CTNF 18/946,513 CTNF 69526 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. With respect to claim 17, “a mounting bracket” is vague and indefinite as to whether it is referring to the same mounting bracket recited in in claim 15 from which claim 17 depends. Such double inclusion of the same element makes the claim vague and indefinite as to whether there’s one mounting bracket or two Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Burge (US No. 7813118) . With respect to claim 1, Burge discloses a hanger (100, figure 1d) for hanging a fluid reservoir relative to a display unit coupled to an endoscope cart (intended use), the hanger comprising: a bracket portion (110, figure 1d and figure 3b); an arm boom (sliding portion of the arm 150, figure 3b inserted into bracket portion 110, figure 3b) extending laterally from a side of the bracket portion (110, figure 3b); and a hook (152, figure 3b) coupled to the arm boom adjacent to a free end thereof; wherein the bracket portion (110, figure 3a) is configured to be secured between a mounting plate (925, figure 3a) and a display unit (900, figure 3a). Regarding applicant’s recitation of intended use “ for hanging a fluid reservoir relative to a display unit coupled to an endoscope cart”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case the hanger of Burge is capable of hanging a fluid reservoir on a display unit that is mounted to an endoscope cart as monitors on medical carts in endoscope system is common (see cited US Patent no. 11536395 to Leung et al for example). With respect to claim 2, Burge discloses the hanger of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the bracket portion (110, figure 3a) comprises one or more apertures (119) extending through a thickness thereof. With respect to claim 5, Burge discloses the hanger of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the hook (the arm portion 152 extending into 529 of the device 510, figure 3b) is fixedly coupled to the arm boom (the arm portion of 150 collinear with bracket portion 110, figure 3b). With respect to claim 6. Burge discloses the hanger of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the free end of the arm boom (150, figure 1b) is configured to extend laterally beyond a lateral edge of the display unit (figure 1b). With respect to claim 7, Burge discloses the hanger of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the free end of the arm boom (see arm 150 below 915, figure 1c) is configured to extend below a lower edge (915, figure 1c) of the display unit . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et al (US No. 20090090825) . With respect to claim 1, Jung et al discloses a hanger (210, figures 7-9) for hanging a fluid reservoir relative to a display unit coupled to an endoscope cart (intended use), the hanger comprising: a bracket portion (the wide end portion with slot 21a and hole, figure 1d and figure 8); an arm boom (the narrow portion of 210, figure 8) extending laterally from a side of the bracket portion; and a hook (the hinged portion with attached plate 140 assembly is of generally hook assembly) coupled to the arm boom adjacent to a free end thereof; wherein the bracket portion (wide end portion of 210 with slot 210a and hole) is configured to be secured between a mounting plate (213, figure 7-9) and a display unit (10). Regarding applicant’s recitation of intended use “ for hanging a fluid reservoir relative to a display unit coupled to an endoscope cart”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case the hanger of Jung et al is capable of hanging a fluid reservoir on a display unit that is mounted to an endoscope cart as monitors on medical carts in endoscope system is common (see cited US Patent no. 11536395 to Leung et al for example). With respect to claim 2, Jung et al discloses the hanger of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the bracket portion comprises one or more apertures (210a, figure 7) extending through a thickness thereof. With respect to claim 3, Jung et al discloses the hanger of claim 2 as advanced above, wherein the one or more apertures comprise one or more slots (210a). With respect to claim 4, Jung et al discloses the hanger of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the hook (the hinge portion of 210) is pivotally coupled (via hinge 210b, figure 7) to the arm boom (210). With respect to claim 6. Jung et al discloses the hanger of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the free end of the arm boom is configured to extend laterally beyond a lateral edge of the display unit (figure 8) . