DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meng (WO 2020191217) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches an optical modulator, in at least (fig. 1A-1F); comprising: a driving module (130) having a first number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential inputs ([00427]; digital input vectors; differential control signal ([0019])) and a second number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output), the second number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) being equal to the first number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) multiplied by an even integer ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports); at least one waveguide ([0006]; a plurality of optical waveguides) including a thin film lithium-containing (TFLC) electro-optic material ([00109]; lithium niobate), each of the at least one waveguide ([0006]; a plurality of optical waveguides) having a plurality of arms ([00432-[00433]]; arms); a plurality of differential electrodes ([00422]; Mach- Zehnder interferometers (MZIs), which use electrodes to control optical effects in each arm) coupled to the second number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output), each of the plurality of differential electrodes ([00422]; Mach- Zehnder interferometers (MZIs), which use electrodes to control optical effects in each arm) including a positive electrode ([00430]; positive current over time) and a negative electrode ([00430]; negative current over time), at least a portion of an arm of the plurality of arms ([00432-[00433]]; arms) between a portion of the positive electrode ([00430]; positive current over time) and a portion of the negative electrode ([00430]; negative current over time).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); further comprising: a digital signal processor (DSP) ([00746]; signal processing) having at least one input ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), input) and a plurality of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output), the plurality of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output) of the DSP being coupled with the first number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential inputs ([00427]; digital input vectors; differential control signal ([0019])) for the driving module (130); and wherein the driving module (130) includes a linear driver ([00101] linear transformation) coupled with the DSP and configured to convert the first number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential inputs ([00427]; digital input vectors; differential control signal ([0019])) to the second number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the DSP further provides a dither tone ([00193]; feedback mechanism), the plurality of differential electrodes ([00422]; Mach- Zehnder interferometers (MZIs), which use electrodes to control optical effects in each arm) providing feedback to the DSP based on the dither tone ([00193]; feedback mechanism), the DSP configured to trim signals ([0005]) provided on the plurality of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output) based on the feedback.
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the driving module (130) includes: a digital signal processor (DSP) ([00746]; signal processing) having at least one input ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), input) and a plurality of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output), the plurality of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output) of the DSP being coupled with the first number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential inputs ([00427]; digital input vectors; differential control signal ([0019])) for the driving module (130); and a driver coupled with the DSP and configured to convert the first number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential inputs ([00427]; digital input vectors; differential control signal ([0019])) to the second number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the driving module (130) provides a plurality of differential signals ([0005]) on the plurality of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output), the plurality of differential signals ([0005]) having a zero DC component ([0005]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein a first signal ([0005]) is provided to the positive electrode ([00430]; positive current over time) and a second signal ([0005]) is provided to the negative electrode ([00430]; negative current over time) of a differential electrode of the plurality of differential electrodes ([00422]; Mach- Zehnder interferometers (MZIs), which use electrodes to control optical effects in each arm), the first signal ([0005]) being different from the second signal ([0005]).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the first signal ([0005]) and the second signal ([0005]) each includes at least one of a binary signal ([0010]), a PAM-4 signal ([00416]), a PAM 8 signal ([00416]), a PAM-16 signal ([00416]), a PAM-32 signal ([00416]), and a PAM 64 signal ([00416]).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the portion of the positive electrode ([00430]; positive current over time) is proximate to the arm along a first distance ([0005], and [0036]) and the portion of the negative electrode ([00430]; negative current over time) is proximate to the arm for a second distance ([0005], and [0036]; short and long) for an of the plurality of arms ([00432-[00433]]; arms), the first distance ([0005], and [0036]) being different from the second distance ([0005], and [0036]; short and long).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the driving module (130) includes an open collector driver and wherein the positive electrode ([00430]; positive current over time) and the negative electrode ([00430]; negative current over time) of each of the plurality of differential electrodes ([00422]; Mach- Zehnder interferometers (MZIs), which use electrodes to control optical effects in each arm) are terminated through at least one resistor ([0429]) to a voltage ([0005]) load.
