DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
• The following is an office action in response to the communication filed 11/13/2024.
• Claims 1-9 and 15 have amended.
• Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
First, it is determined whether the claims are directed to a statutory category of invention. See MPEP 2106.03(II). In the instant case, claims 1-7 are directed to a process, claims 8-14 are directed to a machine, and claims 15-20 are directed to a manufacture. Therefore, claims 1-20 are directed to statutory subject matter under Step 1 of the Alice/Mayo test (Step 1: YES).
The claims are then analyzed to determine if the claims are directed to a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04. In determining whether the claims are directed to a judicial exception, the claims are analyzed to evaluate whether the claims recite a judicial exception (Prong 1 of Step 2A), as well as analyzed to evaluate whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of the judicial exception (Prong 2 of Step 2A). See MPEP 2106.04.
Taking claim 1 as representative, claim 1 recites at least the following limitations that are believed to recite an abstract idea:
receiving a user plan for a plurality of units for a user, the user plan defining a frequency in which the user is to be provided units, a plurality of types of units, and a number units to be provided for each of the plurality of types of units;
in accordance with the frequency defined in the user plan:
determining a type of each unit of the plurality of units based on the user plan;
selecting the plurality of units for the user in accordance with the determined type of each unit;
receiving user input that changes the type of at least one unit of the selected plurality of units;
selecting an updated plurality of units for the user in accordance with the user input that changes the type of at least one unit of the selected plurality of units; and
sending a command to cause to collect items associated with the updated plurality of units to fulfill an order for the user plan; and
optimizing the user plan based on the user input.
The above limitations recite the concept of optimizing a user plan for units. These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in the MPEP, in that they recite commercial or legal interactions such as advertising, marketing, or sales activities or behaviors. Specifically, the optimizing of a user plan represents marketing and sales behaviors. This is illustrated in page 1, paragraph 2 of the Specification, describing the invention relating to food and grocery ordering. Further, these limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in the MPEP, in that they recite concepts performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Specifically, the determinations, receiving information, and optimizing are observations, evaluations, and judgements. These limitations are similar to the mental process of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis. Claims 8 and 15 recite the same abstract ideas as claim 1 and further recite the abstract ideas of receive a user plan for a frequency of a plurality of units; and for each frequency interval; receiving a user plan to provide a plurality of units to a user at selected intervals; and for each selected interval; send an instruction to cause to collect and ship items associated with the updated plurality of units to the user; controlling to ship items associated with the updated plurality of units to the user; and providing the plurality of units to the user, and accordingly fall within the same grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, under Prong One of Step 2A of the MPEP, claims 1, 8, and 15 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
Under Prong Two of Step 2A of the MPEP, claims 1, 8 and 15 recite additional elements, such as a computer-implemented method, a first computing system, a graphical user interface, a second computing system, automatically collect, a computing system, comprising: a memory configured to store computer instructions; transmit data, another computing system, automatically cause, and a processor system configured to execute the computer instructions; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a first computing system, cause the at least one processor to perform actions. These additional elements are described at a high level in Applicant’s specification without any meaningful detail about their structure or configuration. As such, these computer-related limitations are not found to be sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Although these additional computer-related elements are recited, claims 1, 8, and 15 merely invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer is not indicative of integration into a practical application. Similar to the limitations of Alice, claims 1, 8, and 15 merely recite a commonplace business method (i.e., optimizing a user plan) being applied on a general purpose computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, claims 1, 8, and 15 generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The courts have identified various examples of limitations as merely indicating a field of use/technological environment in which to apply the abstract idea, such as specifying that the abstract idea of monitoring audit log data relates to transactions or activities that are executed in a computer environment, because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer (see FairWarning v. Iatric Sys.). Likewise, claims 1, 8, and 15 specifying that the abstract idea of optimizing a user plan is executed in a computer environment merely indicates a field of use in which to apply the abstract idea because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer. As such, under Prong Two of Step 2A of the MPEP, when considered both individually and as a whole, the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 are not indicative of integration into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong Two: NO).
Since claims 1, 8, and 15 recite an abstract idea and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, claims 1, 8, and 15 are “directed to” an abstract idea (Step 2A: YES).
Next, under Step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine if there are additional claim limitations that individually, or as an ordered combination, ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05. The instant claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for at least the following reasons.
Returning to independent claims 1, 8, and 15, these claims recite additional elements, such as a computer-implemented method, a first computing system, a graphical user interface, a second computing system, automatically collect, a computing system, comprising: a memory configured to store computer instructions; transmit data, another computing system, automatically cause, and a processor system configured to execute the computer instructions; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a first computing system, cause the at least one processor to perform actions. Independent claim 1 is silent regarding any additional elements. In fact, as noted above, claim 1 is completely silent regarding any implementation via a computer. As discussed above with respect to Prong Two of Step 2A, although additional computer-related elements are recited, the claims merely invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Moreover, the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 are manual processes, e.g., receiving information, sending information, etc. The courts have indicated that mere automation of manual processes is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (see MPEP 2106.05(a)(I)). Furthermore, as discussed above with respect to Prong Two of Step 2A, claims 1, 8, and 15 merely recite the additional elements in order to further define the field of use of the abstract idea, therein attempting to generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such as the Internet or computing networks (see Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC. (Fed. Cir. 2014); Bilski v. Kappos (2010); MPEP 2106.05(h)). Similar to FairWarning v. Iatric Sys., claims 1, 8, and 15 specifying that the abstract idea of optimizing a user plan is executed in a computer environment merely indicates a field of use in which to apply the abstract idea because this requirement merely limits the claim to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer.