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Holt (US No. 10791836) . With respect to claim 8, Holt discloses a hanger (1) for hanging a fluid reservoir relative to a display unit coupled to an endoscope cart (intended use), the hanger comprising: a body portion (hook portion supported on the monitor 2, figure 8) ; and a curved hook (7, figure 8) extending from the body portion; wherein the body portion is configured to be releasably secured to an upper edge of a display unit (2, figures 1-8) coupled with an endoscope cart (intended use). Regarding applicant’s recitation of intended use “ for hanging a fluid reservoir relative to a display unit coupled to an endoscope cart”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case the hanger of Holt is capable of hanging a fluid reservoir on a display unit that is mounted to an endoscope cart as monitors on medical carts in endoscope system is common (see cited US Patent no. 11536395 to Leung et al for example). With respect to claim 9, Holt discloses the hanger of claim 8 as advanced above, wherein the body portion comprises a first leg, a second leg, and a third leg (in figure 5 there are three legs that define the inverted U-shape hook supported by upper edge of display unit 2). With respect to claim 10, Holt discloses the hanger of claim 9 as advanced above, wherein the first leg extends generally parallel to the third leg and the second leg extends generally orthogonal to and between the first leg and the third leg (figure 5). With respect to claim 11, Holt discloses the hanger of claim 9 as advanced above, wherein the curved hook (7, figure 5) extends from a free end of the third leg. With respect to claim 12, Holt discloses the hanger of claim 8 as advanced above, wherein the curved hook (7) is configured to be positioned behind the display unit (claim 12 in Holt). With respect to claim 13, Holt discloses the hanger of claim 8 as advanced above, since the display unit is a recitation of intended use, the curved hook of Holt can be configured to be positioned in front of the display unit by reversibly placing the hanger on the monitor. With respect to claim 14, Holt discloses the hanger of claim 8 as advanced above, wherein the curved hook (7, figure 8) is formed as a single monolithic structure with the body portion . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Writt, Sr. (Us no. 20020115961) . With respect to claim 15, Writt, Sr. discloses a hanger (108, figures 1 and 9) for hanging a fluid reservoir (102) relative to a display unit coupled to an endoscope cart (intended use), the hanger (108) comprising: a body portion; and a curved hook (906, figure 9) extending from the body portion (902, figure 9); wherein the body portion is configured to be releasably secured a mounting bracket (904) coupled to a display unit coupled with an endoscope cart (intended use). Regarding applicant’s recitation of intended use “ for hanging a fluid reservoir relative to a display unit coupled to an endoscope cart”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case the hanger of Writt is capable of hanging a fluid reservoir on a display unit that is mounted to an endoscope cart as monitors on medical carts in endoscope system is common (see cited US Patent no. 11536395 to Leung et al for example). With respect to claim 18, Writt discloses the hanger of claim 15 as advanced above, further comprising an arm boom (904) extending between the body portion (902, figure 9) and the curved hook (906). With respect to claim 19, Writt discloses the hanger of claim 18 as advanced above, wherein the arm boom (904, figure 9) is configured to position the curved hook (906) to a lateral side of the display unit (110, figure 1) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US No. 11707145) in view of Hall et al (US No. 20160367026) With respect to claim 15, Johnson discloses a hanger (1300, figure 1) for hanging a fluid reservoir relative to a display unit coupled to an endoscope cart (intended use), the hanger (1000, figure 1) comprising: a body portion (1300, figure 1); and a hook (1310) extending from the body portion (1300); wherein the body portion (1300) is configured to be releasably secured a mounting bracket (1250, figure 1 or 1610, figure 8) coupled to a display unit (panel 6000, figure 1) coupled with an endoscope cart (intended use). Regarding applicant’s recitation of intended use “ for hanging a fluid reservoir relative to a display unit coupled to an endoscope cart”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case the hanger of Johnson is capable of hanging a fluid reservoir on a display unit (such as via the panel mounting bracket 1610, figure 8 in Johnson) that is mounted to an endoscope cart as monitors on medical carts in endoscope system which is a common medical cart (see cited US Patent no. 11536395 to Leung et al for example). However, Johnson does not disclose the hook is curved. Hall teaches a hanger (60, figures 1 and 7A) comprising a body portion (64, figures 1 and 7A) formed of a magnetic material (see paragraph [0171]) and a hook (61, figure 7A) extending from the body portion (64); wherein the body portion (64) is configured to be releasably secured a mounting bracket (12, figure 1) coupled to a display unit (10, figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the hook of Johnson such that it is curved as such hook shape is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Hall. With respect to claim 16, Johnson and Hall combined discloses