DETAILED ACTION
The office action is a response to application filed on 11/13/2024. Wherein claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9-12 and 14-20 and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US10582333B2. The instant claims are being anticipated by the patented application. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the patent disclose the limitations in the instant application as follows:
Instant Application
US10582333B2
1. A system for geofence information delivery, comprising: at least one first device constructed and configured for communication with at least one peer device; wherein the at least one first device comprises at least one first processor coupled with at least one first memory; wherein the at least one peer device comprises at least one second memory; wherein the at least one second memory is operable to cache geofence data; wherein the at least one first processor is operable to convert between an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a location within a geographic region; and wherein the at least one peer device is operable to deliver the geofence data to the at least one first device.
1. A system for geofence information delivery, comprising: at least two devices constructed and configured for network communication in a region of interest via a peer-to-peer network; wherein the at least two devices comprise at least one processor coupled with at least one memory;
wherein the at least one memory is operable to cache geofence data associated with the region of interest; wherein the at least one processor is operable to convert between an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a coordinate point of a geographic location, determine at least one unique identifier for at least one geofence based on the IP address, query the geofence data cached on at least one peer device of the at least two devices, and identify one or more geofences associated with the at least one unique identifier in the region of interest; and
wherein the at least two devices are operable to deliver geofence information associated with the one or more geofences in the region of interest.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the cached geofence data comprises anchor points, fence points, metadata, classes, or entitlements for geofences associated with the geographic region.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the cached geofence data comprises anchor points, fence points, metadata, classes, and entitlements for geofences associated with the region of interest.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the location includes a spatial identifier.
1. wherein the at least one processor is operable to convert between an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a coordinate point of a geographic location, determine at least one unique identifier for at least one geofence based on the IP address, query the geofence data cached on at least one peer device of the at least two devices, and identify one or more geofences associated with the at least one unique identifier in the region of interest;
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one first device is operable to query the geofence data cached on the at least one peer device via a routing protocol.
1. at least two devices constructed and configured for network communication in a region of interest via a peer-to-peer network; wherein the at least two devices comprise at least one processor coupled with at least one memory; wherein the at least one memory is operable to cache geofence data associated with the region of interest;
wherein the at least one processor is operable to convert between an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a coordinate point of a geographic location, determine at least one unique identifier for at least one geofence based on the IP address, query the geofence data cached on at least one peer device of the at least two devices, and identify one or more geofences associated with the at least one unique identifier in the region of interest;
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one peer device is operable to deliver the one or more geofences associated with the geographic region via web service or zero-configuration networking.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least two devices are operable to deliver the one or more geofences associated with the geographic location via zero-configuration networking.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one first processor is operable to determine at least one unique identifier for at least one geofence and query the geofence data cached on the at least one peer device based on the at least one unique identifier for the at least one geofence.
1. wherein the at least one processor is operable to convert between an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a coordinate point of a geographic location, determine at least one unique identifier for at least one geofence based on the IP address, query the geofence data cached on at least one peer device of the at least two devices, and identify one or more geofences associated with the at least one unique identifier in the region of interest;
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the geofence data cached on the at least one peer device is from prior queries.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the geofence data cached on the at least two devices is from prior queries on the at least two devices.
12. A method for geofence information delivery, comprising: at least one first processor of at least one first device querying at least one peer device for geofence data cached in at least one memory of the at least one peer device; the at least one first processor converting between an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a location in a geographic region; and the at least one peer device delivering the geofence data to the at least one first device; wherein the geofence data is associated with the geographic region.
12. A method of geofence information delivery, comprising: providing at least two devices constructed and configured for network communication in a region of interest via a peer-to-peer network, the at least two devices storing cached geofence data for the region of interest;
at least one device of the at least two devices on the peer-to-peer network obtaining its geolocation information; the at least one device converting the geolocation information to an IP address; the at least one device determining at least one unique identifier based on the IP address; the at least one device querying the cached geofence data on at least one peer device of the at least two devices associated with the at least one unique identifier;
the at least one device identifying one or more geofences associated with the at least one unique identifier in the region of interest; and the at least one peer device of the at least two devices delivering geofence information associated with the one or more geofences associated with the IP address to the at least one device.