Even when considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not add anything that is not already present when they are considered individually. In Alice Corp., the Court considered the additional elements “as an ordered combination,” and determined that “the computer components…‘[a]dd nothing…that is not already present when the steps are considered separately’ and simply recite intermediated settlement as performed by a generic computer.” Id. (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1972). Similarly, viewed as a whole, claims 1, 8, and 15 simply convey the abstract idea itself facilitated by generic computing components. Therefore, under Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, there are no meaningful limitations in claims 1, 8, and 15 that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20, when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 further fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in the MPEP, in that they recite commercial or legal interactions such as advertising, marketing, or sales activities or behaviors. Further, these claims, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in the MPEP, in that they recite concepts performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. . Dependent claims 2-6, 9-13, and 16-20 fail to identify additional elements and as such, are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Dependent claims 2-4, 7 and 14 further identify additional elements, such as a third computing system, a user computing system, and automatically ordering. Similar to discussion above the with respect to Prong Two of Step 2A, although additional computer-related elements are recited, the claims merely invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As such, under Step 2A, dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are “directed to” an abstract idea. Similar to the discussion above with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15, dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 analyzed individually and as an ordered combination, invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea and merely indicate a field of use in which to apply the abstract idea because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer, and therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Accordingly, under the Alice/Mayo test, claims 1-20 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited McKean et al. (US 20230237554 A1), hereinafter McKean, in view of newly cited Egan (US 20150079551 A1), hereinafter Egan.
In regards to claim 1, McKean discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising (McKean: [abstract]; [0008]):
receiving, by a first computing system, a user plan for a plurality of units for a user, the user plan defining a frequency in which the user is to be provided units, a plurality of types of units, and a number units to be provided for types of units (McKean: [0037] and Fig. 3 – “a request for an order is received from a customer. In various embodiments, the customer may setup or schedule orders for deliveries on specific days, at specific time intervals, or for specific occasions. As described herein, an order is a request for a set of recipes, and the items needed to make those recipes, to be delivered to the customer. Items are objects provided with the recipes for the customer to make the recipes. Items may include the various ingredients or food products needed to make the recipes”; [0020] – “The order-fulfillment server 102 receives an order request from a customer device 120”; [0007] – “a number of meals associated with each corresponding set for a selected mealtime…the customer-selected number of meals for the selected mealtime”; [0073] and Fig. 4 – “one or more customer preferences are obtained…The customer preferences may include, but are not limited to customer dietary preferences, customer dietary restrictions, customer configurations (e.g., number of servings per recipe, preferred cuisines, etc.)”; [0075] – “customer dietary preferences may include a customer's food likes and dislikes, such as the types of cuisines the customers like or dislike, specific food items that the customer would prefer or would prefer to not have, etc. The customer dietary restrictions may include different types of diets, food fads, common food allergies (e.g., nut allergies, dairy allergies, or oral allergy syndrome), etc. of a customer. The customer configurations may include selections and preferences of a customer, such as the number of meals, types of meals (e.g., dinner, lunch, breakfast, snack, or dessert), requested numbers of recipes in a set of recipes, etc.”);
in accordance with the frequency defined in the user plan (McKean: [0037] – “a request for an order is received from a customer. In various embodiments, the customer may setup or schedule orders for deliveries on specific days, at specific time intervals, or for specific occasions. As described herein, an order is a request for a set of recipes, and the items needed to make those recipes, to be delivered to the customer”):
determining, by the first computing system, a type of each unit of the plurality of units based on the user plan (McKean: [0063] and Fig. 3 – “a plurality of predicted recipes are selected for the customer order…customer preferences and the customer's order history are utilized to predict which recipes the customer should enjoy”; [0075] – “customer dietary preferences may include a customer's food likes and dislikes, such as the types of cuisines the customers like or dislike, specific food items that the customer would prefer or would prefer to not have, etc. The customer dietary restrictions may include different types of diets, food fads, common food allergies (e.g., nut allergies, dairy allergies, or oral allergy syndrome), etc. of a customer”; see also [0067-0068]; [0089];
selecting, by the first computing device, the plurality of units for the user in accordance with the determined type of each unit (McKean: [0003] – “A set of recipes is then selected for the order based on the recipe set scores, which results in the pre-filling of the customer's grocery cart”; [0063] and Fig. 3 – “a plurality of predicted recipes are selected for the customer order…customer preferences and the customer's order history are utilized to predict which recipes the customer should enjoy”; [0075] – “customer dietary preferences may include a customer's food likes and dislikes, such as the types of cuisines the customers like or dislike, specific food items that the customer would prefer or would prefer to not have, etc. The customer dietary restrictions may include different types of diets, food fads, common food allergies (e.g., nut allergies, dairy allergies, or oral allergy syndrome), etc. of a customer”; see also [0067-0068]; [0089]);
receiving, by the first computing system via a graphical user interface, user input that changes the type of at least one unit of the selected plurality of units (McKean: [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes”; [0021] – “customer devices 120 are computing devices that can…modify one or more items or recipes associated with a recipe set that is selected for delivery to the customer, etc”; [0072] – “each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”; [0093] – “interfaces 618 may include an input interface to receive hard constraints, soft constraints, or modifications”; see also [0089]);
selecting, by the first computing system, an updated plurality of units for the user in accordance with the user input that changes the type of at least one unit of the selected plurality of units (McKean: [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes.”; [0021] – “customer devices 120 are computing devices that can…modify one or more items or recipes associated with a recipe set that is selected for delivery to the customer, etc”; [0072] – “each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”; [0093] – “interfaces 618 may include an input interface to receive hard constraints, soft constraints, or modifications”; see also [0089]);
sending, by the first computing system, a command to cause to automatically collect items associated with the updated plurality of units to fulfill an order for the user plan (McKean: [0069] – “Process 300 continues to block 316, where the customer order is filled with items for the selected set of recipes. In some embodiments, automated item selection robotic mechanisms may be controlled to select the items from one or more shelves in an item warehouse and fill a delivery box with those items. In other embodiments, a list of items for the selected set of recipes is output to a warehouse worker to enable that worker to collect the items and fill the delivery box”; see also [0035]); and
optimizing, by the first computing system, the user plan based on the user input (McKean: [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes”; [0074] – “a learned model is employed to select a plurality of predicted recipes for the customer based on the customer history and the customer preferences”; [0072] – “the customer history may indicate that each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”; see also [0089]).
