DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12171152. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is obvious that the narrower system claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12171152 covers the broader system claim 1 of the instant application, wherein “a first electronic sensor not in contact with the soil” of U.S. Patent No. 12171152 covers “a first sensor” of the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 14 “the soil-engaging tool” should be –the first soil-engaging tool— for consistency in claim terminology.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para. [00230] “the encoder 266” should be --the encoder 2266--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Bassett (US 5479992 A), provided in Applicant’s IDS filed 04/03/2025.
Regarding claim 1, Bassett discloses a monitor system for an agricultural seed planter having a plurality of row units, the monitor system comprising:
a controller (104);
a plurality of row units (10), each having:
a first soil-engaging tool (20) configured for moving along a soil in a direction of travel (18) (Fig. 2, col. 5 lines 17-20);
a first actuator (106) causing the first soil-engaging tool to be urged toward the soil according to a first actuator signal received from the controller as the first soil-engaging tool is moved along the direction of travel (col. 8 lines 33-36 a first signal is received by the controller which sends a command to the first actuator 106 to control the downward force on the implements 10), and
a first sensor (sensor 90 having signal generating means 96) positioned ahead of the first soil-engaging tool relative to the direction of travel (as seen in Figs. 1-3), the first sensor being configured to sense a condition of the soil (i.e. soil hardness) ahead of the soil-engaging tool and to provide a sensor signal (98) indicative of the condition to the controller (col. 8 lines 5-24), wherein
the controller is configured to control the first actuator based on the provided sensor signal to adjust in real time a distance or pressure of the soil-engaging tool relative to the soil as the plurality of row units are moved along the soil (col. 8 lines 36-40 “harder soil…produces a second signal that is received by the controller 104 which thereby issues a command to increase the downward force applied by the means 106 to the implements 10”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ptacek et al. (US 5653292 A) discloses a method and apparatus for automatically controlling soil penetration depth. Buchl et al. (US 6085846 A) discloses a potentiometer-based gauge wheel positioning system. Bourgault et al. (US 20090020053 A1) discloses a device for adjusting and controlling packing force. Sauder et al. (US 20100010667 A1) discloses a planter monitor system and method. Peterson (US 20100319941 A1) discloses a trenching device and system.
/JULIA C TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671