14. The method of claim 12, further comprising a memory of the at least one peer device caching geofence data associated with the geographic region.
1. A system for geofence information delivery, comprising:
at least two devices constructed and configured for network communication in a region of interest via a peer-to-peer network;
wherein the at least two devices comprise at least one processor coupled with at least one memory;
wherein the at least one memory is operable to cache geofence data associated with the region of interest;
15. The method of claim 12, further comprising the at least one first device querying the at least one peer device based on at least one anchor point within the geographic region.
1. A system for geofence information delivery, comprising: at least two devices constructed and configured for network communication in a region of interest via a peer-to-peer network; wherein the at least two devices comprise at least one processor coupled with at least one memory;
wherein the at least one memory is operable to cache geofence data associated with the region of interest; wherein the at least one processor is operable to convert between an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a coordinate point of a geographic location, determine at least one unique identifier for at least one geofence based on the IP address, query the geofence data cached on at least one peer device of the at least two devices, and identify one or more geofences associated with the at least one unique identifier in the region of interest;
16. The method of claim 15, further comprising the at least one peer device delivering fence points associated with the at least one anchor point.
16. The method of claim 12, further comprising the at least one peer device delivering anchor points and meta data for geofences within the region of interest.
17. The method of claim 12, wherein the geofence data is delivered to the at least one first device via a zero-configuration networking or web service.
19. The method of claim 12, further comprising the at least one peer device delivering the one or more geofences associated with the IP address to the at least one device via zero-configuration networking or web service.
18. The method of claim 12, further comprising at least one server populating the cached geofence data on the at least one peer device.
20. The method of claim 12, further comprising at least one server populating the cached geofence data on the at least two devices.
19. A system for geofence information delivery, comprising: at least one first device constructed and configured for communication with at least one peer device; wherein the at least one first device comprises at least one first processor coupled with at least one first memory; wherein the at least one peer device comprises at least one second memory; wherein the at least one first processor is operable to convert between a unique identifier and a location within a geographic region; and wherein the at least one peer device is operable to deliver the geofence data to the at least one first device.
1. A system for geofence information delivery, comprising: at least two devices constructed and configured for network communication in a region of interest via a peer-to-peer network; wherein the at least two devices comprise at least one processor coupled with at least one memory;
wherein the at least one memory is operable to cache geofence data associated with the region of interest; wherein the at least one processor is operable to convert between an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a coordinate point of a geographic location, determine at least one unique identifier for at least one geofence based on the IP address, query the geofence data cached on at least one peer device of the at least two devices, and identify one or more geofences associated with the at least one unique identifier in the region of interest; and
wherein the at least two devices are operable to deliver geofence information associated with the one or more geofences in the region of interest.
20. The system of claim 19, wherein the unique identifier is an Internet Protocol (IP) address, wherein the IP address is an IPv6 address.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the IP address is an IPv6 address.
2. “A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus)”. ELI LILLY AND COMPANY vs. BARR LABORATORIES INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
This is a non-provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
3. Thus, this double patenting rejection is necessary to prevent unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20140162692 A1) in view of Preston (US 20010015965 A1).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1, a system for geofence information delivery, comprising:
Li teaches at least one first device constructed and configured for communication with at least one peer device; (Li, [0050] If mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A.)
wherein the at least one first device comprises at least one first processor coupled with at least one first memory; (Li, [0051] The mobile device 100 includes local storage, i.e. memory 120, 130 operatively coupled to a processor.)
wherein the at least one peer device comprises at least one second memory; (Li, [0051] The mobile device 100 includes local storage, i.e. memory 120, 130 operatively coupled to a processor. If mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A.)
