eye of at least one user with respect to an image plane of the 3D HUD, and a relative location of a head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to an image plane of the non-transparent display, by utilising the tracking means (Col 29 lines 5-9 “lights and cameras record the viewer's position or eye gaze and input that into the computational compensation of the display system to optimize the focal plane or perspective of the virtual images”); generate a first light field image to be displayed via the 3D HUD for producing a part of a synthetic light field, based on the relative location of each eye of the at least one user with respect to the image plane of the 3D HUD (See at least Fig. 3A-3I Col 16 lines 48-60 “In some embodiments a gesture camera 305 is used to capture and recognize gestures made by the viewer. The information is then sent to the optical system to modify the image. In some embodiments, the camera can control other systems of the car, such as the electrical system, audio system, mechanical system, or sensor system. In some embodiments, the light is reflected from a windshield 26 after exiting the system through an exit aperture 402 to produce a virtual image that is perceived as being located inside the vehicle, rather than outside”); generate an image to be displayed via the non-transparent display for producing another part of the synthetic light field, based on the relative location of the head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to the image plane of the non-transparent display (Col 16 lines 37-40 “Light from a display 1 enters an optical system 301 in a housing 302. The optical system then prepares images and sends some of the light through an ambient light suppressor 48 forming a real image after exiting”); and display the first light field image and the image simultaneously via the 3D HUD and the non-transparent display, respectively, to produce the synthetic light field (Col 16 lines 33-60).
Regarding Claim 4. Dehkordi further discloses at least a top portion of the image and at least a portion of the first light field image that is to be displayed closest to the viewing zone of the non-transparent display are generated based on same virtual content (See at least Fig. 3C).
Regarding Claim 7. Dehkordi further discloses at least one real-world facing camera, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: detect when at least one virtual object is to be presented via the 3D HUD and the non-transparent display simultaneously; capture at least one real-world image of a region of a real-world environment that lies in front of the vehicle, by utilising the at least one real-world facing camera; and generate at least one synthetic image by utilising the at least one real-world image, based on the relative location of the head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to the image plane of the non-transparent display, wherein when generating the image, the at least one processor is configured to generate at least a top portion of the image by utilising the at least one synthetic image (Col 21 lines 63-67).
Regarding Claim 8. Dehkordi further discloses the at least one processor is configured to determine an amount of attenuation caused by the 3D HUD to a real-world light field passing therethrough, wherein when generating the image, the at least one processor is configured to generate intensity values of at least the top portion of the image, based on the amount of attenuation (Col 22 lines 3-15).
Regarding Claim 9. Dehkordi further discloses the at least one processor is configured to determine an average intensity of a real-world light field passing through the 3D HUD, wherein when generating the image, the at least one processor is configured to generate intensity values of at least a top portion of the image, based on the average intensity of the real-world light field (Col 22 lines 3-15, See also Col 27 lines 1-10).
Regarding Claim 11. Dehkordi further discloses a set of cameras arranged on an external body of the vehicle, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: capture a set of real-world images of a region of a real-world environment that surrounds the vehicle, by utilising the set of cameras; and generate at least one of: (i) a view of said region of the real-world environment, (ii) a 360-degree view of the vehicle in said region of the real-world environment, by utilising the set of real-world images; wherein when generating the image, the at least one processor is configured to generate at least a background of the image by utilising the at least one of: (i) the view of said region of the real-world environment, (ii) the 360-degree view of the vehicle in said region of the real-world environment (Col 21 lines 63-67).
