DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-10, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boyum et al. US Pat 5,333,511 (hereafter Boyum).
As to claim 1: Boyum discloses a sampling system (see fig. 1), comprising:
a filtered inlet (see col. 7, lines 14-19);
a first valve (135; see fig. 9) coupled to the filtered inlet (see col. 9, lines 6-9);
an outlet (not explicitly depicted but see col. 10, lines 18-23 regarding the discharging of gas through tubes 121 or 122) configured to fluidly couple to a canister (see col. 7, lines 51-55 regarding tubes 121 or 122 connected to canisters 11 and 12); and
a pressure sensor (113; see fig. 7 and col. 7, lines 36-45) fluidly coupled to the outlet and configured to measure a pressure inside the canister (see col. 7, lines 36-45 in view of further details in col. 9, lines 23-33), wherein the sampling system is configured to perform a method comprising:
in response to one or more criteria for beginning sampling being met, beginning a sampling process (see col. 5, lines 66-67 and col. 6, lines 1-10 regarding the controller 20 which necessarily must meet a number of starting conditions to begin controlling the sampling disclosed throughout the disclosed invention), the sampling process including:
pulsing the first valve open for variable on times, wherein the variable on times change throughout the sampling process and, during each variable on time, a predetermined fraction of a volume of the canister is filled with sample (see col. 6, lines 12-30 and further details in col. 9, lines 6-17).
As to claim 2: Boyum discloses the sampling system of claim 1, wherein filling the predetermined fraction of the volume of the canister with sample during each variable on time thereby maintains a substantially constant fill rate of the canister during a duration of the sampling process (see col. 7, lines 55-67 and col. 8, lines 1-12; although the filling of canisters 11 and 12 is in a pulsed manner, the sample filled therein is controlled by a pulse mode switch 70 and controller 20 and is therefore considered to be a substantially constant fill rate).
As to claim 5: Boyum discloses the sampling system of claim 1, wherein the method further includes:
monitoring a pressure inside the canister (see col. 7, lines 36-54); and
in accordance with a determination that the pressure inside the canister reaches a predetermined pressure level, ceasing pulsing the first valve open (see col. 7, lines 31-35 in view of further details in col. 9, lines 54-63).
As to claim 6: Boyum discloses the sampling system of claim 1, wherein the sampling process includes increasing the variable on times during which the first valve is pulsed open while the predetermined fraction of a volume of the canister that is filled with sample during each variable on time remains constant over time (see col. 9, lines 42-63; the variable of pulses of the valve opening is adjusted for an amount of time desired by the intervalometer as disclosed).
As to claim 7: Boyum discloses the sampling system of claim 1, wherein the one or more criteria for beginning sampling include one or more of a predetermined time of day being reached (see col. 8, lines 14-25), detecting an input received by a switch included in the sampling system, and/or receiving an indication to begin sampling from an electronic device.
As to claim 8: Boyum discloses the sampling system of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
performing the sampling process while a first canister (11) is coupled to the sampling system (see col. 8, lines 36-46);
after performing the sampling process while the first canister (11) is coupled to the sampling system, sealing the first canister with a second valve (136) (see col. 9, lines 6-17);
after sealing the first canister (11) with the second valve (136), de-coupling the first canister (11) from the sampling system (see col. 10, lines 35-55); and
repeating the sampling process while a second canister (12) is coupled to the sampling system (see col. 10, lines 35-55 in view of previous details in col. 7, lines 55-64).
As to claim 9: Boyum discloses a method comprising:
at a sampling system (see fig. 1) including a filtered inlet (see col. 7, lines 14-19), a first valve (135; see fig. 9) coupled to the filtered inlet (see col. 9, lines 6-9), an outlet (not explicitly depicted but see col. 10, lines 18-23 regarding the discharging of gas through tubes 121 or 122) configured to fluidly couple to a canister (see col. 7, lines 51-55 regarding tubes 121 or 122 connected to canisters 11 and 12); and a pressure sensor (113; see fig. 7 and col. 7, lines 36-45) fluidly coupled to the outlet and configured to measure a pressure inside the canister:
in response to one or more criteria for beginning sampling being met, beginning a sampling process (see col. 5, lines 66-67 and col. 6, lines 1-10 regarding the controller 20 which necessarily must meet a number of starting conditions to begin controlling the sampling disclosed throughout the disclosed invention), the sampling process including:
pulsing the first valve open for variable on times, wherein the variable on times change throughout the sampling process and, during each variable on time, a predetermined fraction of a volume of the canister is filled with sample (see col. 6, lines 12-30 and further details in col. 9, lines 6-17).
As to claim 10: Boyum discloses the method of claim 9, wherein filling the predetermined fraction of the volume of the canister with sample during each variable on time thereby maintains a substantially constant fill rate of the canister during a duration of the sampling process (see col. 7, lines 55-67 and col. 8, lines 1-12; although the filling of canisters 11 and 12 is in a pulsed manner, the sample filled therein is controlled by a pulse mode switch 70 and controller 20 and is therefore considered to be a substantially constant fill rate).