McKean further discloses specifying a number of a type of meal (McKean: [0007]), yet McKean does not explicitly disclose defining a number units to be provided for each of the plurality of types of units; and sending, by the first computing system, to a second computing system to cause the second computing system.
However, Egan teaches a similar meal plan system (Egan: [abstract]), including
defining a number units to be provided for each of the plurality of types of units (Egan: [0045] – “Facility 325 enables the user to specify that certain nights during the week are to be "theme nights." The user may specify, for example, that a recipe having a certain theme (e.g., "meatless") should be included in the meal plan for a particular night (e.g., Monday night). A user may select from any suitable number and types of themes, and have a selected theme be applied to any suitable number of meals”; [0049] – “clicking link 405 ("chicken") enables the user to indicate, as shown in display area 430, that chicken is to be included in one meal per week. In the example shown, a user may increment a number of meals in which a particular protein is included by clicking on a corresponding link”); and
sending, by the first computing system, to a second computing system to cause the second computing system (Egan: [0005] – “Once the user approves the shopping list, it may, for example, form the basis for an order that may be automatically submitted to a grocery provider so that the items may be delivered to the user at a specified time(s)”; [0085] – “a grocery list may be delivered…(e.g., via email, text, etc.)”; [0122] – “such computers may be interconnected by one or more networks in any suitable form, including as a local area network or a wide area network, such as an enterprise network or the Internet. Such networks may be based on any suitable technology and may operate according to any suitable protocol and may include wireless networks, wired networks or fiber optic networks”; see also [0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have included the types of unit and sending of Egan in the system of McKean because McKean already a number of types and communications and Egan is merely demonstrating that a number is provided for each type and that information is sent to a second computer. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have included defining a number units to be provided for each of the plurality of types of units; and sending, by the first computing system, to a second computing system to cause the second computing system as taught by Egan because specifying and sending information is well-known and the use of it in a meal system would have helped a user avoid expending the time and mental energy conventionally associated with devising a meal plan and getting the ingredients (Egan: [0004]).
In regards to claim 2, McKean/Egan teaches the method of claim 1. McKean further discloses
providing, by the first computing system, the optimized user plan to a third computing system for output to the user (McKean: [0034] – “the output module 206 may display a selected number of highest scoring recipe sets to the customer, such as via customer device 120”; [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes”; [0074] – “a learned model is employed to select a plurality of predicted recipes for the customer based on the customer history and the customer preferences”; [0072] – “the customer history may indicate that each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”; [0075] – “the model is trained using one or more artificial intelligence or machine learning techniques. The training data may include…past customer customizations… past customer customizations may include information indicating which recipe or item alterations, exchanges, or changes a customer has made to specific recipes”; see also [0094] and Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 3, McKean/Egan teaches the method of claim 1. McKean further discloses
receiving, by the first computing system and from a user computing system of the user, acceptance of the optimized user plan from the user (McKean: [0020-0021] – “The order-fulfillment server 102 can then initiate delivery of the items and recipes associated with the selected set of recipes to the customer to fulfill the order… request a recipe set and corresponding items be delivered to the customer”; see also [0094] and Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 4, McKean/Egan teaches the method of claim 1. McKean further discloses
receiving, by the first computing system and from a user computing system of the user, a rejection of the optimized user plan from the user; and disregarding, by the first computing system, the optimized user plan (McKean: [0034] – “the output module 206 may display a selected number of highest scoring recipe sets to the customer, such as via customer device 120”; [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes”; see also [0075]; [0094] and Fig. 1; the examiner interprets modifying the order to be a rejection and providing the modified order to be disregarding optimized plan).
