DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made that the certified copy of the foreign priority document has been received in the national stage application from the International Bureau.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made that the information disclosure statement has been received and considered by the examiner. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Drawings
There are no objections or rejections to the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (Pg Pub No. US 20130155745 A1) in view of TAKAHASHI (JP 2018046677 A) .
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a plurality of first switching parts (¶0033, fig 2: high and low potential switching part) each including a first switching element (¶0009, fig 2: 4-6 IGBT) and a second switching element (¶0009 fig 2: 10-12 MOSFET);
a first control element (¶0009 fig 2: gate control circuit 19) to input a first drive signal (gate control signal) to the first switching element (¶0009, fig 2: 4-6 IGBT) and the second switching element (¶0009, fig 2: 10-12 MOSFET) of each first switching part (¶0033, fig 2: low potential switching part)(¶0011, 18/19 for controlling operations of first and second switching parts);
at least one lead (¶0051, fig 2: plurality of leads LT2) on which the first switching element (¶0009, fig 2: 1 IGBT) and the second switching element (¶0009, fig 2: 7 MOSFET) of each first switching parts (¶0033, fig 2: low potential switching part) are mounted (fig 2: LT2 which 1 and 7 are mounted on the low-potential switching part);
a plurality of first connection members (¶0115, fig 11: W1) each connected to the first control element (fig 11: gate control circuit 19) and the first switching element (¶0009, fig 2: 4-6 IGBT) of each first switching part (¶0009, fig 11: low potential switching part) ; and
a plurality of second connection members (¶0042, fig 11: W2-W4) each connected to the first control element (0009 gate control circuit 19) and the second switching element (¶0009, MOSFET 10-12) of each first switching part (fig 11: low potential switching part) (¶0115, fig 11: W2-W4 connected to 19 and 10-12 of each low potential switching part),
wherein, in the plurality of first switching parts (fig 11: low potential switching part), the first switching element (¶0009, fig 11: 4-6 IGBT) and the second switching element (¶0009 fig 11: 10-12 MOSFET) are electrically connected in parallel to each other (¶0033, fig 2: IGBT 4 are connected in parallel with 10 and connected to the power terminal) and are of different types (¶0009, 4 is an IGBT and 10 is a MOSFET), and
the first switching element (¶0009, fig 11: 4-6 IGBT) and the second switching element (¶0009 fig 11: 10-12 MOSFET) of each first switching part (fig 11: low potential switching part) are disposed around the first control element (0009 gate control circuit 18/19).
Tanaka does not teach a means for arranging the first switching element and second switching element of each of a plurality of first switch parts are disposed around the first control element as viewed in the thickness direction.
Takahashi teaches arranging the first switching element and second switching element of each of a plurality of first switch parts are disposed around the first control element as viewed in the thickness direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to arrange the first switching element and second switching element of each of a plurality of first switch parts of Tanaka with the switching element being disposed around the first control element of Takahashi to optimize space and improve device efficiency since a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.--, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first switching element (Tanaka ¶0009, 4-6 IGBT) of each first switching part (Tanaka ¶0033 low potential side switching part) is an IGBT, and the second switching element (Tanaka ¶0009, fig 2: 10-12 MOSFET) of each first switching part is a MOSFET (Tanaka ¶0009, low potential switching part includes an IGBT and a MOSFET).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein each first switching part (Tanaka ¶0033 low potential side switching part) includes a diode function part (Tanaka ¶0011, fig 9: D1 diode) (Tanaka ¶0104, fig 9: IGBT and MOSFET circuit include D1).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the diode function part (Tanaka ¶0104, fig 9: D1 diode) is embedded by the first switching element (Tanaka ¶0104, fig 9: 4 IGBT) in each first switching part (Tanaka ¶0033 low potential side switching part).