As to claim 14: Boyum discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the sampling process includes increasing the variable on times during which the first valve is pulsed open while the predetermined fraction of a volume of the canister that is filled with sample during each variable on time remains constant over time (see col. 9, lines 42-63; the variable of pulses of the valve opening is adjusted for an amount of time desired by the intervalometer as disclosed).
As to claim 15: Boyum discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the one or more criteria for beginning sampling include one or more of a predetermined time of day being reached (see col. 8, lines 14-25), detecting an input received by a switch included in the sampling system, and/or receiving an indication to begin sampling from an electronic device.
As to claim 16: Boyum discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
performing the sampling process while a first canister (11) is coupled to the sampling system (see col. 8, lines 36-46);
after performing the sampling process while the first canister (11) is coupled to the sampling system, sealing the first canister with a second valve (136) (see col. 9, lines 6-17);
after sealing the first canister (11) with the second valve (136), de-coupling the first canister (11) from the sampling system (see col. 10, lines 35-55); and
repeating the sampling process while a second canister (12) is coupled to the sampling system (see col. 10, lines 35-55 in view of previous details in col. 7, lines 55-64).
As to claim 17: Boyum discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions (see col. 5, lines 61-67 and col. 6, lines 1-11; although not explicitly disclosed, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions must necessarily be present in order to carry out the disclosed functions locally at the flow controller 20) comprising:
at a sampling system (see fig. 1) including a filtered inlet (see col. 7, lines 14-19), a first valve (135; see fig. 9) coupled to the filtered inlet (see col. 9, lines 6-9), an outlet (not explicitly depicted but see col. 10, lines 18-23 regarding the discharging of gas through tubes 121 or 122) configured to fluidly couple to a canister (see col. 7, lines 51-55 regarding tubes 121 or 122 connected to canisters 11 and 12); and a pressure sensor (113; see fig. 7 and col. 7, lines 36-45) fluidly coupled to the outlet and configured to measure a pressure inside the canister:
in response to one or more criteria for beginning sampling being met, beginning a sampling process (see col. 5, lines 66-67 and col. 6, lines 1-10 regarding the controller 20 which necessarily must meet a number of starting conditions to begin controlling the sampling disclosed throughout the disclosed invention), the sampling process including:
pulsing the first valve open for variable on times, wherein the variable on times change throughout the sampling process and, during each variable on time, a predetermined fraction of a volume of the canister is filled with sample (see col. 6, lines 12-30 and further details in col. 9, lines 6-17).
As to claim 18: Boyum discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein filling the predetermined fraction of the volume of the canister with sample during each variable on time thereby maintains a substantially constant fill rate of the canister during a duration of the sampling process (see col. 7, lines 55-67 and col. 8, lines 1-12; although the filling of canisters 11 and 12 is in a pulsed manner, the sample filled therein is controlled by a pulse mode switch 70 and controller 20 and is therefore considered to be a substantially constant fill rate).
As to claim 20: Boyum disclose the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the sampling process includes increasing the variable on times during which the first valve is pulsed open while the predetermined fraction of a volume of the canister that is filled with sample during each variable on time remains constant over time (see col. 9, lines 42-63; the variable of pulses of the valve opening is adjusted for an amount of time desired by the intervalometer as disclosed).
References Cited but not Relied Upon
As to references cited but not relied upon:
Meneghini US Pat 8,790,464 B2 discloses a delivery system and method providing pulses of known quantities as a function of time of the duration of each pulse and appears pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Boyd et al. US Pat 5,433,120 discloses a sampling system for collecting a sample in a septum closed container and appears pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 11-13, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3: The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious to the skilled artisan measuring a first pressure inside the canister and pulsing the first valve open for a first variable on time in accordance with the first pressure and, at a different time from the respective time, measuring a second pressure inside the canister and pulsing the first valve open for a different variable on time (emphasis added), wherein the different variable on time is greater than the first variable on time in accordance with a determination that the second pressure is greater than the first pressure, when considered in combination with the other limitations recited in the instant claim and with those of parent claim 1.
In particular, while it is known from the prior art (see, for example, Nawata et al. US Pat 6,913,031 B2 col. 11, lines 42-55) to modify and adjust feedback control a pulse shot flow control system, there does not appear to be any underlying obvious modification, teaching, or suggestion to modify Boyum nor any of the other cited prior art such that a second pressure inside the canister is measured and a first valve is pulsed open for a different variable on time wherein the different variable on time is greater than the first variable on time in accordance with a determination that the second pressure is greater than the first pressure, all of which are required by the limitations of claim 3.
As to claim 4: The claim depends ultimately from claim 3 and accordingly is also objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims at least by virtue of its dependency upon claim 3.
As to claim 11: The claim recites limitations similar to claim 3 and accordingly is also objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims for reasons similar to claim 3 above but not repeated herein for brevity.
As to claims 12 and 13: Each of said claims depends ultimately from claim 11 and accordingly each is also objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims at least by virtue of their dependencies upon claim 11.
As to claim 19: The claim recites limitations similar to claim 17 and accordingly is also objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims for reasons similar to claim 3 above but not repeated herein for brevity.
Conclusion
/JOHN M ROYSTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2855