The present application is being examined under the AIA first to invent provisions.
Detailed Action
Current Status of Claims
This office action is a response to communication of November 13, 2024. Claims 1 to 26 are currently active in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 19, the term “orbits” is misspelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first camera" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, the limitation of claim 9, lines 4-5 “the first object is further away from the from the cameral viewing point” is not clear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 to 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable to the best examiner’s understanding over Moezzi et al. (US Patent 5,850,352) in view of Sato et al. (WO 2023/145726) also published as (US Patent Publication Application 2025/0168510 A1), which is used in the rejection.
In regard of claim 1, Moezzi et al. disclose a computer-implemented method for navigating within a three-dimensional (3D) model, comprising: (a) rendering the 3D model on a screen of a device, wherein: (i) the 3D model is rendered from a camera viewing point (See at least Figure 2 of Moezzi et al. illustrating a schematic block diagram of the software architecture of rendering 3D model on the screen of a computer as discussed in paragraphs in column 9, lines 45 to 67); and (ii) the 3D model comprises a first object located a first distance from the camera viewing point (See at least Figure 2 of Moezzi et al. illustrating Video Data Analyzer which obtains distance from identified objects as discussed in paragraphs in column 28, lines 27 to 55).
However, Moezzi et al. does not specifically discuss that method of rendering the 3D model on a touch screen of a multi-touch device on which activating a zoom operation using a multi-touch gesture on the touch screen and (c) performing the zoom operation by adjusting the first distance, wherein: (i) the adjusting comprises moving, at an adaptive velocity, the camera viewing point with respect to the first object; (ii) the rendering updates the rendering dynamically during the moving; (iii) the adaptive velocity autonomously dynamically adjusts during the zoom operation as the first distance adjusts; and (iv) the adaptive velocity comprises a first rate when the camera viewing point is at a first distance from the first object and a second rate when the camera viewing point is closer to the first object.
In the same field of endeavor, Sato et al. discloses a multi-touch device (15) using two fingers on the screen pinch-in operation to activate zoom as discussed in paragraph [0291] of Sato et al. and adjusting zoom operation with adaptive velocity (zoom speed) from low to standard and to high, i.e. different rate when camera viewing point is at a first distance from the first object as discussed in the paragraphs [0349-0350] of Sato et al.
Therefore, it would be obvious for a person skilled in art to use adaptive velocity of Sato et al. with 3D model rendering of Moezzi et al. in order to provide to user an imaging device suitable for high operability.
In regard of claim 2, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the 3D model is an architecture, engineering, and construction (AEC) model (See at least Figure 2 of Moezzi et al. and paragraph in starting in column 11, lines 58-67 and continuing in column 12, lines 1 to 8 and in column 23, lines 27 to 36 discussing usage of the 3D model in engineering) .
In regard of claim 3, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the multi-touch gesture comprises a pinch gesture (See at least paragraph [0291 of Sato et al. discussing usage of pinch gesture for triggering zoom operation).
In regard of claim 4, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first rate is faster relative to the second rate (See Figure 24 of Sato et al. illustrating zoom speed of different rates one is faster than other).
In regard of claim 5, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the adaptive velocity is directly proportional to the first distance (See at least paragraphs [0111, 0112, 0125 wherein is discussed that the distance to the object is considered for adaptive velocity/zoom movement).
In regard of claim 6, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: the zoom operation is zooming with respect to a focus point; the focus point comprises a position on the touch screen; and the focus point retains the position on the touch screen during the zoom operation (See at least Figure 15 of Sato et al. illustrating focus area setting which enable the user to perform a focus area setting as discussed in paragraph [0204-0205] of Sato et al).
In regard of claim 7, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: during the zoom operation, recognizing when the camera viewing point has passed the first object; re-rendering the 3D model based on the camera viewing point wherein the re-rendering comprises a second object located at a second distance from the camera viewing point; continuing the zoom operation by autonomously dynamically adjusting the adaptive velocity based on the second distance (See Figures 2 and 5 of Moezzi et al. illustrating 3D dynamic model rendering and object with instant spatial distance locations and zoom mechanism determining the “best” view of the desired object visible as discussed in paragraph in column 32, lines 48-65) .
In regard of claim 8, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose a computer-implemented method for navigating within a three-dimensional (3D) model, comprising: (a) rendering the 3D model on a touch screen of a multi-touch device, wherein: (i) the 3D model is rendered from a camera viewing point; and (ii) the 3D model comprises a first object located a first distance from the camera viewing point; (b) activating a pan operation using a multi-touch gesture on the touch screen; (c) performing the pan operation, wherein: (i) the multi-touch gesture comprises dragging one or more fingers a pixel translation distance while the one or more fingers are in contact with the touchscreen; (ii) the pan operation is conducted based on the on the pixel translation distance and the first distance, wherein: (iii) the pan operation moves the camera viewing point while maintaining the first distance; (iv) the pixel translation distance moves the camera viewing point an amount based on the first distance such that the amount increases as the first distance increases; and (v) the rendering updates the rendering dynamically during the pan operation (See rejection of claim 1 provided above and see paragraphs in column 11, lines 30-33 of Moezzi et al. discussing rendering using pan operation).