the hanger of claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Johnson discloses the body portion (1300, figure 1) includes a magnetic material (1150, figure 3) and Hall teaches a body portion (64, figures 1 and 7A) formed of a magnetic material (see paragraph [0171]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the body portion of Johnson from magnetic material as taught to be desirable by Hall for the well-known advantage of reducing the number of parts. With respect to claim 17, Johnson and Hall combined discloses the hanger of claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Johnson discloses the body portion (1300, figure 1) is configured to be magnetically coupled with a mounting bracket (1250, figure 1) coupled to the display unit (panel 6000, figure 1). With respect to claim 18, Johnson and Hall combined discloses the hanger of claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Hall teaches further comprising an arm boom (62, figures 1 and 7A) extending between the body portion (64) and the curved hook (61). With respect to claim 19, Johnson and Hall combined discloses the hanger of claim 18 as advanced above, wherein the arm boom is configured to position the curved hook to a lateral side (Johnson panel side with door knob can be labeled as a lateral side) of the display unit (6000, figure 1). With respect to claim 20, Johnson and Hall combined discloses the hanger of claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Hall teaches the curved hook (61, figure 7A) is formed as a single monolithic structure with the body portion (64, figure 7A) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Leung et al (US Patent no. 11536395) discloses a hanger (200) for hanging cables (108) relative to a display unit (104) coupled to an endoscope cart (102), the hanger comprising: a bracket portion (210); an arm boom (215, figure 2C) extending laterally from a side of the bracket portion (210); and a hook (245, figure 2C) coupled to the arm boom adjacent to a free end thereof; wherein the bracket portion (210) is configured to be secured to a display unit. Wessels (US No. 20170328517) magnet (figure 28) couple to side of display unit . Funk et al (US No. 20130092805) discloses a hanger (figure 2B) for hanging a fluid reservoir (intended use) relative to a display unit (102, figure 2B) coupled to an endoscope cart (intended use, however, Funk does disclose in paragraph [0087] “ The work cart 216 can be provided from a variety of suitable types of work carts used in various mobile applications such as medical services “), the hanger comprising: a bracket portion (120, figure 2B); an arm boom (127) extending laterally from a side of the bracket portion; and a hook (192, figure 1) coupled to the arm boom adjacent to a free end thereof; wherein the bracket portion (120, figure 2B) is configured to be secured between a mounting plate (plate 160 with holes 152) and a display unit (102, figure 2B). Chevalier et al (20140061406) discloses a hanger (24, figure 14) comprising: a bracket portion (38); an arm boom (52) extending laterally from a side of the bracket portion; and a hook (upward finger of hanger 24) coupled to the arm boom adjacent to a free end thereof. Salmon et al (US No. 10838454) mounting bracket behind display unit (500, figure 2) with slots (510, figure 2-3, “The housing support 630 may also be adjustable to accommodate various distances between the VESA mounting holes 510 and edge of the monitor” column 4, lines 57-60). Quintile (US No. 5687941) discloses a hanger (10, figure 2) for hanging a fluid reservoir relative to a display unit coupled to an endoscope cart (intended use), the hanger (10) comprising: a bracket portion (30A); an arm boom (30C) extending laterally from a side of the bracket portion; and a hook (30D) coupled to the arm boom adjacent to a free end thereof; wherein the bracket portion (30A) is configured to be secured to a display unit The remaining prior art of record further demonstrate hanger attached to stand units of interest. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Ko (Korie) H Chan whose telephone number is (571)272-6816. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday -Friday, 8:00 - 5:00 EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jonathan Liu can be reached on 571-272-8227. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631 Khc Application/Control Number: 18/946,513 Page 2 Art Unit: 3631 Application/Control Number: 18/946,513 Page 3 Art Unit: 3631 Application/Control Number: 18/946,513 Page 4 Art Unit: 3631 Application/Control Number: 18/946,513 Page 5 Art Unit: 3631 Application/Control Number: 18/946,513 Page 6 Art Unit: 3631 Application/Control Number: 18/946,513 Page 7 Art Unit: 3631 Application/Control Number: 18/946,513 Page 8 Art Unit: 3631 Application/Control Number: 18/946,513 Page 9 Art Unit: 3631 Application/Control Number: 18/946,513 Page 10 Art Unit: 3631 Application/Control Number: 18/946,513 Page 11 Art Unit: 3631 Application/Control Number: 18/946,513 Page 12 Art Unit: 3631