DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The Information Disclosure Statement dated 05/15/2025 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The Examiner suggests a title that includes terms such as bandwidth parameter, request, clear to send and/or trigger.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-4, 7-10 and 12-14 of U.S. Patent No.12,177,893. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader scoped claims of the instant application are disclosed within the narrower scope of claims 2-4, 7-10 and 12-14 of U.S. Patent No.12,177,893.
As for claims 1, 4 and 7, U.S. Patent No.12,177,893 claims 4, 10, and 14 disclose:
broadcasting, by an access point, a sending request to a first station, wherein the sending request comprises a first bandwidth parameter, the first bandwidth parameter indicates an available bandwidth of the access point; receiving, by the access point, a clear to send information from the first station in response to the sending request, wherein the clear to send information comprises a second bandwidth parameter, the second bandwidth parameter corresponds to a bandwidth required by the first station; allocating, by the access point in response to the available bandwidth being greater than the required bandwidth, the required bandwidth to the first station and remaining bandwidth in the available bandwidth to a second station; sending, by the access point, trigger information to the first station on the required bandwidth; and sending, by the access point, the trigger information to the second station on the remaining bandwidth.
As for claims 2, 5 and 8, U.S. Patent No.12,177,893 claims 2, 7, and 12 disclose:
wherein the sending request is a request to send (RTS) frame, the clear to send information is a clear to send (CTS) frame, and the trigger information is a trigger frame.
As for claims 3, 6 and 9, U.S. Patent No.12,177,893 claims 3, 8, and 13 disclose:
confirming, by the access point, that the RTS/CTS frame transmission is successful based on the receipt of the clear to send information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abeysekera et al, US 2015/0172012 hereafter Abeysekera in view of Liu et al, US 2014/0010145 (as cited in the IDS dated 08/04/2023) hereafter Liu and further in view of KWON, US 2016/0316458 hereafter KWON.
As for claim 1, Abeysekera discloses:
A communication method comprising:
broadcasting, by an access point, a sending request to a first station (Abeysekera, [0016]-[0023], [0185]-[0188], [0190], [0208], [0221]-[0231], Sending, by the AP, a request to receive the RTS frame to a station),
receiving, by the access point, a clear to send information from the first station in response to the sending request (Abeysekera, [0016]-[0023], [0185]-[0188], [0190], [0208], [0221]-[0231], Receiving, by the AP, a CTS/ECTS from the station in response to the request),
allocating, by the access point in response to the available bandwidth being greater than the required bandwidth, the required bandwidth to the first station (Abeysekera, [0131]-[0132], [0251], Allocating, by the AP a primary/required channel/bandwidth to the legacy station) and remaining bandwidth in the available bandwidth to a second station (Abeysekera, [0131]-[0132], [0251], Allocating the remaining secondary channels/bandwidth to the other 11ax wireless stations);
sending, by the access point, trigger information to the first station on the required bandwidth (Abeysekera, FIG. 1, [0145], Sending, by the AP 14, frame/trigger information to the primary wireless communication station); and
sending, by the access point, the trigger information to the second station on the remaining bandwidth (Abeysekera, [0145], Sending/transmitting, by the AP 14, frame/trigger information to the primary wireless communication station),
receiving, by the access point, uplink data based on the trigger information (Abeysekera, [0145], [0150]-[0152], Receiving, by the AP, the uplink BA based on the downlink frames that were sent from the AP to the station).
Abeysekera does not explicitly disclose broadcasting, by an access point, a sending request, wherein the sending request comprises a first bandwidth parameter, the first bandwidth parameter indicates an available bandwidth of the access point, wherein the clear to send information comprises a second bandwidth parameter, the second bandwidth parameter corresponds to a bandwidth required by the first station.
