DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1, 15, and 18 have been amended and claims 5, 11, and 17 have been canceled. Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16, and 18 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended independent claim 1 to recite the following new limitations:
“the user module further configured to establish permissions for accessing specific information associated with the wearable device shared publicly by the user” and “the scan history database storing, for each scan, a device name, a time of the scan, and a location where the scan took place”.
Independent claims 8 and 13 were similarly amended.
Applicant argues that none of ANDERSON, BISHOP, CHIN, and PATEL teach establishing permissions that govern third-party access to specific information. The examiner respectfully disagrees. ANDERSON discloses the PHR+ software 14, which corresponds to the user module, allows users to “share part or all of their profile with another user via an input selection of the “Share” function” and makes “selective permissions and sharing medical information core to the PHR+ personal health record, and the sharing functionality is as granular as the user devices – selecting exactly what information or data is sharable” in paragraph [0070].
The examiner notes that while Applicant did not argue PATEL does not teach the scan history database stores, for each scan, a device name, a time of the scan, and a location where the scan took place, newly cited prior art STEBBINS teaches the scan history information as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANDERSON et al, US 2017/0140101 in view of PATEL, US 2016/00224736 and STEBBINS, US 2024/0403868.
Re claim 1:
ANDERSON teaches a system for associating user information with a wearable device (i.e., user device 12 may be a wearable device [0051]), the system comprising:
At least one computing device in operable communication with a user network (i.e., one or more computing devices 16 [0058] [0072] [Figure 2]);
An application server in operable communication with the user network, the application server configured to host an application program for associating user information with a wearable device [0059]-[0062], the application server in operable communication with:
An information processing module to receive a plurality of information input by a user [0060] [0077] [0079] [Figures 8 and 19];
A scanning module in operable communication with the at least one computing device to scan the wearable device (i.e., in the case that the user device 12 comprises a USB device, computing device 16 reads the wearable device via a USB port. Further, while not explicitly stated, QR and NFC scanning devices are inherent to the disclosure as the scanning of the QR or NFC tags on the user device detailed in the disclosure cannot be performed without such devices [0034] [0058] [0076] [Figures 2 and 15]);
A user module to associate a scanned wearable device and to associate the scanned wearable device with the user, the user module further configured to establish permissions for accessing specific information associated with the wearable device shared publicly by the user (i.e., record software 14 is used to register the user device with the user [0060] [0072] [0078] [0079] [Figures 8 and 20]. The record software additionally makes selective permissions and sharing medical information core to the health record, the sharing functionality is as granular as the user decides – selecting exactly what information or data is sharable [0070]);
A display module to display the plurality of user information on a user interface upon scanning of the wearable device to display the plurality of user information to a third-party user (i.e., display screen of computing device 16 [0058] [0060] [0073] [0085] [Figure 2]).
ANDERSON does not teach a scan history database to record each scan by a third-party user, the scan history database storing, for each scan, a device name, a time of scan, and a location where the scan took place.
PATEL teaches a method for associating information with a smart wearable device, wherein a third-party user scans the wearable device to access a plurality of information [0032] [0033]. The method further includes keeping a record of each scan of the smart wearable device by the third-party user [0063].
PATEL does not explicitly detail what information is stored for each scan; however,
STEBBINS teaches maintaining a scan history of an electronic tag (120), wherein the scan history stores, for each scan, a tag ID (i.e., name), a time of scan, and a location where the scan took place [0014] [0054] [0094].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of PATEL in the system of ANDERSON such that a scan history database keeps records of each scan by the third-party user. Such incorporation would provide medical facilities with the ability to track a user through an appointment, to locate the user, or to ensure that all procedures associated with an appointment have been performed (PATEL [0063]).
It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of STEBBINS in the system of ANDERSON, in view of PATEL, such that the scan history includes, for each scan, a device name, a time of scan, and a location where the scan took place. Recording the device name, time of scan, and location where the scan took place for each scan in the scan history provides granular tracking information.
