DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 8-9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 2: The term “substantially” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In particular, lines 7 and 11 of the claim recite “substantially” regarding inner diameters being compared to one another. Although Applicant’s as-filed specification ¶ 8 discloses “the third inner diameter is substantially equal to the second inner diameter” and “the sixth inner diameter is substantially equal to the fifth inner diameter”, there does not appear to be any recitation of an objective measure of what one may construe as falling within the scope of “substantially”, such as a length, e.g. 1 mm, or an approximation that compares the inner diameters such as the two diameters being within 5% of each other’s dimensions. For these reasons, the scope of the claim is unclear.
As to claim 15: Lines 7 and 11 of the claim also recite instances of “substantially” and accordingly suffer from the same lack of clarity for the reasons above as indicated regarding claim 2 but not repeated herein for brevity.
As to claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 16, and 17: Each of said claims depends ultimately from one of claims 2 or 15 and accordingly each also inherits the lack of clarity from their respective parent claims for the reasons described previously above.
Because the scope of claims 2-4, 8-9, and 15-17 could not be ascertained at this time for the above noted reasons, a proper and complete prior art search for the claimed subject matter of each of said claims could not be conducted at this time. The examiner recommends either explaining how Applicant believes the scope of each claim to be definite, preferably by providing evidence from Applicant’s disclosure, and/or amending the claim(s) in order to obviate the above noted issues. Should Applicant’s reply overcome the instant 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of each of said claims, the rejections thereto shall be withdrawn and a prior art search for the claimed subject matter of each would be carried out at that time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 11, 12, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wan et al. CN 218572185 U (hereafter Wan).
As to claim 1: Wan discloses an arm-based sphygmomanometer (1; see fig. 1 of the included English translation of Wan) comprising:
a measuring host (11 and 12; see fig. 1 and ¶ 48) including a housing (see exterior surface of the device depicted in fig. 1) with a first insertion opening and a latching slot formed within the housing corresponding to the first insertion opening (see fig. 1 and ¶ 41 especially with regard to the ring 6, surface 61, and surface 41 as further depicted in figs. 3 and 4);
a female connector (5, 6, 7; see fig. 2 and ¶ 40, 41, and 46) disposed inside the housing (see fig. 2 in view of fig. 1), and the female connector comprising:
a gas manifold member (the cylinder portion of element 5 depicted in fig. 2; also see ¶ 40 noting that this element is an air connector) including a latching section (51; see fig. 5 and ¶ 41), a front-end pipe body (the front end of the cylinder portion of element 5 depicted in fig. 2 to which the square portion is connected), a rear end pipe body (the opposite end of the cylinder portion of element 5 depicted in fig. 2 furthest from the square portion) and a branch pipe (53; see fig. 5) that are communicated with each other in sequence along an axial direction and are integrally formed (see fig. 2 in view of fig. 5 as well as details in ¶ 40 and 49), the gas manifold member (the cylinder portion of element 5 depicted in fig. 2) including a second insertion opening (see fig. 5 regarding the open part of element 51), wherein the latching section (51) is inserted and fixed in the latching slot (see fig. 5 and ¶ 40), and the second insertion opening corresponds to the first insertion opening (see fig. 1 and ¶ 51 which notes a user must insert element 4 into connector 51);
a hermetic ring (7; see fig. 2 and ¶ 46) disposed in the gas manifold member (see ¶ 46); and
an embedded buckle (6) disposed in the gas manifold member and between the second insertion opening and the hermetic ring (see fig. 2), the embedded buckle comprising:
a brim portion being an annular body (the top ring-like feature of element 6 depicted in fig. 2) and including a third insertion opening (the open portion of the brim portion depicted in fig. 2) abuts an inner wall of the latching section, and the brim portion blocked and limited by a portion of the housing around the first insertion opening (see fig. 1 and details in ¶ 40 and 50); and
a crown portion extending from a periphery of the third insertion opening of the brim portion (see fig. 6 regarding the top portion of element 6), wherein the crown portion has a plurality of notches (the portions between elements 63; see fig. 6), the notches evenly divide the crown portion to form a plurality of buckling pieces (63; see fig. 6), and each of the buckling pieces has an inner surface and an outer surface (the portion of the buckling pieces furthest into the page and out of the page as viewed in fig. 6, respectively); wherein the inner surfaces of the buckle pieces are respectively provided with protrusions (the tab portions of elements 63; see fig. 6), and each protrusion has a height (see fig. 6 regarding the extent of elements 63 perpendicular to the annular ring 61); and
a male connector (4; see fig. 3) including an annular recess (the open portion of element 4 inserted as disclosed in ¶ 42), and connected to a cuff (2) with a tube (3);
wherein when the protrusions of the embedded buckle are correspondingly clamped into the annular recess of the male connector, the male connector and the female connector are tightly matched with each other (see ¶ 51 regarding the connection formed and signified by clicking).