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein, in each first switching part (¶0033 low potential side switching part), the diode function part (Tanaka¶0011, fig 9: D1 diode) is composed of an element different from each first switching element (Tanaka¶0009, fig 9: 4 IGBT) and the second switching element (Tanaka¶0009, fig 9: 10 MOSFET) (Tanaka ¶0104, D1 is different from an IGBT and internal parasitic diode of MOSFET).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of first switching part (Tanaka ¶0033 low potential side switching part) include a first arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 4 and MOSFET 10), a second arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 5 and MOSFET 11), and a third arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 6 and MOSFET 12), each including the first switching element (Tanaka ¶0009, fig 2: IGBT) and the second switching element (Tanaka ¶0009, fig 2: MOSFET),
the (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 4 and MOSFET 10), a second arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 5 and MOSFET 11), and a third arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 6 and MOSFET 12) are arranged along a first direction (x axis view) orthogonal to the thickness direction (the z view, out of the page), and the second arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 5 and MOSFET 11), is located between the first arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 4 and MOSFET 10) and the third arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 6 and MOSFET 12) in the first direction (Tanaka fig 2: composition 5/11 is located between composition 4/10 and composition 6/12 along the x axis).
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 6, wherein, in each of the first arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 4 and MOSFET 10) and the third arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 6 and MOSFET 12), the first switching element (Tanaka ¶0009, fig 2: IGBT) and the second switching element (Tanaka ¶0009, fig 2: MOSFET) are arranged along a second direction (Tanaka annotated fig 2: y axis) orthogonal to the thickness direction (z axis, out of the page) and the first direction (Tanaka annotated fig 2: x axis)(Tanaka fig 2: IGBT and MOSFET are arranged along the y axis), and
in the second arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 5 and MOSFET 11), the first switching element (Tanaka ¶0009, fig 2: IGBT) and the second switching element (Tanaka ¶0009, fig 2: MOSFET) are arranged along the second direction (y axis) Tanaka does not teach first switching element and the second switching element are arranged along the first direction. Takahashi teaches the switching elements 8a-8d arranged in a second directions (x axis) perpendicular to the first direction (y axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the first and second elements of Tanaka with the elements configuration of Takahashi to optimize space and improve device efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 7, wherein the at least one lead (Tanaka ¶0049, fig 2: plurality of leads LT2) includes a first mounting part (Tanaka ¶0049 fig 2: die pad P2), a second mounting part (Tanaka ¶0049 fig 2: die pad P3), and a third mounting part (Tanaka ¶0049 fig 2: die pad P4),
the first switching element (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 4-6) and the second switching element of the first arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 4 and MOSFET 10) are mounted on the first mounting part (Tanaka fig 2: P2),
the first switching element (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 4-6) and the second switching element (Tanaka fig 2: MOSFET 10-12) of the second arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 5 and MOSFET 11) are mounted on the second mounting part (Tanaka fig 2: P3), and
the first switching element (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 4-6) and the second switching element (Tanaka fig 2: MOSFET 10-12) of the third arm (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 6 and MOSFET 12) are mounted on the third mounting part (fig 2: P4).
Regarding claim 9, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein the first control element (Tanaka fig 2: gate control circuit 19) is offset in one side of the second direction (y axis) with respect to an edge of the second mounting part (Tanaka fig 2: P3) in the one side of the second direction (Tanaka fig 2:the edge vertical edge of 19 is offset with respect to the vertical edge of the y axis),
Tanaka in view of Takahashi does not explicitly teach the edge of the second mounting part (fig 2: P3) in the one side of the second directions (y axis) is offset in other side of the second direction (y axis) with respect to an edge of the first mounting part (Tanaka fig 2: P2) in the one side of the second direction (y axis) and an edge of the third mounting part (Tanaka fig 2: p4) in the one side of the second direction (y axis).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to reconfigure length of the mounting part edges of Tanaka to minimize the size of the semiconductor device. Furthermore, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In the instant case, adjusting the length of the mounting part edges to meet the claimed feature of “the edge of the second mounting part in the one side of the second directions (y axis) is offset in other side of the second direction (y axis) with respect to an edge of the first mounting part in the one side of the second direction (y axis) and an edge of the third mounting part in the one side of the second direction (y axis)” would be a matter of routine skill.
