Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on May 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 26, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the apparatus being configured to be fixed to a skeletal anchor must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. It is noted that the replacement figures point to one of the wire type linkages has an anchorage, however, it is not illustrated to show it being configured to be fixed to a skeletal anchor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The use of the term “like” in the claims with respect to “a wire-type framework” renders the claim limitations indefinite. It is noted that the addition of the word “type” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite (see MPEP 2173.05(b), III, E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (CN 202136431) in view of Lewis (2016/0198576) in view of Moon (2015/0056566).
With respect to claim 1, Ma teaches an orthodontic apparatus (see fig. 1) comprising an orthodontic effective element comprising a first half and a second half being integrally joined together with one another as a single piece (see annaoted figure below, pars. 11, 24 of translation, such that the shaded element is the claimed orthodontic effective element, i.e. only one half of the total element, the first and second half being in shaded element within the box), and an adjustment element 6 comprising a prefabricated component (par. 12 such that it is prefabricated before being mounted in the orthodontic effective element), said orthodontically effective element being a wire type framework (see fig. 1) comprising first and second wire type linkages (see annotated figure below) extending between respective tooth abutting portions thereof (see annotated figure below, fig. 1) and an adjustment element accommodating portion 1 thereof which accommodates the adjustment element (see fig. 1, par. 26 of translation), wherein the orthodontically effective element is made of a material distributed around the adjustment element such that the adjustment element accommodating portion surrounds the adjustment element (see par. 26 of translation). Ma teach the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach the orthodontically effective element is formed of a material that is distributed in layers around the adjustment element such that the adjustment element accommodating portion is hardened to the adjustment element and the orthodontic apparatus being configured to be fixed to a skeletal anchor.
Lewis teaches an medical apparatus (par. 72, such as a hearing aid) comprising an effective element 102 and a prefabricated component 104a/104b, wherein the effective element has an accommodating portion for the prefabricated component (see fig. 2c, such that element 104a is placed in an accommodating portion, see fig, 1 showing the accommodating portions for prefabricated elements), wherein the effective element is formed of a material that is distributed in layers around the prefabricated element such that the accommodating portion is hardened to the prefabricated element (par. 61, specifically surface of the effective element 102a’ functions as an adhesive, abstract, par. 70, fig. 2b). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify Ma with the structure of the layers around the premanufactured device as taught by Lewis in order to quickly and easily manufacture the orthodontic element using additive manufacturing methods. Such that it is known that additive manufacturing provides advantages in manufacturing including reduced cost and time. Ma/Lewis teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach the orthodontic apparatus being configured to be fixed to a skeletal anchor.
Moon teaches an orthodontic apparatus comprising an orthodontically effective element comprising a first half and a second half, the first and second halves being integrally joined together with one another as a single piece (such as one half of the device, see device of fig. 2), an adjustment element (portion of element 10 connected to one side) comprising a premanufactured device, the orthodontically effective element being a wire type framework comprising first and second linkages 20 extending between respective tooth abutting portions thereof (60 and connecting element between the bands 60, see fig. 2, such that the linkages and tooth abutting portions are similar to those in the annotated figure above) and the orthodontic apparatus being configured to be fixed to a skeletal anchor (such as through holes 70, par. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Ma/Lewis to include structure to allow the device to be connected with skeletal anchors in order to assist in securing the device to the mouth during use.
With respect to claim 4, Ma/Lewis/Moon teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, including Lewis further teaching the material is bonded chemically or via melting (par. 61, 77, 82, 84, such that the layers are bonded together via melting such that they are extruded in a melted state to be bonded together, further they are bonded by sintering which is chemical). It is noted that the limitation “bonded by chemically or via melting” is being interpreted as a product by process limitations, that is, that the layers of the material are bonded together by heating or a chemical bond. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP 2113.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (CN 202136431) in view of Lewis (2016/0198576) in view of Moon (2015/0056566) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tril (UA 16504).
Ma/Lewis/Moon teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, including Ma teaching the tooth abutting portions are configured to extend over 1 and a half teeth and are shaped to a contour of the respective teeth (see fig. 2), however, does not teach the tooth abutting portions are configured to extend over a plurality of teeth.
Tril teaches an orthodontic apparatus comprising an orthodontically effective element comprising a first half and a second half, the first half and the second half being integrally joined together with one another, the orthodontically effective element being a wire type framework comprising a first and second wire type linkages extending between respective tooth abutting portions (see annaoted figure below).
With respect to claim 2, Tril further teaches the tooth abutting portions are configured to extend over respective plurality of teeth and are shaped to a contour of the respective pluralities of teeth (see annaoted figure above). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the tooth abutting portions taught by Ma/Lewis/Moon to contact a plurality of teeth as taught by Tril in order to provide the desired forces to teeth in order to achieve the desired treatment outcome.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (CN 202136431) in view of Lewis (2016/0198576) in view of Moon (2015/0056566) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Farzin-Nia et al. (2013/0081271).
Ma/Lewis/Moon teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above however, does not specifically teach the orthodontic element wherein the material comprises a plurality of different materials that are used for different regions of the apparatus.