In regards to claim 6, McKean/Egan teaches the method of claim 1. McKean further discloses
wherein optimizing the user plan comprises: modifying, by the first computing system, the user plan to include the changed type of the at least one unit (McKean: [0034] – “the output module 206 may display a selected number of highest scoring recipe sets to the customer, such as via customer device 120”; [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes”; [0074] – “a learned model is employed to select a plurality of predicted recipes for the customer based on the customer history and the customer preferences”; [0072] – “the customer history may indicate that each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”; see also [0094] and Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 8, McKean discloses a computing system, comprising: a memory configured to store computer instructions; and a processor system configured to execute the computer instructions to (McKean: [abstract]; [0090]; [0094]):
receive a user plan for a frequency of a plurality of units, the user plan defining a frequency in which the user is to be provided units, a plurality of types of units, and a number units to be provided for types of units (McKean: [0037] and Fig. 3 – “a request for an order is received from a customer. In various embodiments, the customer may setup or schedule orders for deliveries on specific days, at specific time intervals, or for specific occasions. As described herein, an order is a request for a set of recipes, and the items needed to make those recipes, to be delivered to the customer. Items are objects provided with the recipes for the customer to make the recipes. Items may include the various ingredients or food products needed to make the recipes”; [0020] – “The order-fulfillment server 102 receives an order request from a customer device 120”; [0007] – “a number of meals associated with each corresponding set for a selected mealtime…the customer-selected number of meals for the selected mealtime”; [0073] and Fig. 4 – “one or more customer preferences are obtained…The customer preferences may include, but are not limited to customer dietary preferences, customer dietary restrictions, customer configurations (e.g., number of servings per recipe, preferred cuisines, etc.)”; [0075] – “customer dietary preferences may include a customer's food likes and dislikes, such as the types of cuisines the customers like or dislike, specific food items that the customer would prefer or would prefer to not have, etc. The customer dietary restrictions may include different types of diets, food fads, common food allergies (e.g., nut allergies, dairy allergies, or oral allergy syndrome), etc. of a customer. The customer configurations may include selections and preferences of a customer, such as the number of meals, types of meals (e.g., dinner, lunch, breakfast, snack, or dessert), requested numbers of recipes in a set of recipes, etc.”); and
for each frequency interval defined in the user plan: determine a type of each unit of the plurality of units based on the user plan (McKean: [0063] and Fig. 3 – “a plurality of predicted recipes are selected for the customer order…customer preferences and the customer's order history are utilized to predict which recipes the customer should enjoy”; [0075] – “customer dietary preferences may include a customer's food likes and dislikes, such as the types of cuisines the customers like or dislike, specific food items that the customer would prefer or would prefer to not have, etc. The customer dietary restrictions may include different types of diets, food fads, common food allergies (e.g., nut allergies, dairy allergies, or oral allergy syndrome), etc. of a customer”; see also [0037]; [0067-0068]);
select the plurality of units for the user in accordance with the determined type of each unit (McKean: [0003] – “A set of recipes is then selected for the order based on the recipe set scores, which results in the pre-filling of the customer's grocery cart”; [0063] and Fig. 3 – “a plurality of predicted recipes are selected for the customer order…customer preferences and the customer's order history are utilized to predict which recipes the customer should enjoy”; [0075] – “customer dietary preferences may include a customer's food likes and dislikes, such as the types of cuisines the customers like or dislike, specific food items that the customer would prefer or would prefer to not have, etc. The customer dietary restrictions may include different types of diets, food fads, common food allergies (e.g., nut allergies, dairy allergies, or oral allergy syndrome), etc. of a customer”; see also [0067-0068]);
receive user input that changes the type of at least one unit of the selected plurality of units (McKean: [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes”; [0021] – “customer devices 120 are computing devices that can…modify one or more items or recipes associated with a recipe set that is selected for delivery to the customer, etc”; [0072] – “each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”);
select an updated plurality of units for the user in accordance with the user input that changes the type of at least one unit of the selected plurality of units (McKean: [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes.”; [0021] – “customer devices 120 are computing devices that can…modify one or more items or recipes associated with a recipe set that is selected for delivery to the customer, etc”; [0072] – “each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”; [0093] – “interfaces 618 may include an input interface to receive hard constraints, soft constraints, or modifications”; see also [0089]);
transmit an instruction to automatically cause to automatically collect and ship items associated with the updated plurality of units to the user (McKean: [0069] – “Process 300 continues to block 316, where the customer order is filled with items for the selected set of recipes. In some embodiments, automated item selection robotic mechanisms may be controlled to select the items from one or more shelves in an item warehouse and fill a delivery box with those items. In other embodiments, a list of items for the selected set of recipes is output to a warehouse worker to enable that worker to collect the items and fill the delivery box”; see also [0035]); and
optimize the user plan based on the user input (McKean: [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes”; [0074] – “a learned model is employed to select a plurality of predicted recipes for the customer based on the customer history and the customer preferences”; [0072] – “the customer history may indicate that each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”).
McKean further discloses specifying a number of a type of meal (McKean: [0007]), yet McKean does not explicitly disclose defining a number units to be provided for each of the plurality of types of units; and transmit to another computing system to cause the other computing system.
