DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to parent Application No. JP2023-195258, filed on 16 November 2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 13 November 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “horizontal-direction end part of the support member,” “part of a vertical-direction lower surface of the support member,” and “gap” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: MRI IMAGING SYSTEM WITH EXAMINATION TABLE APPARATUS HAVING INDEPENDENTLY SLIDABLE COIL CONNECTORS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 10 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, Claim 10 recites “wherein, in a case in which the subject in a state in which the coil is attached is placed on the top plate”; however, it is unclear what the coil is attached to how the coil is attached before being placed on the top plate considering that the connectors are moved into the overlapping range in response to said attachment.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted as “, in a case in which the subject in a state in which the coil is attached to themselves.” It should be noted that such an interpretation has not been evaluated for compliance with the written description requirement under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
With regards to Claim 15, the claim recites “wherein coils for imaging different parts of the subject are connected to one connector and the other connector among the plurality of connectors”; however, it unclear what is connected to the “one connector” and what is connected to the “other connector.” More specifically, as the claim reads all of the plurality of coils is connected to said “one connector,” but it is unclear if any coil is connect to the “other connector.”
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted as “wherein each of a plurality of coils are connected to a unique connector among the plurality of connectors, each coil for imaging different parts of the subject.” It should be noted that such an interpretation has not been evaluated for compliance with the written description requirement under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Double Patenting
Claims 2-3, 6, 8-10, and 13-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 12-17 of copending Application No. 18/946,838 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With regards to Claim 2,
18/946,835
Claim 2
18/946,8358
Claim 12
wherein a plurality of openings or a plurality of grooves are formed on both sides of the top plate in the lateral direction, in a part of the top plate in the longitudinal direction
wherein the top plate has an opening or a groove that is formed in the longitudinal direction of the top plate, and
the plurality of connectors are slidable in the plurality of openings or the plurality of grooves
the connector is slidable in the opening or the groove.
With regards to Claim 3,
18/946,835
Claim 3
18/946,8358
Claim 13
a plurality of support members that support the plurality of connectors
a support member that supports the connector; and
a plurality of holding members that hold the plurality of support members, that are disposed on both sides of the top plate in the lateral direction and projected in the longitudinal direction, and that are fixed to the top plate
a holding member that holds the support member, that is disposed in a lateral direction of the top plate and projected in the longitudinal direction, and that is fixed to the top plate,
With regards to Claim 6,
18/946,835
Claim 6
18/946,8358
Claim 14
wherein a gap between the plurality of connectors and the plurality of openings or the plurality of grooves is shielded by at least one of the support member or the holding member
wherein a gap between the connector and the opening or the groove is shielded by at least one of the support member or the holding member.
With regards to Claim 8,
18/946,835
Claim 8
18/946,8358
Claim 1
acquire an imaging condition of a medical image for the subject as the information on the subject
acquire an imaging condition of the subject
With regards to Claim 9,
18/946,835
Claim 9
18/946,8358
Claim 2
wherein the processor is configured to: determine a sliding target connector among the plurality of connectors and a sliding position of the sliding target connector; and
wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a connector that is caused to perform the first sliding among the connectors and a first sliding position that is a target position of the first sliding, based on the imaging condition; and
slide the sliding target connector to the sliding position
slide the determined connector to the determined first sliding position.
With regards to Claim 10,
18/946,835
Claim 10
18/946,8358
Claim 15
wherein, in a case in which the subject in a state in which the coil is attached is placed on the top plate, the plurality of connectors are movable to a position overlapping a range in which the coil is present in the longitudinal direction of the top plate
in a case in which the subject in a state in which the coil is attached is placed on the top plate, slide the connector to a position overlapping a range in which the coil is present in the longitudinal direction of the top plate.
With regards to Claim 13,
18/946,835
Claim 13
18/946,8358
Claim 16
wherein the medical imaging apparatus is a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus
wherein the medical imaging apparatus is a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus.
With regards to Claim 14,
18/946,835
Claim 14
18/946,8358
Claim 17
the examination table apparatus according to claim 1; and
the examination table apparatus according to claim 1; and
the medical imaging apparatus.
the medical imaging apparatus.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-14, & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leussler et al. (US PGPUB 20210030306; hereinafter "Leussler") .