However, Liu discloses wherein the sending request comprises a first bandwidth parameter, the first bandwidth parameter indicates an available bandwidth of the access point (Liu, Fig. 11, [0103]-[0110], Sending the RTS including the bandwidth indication for the access point), wherein the clear to send information comprises a second bandwidth parameter, the second bandwidth parameter corresponds to a bandwidth required by the first station (Liu, Fig, 11, [0103]-[0110] , The CTS indicates a bandwidth required by the wireless communication device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abeysekera with broadcasting, by an access point, a sending request, wherein the sending request comprises a first bandwidth parameter, the first bandwidth parameter indicates an available bandwidth of the access point, wherein the clear to send information comprises a second bandwidth parameter, the second bandwidth parameter corresponds to a bandwidth required by the first station as taught by Liu to provide more efficient bandwidth allocation.
The combination of Abeysekera and Liu does not explicitly disclose the trigger information sent to the first station is the same trigger information sent to the second station.
However, KWON discloses the trigger information sent to the first station is the same trigger information sent to the second station (KWON, [0305], [0320], The trigger frame TR34/TR23 is broadcast/sent/transmitted simultaneously to plurality of stations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Abeysekera and Liu with the trigger information sent to the first station is the same trigger information sent to the second station as taught by KWON to provide reduce messaging overhead.
As for claims 2, 5 and 8, Abeysekera discloses:
The sending request is a request to send (RTS) frame (Abeysekera, [0016]-[0023], Sending a request to receive the RTS frame), the clear to send information is a clear to send (CTS) frame (Abeysekera, [0016]-[0023], Receiving the CTS), and the trigger information is a trigger frame (Abeysekera, [0145], Sending/transmitting, by the AP 14, frame/trigger information to the primary wireless communication station).
As for claims 3, 6 and 9, Abeysekera discloses:
Confirming, by the access point, that the RTS/CTS frame transmission is successful based on the receipt of the clear to send information (Abeysekera, [0016]-[0023], [0251], [0325], Confirming, by the AP, the RTS/CTS is successful based on the receipt of the CTS).
As for claim 4, Abeysekera discloses:
A communication system, comprising: an access point (Abeysekera, [0016]-[0023], The access point including a processor and memory)and a first station; wherein the access point comprises a processor and a memory for storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the access point to:
broadcasting, by an access point, a sending request to a first station (Abeysekera, [0016]-[0023], [0185]-[0188], [0190], [0208], [0221]-[0231], Sending, by the AP, a request to receive the RTS frame to a station),
receiving, by the access point, a clear to send information from the first station in response to the sending request (Abeysekera, [0016]-[0023], [0185]-[0188], [0190], [0208], [0221]-[0231], Receiving, by the AP, a CTS/ECTS from the station in response to the request),
allocating, by the access point in response to the available bandwidth being greater than the required bandwidth, the required bandwidth to the first station (Abeysekera, [0131]-[0132], [0251], Allocating, by the AP a primary/required channel/bandwidth to the legacy station) and remaining bandwidth in the available bandwidth to a second station (Abeysekera, [0131]-[0132], [0251], Allocating the remaining secondary channels/bandwidth to the other 11ax wireless stations);
sending, by the access point, trigger information to the first station on the required bandwidth (Abeysekera, FIG. 1, [0145], Sending, by the AP 14, frame/trigger information to the primary wireless communication station); and
sending, by the access point, the trigger information to the second station on the remaining bandwidth (Abeysekera, [0145], Sending/transmitting, by the AP 14, frame/trigger information to the primary wireless communication station),
receiving, by the access point, uplink data based on the trigger information (Abeysekera, [0145], [0150]-[0152], Receiving, by the AP, the uplink BA based on the downlink frames that were sent from the AP to the station).
Abeysekera does not explicitly disclose broadcasting, by an access point, a sending request, wherein the sending request comprises a first bandwidth parameter, the first bandwidth parameter indicates an available bandwidth of the access point, wherein the clear to send information comprises a second bandwidth parameter, the second bandwidth parameter corresponds to a bandwidth required by the first station.
