DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-3 and 5-10 in the reply filed on 07/07/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group of the inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / (a)(2) as being anticipated by Treves et al. (US 8,496,466).
As to claim 1, Treves et al. (US ‘466) discloses composite material parts forming apparatus, the apparatus comprising:
- a core (top outer sleeve 271; col. 5, lines 33-37) mounted in a press mold (a top holder mount base 242; col. 4, lines 58-59);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A nut portion (294))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A core (271))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An insert pin)][AltContent: textbox (A press mold (242))]
[AltContent: textbox (A barrier)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
- an insert pin (a top rod 294; col. 5, lines 16-18 and lines 30-37) connected to the core (see the above annotated figure 4) and configured to secure a nut (see the above annotated figures 4-5B); and
- a barrier (a radial support surface 227; col. 8, lines 38-43) which protrudes along an edge of the core (top outer sleeve 271; col. 5, lines 33-37) with the insert pin (a top rod 294; col. 5, lines 16-18 and lines 30-37) disposed inside.
As to claim 2, Treves et al. (US ‘466) discloses the core is mounted on an upper mold of the press mold. (the top outer sleeve 271 is connected to a top holder mount base 242; col. 4, lines 11-28)
As to claim 3, Treves et al. (US ‘466) discloses the barrier (a radial support surface 227; col. 8, lines 38-43) has a circular cross section shape at the edge of the core. (Fig. 13E)
As to claim 5, Treves et al. (US ‘466) teach a sealing member (a support member 1375; col. 14, lines 57-67) fixed between the core (top outer sleeve 271) and the insert pin (a top rod 294; col. 5, lines 16-18 and lines 30-37).
As to claim 6, Treves et al. (US ‘466) disclose the insert pin comprises:
- a core connection pin portion (a top die base plate 246; col. 4, lines 56-59) in which a male thread (a top mandrel spring 295, col. 5, lines 17-19) is disposed; and
- a nut connection pin portion connected to the core connection pin portion (a top die base plate 246; col. 4, lines 56-59) with an exterior diameter larger than an exterior diameter of the core connection pin portion (a top die base plate 246; col. 4, lines 56-59).
As to claim 7, Treves et al. (US ‘466) teach the core (top outer sleeve 271; col. 5, lines 33-37) further comprises a pin engage hole (where a top rod spring 275 is positioned) having a female thread disposed on an inner surface to enable screw engagement with the core connection pin portion (a top die base plate 246; col. 4, lines 56-59).
As to claim 8, Treves et al. (US ‘466) discloses the sealing member (a support member 1375; col. 14, lines 57-67) is configured to be pressed against an edge of the pin engage hole and secured to a stepped portion between the core connection pin portion and the nut connection pin portion. (see the above annotated figs. 4 and 5B)
As to claim 9, Treves et al. (US ‘466) teach the nut comprises a cap nut that fits into the insert pin (a top rod 294; col. 5, lines 16-18 and lines 30-37). (see the above annotated figs. 4-5B)
As to claim 10, Treves et al. (US ‘466) disclose the nut is connected to the insert pin (a top rod 294; col. 5, lines 16-18 and lines 30-37) in tight fitting. (see the above annotated figs. 4-5B)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,611,803. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter in the instant application and the issued patent defines a composite material parts forming apparatus, the apparatus comprising: a core (31, 131) mounted in a press mold (20); an insert pin (41) connected to the core (31, 131) and configured to secure a nut (9); and a barrier (61, 161) which protrudes along an edge of the core (31, 131) with the insert pin (41) disposed inside.
Correspondence Information
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754 09/19/2026