However, Egan teaches a similar meal plan system (Egan: [abstract]), including
defining a number units to be provided for each of the plurality of types of units (Egan: [0045] – “Facility 325 enables the user to specify that certain nights during the week are to be "theme nights." The user may specify, for example, that a recipe having a certain theme (e.g., "meatless") should be included in the meal plan for a particular night (e.g., Monday night). A user may select from any suitable number and types of themes, and have a selected theme be applied to any suitable number of meals”; [0049] – “clicking link 405 ("chicken") enables the user to indicate, as shown in display area 430, that chicken is to be included in one meal per week. In the example shown, a user may increment a number of meals in which a particular protein is included by clicking on a corresponding link”); and
transmit to another computing system to cause the other computing system (Egan: [0005] – “Once the user approves the shopping list, it may, for example, form the basis for an order that may be automatically submitted to a grocery provider so that the items may be delivered to the user at a specified time(s)”; [0085] – “a grocery list may be delivered…(e.g., via email, text, etc.)”; [0122] – “such computers may be interconnected by one or more networks in any suitable form, including as a local area network or a wide area network, such as an enterprise network or the Internet. Such networks may be based on any suitable technology and may operate according to any suitable protocol and may include wireless networks, wired networks or fiber optic networks”; see also [0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have included the types of unit and sending of Egan in the system of McKean because McKean already a number of types and communications and Egan is merely demonstrating that a number is provided for each type and that information is sent to a second computer. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have included defining a number units to be provided for each of the plurality of types of units; and transmit to another computing system to cause the other computing system as taught by Egan because specifying and sending information is well-known and the use of it in a meal system would have helped a user avoid expending the time and mental energy conventionally associated with devising a meal plan and getting the ingredients (Egan: [0004]).
In regards to claim 9, McKean/Egan teaches the system of claim 8. McKean further discloses
wherein the processor system is configured to further execute the computer instructions to: provide the optimized user plan to the user via a graphical user interface (McKean: [0034] – “the output module 206 may display a selected number of highest scoring recipe sets to the customer, such as via customer device 120”; [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes”; [0074] – “a learned model is employed to select a plurality of predicted recipes for the customer based on the customer history and the customer preferences”; [0072] – “the customer history may indicate that each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”; [0075] – “the model is trained using one or more artificial intelligence or machine learning techniques. The training data may include…past customer customizations… past customer customizations may include information indicating which recipe or item alterations, exchanges, or changes a customer has made to specific recipes”; see also [0094] and Fig. 1).
In regards to claims 10-11 and 13, all the limitations in system claims 10-11 and 13 are closely parallel to the limitations of method claims 3-4 and 6 analyzed above and rejected on the same bases.
In regards to claim 15, McKean discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a first computing system, cause the at least one processor to perform actions, the actions comprising (McKean: [abstract]; [0090]; [0094]):
receiving a user plan to provide a plurality of units to a user at selected intervals, the user plan defining the selected intervals, a plurality of types of units, and a number units to be provided for types of units (McKean: [0037] and Fig. 3 – “a request for an order is received from a customer. In various embodiments, the customer may setup or schedule orders for deliveries on specific days, at specific time intervals, or for specific occasions. As described herein, an order is a request for a set of recipes, and the items needed to make those recipes, to be delivered to the customer. Items are objects provided with the recipes for the customer to make the recipes. Items may include the various ingredients or food products needed to make the recipes”; [0073] and Fig. 4 – “one or more customer preferences are obtained…The customer preferences may include, but are not limited to customer dietary preferences, customer dietary restrictions, customer configurations (e.g., number of servings per recipe, preferred cuisines, etc.)”; [0075] – “customer dietary preferences may include a customer's food likes and dislikes, such as the types of cuisines the customers like or dislike, specific food items that the customer would prefer or would prefer to not have, etc. The customer dietary restrictions may include different types of diets, food fads, common food allergies (e.g., nut allergies, dairy allergies, or oral allergy syndrome), etc. of a customer. The customer configurations may include selections and preferences of a customer, such as the number of meals, types of meals (e.g., dinner, lunch, breakfast, snack, or dessert), requested numbers of recipes in a set of recipes, etc.”); and
for each selected interval: determining a type of each unit of the plurality of units based on the user plan (McKean: [0063] and Fig. 3 – “a plurality of predicted recipes are selected for the customer order…customer preferences and the customer's order history are utilized to predict which recipes the customer should enjoy”; [0075] – “customer dietary preferences may include a customer's food likes and dislikes, such as the types of cuisines the customers like or dislike, specific food items that the customer would prefer or would prefer to not have, etc. The customer dietary restrictions may include different types of diets, food fads, common food allergies (e.g., nut allergies, dairy allergies, or oral allergy syndrome), etc. of a customer”; see also [0037]; [0067-0068]);
selecting the plurality of units for the user in accordance with the determined type of each unit (McKean: [0003] – “A set of recipes is then selected for the order based on the recipe set scores, which results in the pre-filling of the customer's grocery cart”; [0063] and Fig. 3 – “a plurality of predicted recipes are selected for the customer order…customer preferences and the customer's order history are utilized to predict which recipes the customer should enjoy”; [0075] – “customer dietary preferences may include a customer's food likes and dislikes, such as the types of cuisines the customers like or dislike, specific food items that the customer would prefer or would prefer to not have, etc. The customer dietary restrictions may include different types of diets, food fads, common food allergies (e.g., nut allergies, dairy allergies, or oral allergy syndrome), etc. of a customer”; see also [0067-0068]);
