Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are: a first training module, second training module, image acquisition module, test module in claims 1-11, 13-16 which corresponds to [0040] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “image acquisition module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not point out which hardware component is corresponding to the limitation. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the trains" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of advancing prosecution, Examiner interprets the limitation to be “the training”.
Claims 2-8 are dependent from claim 1 and do not remedy the deficiencies of claim 1 and therefore are also rejected.
Claims 1 and 9 recites “performing second training on the instance segmentation model on which the first trains was performed based on a second dataset stored in a second database” and “a second training module configured to perform second training on the instance segmentation model on which the first training was performed based on a second dataset stored in a second database”. The limitations appear to recite that the first training was performed on a second dataset stored in a second database. However, this is contrary to applicant’s specification which shows that the first training is performed using the first database, then the results of the first training is then trained by a second training using dataset from a second database (See figs. 1 and 2). For the purposes of advancing prosecution, Examiner interprets the limitations to be those disclosed in the specification.
Claims 2-8 and 10-16 are dependent from claims 1 and 9 and do not remedy the deficiencies of claims 1 and 9 and therefore are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Construction Site Safety Management: A Computer Vision and Deep Learning Approach (Jaekyu Lee and Sangyub Lee, Sensors 2023, 23(2), 944; Published January 13, 2023; hereinafter “Lee”).
As to claim 9, Lee teaches a system (Hardware platform used to train the AI model is shown in Table 1.; 3.2 Development Environment and system configuration ) configured to train an instance segmentation (Table 3. Shows image segmentation) model, the system comprising: a first training module configured to perform first training on the instance segmentation model based on a first data set stored in a first database (ResNet backbone model is the previously trained model which is used as part of transfer learning; page 4, Section 3.1 and page 9, section 3.6); and a second training module configured to perform second training on the instance segmentation model on which the first training was performed based on a second dataset stored in a second database (application of transfer learning onto the ResNet backbone model; page 8, Section 3.5), wherein the second dataset comprises (i) a large-scale open-source dataset (various open source datasets are applied; page 8, Section 3.5) and (ii) an image without a segmentation target object that is acquired by capturing a working environment within an industrial site (construction image data are collected through CCTV and stored on the server; page 4, Section 3.1).
As to claim 10, Lee teaches the system of claim 9, further comprising an image acquisition module configured to capture the working environment within the industrial site to acquire the image without the segmentation target object and store the image without the segmentation target object in the second database (construction image data are collected through CCTV and stored on the server; page 4, Section 3.1).
As to claim 11, Lee teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the image acquisition module is configured to transform the image without the segmentation target object and store the transformed image in the second database (CCTV images are converted into high-quality data and stored on the server; page 4, Section 3.1).
As to claim 12, Lee teaches the system of claim 11, wherein transforming the image comprises horizontally flipping or resizing the image (Next, an image pyramid module was developed to enlarge or reduce the images. In addition, an image rotation module was designed to rotate the image data collected from the construction sites at various angles (e.g., 90◦, 45◦, and −45◦). This module is used to correct the images used in training and rotate the images at various angles; Page 7, lines 11-17).
As to claim 13, Lee teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the image acquisition module is configured to augment the image without the segmentation target object by inserting a target object and store the augmented image in the second database (The training dataset comprises the image files to be trained, the labels of the objects; Page 8, Section 3.5).
As to claim 14, Lee teaches the system of claim 9, further comprising a testing module configured to test performance of the instance segmentation model on which the second training was performed (Simulation and tests; Page 17, Section 4.3).
As to claims 1-6, they are the method claim of claims 9-14 and are addressed similarly. Please see above for detailed mapping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Elbaz (US 2023/0126931 A1).
As to claim 15, Lee teaches testing module (Simulation and tests; Page 17, Section 4.3) and a second training module (application of transfer learning onto the ResNet backbone model; page 8, Section 3.5) but does not teaches wherein the testing module is configured to, based on a result of testing of the performance not satisfying a predetermined criterion, output a control signal to the second training module to cause the second training module to repeat the second training on the instance segmentation model. Elbaz teaches a vulnerability testing (title) wherein ML model manager 120 may be configured to review the trained ML models to determine the behavior of each ML model stored in model repository 150 using test datasets. ML model manager 120 may be configured to review determined behavior for any discrepancies and request data generator 114 for a specialized synthetic dataset to resolve behavior discrepancies in a previously trained ML model. ML model manager 120 may be configured to continuously make synthetic dataset generation requests to train an ML model further until a set criterion for ML model behavior is met ([0046]). It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have added the vulnerability testing of Elbaz to Lee in order to make a more robust system.
As to claim 16, Lee teaches testing module (Simulation and tests; Page 17, Section 4.3) and a second training module (application of transfer learning onto the ResNet backbone model; page 8, Section 3.5) but does not teaches wherein the testing module is configured to output a control signal based on a result of testing of the performance not satisfying a predetermined criterion, to update the second dataset by instructing the image acquisition module to additionally acquire the image without the segmentation target object and store the image in the second database. Elbaz teaches a vulnerability testing (title) wherein ML model manager 120 may be configured to review the trained ML models to determine the behavior of each ML model stored in model repository 150 using test datasets. ML model manager 120 may be configured to review determined behavior for any discrepancies and request data generator 114 for a specialized synthetic dataset to resolve behavior discrepancies in a previously trained ML model. ML model manager 120 may be configured to continuously make synthetic dataset generation requests to train an ML model further until a set criterion for ML model behavior is met ([0046]). It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have added the vulnerability testing of Elbaz to Lee in order to make a more robust system.
As to claims 7-8, they are the method claim of claims 15-16 and are addressed similarly. Please see above for detailed mapping.
Contact Information
CLAIRE X. WANG
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774