In regard of claim 9, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the pixel translation distance moving the camera viewing point an amount based on the first distance reflects the camera viewing point moving slower when the first object is closer to the camera viewing point compared to when the first object is further away from the from the camera viewing point (See at least paragraphs starting in column 15, lines 63-67 and continuing in column 16, lines 1 to 25 of Moezzi et al. discussing pixel translation distance for moving camera reflecting camera viewing point).
In regard of claim 10, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein: the one or more fingers are located over the first object; and the first object is retained under the one or more fingers during the pan operation (See at least the abstract of Moezzi et al. discussing pan view operation using finger gesture).
In regard of claim 11, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the 3D model is an architecture, engineering, and construction (AEC) model (See rejection of claim 2 provided above).
In regard of claim 12, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the amount is directly proportional to the first distance (See rejection of claim 5 provided above).
In regard of claim 13, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the pan operation is further based on a camera field of view and screen size (See at least paragraph in column 44, lines 44 to 67 of Moezzi et al. discussing pan operation is based on camera field of view and screen size).
Claim(s) 14-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moezzi et al. (US Patent 5,850,352) in view of Sato et al. (WO 2023/145726) also published as (US Patent Publication Application 2025/0168510 A1), which is used in the rejection and further in view of Mildrew et al. (US Patent Publication Application 2021/0064217 A1).
In regard of claim 14, Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. further disclose a computer-implemented method for navigating within a three-dimensional (3D) model, comprising: (a) rendering the 3D model on a touch screen of a multi-touch device, wherein: (i) the 3D model is rendered from a camera viewing point; and (ii) the 3D model comprises a first object located a first distance from the camera viewing point (See rejection of claim 1 provided above).
However, the combination of Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. does not specifically show the method of following steps: (b) activating an orbit operation using a multi-touch gesture on the touch screen; (c) conducting an inside-outside test to determine whether the first camera viewpoint is inside of an object or outside of the object; (d) performing the orbit operation, wherein: (i) the multi-touch gesture comprises dragging one or more fingers a pixel translation distance while the one or more fingers are in contact with the touchscreen; (ii) the orbit operation is conducted based on the on the pixel translation distance and the inside-outside test, wherein: (iii) if the inside-outside test determines that the first camera viewpoint is outside of the object, the orbit operation obits around the object; (iv) if the inside-outside test determines that the first camera viewpoint is inside of the object, the orbit operation comprises a look around where an orientation of the first camera viewpoint changes and a position of the first camera viewpoint does not change; and (v) the rendering updates the rendering dynamically during the orbit operation.
In the same field of endeavor, Mildrew et al. disclose the method of activating and performing orbit operation by the navigation component (408) shown in Figure 4A and discussed in paragraphs [0069-0070] , conducting inside/outside test by component (406) as discussed in paragraph [0062] and using multi-touch gesture dragging fingers for distance as discussed in paragraphs [0178, 0182] and conducting orbit operation based on distance as discussed in paragraph [0069], and determine the first camera viewpoint outside of the object and operation comprises a look around and position of first camera does not change as discussed in paragraphs [0041, 0045, 0064] and rendering update during orbit operation [0070].
Therefore, it would be obvious for a person skilled in art to use rendering of Mildrew et al. with 3D model rendering of Moezzi et al. and Sato et al. in order to generate 3D model reconstruction representing fully the objects and space around.
In regard of claim 15, Moezzi et al., Sato et al. and Mildrew et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein the inside-outside test comprises: determining whether the first camera viewpoint is under a ceiling; determining whether the first camera viewpoint is above a floor; determining that the first camera viewpoint is inside when the first camera viewpoint is under the ceiling and is above the floor; and determining that the first camera viewpoint is outside when the first camera viewpoint is not under the ceiling or is not above the floor (See at least paragraphs [0069, 0070, 0159] of Mildrew et al. discussing camera orientation/location for rendering).
In regard of claim 16, Moezzi et al., Sato et al. and Mildrew et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein the inside-outside test determines that the first camera viewpoint is under the ceiling when there is geometry above the first camera viewpoint (see paragraphs [0069-0070] of Mildrew et al.).
In regard of claim 17, Moezzi et al., Sato et al. and Mildrew et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein the inside-outside test determines that the first camera viewpoint is above the floor when there is geometry below the first camera viewpoint (See paragraph [0070] of Mildrew et al.).
