DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A, claims 1-13 and 20 (Figs. 1-6 and 9-11) in the reply filed on 09/09/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Species are related and would not place a search burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because Species A and B would require a different field of search, such as searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries, based on the different structural configurations of the protective net of Species A and B. It should further be noted that as outlined in the MPEP, it is required to show at least one of the following for serious search burden (A) separate classification thereof, (B) a separate status in the art when they are classifiable together, or (C) a different field of search. See MPEP 808.02. As discussed, it was stated that the species showed search burden based on (C) a different field of search. Explanation by way of examples that could be found in a different field of search was provided, such as searching different classes/subclasses, searching different electronic resources, or employing different search queries. It is noted that Patents need not be cited to show different fields of search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/09/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/20/2025 and 07/29/2026 were filed after the filing date of this Application on 11/13/2024. The submission are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “an air conditioner, comprising an indoor unit” in claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the phrase “The present disclosure is directed to” in line 1.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitations “…an avoidance space…” and “…an avoidance space…” which render the claim indefinite because the claim as written leave the structure ambiguous in nature as it becomes difficult to tell if the claim is referencing a previously claimed element or disclosing an element in addition to the previously claimed element.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “the first net body is provided with an avoidance space … and the second net body is provided with an avoidance space” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 7 from which claim 8 depends, previously disclosed “the protective net is at least partially concave to form an avoidance space”. Therefore, it is not entirely clear if the disclosed “avoidance space” of claims 7 and 8 are referencing the same structure or different ones. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “the first flow diversion plate and the second flow diversion plate each are provided with the swing blade” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 7 from which claim 8 depends previously disclosed “the air outlet assembly comprises … a swing blade”. Therefore, as recited, claim 8 seems to indicate that both first and second flow diversion plates are sharing a single swing blade. However, the disclosure and drawings do not support such arrangement. More clarity is requested.
Claims 9-10 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 20190212017 A1, herein after referred to as Kwon).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon teaches an indoor unit (air conditioner 1 Fig. 1), comprising: a cross-flow fan (fan 30 Figs. 2 and 14); an air duct assembly (duct 40 Figs. 3 and 14); an air outlet assembly (panel holes 47, direct-wind outlet 11, and inner member 61 Figs. 6 and 14); and a protective net assembly (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon), wherein the cross-flow fan is arranged in the air duct assembly (Fig. 14), the air outlet assembly is in communication with a downstream portion of the air duct assembly (Figs. 5 and 14), and the protective net assembly is arranged between the air duct assembly and the air outlet assembly (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon teaches wherein the air duct assembly has a guide passage (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon), and the guide passage obliquely extends rightwards gradually from rear to front and has an outlet (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon); the air outlet assembly has a first air outlet (direct-wind outlet 11 Figs. 5 and 14) and a second air outlet (right panel holes 47 Figs. 6 and 14), and the first air outlet is arranged on a left side of the second air outlet (Fig. 14); and the protective net assembly comprises a protective net (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon) and a flow diversion member (inner member 62 Fig. 14), the protective net comprises a protective net body (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon) arranged at the outlet (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon), the flow diversion member is arranged on a front side of the protective net body (Fig. 14) and is located on a downstream portion of the protective net body (Fig. 14), and the flow diversion member is configured to guide air flowing through the flow diversion member to the first air outlet (Figs. 13-14 and paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon teaches wherein the protective net body covers the outlet and has a left end (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon), a right end (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon), and a middle end (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon) located between the left end and the right end (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon), the left end is arranged on a leftmost side of the outlet (Fig. 14), and the right end is arranged on a rightmost side of the outlet (Fig. 14); and the flow diversion member is configured as a flow diversion rib (Fig. 14), the flow diversion rib has a first upstream end (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon) and a first downstream end (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon), and the first upstream end is arranged on a right side of the middle end (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon teaches wherein the first downstream end is located on a left side of the first upstream end (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon teaches wherein the flow diversion rib is configured to be of an arc-shaped plate structure (Fig. 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Kato et al. (JP2006153453A, herein after referred to as Kato).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the protective net body is configured to be of a grid shape and has a vertical rib and a horizontal rib connected together, and the vertical rib is arranged to obliquely extend rightwards gradually from rear to front”.
However, Kato teaches wherein a protective net body (discharge grill 6 Figs. 2a-2b corresponds to the net body of Kwon) is configured to be of a grid shape (Figs. 2a-2b and paragraph [0026]) and has a vertical rib (first slat 7 Figs. 2a-2b) and a horizontal rib (second slat 8 Fig. 2a) connected together (Figs. 2a-2b and paragraph [0026]), and the vertical rib is arranged to obliquely extend rightwards gradually from rear to front (Line B-B Fig. 2b and paragraph [0030]) to reduce noise between the protective net and the airflow (paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kwon to include “wherein the protective net body is configured to be of a grid shape and has a vertical rib and a horizontal rib connected together, and the vertical rib is arranged to obliquely extend rightwards gradually from rear to front” in view of the teachings of Kato to reduce noise between the protective net and the airflow.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Zhang et al. (CN114183826A, herein after referred to as Zhang).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon teaches wherein the air outlet assembly is arranged on a front side of the protective net assembly (Fig. 14), the air outlet assembly comprises a swing blade (inner member 61 Fig. 14) rotatably arranged on the flow diversion cone (Figs. 13-14), the protective net assembly comprises a protective net (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon), and the protective net is at least partially concave to form an avoidance space (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon) for avoiding the swing blade (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon).
Kwon teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the air outlet assembly comprises a flow diversion cone”.