wherein the at least one second memory is operable to cache geofence data; (Li, [0036]
The processor of the mobile device is also configured to receive data from the geofencing server, to recognize the nature of this data as either content or device-executable actions. For content, the processor of the device then uses the content in some way (e.g. stores the data, displays the content, etc.). [0050]-[0051], mobile device A and mobile device both include local storage. If mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A. If mobile device B then enters the same common geofence, e.g. a few minutes later, the geofencing server may deliver the same data to mobile device B without making a new request to the content server. The geofencing server may refer to data timestamps to determine whether the cached data is fresh enough to deliver or whether it has gone stale in which case the geofencing server must make a new request to the content server to obtain fresh data.[examiner notes: a device must have some form of memory, storage, or temporary registers to actually receive and hold incoming data.])
and wherein the at least one peer device is operable to deliver the geofence data to the at least one first device. (Li, [0050]- [0051], mobile device A and mobile device both include local storage. If mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A. If mobile device B then enters the same common geofence, e.g. a few minutes later, the geofencing server may deliver the same data to mobile device B without making a new request to the content server. The geofencing server may refer to data timestamps to determine whether the cached data is fresh enough to deliver or whether it has gone stale in which case the geofencing server must make a new request to the content server to obtain fresh data.)
Preston however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the at least one first processor is operable to convert between an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a location within a geographic region; (Preston, [0036] The present invention upends this conventional arrangement. According to the present invention, it is the “client” or end user device, such as a mobile phone or laptop computer, that assigns its own IP address, rather than look to a server or host. [0055] In addition to emergency applications, a DUIP resolved within a specified area, GeoFence, can be programmed to respond with a data exchange that is meaningful to the user, such as an advertised message. If the user is traveling down a freeway and crosses the GeoFence setup by the networks, resolves his new Geolp within the GeoFence, a data message can be sent to the user from the network that represents meaningful information to the user at that location. [examiner notes: "resolves his new GeoIP within the GeoFence." This means the system takes the user's temporary mobile or data IP address and determines its physical location.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Li by incorporating the teachings of Preston. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to improve data communications with large numbers of mobile devices (Preston, [0001]).
Regarding claim(s) 12, a method for geofence information delivery, comprising:
Li- Preston teach at least one first processor of at least one first device querying at least one peer device for geofence data cached in at least one memory of the at least one peer device; (Li, [0036] The processor of the mobile device is also configured to receive data from the geofencing server, to recognize the nature of this data as either content or device-executable actions. For content, the processor of the device then uses the content in some way (e.g. stores the data, displays the content, etc.). [0050]-[0051], mobile device A and mobile device both include local storage. If mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A. If mobile device B then enters the same common geofence, e.g. a few minutes later, the geofencing server may deliver the same data to mobile device B without making a new request to the content server. The geofencing server may refer to data timestamps to determine whether the cached data is fresh enough to deliver or whether it has gone stale in which case the geofencing server must make a new request to the content server to obtain fresh data.[examiner notes: a device must have some form of memory, storage, or temporary registers to actually receive and hold incoming data.])
the at least one first processor converting between an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a
location in a geographic region; and (Preston, [0036] The present invention upends this conventional arrangement. According to the present invention, it is the “client” or end user device, such as a mobile phone or laptop computer, that assigns its own IP address, rather than look to a server or host. [0055] In addition to emergency applications, a DUIP resolved within a specified area, GeoFence, can be programmed to respond with a data exchange that is meaningful to the user, such as an advertised message. If the user is traveling down a freeway and crosses the GeoFence setup by the networks, resolves his new Geolp within the GeoFence, a data message can be sent to the user from the network that represents meaningful information to the user at that location. [examiner notes: "resolves his new GeoIP within the GeoFence." This means the system takes the user's temporary mobile or data IP address and determines its physical location.)
the at least one peer device delivering the geofence data to the at least one first device; (Li, [0050]- [0051], mobile device A and mobile device both include local storage. If mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A. If mobile device B then enters the same common geofence, e.g. a few minutes later, the geofencing server may deliver the same data to mobile device B without making a new request to the content server. The geofencing server may refer to data timestamps to determine whether the cached data is fresh enough to deliver or whether it has gone stale in which case the geofencing server must make a new request to the content server to obtain fresh data.)