Regarding claim 10, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 9, wherein an edge of the first mounting part (Tanaka fig 2: P2) in the other side of the second direction (y axis) Tanaka in view of Takahashi does not teach the first mounting part is located between the edge of the second mounting part in the one side of the second direction and each of the edge of the first mounting part in the one side of the second direction (y axis) and the edge of the third mounting part in the one side of the second direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the length of the vertical edges of the mounting parts in Tanaka to minimize the size of the semiconductor device. Furthermore, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In the instant case, adjusting the length of the mounting part edges to meet the claimed feature of the first mounting part is located between the edge of the second mounting part in the one side of the second direction and each of the edge of the first mounting part in the one side of the second direction (y axis) and the edge of the third mounting part in the one side of the second direction” would be a matter of routine skill.
Regarding claim 11, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein the at least one lead includes a first lead (Tanaka fig 2: LT2/T2), a second lead (Tanaka ¶0051, fig 2: LT2/T3) and a third lead that (Tanaka fig 2: LT2/T4) are separated from each other,
the first lead (Tanaka fig 2: LT2/T2) includes the first mounting part (Tanaka ¶0051, fig 2: die pad 2),
the second lead (Tanaka fig 2: LT2/T3) includes the second mounting part (Tanaka ¶0051, fig 2: P3),
the third lead (Tanaka fig 2: LT23/ T4) includes the third mounting part (Tanaka ¶0051, fig 2: P4).
Regarding claim 12, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 6, further comprising:
a plurality of second switching parts (Tanaka ¶0033, high potential switching part) each including a third switching element (Tanaka ¶0033 fig 2: MOSFET 7) and a fourth switching element (Tanaka ¶0033 fig 16: IGBT 1); and
a second control element (Tanaka fig 16: gate control circuit 18) to input a second drive signal to the third switching element (Tanaka fig 2: MOSFET 7) and the fourth switching element (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 1) of each second switching part (Tanaka ¶0033, high potential switching part) (Tanaka ¶0041, fig 16: 18 is connected to the gates of 1 and 7, connecting the emitters and sources respectively).
Regarding claim 13, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of second switching parts (Tanaka ¶0033, high potential switching part) include a fourth arm (Tanaka fig 2: composition of IGBT 1 and MOSFET 7), a fifth arm (Tanaka fig 2: composition of IGBT 2 and MOSFET 8) and a sixth arm (Tanaka fig 2: composition of IGBT 3 and MOSFET 9) each including the third switching element (Tanaka ¶0038, fig 2: IGBT 1-3) and the fourth switching element (Tanaka ¶0038, fig 2: MOSFET 7-9),
the fourth arm (Tanaka fig 2: composition 1/7), the fifth arm (Tanaka fig 2: composition of 2/8) and the sixth arm (Tanaka fig 2: composition of 3/9) are arranged along the first direction (Tanaka x axis) orthogonal to the thickness direction (z axis) (Tanaka annotated figure 16 1/7, 2/8, 3/9 are arranged the x axis), and
the fifth arm (Tanaka fig 2: composition of 2/8) is located between the fourth arm (Tanaka fig 2: composition 1/7), and the sixth arm (Tanaka fig 2: composition of 3/9) in the first direction (x direction) (Tanaka annotated fig 2: composition 2/8 is located between 1/7 and 3/9 along the x axis).