As to claim 6: Wan discloses the arm-based sphygmomanometer according to claim 1, wherein the protrusions (the tab portions of elements 63; see fig. 6) are wedge-shaped (see fig. 6).
As to claim 11: Wan discloses the arm-based sphygmomanometer according to claim 1, wherein the male connector (4; see fig. 3) further including a hermetic member (the annular component to the left of the male connector depicted in fig. 2), when the hermetic member of the male connector is inserted into the hermetic ring (7; see fig. 2 and ¶ 46) so as to improve the overall airtight effect (see ¶ 50).
As to claim 12: Wan discloses the arm-based sphygmomanometer according to claim 1, wherein an outer contour of the front-end pipe body (the front end of the cylinder portion of element 5 depicted in fig. 2 to which the square portion is connected) is circular (see fig. 2), and the latching slot (see fig. 5 and ¶ 40) has an arc neck which the front end pipe body abuts (when the connection is made at ring 6 as depicted in fig. 1 and as disclosed in ¶ 50, the latching slot is considered to have an arc neck portion which the front end pipe body abuts when connected as further depicted in fig. 2).
As to claim 14: Wan discloses a female connector (5, 6, 7; see fig. 2 and ¶ 40, 41, and 46) for an arm-based sphygmomanometer (1; see fig. 1), wherein a first insertion opening (see fig. 1 and ¶ 41 especially with regard to the ring 6, surface 61, and surface 41 as further depicted in figs. 3 and 4) is exposedly disposed on a housing of the arm-based sphygmomanometer (see fig. 1) and the female connector is disposed within the housing (see fig. 1), the female connector comprising:
a gas manifold member (the cylinder portion of element 5 depicted in fig. 2; also see ¶ 40 noting that this element is an air connector) including a latching section (51; see fig. 5 and ¶ 41), a front-end pipe body (the front end of the cylinder portion of element 5 depicted in fig. 2 to which the square portion is connected), a rear end pipe body (the opposite end of the cylinder portion of element 5 depicted in fig. 2 furthest from the square portion) and a branch pipe (53; see fig. 5) that are communicated with each other in sequence along an axial direction and are integrally formed (see fig. 2 in view of fig. 5 as well as details in ¶ 40 and 49), the gas manifold member (the cylinder portion of element 5 depicted in fig. 2) including a second insertion opening (see fig. 5 regarding the open part of element 51), wherein the latching section (51) is inserted and fixed in the latching slot (see fig. 5 and ¶ 40), and the second insertion opening corresponds to the first insertion opening (see fig. 1 and ¶ 51 which notes a user must insert element 4 into connector 51);
a hermetic ring (7; see fig. 2 and ¶ 46) disposed in the gas manifold member (see ¶ 46); and
an embedded buckle (6) disposed in the gas manifold member and between the second insertion opening and the hermetic ring (see fig. 2), the embedded buckle comprising:
a brim portion being an annular body (the top ring-like feature of element 6 depicted in fig. 2) and including a third insertion opening (the open portion of the brim portion depicted in fig. 2) abuts an inner wall of the latching section, and the brim portion blocked and limited by a portion of the housing around the first insertion opening (see fig. 1 and details in ¶ 40 and 50); and
a crown portion extending from a periphery of the third insertion opening of the brim portion (see fig. 6 regarding the top portion of element 6), wherein the crown portion has a plurality of notches (the portions between elements 63; see fig. 6), the notches evenly divide the crown portion to form a plurality of buckling pieces (63; see fig. 6), and each of the buckling pieces has an inner surface and an outer surface (the portion of the buckling pieces furthest into the page and out of the page as viewed in fig. 6, respectively); wherein the inner surfaces of the buckle pieces are respectively provided with protrusions (the tab portions of elements 63; see fig. 6), and each protrusion has a height (see fig. 6 regarding the extent of elements 63 perpendicular to the annular ring 61).