wherein the geofence data is associated with the geographic region. (Li, [0053], FIG.5;
The geofence application 500 and the associated API 540 enable creation of geofences (i.e. registration of regions, users, events, actions, etc.) Creating or defining geofencing by registering regions, users, events, actions can be done by receiving user input within the geofence application 500. The geofence API 540 communicates the registered data for regions, users, events, actions, etc. via the Internet 40 to the geofence server 20 for monitoring of the geofences. Registration may also trigger an action signal to the geofence daemon 550.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 19, a system for geofence information delivery, comprising:
Li- Preston teach at least one first device constructed and configured for communication with at least one peer device; (Li, [0050] If mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A.)
wherein the at least one first device comprises at least one first processor coupled with at
least one first memory; (Li, [0051] The mobile device 100 includes local storage, i.e. memory 120, 130 operatively coupled to a processor.)
wherein the at least one peer device comprises at least one second memory; (Li, [0051] The mobile device 100 includes local storage, i.e. memory 120, 130 operatively coupled to a processor. If mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A.)
wherein the at least one first processor is operable to convert between a unique identifier
and a location within a geographic region; and (Preston, [0036] The present invention upends this conventional arrangement. According to the present invention, it is the “client” or end user device, such as a mobile phone or laptop computer, that assigns its own IP address, rather than look to a server or host. [0055] In addition to emergency applications, a DUIP resolved within a specified area, GeoFence, can be programmed to respond with a data exchange that is meaningful to the user, such as an advertised message. If the user is traveling down a freeway and crosses the GeoFence setup by the networks, resolves his new Geolp within the GeoFence, a data message can be sent to the user from the network that represents meaningful information to the user at that location. [examiner notes: "resolves his new GeoIP within the GeoFence." This means the system takes the user's temporary mobile or data IP address and determines its physical location.)wherein the at least one peer device is operable to deliver the geofence data to the at least
one first device. (Li, [0050]- [0051], mobile device A and mobile device both include local storage. If mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A. If mobile device B then enters the same common geofence, e.g. a few minutes later, the geofencing server may deliver the same data to mobile device B without making a new request to the content server. The geofencing server may refer to data timestamps to determine whether the cached data is fresh enough to deliver or whether it has gone stale in which case the geofencing server must make a new request to the content server to obtain fresh data.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim 1 applies here.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2, the system of claim 1,
Li- Preston teach wherein the at least one first device is equipped with location services. (Li, [0035] The mobile device may also obtain pre-defined third-party geofences (i.e. geofences that have been already created by stores, boutiques, restaurants, cafes, hotels, bars, casinos, car rental companies, movie theatres, theme parks, museums, government agencies, etc.). These may be offered to the mobile device and accepted (downloaded). Alternatively, the mobile device user may proactively download any of these predefined geofences by visiting corporate or government websites which offer predefined geofences for content, e.g. location-based advertising, and/or for prescribed device-executable actions.)
Regarding claim(s) 3, the system of claim 1,
Li- Preston teach wherein the cached geofence data comprises anchor points, fence
points, metadata, classes, or entitlements for geofences associated with the geographic region. (Li, [0034], geofences may be defined by entering a range of coordinates or street addresses to define one or more city blocks. The mobile device may optionally execute a geofence management application that enables the mobile subscriber (device user) to interact with all geofences applicable to the device (e.g. to view, create, edit, delete, activate, inactivate, filter, create rules, impose conditions, etc.))
Regarding claim(s) 4, the system of claim 1,
Li- Preston teach wherein the geofence data is delivered to the at least one first device via unicast protocol. (Li, [0018], [0042]- [0043] FIGs.1-2; the content server, the geofencing server 20 and the mobile device 100 communicate with each other via http protocol. [examiner notes: http protocol is unicast protocol.])
