DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19, filed 11/13/2024, are pending and are currently being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/13/2025 was filed before the mailing date of the first office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Some of the references cited are repeated in the IDS and are therefore struck-through as not considered in the annotated IDS.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the head contacting the first surface and the outer surface (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). According to the drawings (ex. Fig. 6), it doesn’t appear that the fastener head is capable of directly contacting either surface directly as washer components 68/76/78 appear to prevent this claimed contact. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not end with a period. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the screw threads” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Batdorf US Pat. No. 8,776,770.
Batdorf teaches:
In Reference to Claim 1
An archery bow (bow 10, Fig. 1-7) comprising:
a riser comprising a first surface and a cavity extending beneath the first surface (riser 12 has an extension portion 32 forming a first surface at a top end and a threaded bore/cavity 44 extending therethrough to cooperate with a respective limb cup, Fig. 5);
a limb cup engaged with the riser (limb cup 14/50 attaches to the end of the riser 12 at the extension 32, Fig. 1-7), the limb cup comprising an outer surface (the limb cup 50 has an aperture/cutout cavity area formed in the lower side/ outer surface of the cup body, essentially extending from 76 through 66 that extension portion 32 of the riser is received therein, Fig. 5-7); and
a fastener comprising a stem and a head, the stem oriented in the cavity, the head contacting the first surface, the head contacting the outer surface (fastener 46 having head 48 received in the threaded cavity 44 and contacts the first surface of the extension as it enters the threaded bore (head 48 indirectly contacts the first surface via threaded shaft 47 and appears to be movable into contacts with the first surface if fully tightened against the extension) and is positioned in and contacts the cutout/lower surface of the limb cup, Fig. 5).
In Reference to Claim 2
The archery bow of claim 1, the outer surface comprising an aperture, the first surface positioned in the aperture (the limb cup 50 has an aperture/cutout cavity area formed in the lower side of the cup body, essentially extending from 76 through 66 that extension portion 32 of the riser is received therein, Fig. 5-7).
In Reference to Claim 3
The archery bow of claim 1, wherein the first surface and the outer surface are coplanar (the extension has an outer surface having numerous surfaces that are respectively coplanar with the lower surfaces of the limb cup (including the right surface of the extension at 44), Fig. 5-7).
In Reference to Claim 4
The archery bow of claim 1, the cavity comprising screw threads (the riser extension 32 has a threaded bore 44 extending therethrough to receive threaded shaft 47 of fastener 46 therein, Fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 4-18).
In Reference to Claim 5
The archery bow of claim 4, the screw threads formed integrally in the riser (the riser extension 32 has an integrally threaded bore 44 extending therethrough to receive threaded shaft 47 of fastener 46 therein, Fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 4-18).
In Reference to Claim 8
An archery bow (bow 10, Fig. 1-7) comprising:
a riser comprising an extension (riser 12 has an extension portion 32 at a top end to cooperate with a respective limb cup, Fig. 5), the extension comprising a first surface and a cavity extending beneath the first surface (the extension has a surface with a cavity/threaded bore 44 extending beneath the surface, Fig. 5); and
a limb cup engaged with the riser (limb cup 14/50 attaches to the end of the riser 12 at the extension 32, Fig. 1-7), the limb cup comprising an outer surface comprising an aperture (the limb cup 50 has an aperture/cutout cavity area formed in the lower side of the cup body, essentially extending from 76 through 66 that extension portion 32 of the riser is received therein, Fig. 5-7);
wherein the extension is oriented in the aperture (the limb cup 50 has an aperture/cutout cavity area formed in the lower side of the cup body, essentially extending from 76 through 66 that extension portion 32 of the riser is received therein, Fig. 5-7) and the first surface is coplanar with the outer surface (the first surface of the extension where bore 44 is positioned is coplanar with an outer surface of the limb pocket cutout area, Fig. 5-6).
In Reference to Claim 11
The archery bow of claim 8, comprising a fastener engaged with the cavity, the fastener contacting the first surface (fastener 46 is received in the threaded cavity 44 and contacts the first surface of the extension as it enters the threaded bore, Fig. 5).
In Reference to Claim 12
The archery bow of claim 11, the cavity comprising screw threads (the riser extension 32 has threaded bore 44 extending therethrough to receive screw fastener 46 therein, Fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 4-18).
In Reference to Claim 13
The archery bow of claim 8, comprising a first limb portion and a second limb portion attached to the limb cup, the extension positioned between the first limb portion and the second limb portion (the riser extension 32 is positioned centrally and laterally between the split limb portions 18a/b, Fig. 1-7).