Regarding claim 14, Tanaka teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 13, wherein, in each of the fourth arm (fig 2: composition 1/7) and the sixth arm (fig 2: composition of 3/9), the third switching element (¶0038, fig 2: IGBT 1-3) and the fourth switching element (¶0038, fig 2: MOSFET 7-9) are arranged along a second direction (y axis) orthogonal to the thickness direction (z axis) and the first direction ( x axis) (fig 2: IGBT and MOSFET are arranged along the y axis, orthogonal to the z axis and the x axis), and
in the fifth arm (fig 2: composition of 2/8), the third switching element (¶0038, fig 2: IGBT 1-3) and the fourth switching element (¶0038, fig 2: MOSFET 7-9), are arranged. Tanaka does not teach in the fifth arm the third switching element and the fourth switching element are arranged along the first direction (x axis). Takahashi teaches the one group of switching elements (page 2 ¶0008, fig 4: 8a switching elements) and another group of switching elements (page 2 ¶0008 fig 4: 8b) are arranged along the first direction (x axis). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the third switching elements and fourth switching elements with the configuration of Takahashi to minimize the size of the device and smooth Voltage.
Rgearding claim 15, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 14, wherein the at least one lead includes a fourth mounting part (Tanaka ¶0051, annotated fig 2: right part of P1), a fifth mounting part (Tanaka ¶0051, annotated fig 2: middle part of P1), and a sixth mounting part (Tanaka ¶0051, annotated fig 2: left part of P1), the third switching element (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 1-3) and the fourth switching element (Tanaka fig 2: MOSFET 7-9) of the fourth arm (Tanaka fig 2: composition 1/7) are mounted on the fourth mounting part (Tanaka annotated fig 2: right part of P1),
the third switching element (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 1-3) and the fourth switching element (Tanaka fig 2: MOSFET 7-9) of the fifth arm (Tanaka fig 2: composition of 2/8) are mounted on the fifth mounting part (Tanaka annotated fig 2: middle part of P1), and
the third switching element (Tanaka fig 2: IGBT 1-3) and the fourth switching element (Tanaka fig 2: MOSFET 7-9) of the sixth arm (Tanaka fig 2: composition of 3/9) are mounted on the sixth mounting part (Tanaka annotated fig 2: left part of P1).
Regarding claim 16, Tanaka in view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 15, wherein the at least one lead includes a fourth lead (Tanaka ¶0051, fig 2: LT2/ T1), and
the fourth lead includes the fourth mounting part (Tanaka ¶0051, annotated fig 2: right part of P1), a fifth mounting part (Tanaka ¶0051, annotated fig 2: middle part of P1), and a sixth mounting part (Tanaka ¶0051, annotated fig 2: left part of P1).
Regarding claim 17, Tanaka ion view of Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 13, wherein the first arm (Tanaka fig 1: IGBT 4 and MOSFET 10) as a lower arm (Examiners note: broadest reasonable interpretation of lower arm to mean composition 4/10 is located below composition 1/7) and the fourth arm (Tanaka fig 1: composition 1/7) as an upper arm (Examiners note: broadest reasonable interpretation of upper arm to mean composition 1/7 is located above composition 4/10) are electrically connected in series to configure a first phase (Tanaka ¶0033, fig 1: IV1) in a three-phase alternating-current circuit (Tanaka ¶0032, fig 1: Three- phase inverter 100) (Tanaka ¶0033, fig 1: 7 and 10 are connected in series and are provided between a power supply line to IV1),
the second arm (Tanaka fig 1: IGBT 5 and MOSFET 11) as a lower arm and the fifth arm (Tanaka fig 1: composition of IGBT 2 and MOSFET 8) as an upper arm are electrically connected in series to configure a second phase (Tanaka ¶0037, fig 1: IV2) in the three-phase alternating-current circuit (Tanaka ¶0032, fig 1: Three- phase inverter 100) (Tanaka ¶0037, fig 1: 8 and 11 are connected in series and are provided between a power supply line to IV2), and
the third arm (Tanaka fig 1: IGBT 6 and MOSFET 12) as a lower arm and the sixth arm (Tanaka fig 1: composition of 3/9) as an upper arm are electrically connected in series to configure a third phase in the three-phase alternating-current circuit (Tanaka ¶0038, fig 1: IV3) (Tanaka ¶0032, fig 1: Three- phase inverter 100) (Tanaka ¶0038, fig 1: 9 and 12 are connected in series and are provided between a power supply line to IV3).
Conclusion
/LYTESHIA M PRICE/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/Jami Valentine Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818