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); further comprising: a plurality of ground lines ([00647]) interleaved with the plurality of differential electrodes ([00422]; Mach- Zehnder interferometers (MZIs), which use electrodes to control optical effects in each arm), the plurality of ground lines ([00647]) being biased at a common voltage ([0005]).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the at least one waveguide ([0006]; a plurality of optical waveguides), the driving module (130), and the plurality of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output) are configured to function as an intensity modulator ([00426]), an intensity modulation direct detection (IMDD) modulator ([00443]), and an in-phase quadrature (IQ) modulator ([00714]; simultaneous propagating multiple optical signals).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the optical modulator has a bandwidth ([00201]) including a frequency ([00201]) of one hundred GHz ([00439]) and not more than three hundred GHz ([00439]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the bandwidth ([00201]) has a minimum frequency ([00201]) of not less than 50GHz ([00439]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); comprising: a driving module (130) including a digital signal processor (DSP) ([00746]; signal processing) and a linear driver ([00101] linear transformation) coupled with the DSP, the DSP having at least one input ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), input) and a plurality of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output), the linear driver ([00101] linear transformation) having a first number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential inputs ([00427]; digital input vectors; differential control signal ([0019])) and having a second number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output), the plurality of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output) of the DSP being coupled with the first number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential inputs ([00427]; digital input vectors; differential control signal ([0019])) for the linear driver ([00101] linear transformation), the linear driver ([00101] linear transformation) being configured to convert the first number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential inputs ([00427]; digital input vectors; differential control signal ([0019])) to a second number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output), the second number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) being the first number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) multiplied by an even integer, the linear driver ([00101] linear transformation) having a loss of not more than 3 dB; a plurality of waveguide ([0006]; a plurality of optical waveguides)s including a thin film lithium-containing (TFLC) electro-optic material ([00109]; lithium niobate), each of the plurality of waveguide ([0006]; a plurality of optical waveguides)s having a plurality of arms ([00432-[00433]]; arms); a plurality of differential electrodes ([00422]; Mach- Zehnder interferometers (MZIs), which use electrodes to control optical effects in each arm) coupled to the second number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output), each of the plurality of differential electrodes ([00422]; Mach- Zehnder interferometers (MZIs), which use electrodes to control optical effects in each arm) including a positive electrode ([00430]; positive current over time) and a negative electrode ([00430]; negative current over time), at least a portion of an arm of the plurality of arms ([00432-[00433]]; arms) between a portion of the positive electrode ([00430]; positive current over time) and a portion of the negative electrode ([00430]; negative current over time); wherein the optical modulator has a bandwidth ([00201]) including a frequency ([00201]) of one hundred GHz ([00439]), the bandwidth ([00201]) not exceeding a maximum frequency ([00201]) of three hundred GHz ([00439]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the driving module (130) provides a plurality of differential signals ([0005]) on the plurality of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output), the plurality of differential signals ([0005]) having a zero DC component.
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein a first signal ([0005]) is provided to the positive electrode ([00430]; positive current over time) and a second signal ([0005]) is provided to the negative electrode ([00430]; negative current over time) of a differential electrode of the plurality of differential electrodes ([00422]; Mach- Zehnder interferometers (MZIs), which use electrodes to control optical effects in each arm), the first signal ([0005]) being different from the second signal ([0005]).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches a method, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); comprising: providing, from a driving module (130) having a first number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential inputs ([00427]; digital input vectors; differential control signal ([0019])) and a second number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output) and to a plurality of differential electrodes ([00422]; Mach- Zehnder interferometers (MZIs), which use electrodes to control optical effects in each arm), a plurality of differential signals ([0005]), the second number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) being equal to the first number ([0006]; each optical splitter sends half of the power ([0006]; half of the power) of an input optical wave ([0006]; input optical wave) at an input port to each of two output ports) multiplied by an even integer; providing, to each of a plurality of waveguide ([0006]; a plurality of optical waveguides)s including a thin film lithium-containing (TFLC) electro-optic material ([00109]; lithium niobate), an optical signal, each of the plurality of waveguide ([0006]; a plurality of optical waveguides)s having a plurality of arms ([00432-[00433]]; arms), each of the plurality of differential electrodes ([00422]; Mach- Zehnder interferometers (MZIs), which use electrodes to control optical effects in each arm) including a positive electrode ([00430]; positive current over time) and a negative electrode ([00430]; negative current over time), at least a portion of an arm of the plurality of arms ([00432-[00433]]; arms) between a portion of the positive electrode ([00430]; positive current over time) and a portion of the negative electrode ([00430]; negative current over time), such that the plurality of differential signal modulate the optical signal in each of the plurality of waveguide ([0006]; a plurality of optical waveguides)s; and combining the modulated optical signal from each of the plurality of waveguide ([0006]; a plurality of optical waveguides)s.
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the plurality of waveguide ([0006]; a plurality of optical waveguides)s, the driving module (130), and the plurality of differential outputs ([00427]; differential control signal ([0019]), differential electrical output) are configured to function as an intensity modulator ([00426]), an intensity modulation direct detection (IMDD) modulator ([00443]), and an in-phase quadrature (IQ) modulator ([00714]; simultaneous propagating multiple optical signals).
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the providing the plurality of differential signals ([0005]) further includes: providing a first signal ([0005]) to the positive electrode ([00430]; positive current over time) and a second signal ([0005]) to the negative electrode ([00430]; negative current over time) of a differential electrode of the plurality of differential electrodes ([00422]; Mach- Zehnder interferometers (MZIs), which use electrodes to control optical effects in each arm), the first signal ([0005]) being different from the second signal ([0005]).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 19, wherein D1 further teaches an optical modulator, in at least (Fig. 1A-1F); wherein the first signal ([0005]) and the second signal ([0005]) each includes at least one of a binary signal ([0010]), a PAM-4 signal ([00416]), a PAM 8 signal ([00416]), a PAM-16 signal ([00416]), a PAM-32 signal ([00416]), and a PAM 64 signal ([00416]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hosseinzadeh (WO 2020149953) Optoelectronic computing systems regarding modulator control signal ([0019])s ([0005])
Hosseinzadeh (US 20200110992) Optoelectronic computing systems regarding modulator control signal ([0019])s ([0005])
Shen (US 20190370652) Systems and methods that include: providing input information in an electronic format
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872