In Reference to Claim 14
An archery bow (bow 10, Fig. 1-7) comprising:
a riser comprising an extension (riser 12 has an extension portion 32 at a top end to cooperate with a respective limb cup, Fig. 5);
a limb cup attached to the riser (limb cup 14/50 attaches to the end of the riser 12 at the extension 32, Fig. 1-7), the limb cup comprising a cavity, the extension oriented in the cavity (the limb cup 50 has a cavity formed in the lower side of the cup body, essentially extending from 76 through 66 that extension portion 32 of the riser is received therein, Fig. 5-7);
a first limb portion and a second limb portion attached to the limb cup (split limb portions 18a/b are placed on and attached to the upper surface 52 of the limb cup, Fig. 1-7), the extension positioned between the first limb portion and the second limb portion (the riser extension 32 is positioned centrally and laterally between the split limb portions 18a/b, Fig. 1-7).
In Reference to Claim 15
The archery bow of claim 14, wherein a reference plane intersects the extension, the first limb portion and the second limb portion (a reference plane may be drawn through the extension 32 and limb portions 18a/b (relatively vertical plane may extend through 18a/b and 32), or a reference plane may be drawn to form essentially at a coplanar surface of the bottom of each limb portion 18a/b and the top surface of the extension in the view of Fig. 6).
In Reference to Claim 16
The archery bow of claim 14, the extension comprising screw threads, the screw threads positioned between the first limb portion and the second limb portion (the riser extension 32 has a threaded bore 44 extending therethrough to receive fastener 46 therein, the bore extending centrally between the limb portions 18a/b, Fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 4-18).
In Reference to Claim 17
The archery bow of claim 16, the screw threads oriented in the cavity (the riser extension 32 has a threaded bore 44 extending therethrough to receive screw fastener 46 therein, the bore positioned within in the cavity portion of the limb cup, Fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 4-18).
In Reference to Claim 18
The archery bow of claim 15, the extension comprising a first surface, the limb cup comprising an outer surface, the first surface coplanar with the outer surface (the extension has an outer surface having numerous surfaces that are respectively coplanar with the lower surfaces of the limb cup, Fig. 5-7).
In Reference to Claim 19
The archery bow of claim 18, comprising a fastener engaged with the screw threads, the fastener contacting the first surface (fastener 46 engages the threaded bore 44 of the extension and contacts/extends through the surface of the extension where the bore starts, Fig. 5 shows the limb cup having a contact surface on the right side of the extension that the bore 44 begins and the fastener extending through and contacting the surface of the extension).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batdorf as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Andrews US Pat. No. 6,360,734.
In Reference to Claims 6-7
Batdorf teaches:
The archery bow of claim 1, the fastener comprising a fastener assembly,
Batdorf fails to teach:
The fastener comprising a fastener assembly, the head comprising a washer and the fastener assembly comprising a spherical washer.
Further, Andrews teaches:
A similar bow having a riser, limb pocket, and fastener connecting the limb pocket to the riser, the fastener including a threaded shaft secured to a bore of a riser and a head, the head having a spherical washer (washers 62/24/66, include spherical washer 66 which contacts head 68 of the fastener to secure the limb pocket 36 to the riser 12, Fig. 1-3)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Batdorf to have further included a spherical washer on the fastener in order to reduce the stress applied by the fastener head on the fastened portions as is known and common in the art and as taught by Andrews (Col. 3 line 51 - Col. 5 line 42).
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Batdorf as applied to claim 8 above.
In Reference to Claim 9
Batdorf teaches:
The archery bow of claim 8, the aperture comprising a first cross-sectional shape, the extension comprising a second cross-sectional shape different from the first cross-sectional shape (the aperture/cutout shape of the pocket is fairly similar to the cross-sectional shape of the extension, however a cross sectional shape of the extension in one direction (from the front surface to the back surface) is different from the cross sectional shape of the aperture (in the left to right direction) depending on where the cross-section is viewed).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have changed the exact cross-sectional shapes of the extension and limb pocket aperture (when viewed in the same manner) in order to allow the limb pocket to be adjusted in different dimensions, or for different aesthetic purposes, or any other design choice desired by the maker as it has been held that the configuration of a claimed product is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)) and it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art (In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947)).
In Reference to Claim 10
Batdorf teaches:
The archery bow of claim 9, comprising a gap between the first surface and the outer surface (the limb pocket surface cutout is movable away from the right side of the extension if the fastener is moved in that direction and/or when pins 72 are moved in location, which allows for adjustable positioning of the limbs and pocket relative to the riser extension, Fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 4-67).
Brief Discussion of Other Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the references cited page for publications that are noted for containing similar subject matter as the applicant. For example, Hansen (11,828,566), McPherson (10,184,750, 8,453,635, 8,047,189, 7,334,575), Chang (7,584,750), Andrews (6,786,214), Choma (6,571,785), Walk (5,720,267), Smith (5,487,373), Peck (5,464,001), and Griggs (3,821,946) teach similar limb pocket mounting assemblies.
Conclusion
If the applicant or applicant’s representation has any questions or concerns regarding this office action or the application they are welcome to contact the examiner at the phone number listed below and schedule and interview to discuss the outstanding issues and possible amendments to expedite prosecution of this application.
/ALEXANDER R NICONOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711