Regarding Claim 14. Dehkordi discloses a method implemented in a vehicle, wherein the method comprises: determining a relative location of each eye of at least one user with respect to an image plane of a three-dimensional (3D) heads-up display (HUD), and a relative location of a head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to an image plane of a non-transparent display (Col 29 lines 5-9 “lights and cameras record the viewer's position or eye gaze and input that into the computational compensation of the display system to optimize the focal plane or perspective of the virtual images”), by utilising tracking means (at least Fig. 3A-3I camera 305, Col 30 lines 29-30 “Gesture camera 305 can be, but not limited to, an eye tracking device”), wherein the 3D HUD is implemented using a transparent portion of a windshield of the vehicle (See at least Fig. 3A-3I windshield 26 with hovering image 28), and the non-transparent display is implemented using a non-transparent portion of the windshield or is arranged on a dashboard of the vehicle (See at least Fig. 3A-3I display 1 with optical system 301), wherein a viewing zone of the non-transparent display lies beneath a viewing zone of the 3D HUD (See at least Fig. 3A-3I); and generating a first light field image to be displayed via the 3D HUD for producing a part of a synthetic light field, based on the relative location of each eye of the at least one user with respect to the image plane of the 3D HUD (See at least Fig. 3A-3I Col 16 lines 48-60 “In some embodiments a gesture camera 305 is used to capture and recognize gestures made by the viewer. The information is then sent to the optical system to modify the image. In some embodiments, the camera can control other systems of the car, such as the electrical system, audio system, mechanical system, or sensor system. In some embodiments, the light is reflected from a windshield 26 after exiting the system through an exit aperture 402 to produce a virtual image that is perceived as being located inside the vehicle, rather than outside”); generating an image to be displayed via the non-transparent display for producing another part of the synthetic light field, based on the relative location of the head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to the image plane of the non-transparent display (Col 16 lines 37-40 “Light from a display 1 enters an optical system 301 in a housing 302. The optical system then prepares images and sends some of the light through an ambient light suppressor 48 forming a real image after exiting”); and displaying the first light field image and the image simultaneously via the 3D HUD and the non-transparent display, respectively, to produce the synthetic light field (Col 16 lines 33-60).
Regarding Claim 17. Dehkordi further discloses at least a top portion of the image and at least a portion of the first light field image that is to be displayed closest to the viewing zone of the non-transparent display are generated based on same virtual content (See at least Fig. 3C).
Regarding Claim 20. Dehkordi further discloses detecting when at least one virtual object is to be presented via the 3D HUD and the non-transparent display simultaneously; capturing at least one real-world image of a region of a real-world environment that lies in front of the vehicle, by utilising at least one real-world facing camera; and generating at least one synthetic image by utilising the at least one real-world image, based on the relative location of the head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to the image plane of the non-transparent display, wherein the step of generating the image comprises generating at least a top portion of the image by utilising the at least one synthetic image (Col 21 lines 63-67).
Regarding Claim 21. Dehkordi further discloses determining an amount of attenuation caused by the 3D HUD to a real-world light field passing therethrough, wherein the step of generating the image comprises generating intensity values of at least the top portion of the image, based on the amount of attenuation (Col 22 lines 3-15).
Regarding Claim 22. Dehkordi further discloses determining an average intensity of a real-world light field passing through the 3D HUD, wherein the step of generating the image comprises generating intensity values of at least a top portion of the image, based on the average intensity of the real-world light field (Col 22 lines 3-15, See also Col 27 lines 1-10).
Regarding Claim 24. Dehkordi further discloses capturing a set of real-world images of a region of a real-world environment that surrounds the vehicle, by utilising a set of cameras arranged on an external body of the vehicle; and generating at least one of: (i) a view of said region of the real-world environment, (ii) a 360-degree view of the vehicle in said region of the real-world environment, by utilising the set of real-world images; wherein the step of generating the image comprises generating at least a background of the image by utilising the at least one of: (i) the view of said region of the real-world environment, (ii) the 360-degree view of the vehicle in said region of the real-world environment (Col 21 lines 63-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehkordi as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20210165220 A1 Nakada et al.