However, Zhang teaches an air outlet assembly (air outlet assembly 100 Fig. 1 corresponds to the air outlet assembly of Kwon) comprises a flow diversion cone (diversion structure 20 Fig. 4) to divert the incoming airflow towards separate channel air outlets (paragraph [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kwon to include “the air outlet assembly comprises a flow diversion cone” in view of the teachings of Zhang to divert the incoming airflow towards separate channel air outlets.
Regarding claim 8, and due to indefiniteness, the combined teachings teach wherein the flow diversion cone comprises a first flow diversion plate (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Zhang) and a second flow diversion plate (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Zhang) that are arranged to form an angle (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Zhang), and the first flow diversion plate and the second flow diversion plate each are provided with the swing blade (Fig. 4 of Zhang where air sweeping mechanism 401 and air sweeping mechanism 402 corresponds to the swing blade of Kwon); and the protective net comprises a protective net body (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Zhang), the protective net body has a first net body (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Zhang) and a second net body (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Zhang) that are connected together, the first net body is provided with an avoidance space (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Zhang) for avoiding the swing blade on the first flow diversion plate (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Zhang), and the second net body is provided with an avoidance space (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Zhang) for avoiding the swing blade on the second flow diversion plate (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Zhang).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the protective net body is configured as an M-shaped net by the first net body and the second net body jointly”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “wherein the protective net body is configured as an M-shaped net by the first net body and the second net body jointly” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing a protective net that is shaped to avoid interfering with a moving structure. Since it has been held that changes in shape has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 IV. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings and meet the claimed limitations in order to produce the predictable results of providing a protective net that is shaped to avoid interfering with a moving structure.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein the air outlet assembly comprises a flow diversion bracket (see below annotated Fig. 7 of Zhang), the flow diversion bracket and the flow diversion cone define a first air outlet passage (first air outlet section 1111 Fig. 7 of Zhang) and a second air outlet passage (second air outlet section 1112 Fig. 7 of Zhang), the first air outlet passage has a first air outlet (see below annotated Fig. 7 of Zhang), the second air outlet passage has a second air outlet (see below annotated Fig. 7 of Zhang), and the swing blade is partially arranged in the first air outlet passage or the second air outlet passage correspondingly (see below annotated Fig. 7 of Zhang).
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon.
Regarding claim 11, Kwon teaches wherein the protective net assembly comprises a protective net (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon) and a flow diversion member (inner member 62 Fig. 14).
Kwon teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the protective net and the flow diversion member are integrally formed”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the protective net and the flow diversion member are integrally formed” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing a protective net and flow diverter as one integral component. Since it has been held that Making Integral parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 V. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings and meet the claimed limitations in order to produce the predictable results of providing a protective net and flow diverter as one integral component.
Regarding claim 13, Kwon teaches wherein the protective net comprises a protective net body (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon), the protective net body has a first net body (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon) and a second net body (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon) that are connected together (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon).
Kwon teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the protective net body is configured as an M-shaped net by the first net body and the second net body jointly”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the protective net body is configured as an M-shaped net by the first net body and the second net body jointly” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing a protective net that is shaped to avoid interfering with a moving structure. Since it has been held that changes in shape has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 IV. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings and meet the claimed limitations in order to produce the predictable results of providing a protective net that is shaped to avoid interfering with a moving structure.
Kwon teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the flow diversion member is connected to a joint of the first net body and the second net body”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the flow diversion member is connected to a joint of the first net body and the second net body” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing a protective net and flow diverter as one integral component. Since it has been held that Making Integral parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 V. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings and meet the claimed limitations in order to produce the predictable results of providing a protective net and flow diverter as one integral component.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Sakai (US 20240044525 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the protective net assembly is made of a plastic material”.
However, Sakai teaches wherein a protective net assembly (reticular resin molding 3 Fig. 2A corresponds to the protective net assembly of Kwon) is made of a plastic material (paragraph [0014]) to control the charge of the introduced air (paragraph [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kwon to include “wherein the protective net assembly is made of a plastic material” in view of the teachings of Sakai to control the charge of the introduced air.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. (US 20240361035 A1, herein after referred to as Jo) in view of Kwon.
Regarding claim 20, Jo teaches an air conditioner (air conditioner 1 Fig. 1), comprising an indoor unit (indoor unit 20 Fig. 1).
Jo teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the indoor unit comprising a cross-flow fan, an air duct assembly, an air outlet assembly and a protective net assembly, wherein the cross-flow fan is arranged in the air duct assembly, the air outlet assembly is in communication with a downstream portion of the air duct assembly, and the protective net assembly is arranged between the air duct assembly and the air outlet assembly”.
However, Kwon teaches an indoor unit (air conditioner 1 Fig. 1 corresponds to the indoor unit of Jo) comprising a cross-flow fan (fan 30 Figs. 2 and 14), an air duct assembly (duct 40 Figs. 3 and 14), an air outlet assembly (panel holes 47, direct-wind outlet 11, and inner member 61 Figs. 6 and 14) and a protective net assembly (see below annotated Fig. 14 of Kwon), wherein the cross-flow fan is arranged in the air duct assembly (Fig. 14), the air outlet assembly is in communication with a downstream portion of the air duct assembly (Figs. 5 and 14), and the protective net assembly is arranged between the air duct assembly and the air outlet assembly (Fig. 14) to blow out conditioned air (paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Jo to include “the indoor unit comprising a cross-flow fan, an air duct assembly, an air outlet assembly and a protective net assembly, wherein the cross-flow fan is arranged in the air duct assembly, the air outlet assembly is in communication with a downstream portion of the air duct assembly, and the protective net assembly is arranged between the air duct assembly and the air outlet assembly” in view of the teachings of Kwon to blow out conditioned air.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763