Farzin-Nia teaches an orthodontic device that is made by 3D printing a material, wherein the material comprises a plurality of different materials that are used for different regions of the apparatus (par. 36). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the material taught by Ma/Lewis/Moon to be a plurality of different materials used for different regions as taught by Farzin-Nia in order to provide the desired effects of the device as different regions ranging from color to forces applied.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to teach the limitations of claim 5, specifically are devoid of material in each of the first and second halves.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,567 in view of Moon (2015/0056566).
It is noted that the bolded limitations are the limitations taught by patent ‘566 and claimed in the current application.
With respect to claim 1 of the current application, claim 1 of ‘567 teaches:
An orthodontic apparatus comprising: an orthodontically effective element comprising a left half and a right half, the left and right halves being integrally formed together with one another as a single piece part together (such that the claimed first and second half read on the claimed left and right haves of ‘566) with a holding element for holding the apparatus on a jaw of a user; and an adjustment element comprising a prefabricated component, said orthodontically effective element being a wire-type framework comprising left and right wire-type linkages extending from respective tooth-abutting portions thereof to an adjustment element accommodating portion thereof which accommodates the adjustment element (such that the claimed first and second linkages of the application read on the left and right linkages of ‘566), wherein said orthodontically effective element is formed, together with said holding element, of a material that is distributed in layers around the adjustment element and hardened therewith.
‘566 teaches the invention a substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach the orthodontic apparatus being configured to be fixed to a skeletal anchor.
Moon teaches an orthodontic apparatus comprising an orthodontically effective element comprising a first half and a second half, the first and second halves being integrally joined together with one another as a single piece (such as one half of the device, see device of fig. 2), an adjustment element (portion of element 10 connected to one side) comprising a premanufactured device, the orthodontically effective element being a wire type framework comprising first and second linkages 20 extending between respective tooth abutting portions thereof (60 and connecting element between the bands 60, see fig. 2, such that the linkages and tooth abutting portions are similar to those in the annotated figure above) and the orthodontic apparatus being configured to be fixed to a skeletal anchor (such as through holes 70, par. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify ‘566 to include structure to allow the device to be connected with skeletal anchors in order to assist in securing the device to the mouth during use.
With respect to claim 2 of the current application, claim 2 of ‘566 teaches:
The orthodontic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said tooth-abutting portions are configured to extend over a plurality of teeth and are shaped to a contour of the teeth.
With respect to claim 3 of the current application, claim 4 of ‘566 teaches:
The orthodontic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said material comprises a plurality of different materials that are used for different regions of the apparatus.
With respect to claim 4 of the current application, claim 5 of ‘566 teaches:
The orthodontic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said material is bonded chemically.
With respect to claim 5 of the current application, claim 6 of the current application teaches:
The orthodontic apparatus of claim 1, each of the left and right halves of the orthodontically effective element having an area devoid of material, said area being bounded by said left or right respective wire-type linkages, left or right respective further linkages, said respective tooth-abutting portions, and said adjustment element accommodating portion (such that the claimed first and second halves in the current application correspond to the claimed left and right halves in ‘566).
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,232,925 in view of in view of Moon (2015/0056566).
It is noted that the bolded limitations are the limitations taught by patent ‘925 and claimed in the current application.
With respect to claim 1 of the current application, claim 1 of ‘925 teaches:
An orthodontic apparatus comprising: an orthodontically effective element comprising a first half and a second half, the first and second halves being integrally joined together with one another as a single piece part; and an adjustment element comprising a prefabricated component, said orthodontically effective element being a wire-type framework comprising first and second wire-type linkages extending between respective tooth-abutting portions thereof and an adjustment element accommodating portion thereof which accommodates the adjustment element, wherein said orthodontically effective element is formed of a material that is distributed in layers around the adjustment element such that the adjustment element accommodating portion is hardened to the adjustment element.
‘925 teaches the invention a substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach the orthodontic apparatus being configured to be fixed to a skeletal anchor.
Moon teaches an orthodontic apparatus comprising an orthodontically effective element comprising a first half and a second half, the first and second halves being integrally joined together with one another as a single piece (such as one half of the device, see device of fig. 2), an adjustment element (portion of element 10 connected to one side) comprising a premanufactured device, the orthodontically effective element being a wire type framework comprising first and second linkages 20 extending between respective tooth abutting portions thereof (60 and connecting element between the bands 60, see fig. 2, such that the linkages and tooth abutting portions are similar to those in the annotated figure above) and the orthodontic apparatus being configured to be fixed to a skeletal anchor (such as through holes 70, par. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify ‘925 to include structure to allow the device to be connected with skeletal anchors in order to assist in securing the device to the mouth during use.
With respect to claim 2 of the current invention, claim 2 of ‘925 teaches:
The orthodontic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said tooth-abutting portions are configured to extend over respective pluralities of teeth and are shaped to a contour of the respective pluralities of teeth.
With respect to claim 3 of the current application, claim 3 of ‘925 teaches:
The orthodontic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said material comprises a plurality of different materials that are used for different regions of the apparatus.
With respect to claim 4 of the current application, claim 4 of ‘925 teaches:
The orthodontic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said material is bonded chemically or via melting.
With respect to claim 5 of the current application, claim 5 of ‘925 teaches:
The orthodontic apparatus of claim 1, each of the first and second halves of the orthodontically effective element having an area devoid of said material that is bounded respectively by said first or second respective wire-type linkages, first or second further linkages, said respective tooth-abutting portions, and said adjustment element accommodating portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/HEIDI M EIDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 6/3/2026