Regarding Claim 12. As stated above, Dehkordi discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Dehkordi does not specifically disclose lane detectors, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine a relative position of the vehicle with respect to lane markings on a road , wherein when generating the image, the at least one processor is configured to: depict external boundaries of the vehicle in the image by utilising a 3D model of the vehicle, based on the relative location of the head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to the image plane of the non-transparent display, and a position and an orientation of the image plane of the non-transparent display in the vehicle; and depict, in the image, the lane markings with respect to the external boundaries of the vehicle, based on the relative position of the vehicle with respect to the lane markings.
However, Nakada discloses lane detectors, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine a relative position of the vehicle with respect to lane markings on a road (para 133-134), wherein when generating the image, the at least one processor is configured to: depict external boundaries of the vehicle in the image by utilising a 3D model of the vehicle (para 138), based on the relative location of the head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to the image plane of the non-transparent display, and a position and an orientation of the image plane of the non-transparent display in the vehicle; and depict, in the image, the lane markings with respect to the external boundaries of the vehicle, based on the relative position of the vehicle with respect to the lane markings (para 144 and para 156), to produce image for highlighting (para 156).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include lane detectors, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine a relative position of the vehicle with respect to lane markings on a road, wherein when generating the image, the at least one processor is configured to: depict external boundaries of the vehicle in the image by utilising a 3D model of the vehicle, based on the relative location of the head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to the image plane of the non-transparent display, and a position and an orientation of the image plane of the non-transparent display in the vehicle; and depict, in the image, the lane markings with respect to the external boundaries of the vehicle, based on the relative position of the vehicle with respect to the lane markings.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehkordi as applied to claim 14 in view of US 20210165220 A1 Nakada et al.
Regarding Claim 25. As stated above, Dehkordi discloses all the limitations of base claim 14.
Dehkordi does not specifically disclose determining a relative position of the vehicle with respect to lane markings on a road by utilising lane detectors, wherein the step of generating the image comprises: depicting external boundaries of the vehicle in the image by utilising a 3D model of the vehicle, based on the relative location of the head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to the image plane of the non-transparent display, and a position and an orientation of the image plane of the non-transparent display in the vehicle; and depicting, in the image, the lane markings with respect to the external boundaries of the vehicle, based on the relative position of the vehicle with respect to the lane markings.
However, Nakada discloses determining a relative position of the vehicle with respect to lane markings on a road by utilising lane detectors (para 133-134), wherein the step of generating the image comprises: depicting external boundaries of the vehicle in the image by utilising a 3D model of the vehicle (para 138), based on the relative location of the head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to the image plane of the non-transparent display, and a position and an orientation of the image plane of the non-transparent display in the vehicle; and depicting, in the image, the lane markings with respect to the external boundaries of the vehicle, based on the relative position of the vehicle with respect to the lane markings (para 144 and para 156), to produce image for highlighting (para 156).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include determining a relative position of the vehicle with respect to lane markings on a road by utilising lane detectors, wherein the step of generating the image comprises: depicting external boundaries of the vehicle in the image by utilising a 3D model of the vehicle, based on the relative location of the head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to the image plane of the non-transparent display, and a position and an orientation of the image plane of the non-transparent display in the vehicle; and depicting, in the image, the lane markings with respect to the external boundaries of the vehicle, based on the relative position of the vehicle with respect to the lane markings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 10, 13, 15-16, 18-19, 23 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to disclose all the limitations of Claim 1. Specifically, Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not specifically disclose “determine a relative location of each eye of at least one user with respect to an image plane of the 3D HUD and a relative location of a head or each eye of the at least one user with respect to an image plane of the non-transparent display.”
Applicant arguments are not persuasive because Applicant’s argued differences between the claim limitations and the prior art would require a narrow interpretation of the language recited in the claims. During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005). As stated above, the prior art tracks the location of the user’s eye to compensate for the focal plane and perspective of the virtual images. By doing so it would have determined both the relative location of the head or each eye with respect to an image plane of the display directed to the viewer and with respect to an image plane of the windshield where the virtual image is formed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871