Regarding claim(s) 5, the system of claim 1,
Li- Preston teach wherein the location includes a spatial identifier. (Li, [0034] The mobile device 100 may be used to create or define the geofences and to send these device-created (user-defined) geofences to the geofencing server for storage and management (location monitoring and data-retrieval). Defining geofences on the mobile device may be accomplished by using a graphical tool having a circular or polygonal shape or a lasso tool to draw an area on a map displayed on the display screen of the device. Alternatively, geofences may be defined using predetermined geographical entities, e.g. a city, district, state, province, country, postal code, area code, etc. Alternatively, geofences may be defined by entering a range of coordinates or street addresses to define one or more city blocks. The mobile device may optionally execute a geofence management application that enables the mobile subscriber (device user) to interact with all geofences applicable to the device (e.g. to view, create, edit, delete, activate, inactivate, filter, create rules, impose conditions, etc.) )
Regarding claim(s) 6, the system of claim 1,
Li- Preston teach wherein the at least one first device is operable to display an interactive map including boundaries for the one or more geofences in the geographic region. (Li, [0011] These actions may include delivering location-specific content to the device for the device to use, store, display, etc. and/or delivering location-specific device-executable actions to the device for the device to perform. The geofencing server acts as a centralized proxy or hub that manages all of the geofences for the mobile device, obtains relevant data and delivers this data to the device. This alleviates the computational and memory burden which would otherwise be on the device. [0022] FIG. 2 depicts the data flow (or message flow) in the system of FIG. 1. In this example, there is a circular geofence 202 for an area in a city or metropolitan area although the shape of the geofence and the fact that it is in a city or metropolitan area (as opposed to a suburban or rural area) is arbitrary. This geofence may be drawn by the user or selected from predetermined geofences by the user. The geofence may also be displayed on a map 200 of the city or area to enable the user to view the extent or scope of the geofence. [0035] The mobile device may also obtain pre-defined third-party geofences (i.e. geofences that have been already created by stores, boutiques, restaurants, cafes, hotels, bars, casinos, car rental companies, movie theatres, theme parks, museums, government agencies, etc.). These may be offered to the mobile device and accepted (downloaded). Alternatively, the mobile device user may proactively download any of these predefined geofences by visiting corporate or government websites which offer predefined geofences for content, e.g. location-based advertising, and/or for prescribed device-executable actions.)
Regarding claim(s) 7, the system of claim 1,
Li- Preston teach wherein the at least one first device is operable to query the geofence
data cached on the at least one peer device via a routing protocol. (Li, [0019] As shown in FIG. 1, the geofencing server 20 is also connected to a mobile device 100. The geofencing server may communicate with the mobile device through a data network, e.g. the Internet 40, and via a wireless network that includes a base transceiver station 50 for radiofrequency communication with the mobile device using GSM, LTE, CDMA or any other cellular technology. Data packet transmission over the air may be accomplished using GPRS, EDGE, Evolved EDGE, HSPA, etc. [0050] The geofencing server may group or link mobile devices to common or recurring geofences for improved efficiency. In other words, the geofencing server may maintain a database of all geofences and which mobile devices use which geofences. For example, data for a common geofence that is used by multiple mobile devices may be cached at the geofencing server and delivered to different mobile devices when their respective geofence conditions are met rather than to process each geofence condition individually by making individual requests to each content server. For example, if mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A. If mobile device B then enters the same common geofence, e.g. a few minutes later, the geofencing server may deliver the same data to mobile device B without making a new request to the content server. The geofencing server may refer to data timestamps to determine whether the cached data is fresh enough to deliver or whether it has gone stale in which case the geofencing server must make a new request to the content server to obtain fresh data.)
Regarding claim(s) 8, the system of claim 1,
Li- Preston teach wherein the at least one peer device is operable to deliver the one or
more geofences associated with the geographic region via web service or zero-configuration
networking. (Li, [0048] Similarly, the geofencing server is optionally capable of prioritizing geofences. When a device enters a new area or is turned on, the geofencing server may need to obtain data for multiple geofences. In that case, prioritizing the geofences is useful. For example, the geofencing server may obtain data for geofence D, then geofence B, then geofence Y, etc. [0049] Obtaining the data comprises sending an anonymous request as a proxy server on behalf of the mobile device. In other words, the privacy of the mobile subscriber associated with the mobile device may be protected by anonymizing the data request to the content server by removing any unique device identifiers (e.g. IMSI) or subscriber name from the request so that the content server can identify the requesting device or associated subscriber. In other embodiments, the subscriber name, device unique identifier, username, password, access code, authentication token, etc. may be transmitted to authenticate the request to access a private web server, e.g. a corporate web server or a paid web service requiring login credentials to access the content.)