Re claim 7:
ANDERSON teaches a system, comprising:
A device configured to be worn by a user (i.e., user device 12 may be a wearable device [0051] [Figure 2]);
A code displayed on the device (i.e., QR code);
At least one computing device (16) in operable communication with a user network (i.e., one or more computing devices 16 [0058] [0072] [Figure 2]);
An application server in operable communication with the user network, the application server configured to host an application program for associating user information with a wearable device [0060], the application server in operable communication with:
An information processing module to receive a plurality of information input by a user [0060] [0077] [0079] [Figures 8 and 19];
A scanning module in operable communication with the at least one computing device to scan the wearable device (i.e., While not explicitly stated, QR scanning devices are inherent to the disclosure as the scanning of the QR on the user device detailed in the disclosure cannot be performed without such devices [0034] [0058] [0076] [Figures 2 and 15]);
A user module to associate the wearable device with the user the user module further configured to establish permissions for accessing specific information associated with the wearable device shared publicly by the user (i.e., record software 14 is used to register the user device with the user [0060] [0072] [0078] [0079] [Figures 8 and 20]. The record software additionally makes selective permissions and sharing medical information core to the health record, the sharing functionality is as granular as the user decides – selecting exactly what information or data is sharable [0070]);
A display module to display the plurality of user information on a user interface upon scanning of the wearable device to display the plurality of user information to a third-party user (i.e., display screen of computing device 16 [0058] [0060] [0073] [0085] [Figure 2]).
Wherein the third-party user utilizes a third-party computing device to scan the code on the device to access the plurality of information input by the user [0058] [0073] [0085] [Figure 2].
ANDERSON does not teach a scan history database to record each scan by a third-party user, the scan history database storing, for each scan, a device name, a time of scan, and a location where the scan took place.
PATEL teaches a method for associating information with a smart wearable device, wherein a third-party user scans the wearable device to access a plurality of information [0032] [0033]. The method further includes keeping a record of each scan of the smart wearable device by the third-party user [0063].
PATEL does not explicitly detail what information is stored for each scan; however,
STEBBINS teaches maintaining a scan history of an electronic tag (120), wherein the scan history stores, for each scan, a tag ID (i.e., name), a time of scan, and a location where the scan took place [0014] [0054] [0094].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of PATEL in the system of ANDERSON such that a scan history database keeps records of each scan by the third-party user. Such incorporation would provide medical facilities with the ability to track a user through an appointment, to locate the user, or to ensure that all procedures associated with an appointment have been performed (PATEL [0063]).
It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of STEBBINS in the system of ANDERSON, in view of PATEL, such that the scan history includes, for each scan, a device name, a time of scan, and a location where the scan took place. Recording the device name, time of scan, and location where the scan took place for each scan in the scan history provides granular tracking information.
Re claims 2 and 8:
ANDERSON, in view of PATEL and STEBBINS, teaches the system of claims 1 and 7, further comprising a user database to store the plurality of information [0050] [0052] [0054] [0060] [0072].
Re claims 6 and 12:
ANDERSON, in view of PATEL and STEBBINS, teaches the system of claims 2 and 8, wherein the user database is operable to store at least one of the following: a location, a plurality of personal information, a plurality of medical information, a plurality of preferences, and a plurality of images [0052] [0054] [0076] [0079] [Figures 18-20].
Claim(s) 3, 4, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANDERSON et al, US 2017/0140101 in view of PATEL, US 2016/00224736 and STEBBINS, US 2024/0403868, as applied in claims 1 and 8, and further in view of CHIN et al, US 10,043,152.
Re claims 3, 4, 9, and 10:
ANDERSON, in view of PATEL and STEBBINS, teaches the system of claims 1 and 8, but does not teach a product database to store a plurality of products and a plurality of codes associated with each of the plurality of products, wherein the plurality of codes are each a QR code each scannable by the computing device.
CHIN teaches an inventory registry system comprising an item inventory database (112), wherein the item inventory database stores a plurality of products and a plurality of codes associated with each of the plurality of codes (column 3, lines 34-50). The plurality of codes may each be a QR code (column 8, lines 64-67; column 9, lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of CHIN in the method of ANDERSON such that the method further includes a product database to store a plurality of products and a plurality of codes associated with each of the plurality of products. Such incorporation would be for the purpose of providing users with the ability to manage an inventory of registered devices.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANDERSON et al, US 2017/0140101 in view of BISHOP, US 2024/0160879, PATEL, US 2016/00224736, and STEBBINS, US 2024/0403868.