providing a graphical user interface showing the plurality of units to the user (McKean: [0034] – “the output module 206 may display a selected number of highest scoring recipe sets to the customer, such as via customer device 120”; [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes”; [0074] – “a learned model is employed to select a plurality of predicted recipes for the customer based on the customer history and the customer preferences”; [0072] – “the customer history may indicate that each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”; [0075] – “the model is trained using one or more artificial intelligence or machine learning techniques. The training data may include…past customer customizations… past customer customizations may include information indicating which recipe or item alterations, exchanges, or changes a customer has made to specific recipes”);
receiving, via the graphical user interface, user input that changes the type of at least one unit of the selected plurality of units (McKean: [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes”; [0021] – “customer devices 120 are computing devices that can…modify one or more items or recipes associated with a recipe set that is selected for delivery to the customer, etc”; [0072] – “each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”);
selecting an updated plurality of units for the user based on the user input (McKean: [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes.”; [0021] – “customer devices 120 are computing devices that can…modify one or more items or recipes associated with a recipe set that is selected for delivery to the customer, etc”; [0072] – “each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”; [0093] – “interfaces 618 may include an input interface to receive hard constraints, soft constraints, or modifications”; see also [0089]);
controlling to automatically ship items associated with the updated plurality of units to the user (McKean: [0069] – “Process 300 continues to block 316, where the customer order is filled with items for the selected set of recipes. In some embodiments, automated item selection robotic mechanisms may be controlled to select the items from one or more shelves in an item warehouse and fill a delivery box with those items. In other embodiments, a list of items for the selected set of recipes is output to a warehouse worker to enable that worker to collect the items and fill the delivery box”; see also [0035]); and
optimizing the user plan based on the user input (McKean: [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes”; [0074] – “a learned model is employed to select a plurality of predicted recipes for the customer based on the customer history and the customer preferences”; [0072] – “the customer history may indicate that each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”).
McKean further discloses specifying a number of a type of meal (McKean: [0007]), yet McKean does not explicitly disclose defining a number units to be provided for each of the plurality of types of units; and controlling a second computing system.
However, Egan teaches a similar meal plan system (Egan: [abstract]), including
defining a number units to be provided for each of the plurality of types of units (Egan: [0045] – “Facility 325 enables the user to specify that certain nights during the week are to be "theme nights." The user may specify, for example, that a recipe having a certain theme (e.g., "meatless") should be included in the meal plan for a particular night (e.g., Monday night). A user may select from any suitable number and types of themes, and have a selected theme be applied to any suitable number of meals”; [0049] – “clicking link 405 ("chicken") enables the user to indicate, as shown in display area 430, that chicken is to be included in one meal per week. In the example shown, a user may increment a number of meals in which a particular protein is included by clicking on a corresponding link”); and
controlling a second computing system (Egan: [0005] – “Once the user approves the shopping list, it may, for example, form the basis for an order that may be automatically submitted to a grocery provider so that the items may be delivered to the user at a specified time(s)”; [0085] – “a grocery list may be delivered…(e.g., via email, text, etc.)”; [0122] – “such computers may be interconnected by one or more networks in any suitable form, including as a local area network or a wide area network, such as an enterprise network or the Internet. Such networks may be based on any suitable technology and may operate according to any suitable protocol and may include wireless networks, wired networks or fiber optic networks”; see also [0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have included the types of unit and sending of Egan in the system of McKean because McKean already a number of types and communications and Egan is merely demonstrating that a number is provided for each type and that information is sent to a second computer. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have included defining a number units to be provided for each of the plurality of types of units; and controlling a second computing system as taught by Egan because specifying and sending information is well-known and the use of it in a meal system would have helped a user avoid expending the time and mental energy conventionally associated with devising a meal plan and getting the ingredients (Egan: [0004]).
In regards to claims 16-18 and 20, all the limitations in medium claims 16-18 and 20 are closely parallel to the limitations of method claims 2-4 and 6 analyzed above and rejected on the same bases.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKean, in view of Egan, in view of previously cited Phillips et al. (US 20210019809 A1), hereinafter Phillips.
In regards to claim 5, McKean/Egan teaches the method of claim 1. McKean further discloses
wherein optimizing the user plan comprises: determining, by the first computing system, a number of changes (McKean: [0072] – “the customer history may indicate that each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”; [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes”; see also [0075]; the examiner interprets modifying the order to be a rejection and providing the modified order to be disregarding optimized plan); and
optimizing, by the first computing system, the user plan based on the user input in response to the changes exceeding the threshold number of changes (McKean: [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes”; [0074] – “a learned model is employed to select a plurality of predicted recipes for the customer based on the customer history and the customer preferences”; [0072] – “the customer history may indicate that each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”).
McKean further discloses changes (McKean: [0072]). However, McKean/Egan does not explicitly teach that the changes exceed a threshold number of changes; the changes exceeding the threshold number of changes.
However, Phillips teaches a similar method of ordering (Phillips: [abstract]), including
the changes exceed a threshold number of changes; the changes exceeding the threshold number of changes (Phillips: [0031] – “the system may learn each user's preference regarding automatic order completion. For example, if a user cancels more than a threshold number of automatically-completed orders (e.g., more than two such orders), then the system may stop auto-completing orders for that user”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have included the threshold of Phillips in the method of McKean because McKean already discloses determinations regarding a number of changes and Phillips is merely demonstrating determinations using a threshold. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have included the changes exceed a threshold number of changes; the changes exceeding the threshold number of changes as taught by Phillips thresholds are well-known and the use of it in an ordering setting would have improved efficiency of ordering (Phillips: [abstract]).