Regarding claim(s) 9, the system of claim 1,
Li- Preston teach wherein at least one geofence is a noncentric or noncentroid geofence. (Li. [0034] The mobile device 100 may be used to create or define the geofences and to send these device-created (user-defined) geofences to the geofencing server for storage and management (location monitoring and data-retrieval). Defining geofences on the mobile device may be accomplished by using a graphical tool having a circular or polygonal shape or a lasso tool to draw an area on a map displayed on the display screen of the device. Alternatively, geofences may be defined using predetermined geographical entities, e.g. a city, district, state, province, country, postal code, area code, etc. Alternatively, geofences may be defined by entering a range of coordinates or street addresses to define one or more city blocks. The mobile device may optionally execute a geofence management application that enables the mobile subscriber (device user) to interact with all geofences applicable to the device (e.g. to view, create, edit, delete, activate, inactivate, filter, create rules, impose conditions, etc.). [examiner notes: the defined geofence can be noncentric or noncentroid geofence such as polygonal shape.])
Regarding claim(s) 10, the system of claim 1,
Li- Preston teach wherein the at least one first processor is operable to determine at
least one unique identifier for at least one geofence and query the geofence data cached on the at
least one peer device based on the at least one unique identifier for the at least one geofence. (Li, [0034] The mobile device 100 may be used to create or define the geofences and to send these device-created (user-defined) geofences to the geofencing server for storage and management (location monitoring and data-retrieval). Defining geofences on the mobile device may be accomplished by using a graphical tool having a circular or polygonal shape or a lasso tool to draw an area on a map displayed on the display screen of the device. Alternatively, geofences may be defined using predetermined geographical entities, e.g. a city, district, state, province, country, postal code, area code, etc. Alternatively, geofences may be defined by entering a range of coordinates or street addresses to define one or more city blocks. The mobile device may optionally execute a geofence management application that enables the mobile subscriber (device user) to interact with all geofences applicable to the device (e.g. to view, create, edit, delete, activate, inactivate, filter, create rules, impose conditions, etc.))
Regarding claim(s) 11, the system of claim 1,
Li- Preston teach wherein the geofence data cached on the at least one peer device is
from prior queries. (Li, [0022] The geofencing server then obtains the data required for the geofence. This data may be cached at the geofencing server but in most cases the geofencing server will obtain this required data from one or more content servers. A request 206 is thus sent by the geofencing server 20 to the appropriate content server 30. A response 208 is sent back from the content server 30 to the geofencing server 20 which may cache this data for the mobile device. The geofencing server then sends or pushes the data (via message 210 in the form of a datagram or data packets) to the mobile device 100 either immediately upon receipt from the content server, based on a push schedule or in response to a request from the mobile device to download any available data. The mobile device 100 then uses or displays the content or performs any device-executable actions.)
Regarding claim(s) 13, the method of claim 12,
Li- Preston teach wherein the location includes a geographic location point. (Li, [0034] Geofences may be defined using predetermined geographical entities, e.g. a city, district, state, province, country, postal code, area code, etc. Alternatively, geofences may be defined by entering a range of coordinates or street addresses to define one or more city blocks. The mobile device may optionally execute a geofence management application that enables the mobile subscriber (device user) to interact with all geofences applicable to the device (e.g. to view, create, edit, delete, activate, inactivate, filter, create rules, impose conditions, etc.).)
Regarding claim(s) 14, the method of claim 12,
Li- Preston teach further comprising a memory of the at least one peer device caching
geofence data associated with the geographic region. (Li, [0036] The processor of the mobile device is also configured to receive data from the geofencing server, to recognize the nature of this data as either content or device-executable actions. For content, the processor of the device then uses the content in some way (e.g. stores the data, displays the content, etc.). [0050]-[0051], mobile device A and mobile device both include local storage. If mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A. If mobile device B then enters the same common geofence, e.g. a few minutes later, the geofencing server may deliver the same data to mobile device B without making a new request to the content server. The geofencing server may refer to data timestamps to determine whether the cached data is fresh enough to deliver or whether it has gone stale in which case the geofencing server must make a new request to the content server to obtain fresh data.[examiner notes: a device must have some form of memory, storage, or temporary registers to actually receive and hold incoming data.])