With regards to Claim 1, an examination table apparatus used in a medical imaging apparatus (subject support for use in MRI system 102), the examination table apparatus comprising:
a top plate on which a subject is placed (subject support 120; see Leussler FIG. 14); and
a plurality of connectors that are provided on the top plate and that connect a coil for capturing an image of the subject (plurality of sliding connectors 126 provided on rail systems disposed in lateral sides of subject support 120; see Leussler FIG. 14 and ¶ [0114]),
wherein the plurality of connectors are provided on both sides of the top plate in a lateral direction, with one or more connectors on each side (FIG. 14 of Leussler clearly illustrates two rails), and
are slidable with respect to the top plate in a part of the top plate in a longitudinal direction (sliding connector 124 slides in a longitudinal direction 126; see Leussler FIG. 14 & Abstract).
With regards to Claim 21, wherein a plurality of openings or a plurality of grooves are formed on both sides of the top plate in the lateral direction, in a part of the top plate in the longitudinal direction (FIGS. 4-6 & 9-12 clearly illustrate that the rail system is integrated {i.e. flush} into patient support 120, it should be appreciated that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a flush mounted rail system disposed within patient support 120 as illustrated in FIGS. 7-8 would require channel or groove for the rail system to reside within), and
the plurality of connectors are slidable in the plurality of openings or the plurality of grooves (actuator 122 for remotely controlling the slidable connector 124; see Leussler ¶ [0075]).
With regards to Claim 71, further comprising:
a processor (processor 144 for controlling actuator 122; see Leussler ¶ [0078]); and
a sliding mechanism that moves the plurality of connectors in the longitudinal direction (actuator 122 for translating the connector 124; see Leussler ¶ [0075]),
wherein the processor is configured to:
acquire information on the subject (camera system 400; see Leussler FIGS. 4-5; it should be appreciated that Leussler incorrectly labels elements insomuch that imaging system of FIG. 4 is also numbered 400); and
slide the plurality of connectors by controlling the sliding mechanism based on the acquired information (processor 144 for controlling actuator 122 according to a subject imaged via camera image in order to place the connector for correct positioning of the antenna/coil; see Leussler ¶ [0013]).
With regards to Claim 87, wherein the processor is configured to:
acquire an imaging condition of a medical image for the subject as the information on the subject (processor 144 for controlling actuator 122 according to a subject imaged via camera image in order to place the connector for correct positioning of the antenna/coil; see Leussler ¶ [0013]).
With regards to Claim 97, Leussler discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a sliding target connector among the plurality of connectors and a sliding position of the sliding target connector (automatically receiving connector position 154; see Leussler ¶ [0083 & 0113]), based on the acquired information (processor 144 for controlling actuator 122 according to a subject imaged via camera image in order to place the connector for correct positioning of the antenna/coil; see Leussler ¶ [0013]), and
slide the sliding target connector to the sliding position (processor 144 for controlling actuator 122 according to a subject imaged via camera image in order to place the connector for correct positioning of the antenna/coil; see Leussler ¶ [0013]),
With regards to Claim 101, wherein, in a case in which the subject in a state in which the coil is attached is placed on the top plate, the plurality of connectors are movable to a position overlapping a range in which the coil is present in the longitudinal direction of the top plate (FIG. 14 of Leussler clearly illustrates that the connectors are moveable within an overlapping range of the coil; it should be appreciated that the claimed subject state is a conditional limitation to which the Leussler system be capable of achieving).
With regards to Claim 111, wherein the plurality of connectors are slidable independently of each other (FIG. 14 of Leussler clearly illustrates that the connectors are in varying positions indicating independent control).
With regards to Claim 121, wherein one connector among the plurality of connectors and the other connector among the plurality of connectors are slidable in conjunction with each other (processor control via the user interface 146 renders the user capable to set both connectors to the same position simultaneously; see Leussler ¶ [0113]).
With regards to Claim 131, wherein the medical imaging apparatus is a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus (MRI system 102).