In regard of claim 18, Moezzi et al., Sato et al. and Mildrew et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 14, further comprising: moving the first camera viewpoint to a new location; automatically repeating the inside-outside test and performing the orbiting operation subsequent to the first camera viewpoint moving to a new location, wherein the repeating automatically switches the orbit operation to the look around or orbiting around the object depending on the inside-outside test (See paragraphs [0069-0070] of Mildrew et al. discussing switch of orbit/outside).
In regard of claim 19, Moezzi et al., Sato et al. and Mildrew et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein the multi-touch gesture comprises a one-finger drag operation (See paragraph [0178] of Mildrew et al. discussing drag gesture with finger).
In regard of claim 20, Moezzi et al., Sato et al. and Mildrew et al. further disclose a computer-implemented method for navigating within a three-dimensional (3D) model, comprising: (a) rendering the 3D model on a touch screen of a multi-touch device, wherein: (i) the 3D model is rendered from a camera viewing point; and (ii) the 3D model comprises one or more objects; (b) activating a model navigation operation using a multi-touch gesture on the touch screen, wherein the multi-touch gesture comprises placing one or more fingers in contact with the touch screen and moving the one or more fingers; (c) performing the model navigation operation, by: (i) determining a centroid point of the one or more fingers; (ii) determining if a geometry of a first object of the one or more objects is located under the centroid point; (iii) if the geometry of the first object is located under the centroid point, performing the model navigation operation based on the first object and the centroid point; (iv) if the geometry of the first object is not located under the centroid point: (1) determining a bounding box of the first object; (2) determining that the bounding box is located under the centroid point; and (3) based on the determining that the bounding box is located under the centroid point, performing the model navigation operation based on the bounding box and the centroid point while retaining focus on the first object; and (v) the rendering updates the rendering dynamically during the model navigation operation (See rejection of claims 1 and 14 and paragraph [0070] of Mildrew et al. discussing determination of bounding box locating under the central point around the model and performing model navigation based on the central point).
In regard of claim 21, Moezzi et al., Sato et al. and Mildrew et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 20, wherein: the multi-touch gesture comprises rotating two fingers around a pivot point while two fingers remain in contact with the touchscreen; the pivot point comprises a centroid between the two fingers; the first object is rotated about the pivot point and the pivot point is retained at a same screen location; as the two-fingers move to another location, the pivot point automatically moves based on an updated location of the centroid (See paragraph [0070] of Mildrew et al. discussing rotational gesture for object rotation).
In regard of claim 22, Moezzi et al., Sato et al. and Mildrew et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 20, wherein: the geometry of the first object is not located under the centroid point when there is a hole in the first object or the first object is hollow (See at least paragraph [0039] of Mildrew et al. discussing the first object being just a space/hollow).
In regard of claim 23, Moezzi et al., Sato et al. and Mildrew et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 20, wherein: the model navigation operation comprises a pan operation; and based on either the bounding box or the first object, the focus on the first object is retained such that the first object does not disappear from the touch screen (See paragraphs [0042, 0044, 0046, 0070] of Mildrew et al. discussing the focus on the first object during pan operation).
In regard of claim 24, Moezzi et al., Sato et al. and Mildrew et al. further disclose a computer-implemented method for navigating within a three-dimensional (3D) model, comprising: (a) rendering the 3D model on a touch screen of a multi-touch device, wherein: (i) the 3D model is rendered from a camera viewing point; and (ii) the 3D model comprises two or more objects; (b) activating a model navigation operation using a multi-touch gesture on the touch screen, wherein the multi-touch gesture comprises placing one or more fingers in contact with the touch screen on top of a first object of the two or more objects and moving the one or more fingers; (c) performing the model navigation operation, by moving the camera viewing point based on the moving of the one or more fingers, wherein during the model navigation operation, rendering of the first object is prioritized over other objects of the two or more objects (See rejection of claims 1 provided above as well as paragraph [0098, 0114, 0203] of Mildrew et al. discussing priority of objects during rendering).
In regard of claim 25, Moezzi et al., Sato et al. and Mildrew et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 24, wherein: the rendering of the first object is prioritized by rendering the first object before rendering the other objects (See paragraph [0203] of Mildrew et al. discussing utilization of models of priority).
In regard of claim 26, Moezzi et al., Sato et al. and Mildrew et al. further disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 24, further comprising: maintaining a position on the touch screen of the first object during the model navigation operation (See paragraph [0070] of Mildrew et al. discussing maintain position/constant distance of the first object).
Conclusion
The prior art of the record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 CFR 1.111 to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
US Patent Publication Application 2011/0043662 to Kim
US Patent Publication Application 2021/0117471 to Rav-acha et al.
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, LunYi Lao can be reached on (571) 272-7671. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-8796. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/OLGA V MERKOULOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621