Re claim 13:
ANDERSON teaches a method for associating information with a smart wearable device (i.e., user device 12 may be a wearable device [0051]), comprising:
Accessing an application program associated with the wearable device [0074] [0075] [Figures 11 and 18];
Inputting a plurality of information associated with a user wearing a wearable device [0078] [0079] [Figures 11 and 18];
Associating the plurality of information with the wearable device [0078] [0079] [Figures 11 and 18];
Establishing permissions for accessing specific information associated with the wearable device [0070] [0071]; and
Scanning, via a third-party user, the wearable device to access the plurality of information [Figure 15].
ANDERSON does not teach an initial scanning of the wearable device to access an application program associated with the wearable device; recording, in a scan history database, each scan of the wearable device by the third-party user, including a device name, a time of the scan, and a location where the scan took place.
BISHOP teaches a method for associating information with a smart wearable device, comprising: scanning a wearable device to access an application program associated with the wearable device (i.e., tag 10 comprises a pre-generated QR code 20 that, when scanned, provides users with access to a web application presenting a profile template in which the user can enter, edit, update or otherwise manage, data and information pertaining to the user [0019] [0021] [0030]). PATEL teaches a method for associating information with a smart wearable device, wherein a third-party user scans the wearable device to access a plurality of information [0032] [0033]. The method further includes keeping a record of each scan of the smart wearable device by the third-party user [0063].
PATEL does not explicitly detail what information is stored for each scan; however,
STEBBINS teaches maintaining a scan history of an electronic tag (120), wherein the scan history stores, for each scan, a tag ID (i.e., name), a time of scan, and a location where the scan took place [0014] [0054] [0094].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further incorporate the teachings of BISHOP in the method of ANDERSON such that the wearable device is initially scanned to access an application program associated with the wearable device. Scanning a code to initiate an access to an application program is merely a common method of invoking the application on a computing device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the scan to access to application to automate user access to the application program without needing to manually navigate to or download the application program.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of PATEL in the method of ANDERSON such that a scan history database keeps records of each scan by the third-party user. Such incorporation would provide medical facilities with the ability to track a user through an appointment, to locate the user, or to ensure that all procedures associated with an appointment have been performed (PATEL [0063]).
It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of STEBBINS in the method of ANDERSON, in view of PATEL, such that the scan history includes, for each scan, a device name, a time of scan, and a location where the scan took place. Recording the device name, time of scan, and location where the scan took place for each scan in the scan history provides granular tracking information.
Re claim 14:
ANDERSON, in view of BISHOP, PATEL, and STEBBINS, teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising a user database to store the plurality of information [0052] [Figure 8].
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANDERSON et al, US 2017/0140101 in view of BISHOP, US 2024/0160879, PATEL, US 2016/00224736, and STEBBINS, US 2024/0403868, as applied in claim 14, and further in view of CHIN et al, US 10,043,152.
Re claim 15-16:
ANDERSON, in view of BISHOP, PATEL, and STEBBINS, teaches the method of claim 14, but does not teach a product database to store a plurality of products and a plurality of codes associated with each of the plurality of products, wherein the plurality of codes are each a QR code each scannable by the computing device.
CHIN teaches an inventory registry system comprising an item inventory database (112), wherein the item inventory database stores a plurality of products and a plurality of codes associated with each of the plurality of codes (column 3, lines 34-50). The plurality of codes may each be a QR code (column 8, lines 64-67; column 9, lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of CHIN in the method of ANDERSON, in view of BISHOP, such that the method further includes a product database to store a plurality of products and a plurality of codes associated with each of the plurality of products. Such incorporation would be for the purpose of providing users with the ability to manage an inventory of registered devices.
Re claim 18:
ANDERSON, in view of BISHOP, PATEL, STEBBINS, and CHIN, teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the user database is operable to store at least one of the following: a location, a plurality of personal information, a plurality of medical information, a plurality of preferences, and a plurality of images [0052] [0054] [0076] [0079] [Figures 18-20].
Conclusion
/LAURA A GUDORF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876