With regards to Claim 141, a medical imaging system comprising:
the examination table apparatus according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 citations); and
the medical imaging apparatus (MRI system 102).
With regards to Claim 1614, wherein a coil for imaging a specific part of the subject is connectable to one connector provided on one side of the top plate in the lateral direction of the top plate among the plurality of connectors (FIG. 14 of Leussler clearly illustrates a chest coil 114 connected at least one connector 124), and
the other connector provided on the other side of the top plate in the lateral direction of the top plate among the plurality of connectors (FIG. 14 of Leussler clearly illustrates other connectors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-6 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leussler.
With regards to Claim 32, while Leussler discloses a rail system (see Leussler ¶ [0113]); it appears that Leussler may be silent to support members and holding members. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the illustrated rail system as disclosed by Leussler is typically identified as a linear rail system which comprises a rail {i.e. holding member} and a carriage {i.e. support member} as illustrated1 below:
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Leussler teaches of further comprising:
a plurality of support members that support the plurality of connectors (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a linear rail system as disclosed by Leussler typically comprises a carriage {i.e. support member} which supports the payload {i.e. connector 124}); and
a plurality of holding members that hold the plurality of support members, that are disposed on both sides of the top plate in the lateral direction and projected in the longitudinal direction, and that are fixed to the top plate (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a linear rail system as disclosed by Leussler typically comprise a rail {i.e. holding member} which supports the carriage {i.e. support member}, wherein the rail is secured to the device {i.e. subject support 120}),
wherein the plurality of support members are slid with respect to the plurality of holding members to slide the plurality of connectors with respect to the top plate (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a carriage of a linear rail system slides with respect to the corresponding rail).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Leussler to provide at least carriage and rail commensurate with a linear rail system. Doing so would amount to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, i.e. linear rails and their construction are notoriously well known in the art to have a stationary rail which supports a linearly translating carriage for translation of a payload.
With regards to Claim 43, modified Leussler teaches of wherein the holding member holds a horizontal-direction end part of the support member (the Leussler linear rail system comprises a carriage which is secured to a rail system along a horizontal edge to permit translation in the same direction, said rail, as illustrated above, has a longitudinal projections upon which the carriage’s mating protrusions {i.e. horizontal-direction end part} translates along).
With regards to Claim 53, wherein the holding member holds at least a part of a vertical-direction lower surface of the support member (Leussler’s linear rail system, as illustrated above, includes rails having previously mentioned protrusions; said protrusions are well-known to limit vertical movement while permitting horizontal translation).
With regards to Claim 63, wherein a gap between the plurality of connectors and the plurality of openings or the plurality of grooves is shielded by at least one of the support member or the holding member (as illustrated in FIG. 14, the two rails are disposed in either side of the patient support 120, therefore the connectors 124 are isolated from one another as the patient resting area is therebetween).
With regards to Claim 1514, while Leussler teaches of “connecting a head coil or other coil dedicated to a particular anatomical region” and chest coils as illustrated in FIG. 14 (see Leussler ¶ [0035]), that of improving safety by avoiding long cables with improved cable management (see Leussler ¶ [0005, 0106, 108, 0112]), and reducing the chance that a magnetic resonance imaging antenna is used incorrectly (see Leussler ¶ [0005]), it appears that Leussler may be silent to wherein coils for imaging different parts of the subject are connected to one connector and the other connector among the plurality of connectors. However, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Leussler to provide at least one connector 124 for a head coil {i.e. one connector} and at least one connector for a body coil 124 {i.e. other connector} as illustrated in FIG. 14 for imaging different parts of the subject. Doing so would aid in improving safety by avoiding long cables with improved cable management (see Leussler ¶ [0005, 0106, 108, 0112]) and reducing the chance that a magnetic resonance imaging antenna is used incorrectly (see Leussler ¶ [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Spring et al. (US PGPUB 20230301597) – FIG. 4D illustrating multiple sliding coil connectors.
/ASHISH S. JASANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798
1 https://web.archive.org/web/20231005162654/https://www.iqsdirectory.com/articles/linear-slides/linear-rails.html (published 5 October 2023).