However, Liu discloses wherein the sending request comprises a first bandwidth parameter, the first bandwidth parameter indicates an available bandwidth of the access point (Liu, Fig. 11, [0103]-[0110], Sending the RTS including the bandwidth indication for the access point), wherein the clear to send information comprises a second bandwidth parameter, the second bandwidth parameter corresponds to a bandwidth required by the first station (Liu, Fig, 11, [0103]-[0110] , The CTS indicates a bandwidth required by the wireless communication device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abeysekera with broadcasting, by an access point, a sending request, wherein the sending request comprises a first bandwidth parameter, the first bandwidth parameter indicates an available bandwidth of the access point, wherein the clear to send information comprises a second bandwidth parameter, the second bandwidth parameter corresponds to a bandwidth required by the first station as taught by Liu to provide more efficient bandwidth allocation.
The combination of Abeysekera and Liu does not explicitly disclose the trigger information sent to the first station is the same trigger information sent to the second station.
However, KWON discloses the trigger information sent to the first station is the same trigger information sent to the second station (KWON, [0305], [0320], The trigger frame TR34/TR23 is broadcast/sent/transmitted simultaneously to plurality of stations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Abeysekera and Liu with the trigger information sent to the first station is the same trigger information sent to the second station as taught by KWON to provide reduce messaging overhead.
As for claim 9, Abeysekera discloses:
A communication apparatus (Abeysekera, [0016]-[0023], The access point including a processor and memory) comprising: a processor and; a memory for storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to:
broadcast a sending request to a first station (Abeysekera, [0016]-[0023], [0185]-[0188], [0190], [0208], [0221]-[0231], Sending, by the AP, a request to receive the RTS frame to a station),
receive a clear to send information from the first station in response to the sending request (Abeysekera, [0016]-[0023], Receiving, by the AP, a CTS/ECTS from the station in response to the request),
allocate, in response that the available bandwidth is greater than the required bandwidth, the required bandwidth to the first station (Abeysekera, [0131]-[0132], [0251], Allocating, by the AP a primary/required channel/bandwidth to the legacy station) and remaining bandwidth in the available bandwidth to a second station (Abeysekera, [0131]-[0132], [0251], Allocating the remaining secondary channels/bandwidth to the other 11ax wireless stations);
send trigger information to the first station on the required bandwidth (Abeysekera, FIG. 1, [0145], Sending, by the AP 14, frame/trigger information to the primary wireless communication station); and
send the trigger information to the second station on the remaining bandwidth (Abeysekera, [0145], Sending/transmitting, by the AP 14, frame/trigger information to the primary wireless communication station),
receiving, by the access point, uplink data based on the trigger information (Abeysekera, [0145], [0150]-[0152], Receiving, by the AP, the uplink BA based on the downlink frames that were sent from the AP to the station).
Abeysekera does not explicitly disclose broadcasting, by an access point, a sending request, wherein the sending request comprises a first bandwidth parameter, the first bandwidth parameter indicates an available bandwidth of the access point, wherein the clear to send information comprises a second bandwidth parameter, the second bandwidth parameter corresponds to a bandwidth required by the first station.
However, Liu discloses wherein the sending request comprises a first bandwidth parameter, the first bandwidth parameter indicates an available bandwidth of the access point (Liu, Fig. 11, [0103]-[0110], Sending the RTS including the bandwidth indication for the access point), wherein the clear to send information comprises a second bandwidth parameter, the second bandwidth parameter corresponds to a bandwidth required by the first station (Liu, Fig, 11, [0103]-[0110] , The CTS indicates a bandwidth required by the wireless communication device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abeysekera with broadcasting, by an access point, a sending request, wherein the sending request comprises a first bandwidth parameter, the first bandwidth parameter indicates an available bandwidth of the access point, wherein the clear to send information comprises a second bandwidth parameter, the second bandwidth parameter corresponds to a bandwidth required by the first station as taught by Liu to provide more efficient bandwidth allocation.
The combination of Abeysekera and Liu does not explicitly disclose the trigger information sent to the first station is the same trigger information sent to the second station.
However, KWON discloses the trigger information sent to the first station is the same trigger information sent to the second station (KWON, [0305], [0320], The trigger frame TR34/TR23 is broadcast/sent/transmitted simultaneously to plurality of stations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Abeysekera and Liu with the trigger information sent to the first station is the same trigger information sent to the second station as taught by KWON to provide reduce messaging overhead.
Conclusion
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469