DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filomeno to (US20240259827) in view of Wang to (WO 2020083051 A1) further in view of Ravichandran to (US 20200186411 A1)
Regarding claims 1,9,17 Filomeno teaches a method of end-to-end (E2E) network resource planning in a cellular network, the method comprising: adjusting an input to a network resource planning tool, ([0093] discloses modify the candidate network deployment using an output of the bottleneck structure model to generate a next candidate network deployment in block 512. For example, the processor may use an output of the bottleneck structure model to modify the candidate network deployment, to generate a modified or tweaked candidate network deployment (a next network deployment). .. the processor may determine the effect of small changes to a candidate network deployment without the need to generate and simulate an entirely new network deployment. In some embodiments, the processor may compare the effects of such small changes, and determine whether to keep or discard such changes based on whether the small changes result in an improvement in one or more network performance criteria) wherein the input comprises a parameter associated with data demand,([0090] repeat the operations of generating a (next) candidate network deployment and simulating a performance of the (next) candidate network deployment … the processor may determine the effect of small changes to a candidate network deployment without the need to generate and simulate an entirely new network deployment) wherein the network resource planning tool comprises a plurality of entities representing a plurality of network elements in the cellular network([0085] discloses obtain information regarding a plurality of network element locations in a geographic area, communication characteristics of network element types suitable for deployment in the plurality of network element locations, a network demand from UEs in the geographic area, and a deployment cost of the network elements), monitoring a plurality of capacity metrics,([0091] discloses determining whether a stop condition is satisfied by the candidate network deployment includes determining whether the simulated performance of the candidate network deployment satisfies the network demand from the UEs in the geographic area. .. the network demand from the UEs may be expressed in terms of data throughput, data rates provided to UEs, or another suitable metric, value, or expression of network demand from the UEs)
Filomeno does not explicitly teach wherein each capacity metric of the plurality of capacity metrics is associated with a corresponding network element of the plurality of network elements; determining whether a capacity metric of the plurality of capacity metric satisfies a corresponding threshold criterion of the capacity metric, wherein each capacity metric of the plurality of capacity metric corresponds to a respective threshold criterion of a plurality of threshold criteria; and responsive to determining that the capacity metric satisfies the corresponding threshold criterion, outputting a notification indicating a breakage associated with the corresponding network element
However, Wang teaches wherein each capacity metric of the plurality of capacity metrics is associated with a corresponding network element of the plurality of network elements; (p12, last paragraph "obtaining the CPU utilization rate of the virtualized network element in
the network element pool; in order to obtain the CPU utilization rate of a network
element, the network element must be identified)
determining whether a capacity metric of the plurality of capacity metric satisfies a corresponding threshold criterion of the capacity metric, (p12, last paragraph " obtaining the CPU utilization rate of the virtualized network element in the network element pool; "; note that CPU utilization rate is a capacity metric) wherein each capacity metric of the plurality of capacity metric corresponds to a respective threshold criterion of a plurality of threshold criteria (p12, last paragraph " if the CPU utilization rate of the
virtualized network element exceeds a preset threshold, the Set up an elastic
strategy for expansion ")
However, Ravichandran teaches responsive to determining that the capacity metric satisfies the corresponding threshold criterion, outputting a notification indicating a breakage associated with the corresponding network element ("[0088] The FPPM 209 may perform
at least following functions: [0089] a) predict/detect fault or performance issue in one
or more service(s)/slice(s) using pre-provisioned inputs (FPP-RULES) that may be
adapted by the EAAM 205 (ADAPT-FPP-RULES) or [0173] " prediction of fault
or performance issues from a CF, and SO forth.", or "[0174] end-to-end latency
within the network shows an increasing trend, and is predicted to cross the threshold
for maximum latency in next 2 observation intervals ")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Filomeno include wherein each capacity metric of the plurality of capacity metrics is associated with a corresponding network element of the plurality of network elements; determining whether a capacity metric of the plurality of capacity metric satisfies a corresponding threshold criterion of the capacity metric, wherein each capacity metric of the plurality of capacity metric corresponds to a respective threshold criterion of a plurality of threshold criteria; and responsive to determining that the capacity metric satisfies the corresponding threshold criterion, outputting a notification indicating a breakage associated with the corresponding network element, as suggested by Wang and Ravichandran. This modification would benefit the system reduce network congestion and predicting network fault/performance issues ([0173] of RAVICHANDRAN).
