Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, it recites “a channel estimator that estimates channels related to the plurality of active users based on the active user information and the channel information to acquire channel information.” (emphasis added). It is unclear to the Examiner why channel information needs to be acquired because the channel information is already obtained.
The Examiner suggests changing to “a channel estimator that estimates channels related to the plurality of active users based on the active user information and [[the channel information]] a channel to acquire channel information.”
Claims 10-15 do not cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (English translation of KR 20220023650) in view of Wu (US 20160337149).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1/16, Yu teaches A wireless communication system based on grant-free non-orthogonal multiple access (GF-NOMA) ([0005], “base station, a terminal, and a system that support uplink grant-free Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access (NOMA).”), the system comprising:
a transmitting unit ([0011-0012], active terminals) comprising a plurality of active users ([0011], a base station may receive “an unauthorized uplink signal transmitted from at least some of the connected terminals.” And [0068], “the terminal (200) transmitting the unauthorized uplink signal can be called an active terminal (200_a).” The base station “determines an active terminal transmitting the unauthorized uplink signal based on the detected non-orthogonal spreading code.”) transmitting preambles ([0011], “pilot symbol of the unauthorized uplink signal”) and data ([0012], the base station may “detect data included in the data symbol of the unauthorized uplink signal transmitted from the active terminal.”) in a grant-free manner without granting resources for data transmission ([0011], “unauthorized uplink signal” transmitted from active terminals. And [0005], “a system that support uplink grant-free Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access (NOMA).”); and
a receiving unit ([0013], base station) that receives preambles ([0011], “pilot symbol of the unauthorized uplink signal”) and data ([0012], the base station may “detect data included in the data symbol of the unauthorized uplink signal transmitted from the active terminal.”) transmitted from the plurality of active users in a grant-free manner ([0011 and 0071], a base station may receive “an unauthorized uplink signal transmitted from” “multiple active terminals (200_a) ... simultaneously.”), and detects data corresponding to each active user from among the plurality of active users ([0071], the base station “detect non-orthogonal spreading codes included in the pilot symbols of the received unauthorized uplink signal to identify the active terminal (200_a). Since a unique non-orthogonal spreading code is assigned to each terminal (200), even if multiple active terminals (200_a) transmit unauthorized uplink signals simultaneously, the active terminal (200_a) can be identified if the non-orthogonal spreading code included in the unauthorized uplink signal can be detected.”),
wherein each active user from among the plurality of active users transmits the data based on a code ([0032], “each terminal (200) can transmit ... an unauthorized uplink signal containing the assigned non-orthogonal spreading code.”).
However, Yu does not specifically disclose codebook, and wherein the codebook is a codebook randomly selected by the each active user from a preset codebook set.
In an analogous art, Wu discloses a terminal transmits the data ([0126], “The terminal transmits the uplink data signal and the pilot signal to the base station.”) based on a codebook ([0122], “The terminal generates an uplink data signal according to the first codebook and the uplink service data.”), and
wherein the codebook is a codebook randomly selected by the terminal from a preset codebook set ([0119], “the first codebook may be a codebook that is randomly selected from the preset codebook set.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yu to specify codebook as taught by Wu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to map pilot sequence to a codebook in order to generate uplink data.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Hong (US 20190044588).
With respect to independent claim:
Regarding claim(s) 9, Yu teaches A receiving end apparatus of a wireless communication system based on grant-free non-orthogonal multiple access (GF-NOMA) ) ([0005], “base station, a terminal, and a system that support uplink grant-free Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access (NOMA).”), the apparatus comprising:
a transceiver ([0013], base station) that receives preambles ([0011], “pilot symbol of the unauthorized uplink signal”) and data ([0012], the base station may “detect data included in the data symbol of the unauthorized uplink signal transmitted from the active terminal.”) from a plurality of active users ([0011 and 0071], a base station may receive “an unauthorized uplink signal transmitted from” “multiple active terminals (200_a) ... simultaneously.”);
an active user detector that detects the plurality of active users based on the preambles to acquire active user information ([0071], the base station may “detect non-orthogonal spreading codes included in the pilot symbols of the received unauthorized uplink signal to identify the active terminal (200_a).”).
However, Yu does not teach a channel estimator that estimates channels related to the plurality of active users based on the active user information and the channel information to acquire channel information; and a multi-user detector that detects data corresponding to each active user from among the plurality of active users.
In an analogous art, Hong teaches a channel estimator that estimates channels related to the plurality of active users based on the active user information and the channel information to acquire channel information ([0115], “the base station may estimate a channel by using the reference signals and the data symbols.” And [0126], “the base station may determine whether the channel state is good by comparing a channel magnitude of an i-th terminal and a predetermined threshold.”); and
a multi-user detector that detects data corresponding to each active user from among the plurality of active users ([0116], “the base station may detect data that the active terminal has transmitted through decoding, by using the data symbols of the detected active terminal and the estimated channel.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yu to specify channel estimation as taught by Hong. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to detect data that active terminals have transmitted.
With respect to dependent claim:
Regarding claim(s) 10, Hong teaches wherein all active users from among the plurality of active users transmit the data based on different codebooks, or at least two active users from among the plurality of active users transmit the data based on the same codebook ([0184], “the terminal may use, as the first codebook, one of the plurality of codebooks that corresponds the number of active terminals.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yu to specify codebook as taught by Hong. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to map data symbols to codebook.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Wu, and further in view of Hong.
Regarding claim(s) 2/17, Hong teaches wherein all active users from among the plurality of active users transmit the data based on different codebooks, or at least two active users from among the plurality of active users transmit the data based on the same codebook ([0184], “the terminal may use, as the first codebook, one of the plurality of codebooks that corresponds the number of active terminals.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yu to specify codebook as taught by Hong. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to map data symbols to codebook.
Regarding claim(s) 3, Yu teaches wherein the receiving end comprises:
an active user detector that detects the plurality of active users based on the preambles to acquire active user information ([0071], the base station may “detect non-orthogonal spreading codes included in the pilot symbols of the received unauthorized uplink signal to identify the active terminal (200_a).”).
However, Yu does not teach a channel estimator that estimates channels related to the plurality of active users to acquire channel information; and a multi-user detector that detects data corresponding to each active user from among the plurality of active users based on the active user information and the channel information.
In an analogous art, Hong teaches a channel estimator that estimates channels related to the plurality of active users to acquire channel information ([0115], “the base station may estimate a channel by using the reference signals and the data symbols ... perform channel estimation regarding all active terminals detected by using the data symbols.”); and
a multi-user detector that detects data corresponding to each active user ([0116], “the base station may detect data that the active terminal.”) from among the plurality of active users ([0113], “the data symbols and the reference signals may include signals transmitted from a plurality of terminals.”) based on the active user information and the channel information ([0116], “the base station may detect data that the active terminal has transmitted through decoding, by using the data symbols of the detected active terminal and the estimated channel.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yu to specify channel estimation as taught by Hong. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to detect data that active terminals have transmitted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411