In regards to claim 12, all the limitations in system claim 12 are closely parallel to the limitations of method claim 5 analyzed above and rejected on the same bases.
In regards to claim 19, all the limitations in medium claim 19 are closely parallel to the limitations of method claim 5 analyzed above and rejected on the same bases.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKean, in view of Egan, in view of previously cited Glasgow et al. (US 20150178654 A1), hereinafter Glasgow.
In regards to claim 7, McKean discloses the method of claim 1. McKean further discloses
wherein optimizing the user plan comprises: determining, by the first computing system, that the user has selected a specific unit (McKean: [0072] – “the customer history may indicate that each previously selected recipe containing beef is modified by the customer to exchange the beef for chicken”; [0003] – “the customer may make changes to the pre-filled cart, such as by modifying a recipe in the selected set of recipes or modifying or swapping an item associated with the set of recipes. The filling of the order for the customer can then be initiated with the items associated with the selected set of recipes”; see also [0075]; the examiner interprets modifying the order to be a rejection and providing the modified order to be disregarding optimized plan)/
However, McKean does not explicitly disclose that the user has selected a specific unit a threshold number of times; and modifying, by the first computing system, the user plan such that the specific unit is to automatically selected in the future for the user.
However, Glasgow teaches a similar method of ordering (Glasgow: [0116]), including
that the user has selected a specific unit a threshold number of times; and modifying, by the first computing system, the user plan such that the specific unit is to automatically selected in the future for the user (Glasgow: [0116] – “If the threshold is met or exceeded (operation 1430), a conditional action for the item is created in operation 1440. If the threshold is not met, the process 1400 ends in operation 1450. For example, if the threshold is two, then when an item is purchased for the second time, a conditional action for the item is automatically generated. The generated conditional action may be defined on a per-user basis or as a system-wide value. For example, a user may specify that the threshold is three and that the conditional action will automatically order the item when the inventory of the new item drops to zero. As another example, a system default may specify that the threshold is two and that the conditional action will automatically re-order the new item when the inventory drops to zero”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have included the threshold of Glasgow in the method of McKean because McKean already discloses determinations regarding a number of orders and Glasgow is merely demonstrating determinations using a threshold. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have included that the user has selected a specific unit a threshold number of times; and modifying, by the first computing system, the user plan such that the specific unit is to automatically selected in the future for the user as taught by Glasgow thresholds are well-known and the use of it in an ordering setting would have improved predictions of items a user wants (Glasgow: [0116]).
In regards to claim 14, all the limitations in system claim 14 are closely parallel to the limitations of method claim 7 analyzed above and rejected on the same bases.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/02/2026, have been fully considered.
35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant argues that the claims do not recite an abstract idea because “the claims do not fall within the ‘certain methods of organizing human activity’ grouping or the ‘mental processes’ grouping”. Remarks pages 7-8. The examiner disagrees. As shown in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 above, the limitations directed to the abstract idea are directly quoted and concepts within the identified as belonging to the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and Mental Processes groupings of abstract ideas. With respect to the instant claims, a computer-implemented method, a first computing system, a graphical user interface, a second computing system, automatically collect, a computing system, comprising: a memory configured to store computer instructions; transmit data, another computing system, automatically cause, and a processor system configured to execute the computer instructions; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a first computing system, cause the at least one processor to perform actions have been analyzed as additional elements and accordingly are not analyzed under Step 2A, Prong 1. The claims further recite determining whether an item can be listed based on image analysis and matching. These claims fall into the Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping, which includes activity that falls within the enumerated sub-grouping of commercial or legal interactions, including subject matter relating to advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. Specifically, these claims recite sales activities because they pertain to fulfilling a user order. These claims further fall within the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas in that they recite concepts performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Specifically, the determinations, receiving information, and optimizing are observations, evaluations, and judgements. These limitations are similar to the mental process of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis. Accordingly, these claims recite an abstract idea.
Applicant argues the claims are patent eligible because the claims “improv[e] the operation of item delivery computing systems, including reducing computing resources needed by the item delivery computing systems to automatically fulfill item delivery operations” (Remarks pages 8-9). The examiner disagrees. The MPEP provides guidance on how to evaluate whether claims recite an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or technical field. For example, the MPEP states “the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement.” The MPEP further states that “[t]he specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art,” and that, “conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner…the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology” (see MPEP 2106.04). That is, the claim includes the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. Looking to the specification is a standard that the courts have employed when analyzing claims as it relates to improvements in technology. For example, in Enfish, the specification provided teaching that the claimed invention achieves benefits over conventional databases, such as increased flexibility, faster search times, and smaller memory requirements. Enfish LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Additionally, in Core Wireless the specification noted deficiencies in prior art interfaces relating to efficient functioning of the computer. Core Wireless Licensing v. LG Elecs. Inc., 880 F.3d 1356 (Fed Cir. 2018). With respect to McRO, the claimed improvement, as confirmed by the originally filed specification, was “…allowing computers to produce ‘accurate and realistic lip synchronization and facial expressions in animated characters…’” and it was “…the incorporation of the claimed rules, not the use of the computer, that “improved [the] existing technological process” by allowing the automation of further tasks”. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games America Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, (Fed. Cir. 2016).