Regarding claims 2,10,18 Filomeno and Wang and Ravichandran teaches wherein the network resource planning tool comprises a plurality of modules, wherein a first module of the plurality of modules comprises a first set of entities representing a first set of network elements in one or more base stations, wherein a second module of the plurality of modules comprises a second set of entities representing a second set of network elements in one or more transports(Wang, p2, last paragraph " Taking the 2/3 / 4G wireless access network element selecting the core network element as an example, in the mobile switching
center (Mobile Switching Centre, MSC) / service General Packet Radio Service
(General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) support node (Serving GPRS In the case of
Support Node, SGSN) / Mobile Management Entity (Mobile Management Entity, MME)
group pool, the Radio Network Controller (RNC) selects the MSC / SGSN / MME
serving it in the pool. ..."), wherein a third module of the plurality of modules comprises a third set of entities representing a third set of network elements in one or more core networks, and wherein a fourth module of the plurality of modules comprises a fourth set of entities representing a fourth set of network elements in one or more cloud-computing platforms (Wang, p2, last paragraph " Taking the 2/3 / 4G wireless access network element selecting the core network element as an example, in the mobile switching
center (Mobile Switching Centre, MSC) / service General Packet Radio Service
(General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) support node (Serving GPRS In the case of
Support Node, SGSN) / Mobile Management Entity (Mobile Management Entity, MME)
group pool, the Radio Network Controller (RNC) selects the MSC / SGSN / MME
serving it in the pool. ...").
Regarding claims 3,11 Filomeno teaches wherein the first set of network elements comprises at least one of: a radio unit (RU), a distributed unit (DU), a control plane centralized unit (CU-CP), a user plane centralized unit (CU-UP), a sector, or a cell site([0030] one or more of a Centralized Unit (CU), a Distributed Unit (DU), a Radio Unit (RU), a near-real time (RT) RAN intelligent controller (RIC), or a non-real time RIC. Each network device may provide communication coverage for a particular geographic area. In 3GPP, the term “cell” can refer to a coverage area of a network device, a network device subsystem serving this coverage area, or a combination thereof, depending on the context in which the term is used. The core network 140 may be any type core network, such as an LTE core network (e.g., an evolved packet core (EPC) network), 5G core network, etc) , wherein the second set of network elements comprises at least one of: an interface, or a communication link, ([0078] network elements have a limited amount of time to allocate to each of communication links (connections) with UEs supported by each network element ) wherein the third set of network elements comprises at least one network function,([0051] Each control function may be implemented with an interface configured to communicate signals with other control functions hosted by the CU 162) and wherein the fourth set of network elements comprises at least one cloud-native network function([0054] the SMO Framework 166 may be configured to interact with a cloud computing platform (such as an open cloud (O-Cloud) 176) to perform network element life cycle management (such as to instantiate virtualized network elements) via a cloud computing platform interface (such as an O2 interface)) .
Regarding claims 4,12,19 Filomeno and Wang and Ravichandran teach wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: a counter, or a key performance indicator (KPI) (Ravichandran "[0003] a rule to allocate an additional virtual machine (VM) to a network function may not work if sufficient resources are not available in the specific location, thereby leading to
increased latency affecting key performance indicators (KPIs) of services, etc.
").
Regarding claims 5,13 Filomeno and Wang and Ravichandran teach wherein the threshold criterion of the capacity metric is determined using historical data or one or more capacity limits of the network element (Wang, p12, last paragraph " if the CPU utilization rate of the
virtualized network element exceeds a preset threshold, the Set up an elastic
strategy for expansion ") .
Regarding claims 6,14,20 Filomeno and Wang and Ravichandran teach wherein the parameter associated with data demand comprises at least one of: a number of subscribers, or an amount of data traffic (Ravichandran [0173] " prediction of fault or performance issues from a CF, and SO forth.", or "[0174] end-to-end latency within the network shows an increasing trend, and is predicted to cross the threshold for maximum latency in next 2 observation intervals ").
Regarding claims 7,15 Filomeno and Wang and Ravichandran teach further comprising: recording a value of the input corresponding to the breakage (Ravichandran [0173] " prediction of fault or performance issues from a CF, and SO forth.", or "[0174] end-to-end latency within the network shows an increasing trend, and is predicted to cross the threshold
for maximum latency in next 2 observation intervals ").
Regarding claims 8,16 Filomeno and Wang and Ravichandran teach make a recommendation regarding the breakage, wherein the recommendation comprises adjusting at least one of: a capacity of memory, a capacity of storage, a number of central processing unit (CPU), or a bandwidth of network interconnection (Wang, p5, 2ⁿᵈ paragraph , from the bottom (" network device is the first network element and includes: a processor; a memory and a transceiver connected to the processor; or p12, last para " obtaining the CPU utilization rate of the virtualized network element in the network element pool; not that "CPU utilization rate" is associated with number of CPUs).
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461