DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim 1 has been cancelled. Claims 2-21 have been added. Thus, claims 2-21 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-3, 5-9, 11-15, 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)-(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harrison et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0229998).
Regarding claim 2, Harrison teaches a method (Figs. 1-6) performed by a transaction server (24-30) configured to communicate with a mobile end-user device (20) having a device mobile agent and a plurality of applications (15, 28), the method comprising:
establishing a secure Internet data connection with the mobile end-user device via a wireless network (servers 24-30 connecting to mobile devices 20 via network 14);
receiving, from a first application of the plurality of applications (Fig. 2), a browse request for one or more offers, the browse request including device identification information (servers 24-30 receive from apps in mobile devices 20 request for getting offers from table 94 [Paragraphs 51-52]);
requesting, via an application programming interface (API) (24, 30, 56), communication with the device mobile agent executing on the mobile end-user device to facilitate a purchase transaction ([Paragraph 52]);
receiving, from the device mobile agent, confirmation that the communication has been established ([Paragraphs 28, 36, 64]);
providing the one or more offers to the first application (94 [Fig. 2]);
receiving, in response to providing the one or more offers, a purchase selection corresponding to one of the one or more offers ([Paragraph 32]);
transmitting, to the device mobile agent, purchase information including a description of the purchase selection and a purchase amount (264, 270, 280 [Paragraph 52]); and
in response to transmitting the purchase information, receiving a purchase confirmation (290).
Regarding claim 3, Harrison further teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising:
encrypting data being communicated over the secure Internet data connection to generate encrypted data ([Paragraphs 28, 93]).
Regarding claim 5, Harrison further teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: receiving a request from the mobile end-user device for establishing the secure Internet data connection (from mobile devices 20 to servers 24-30).
Regarding claim 6, Harrison further teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising:
authenticating the first application prior to requesting, via the application programming interface (API), the communication with the device mobile agent (24 [Paragraph 68]).
Regarding claim 7, Harrison further teaches the method of claim 2, wherein requesting, via the application programming interface (API), the communication with the device mobile agent includes transmitting an API request identifying the device mobile agent (24 [Paragraphs 23-24]).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 11-13, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 2-3 and 5-7.
Regarding claims 14-15, 17, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 2-3, 5.
Regarding claim 18, Harrison further teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising:
sending a request to the transaction server for establishing the secure Internet data connection (24 [Paragraph 68]).
Regarding claim 19, Harrison further teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising:
authenticating a user of the mobile end-user device before transmitting the purchase confirmation ([Paragraph 20]).
Regarding claim 20, Harrison further teaches the method of claim 19, wherein authenticating the user includes biometric authentication of the user ([Paragraph 72]).
Regarding claim 21, Harrison further teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the first application is separate from the device mobile agent (40 from 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0229998) in view of Mccurley et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0167403).
Regarding claim 4, Harrison teaches all limitations recited in claim 2.
However, Harrison does not explicitly mention: wherein the transaction server transmits data using one or more of encryption on a transport services stack, IP (Internet Protocol) layer encryption, and tunnelling.
Mccurley teaches, in a similar field of endeavor of communication systems, the following:
wherein the transaction server transmits data using one or more of encryption on a transport services stack ([Paragraph 15]), IP (Internet Protocol) layer encryption ([Paragraphs 10-11]), and tunnelling ([Paragraphs 10-11, 14]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system (as taught by Harrison) by using protocols (as taught by Mccurley) for the purpose of improving security (Mccurley – Paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 10, this claim is rejected as applied to claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, this claim is rejected as applied to claim 4.
Conclusion
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
September 30, 2026
/FABRICIO R MURILLO GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633