Regarding claim(s) 15, the method of claim 12,
Li- Preston teach further comprising the at least one first device querying the at least
one peer device based on at least one anchor point within the geographic region. (Li, [0036] The processor of the mobile device is also configured to receive data from the geofencing server, to recognize the nature of this data as either content or device-executable actions. For content, the processor of the device then uses the content in some way (e.g. stores the data, displays the content, etc.). [0050]-[0051], mobile device A and mobile device both include local storage. If mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A. If mobile device B then enters the same common geofence, e.g. a few minutes later, the geofencing server may deliver the same data to mobile device B without making a new request to the content server. The geofencing server may refer to data timestamps to determine whether the cached data is fresh enough to deliver or whether it has gone stale in which case the geofencing server must make a new request to the content server to obtain fresh data.[examiner notes: a device must have some form of memory, storage, or temporary registers to actually receive and hold incoming data.])
Regarding claim(s) 16, the method of claim 15,
Li- Preston teach further comprising the at least one peer device delivering fence
points associated with the at least one anchor point. (Li, [0034], geofences may be defined by entering a range of coordinates or street addresses to define one or more city blocks. The mobile device may optionally execute a geofence management application that enables the mobile subscriber (device user) to interact with all geofences applicable to the device (e.g. to view, create, edit, delete, activate, inactivate, filter, create rules, impose conditions, etc.))
Regarding claim(s) 17, the method of claim 12,
Li- Preston teach wherein the geofence data is delivered to the at least one first device
via a zero-configuration networking or web service. (Li, [0048] Similarly, the geofencing server is optionally capable of prioritizing geofences. When a device enters a new area or is turned on, the geofencing server may need to obtain data for multiple geofences. In that case, prioritizing the geofences is useful. For example, the geofencing server may obtain data for geofence D, then geofence B, then geofence Y, etc. [0049] Obtaining the data comprises sending an anonymous request as a proxy server on behalf of the mobile device. In other words, the privacy of the mobile subscriber associated with the mobile device may be protected by anonymizing the data request to the content server by removing any unique device identifiers (e.g. IMSI) or subscriber name from the request so that the content server can identify the requesting device or associated subscriber. In other embodiments, the subscriber name, device unique identifier, username, password, access code, authentication token, etc. may be transmitted to authenticate the request to access a private web server, e.g. a corporate web server or a paid web service requiring login credentials to access the content.)
Regarding claim(s) 18, the method of claim 12,
Li- Preston teach further comprising at least one server populating the cached
geofence data on the at least one peer device. (Li, [0050]- [0051], mobile device A and mobile device both include local storage. If mobile device A enters a common geofence shared with mobile device B, the data is obtained, cached and delivered by the geofencing server to mobile device A. If mobile device B then enters the same common geofence, e.g. a few minutes later, the geofencing server may deliver the same data to mobile device B without making a new request to the content server. The geofencing server may refer to data timestamps to determine whether the cached data is fresh enough to deliver or whether it has gone stale in which case the geofencing server must make a new request to the content server to obtain fresh data.)
Regarding claim(s) 20, the system of claim 19,
Li- Preston do not teach wherein the unique identifier is an Internet Protocol (IP) address, wherein the IP address is an IPv6 address. (Preston, [0034] No two places on earth have the same location. By calculating the total population of unique addresses in terms of latitude and longitude at a resolution of 0.6 feet (e.g. −122 30.1255,45 28.3478), unique locations of approximately 2.16×10 16 can be achieved. One key aspect of the present invention is the use of global position to generate a globally-unique, internet protocol (IPv4, IPv6) compatible addressing scheme. With the recent announcements by wireless telecommunications handset providers of the inclusion of GPS receivers in their products, the necessary global position data is readily available in a wireless phone, and in similar fashion can be integrated into virtually any electronic appliance.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim 1 applies here.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WUJI CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449