As to claim 19: Wan discloses the arm-based sphygmomanometer according to claim 14, wherein the protrusions (the tab portions of elements 63; see fig. 6) are wedge-shaped (see fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al. CN 218572185 U (hereafter Wan) in view of Herberger US PG-PUB 2021/0330263 A1 (hereafter Herberger).
As to claim 7: Wan teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 1, including notches (the portions between elements 63; see fig. 6), but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the notches have a length ranging from 1.9 mm to 3.5 mm.
However, Herberger teaches that notches that connect elements may have length ranging from 1.9 mm to 3.5 mm (see ¶ 143).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wan’s notches to have length ranging from 1.9 mm to 3.5 mm because such a length is an art recognized means of achieving the useful and predictable result of bonding two components in a medical device where one wishes to both ensure a connection between such devices but also wishes to maintain a desired scale, such as for reducing overall size and cost of a device, such as suggested in ¶ 143 and 146 of Herberger.
As to claim 20: Wan teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 14, including notches (the portions between elements 63; see fig. 6), but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the notches have a length ranging from 1.9 mm to 3.5 mm.
However, Herberger teaches that notches that connect elements may have length ranging from 1.9 mm to 3.5 mm (see ¶ 143).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wan’s notches to have length ranging from 1.9 mm to 3.5 mm because such a length is an art recognized means of achieving the useful and predictable result of bonding two components in a medical device where one wishes to both ensure a connection between such devices but also wishes to maintain a desired scale, such as for reducing overall size and cost of a device, such as suggested in ¶ 143 and 146 of Herberger.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al. CN 218572185 U (hereafter Wan) in view of Zhang et al. US PG-PUB 2024/0041484 A1 (hereafter Zhang).
As to claim 10: Wan teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 1, including an embedded buckle (6), but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the embedded buckle is made of thermoplastic polyester elastomer.
However, Zhang teaches that certain medical components may comprise thermoplastic polyester elastomer (see ¶ 51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wan’s embedded buckle to be made of thermoplastic polyester elastomer because thermoplastic polyester elastomer has the advantageous properties of high elasticity, aging resistance, and oil resistance while also being convenient to process, such as suggested in ¶ 51 of Zhang and thus would provide these known benefits to the components of Wan.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al. CN 218572185 U (hereafter Wan) in view of CN 217603587 U (hereafter CN587).
As to claim 13: Wan teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 1, including a latching section (51; see fig. 5 and ¶ 41) and a housing (see exterior surface of the device depicted in fig. 1), but does not explicitly teach:
wherein two protruding ribs are disposed on an outer surface of the latching section, and the housing extends inwards and is partially clamped between the two protruding ribs so that the housing covers one of the protruding ribs.
However, CN587 teaches the use of two protruding ribs (211 and 212; see fig. 4) that are disposed on an outer surface of a latching section (201; see fig. 4 and ¶ 43 of the included English translation of CN587), and a housing connected thereto will extend inward and be partially clamped between the two protruding ribs so that the housing covers one of the protruding ribs (see ¶ 46 and 50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wan such that two protruding ribs are disposed on an outer surface of the latching section, and the housing extends inwards and is partially clamped between the two protruding ribs so that the housing covers one of the protruding ribs because such a construction is an art recognized means of attaching components in a sphygmomanometer device, such as suggested in ¶ 46 of CN587 and thus improves the functionality of Wan’s device by ensuring a proper and locking connection of the detachable components therein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 5: The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious to the skilled artisan an arm-based sphygmomanometer wherein the gas manifold member and the embedded buckle have an elastic modules greater than 700 MPa, and (emphasis added) the hermetic ring has an elastic modulus less than 700 MPa, when considered in combination with the limitations of parent claim 1.
In particular, while it is known from the prior art to construct a hermetic ring component to have an elastic modulus less than 700 MPa (see, for example Yamauchi et al. US PG-PUB 2011/0311898 ¶ 161 which notes that a compressive elastic modulus gasket may be 200 MPa or less), there does not appear to be a reason, teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify Wan’s gas manifold member and the embedded buckle to each have an elastic modulus greater than 700 MPa as well, such as required by the limitations of the instant claim.
As to claim 18: The claim depends from claim 14 but otherwise recites largely the same limitations as claim 5 above and therefore is also objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims for reasons similar thereto but not repeated herein for brevity.
Conclusion
/JOHN M ROYSTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2855