While the examiner acknowledges that improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field may constitute integration into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(a)), the instant claims do not provide a technical improvement. Rather, the claims provide an improvement to the abstract idea of optimizing a user plan for units. This is further illustrated in page 1, ln. 15-20 of the Specification, describing the invention relates to determining user preferences. While the Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s arguments regarding reduced computing resources, the Examiner notes that there are no technical improvements pertaining to computer processing reflected in the claims.
Although the claims include computer technology such as a computer-implemented method, a first computing system, a graphical user interface, a second computing system, automatically collect, a computing system, comprising: a memory configured to store computer instructions; transmit data, another computing system, automatically cause, and a processor system configured to execute the computer instructions; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a first computing system, cause the at least one processor to perform actions, such elements are merely peripherally incorporated in order to implement the abstract idea. Put another way, these additional elements are merely used to apply the abstract idea of optimizing a user plan for units in a technological environment without effectuating any improvement or change to the functioning of the additional elements or other technology. This is unlike the improvements recognized by the courts in cases such as Enfish, Core Wireless, and McRO. Unlike precedential cases, neither the specification nor the claims of the instant invention identify such a specific improvement to computer capabilities. The instant claims are not directed to technological improvements but are directed to improving the business method of optimizing a user plan for units. The claimed process, while arguably resulting in a better process for optimizing a user plan, is not providing any improvement to another technology or technical field as the claimed process is not, for example, improving the server and/or computer components that operate the system. Rather, the claimed process is utilizing data sets related to orders while still employing the same server and/or computer components used in conventional systems to improve optimizing a user plan for units, e.g. a business method, and therefore is merely applying the abstract idea using generic computing components. As such, the claims are not integrated into practical application.
Applicant argues the claims are patent eligible because “[n]one of the claims…are a building block of human ingenuity” (Remarks page 9). The examiner disagrees. The examiner notes that questions of preemption are inherent in the two-part framework from Alice Corp. and Mayo (incorporated in the MPEP 2106), and are resolved by using this framework to distinguish between preemptive claims, and “those that integrate the building blocks into something more...the latter pose no comparable risk of pre-emption, and therefore remain eligible.” It should be kept in mind, however, that while a preemptive claim may be ineligible, the absence of complete preemption does not guarantee that a claim is eligible (see MPEP 2106.04). Therefore, while preemption may signal patent ineligible subject matter, the absence of complete preemption does not demonstrate patent eligibility. Where a patent's claims are deemed only to disclose patent ineligible subject matter under the Alice/Mayo framework, as they are in this case, preemption concerns are fully addressed and made moot (see MPEP 2106.04).
35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant argues the claims are allowable because the cited art does not teach or disclose “‘receiving, by a first computing system, a user plan for a plurality of units for a user, the user plan defining a frequency in which the user is to be provided units, a plurality of types of units, and a number units to be provided for each of the plurality of types of units’ and then taking specifically recited steps ‘in accordance with the frequency defined in the user plan.’” (Remarks page 11). The examiner disagrees. The amendments have necessitated a new grounds of rejection and a new reference has been cited to teach defining a number of units to be provided for each of the plurality of types of units. Furthermore, McKean discloses receiving, by a first computing system, a user plan for a plurality of units for a user, the user plan defining a frequency in which the user is to be provided units, a plurality of types of units, and a number of units to be provided for types of units and steps in accordance with the frequency defined in the user plan. McKean discloses this [0037] and Fig. 3, disclosing a request for an order is received from a customer. In various embodiments, the customer may setup or schedule orders for deliveries on specific days, at specific time intervals, or for specific occasions. A request is for a set of recipes, and the items needed to make those recipes, to be delivered to the customer. Items are objects provided with the recipes for the customer to make the recipes. Items may include the various ingredients or food products needed to make the recipes. Thus, the deliveries occur in accordance with the frequency. McKean further discloses in [0020] that the request may be received from the device by the server. McKean additionally discloses in [0007] a customer-selected number of meals for the selected mealtime, meaning that a number of types of units are specified. McKean additionally discloses in [0073], [0075], and Fig. 4 that one or more customer preferences are obtained. The customer preferences may include, but are not limited to customer dietary preferences, customer dietary restrictions, customer configurations (e.g., number of servings per recipe, preferred cuisines, etc.). Where customer dietary preferences may include a customer's food likes and dislikes, such as the types of cuisines the customers like or dislike, specific food items that the customer would prefer or would prefer to not have, etc. The customer dietary restrictions may include different types of diets, food fads, common food allergies (e.g., nut allergies, dairy allergies, or oral allergy syndrome), etc. of a customer. The customer configurations may include selections and preferences of a customer, such as the number of meals, types of meals (e.g., dinner, lunch, breakfast, snack, or dessert), requested numbers of recipes in a set of recipes, etc. Thus, the cited art teaches these limitations in the claim.
Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable for the same reasons as the independent claims (Remarks pages 11-12). The examiner disagrees. The rejections to the independent claims have been maintained for the reasons discussed in the paragraphs above and the rejections to the dependent claims are maintained for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL reference U, initially cited in the Office action dated 02/02/2026, teaches food delivery services. Food may be delivered in boxes on a recurring basis. Boxes are customizable based on user preferences and frequency may be customized as well.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA MAE MITROS/Examiner, Art Unit 3689