DETAILED ACTION
The following is an initial Office Action upon examination of the above-identified application on the merits. Claims 1-7 are pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 6 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the grammatical issue of “one or a plurality of servers” in line 2. Suggested claim language: “one of a plurality of servers”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 1 recites “one (of) a plurality of servers” in line 2, claim 1 recites “the server” in lines 3, 6, and 7, claim 4 recites “the server” in lines 3 and 4, claim 6 recites “the server” in lines 6 and 7, and claim 7 recites “the server” in line 2. The claims recite two different terms for the same limitation. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims the same term should be used for the same limitation. Suggested claim language: “the server” in claims 1, 4, 6, and 7 should read “the one of the plurality of servers”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 1 recites the grammatical issue of “one or a plurality of terminals” in line 4. Suggested claim language: “one of a plurality of terminals”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 1 recites “one (of) a plurality of terminals” in line 4, claim 1 recites “the terminals” in lines 7-8 and 8, claim 4 recites “the terminal” in lines 5-6 and 7, and claim 7 recites “the terminal” in lines 2 and 3. The claims recite two different terms for the same limitation. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims the same term should be used for the same limitation. Suggested claim language: “the terminal” in claims 1, 4, and 7 should read “the one of the plurality of terminals”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 1 recites “a plurality of cards” in line 9, claim 1 recites “the cards” in line 11, claim 3 recites “cards” in line 4, and claim 4 recites “the cards” in line 6. The claims recite two different terms for the same limitation. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims the same term should be used for the same limitation. Suggested claim language: “the server” in claims 1, 3, and 4 should read “the plurality of cards”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
The following claims recite limitations that lack sufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claims:
Claim 1 recites “the corresponding industrial machine” in line 12. Suggested claim language: “a corresponding industrial machine”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 2 recites ‘the industrial machine” in lines 1-2. Suggested claim language: “each of the industrial machines”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0334113 A1 (hereinafter Uchiyama) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0306576 A1 (hereinafter Kouyama).
As per claim 1, Uchiyama substantially teaches the applicant’s claimed invention. Uchiyama teaches the limitations of an operation state management system (Fig. 3, par. [0038] and Fig. 1, element 100; i.e. the injection molding machine management system) comprising:
one or a plurality of servers (Fig. 3, element 2; i.e. a server terminal) configured to manage operation states of a plurality of industrial machines (pg. 3, par. [0040], pg. 4, par. [0049] and [0050], pgs. 5-6, par. [0058], [0060], and [0062] and Fig. 2, element 40; i.e. [0049]: “… the server terminal 2 includes a control unit 20, a storage unit 21, a communication unit 22, an input unit 23 and a display unit 24.”, [0050]: “As shown in FIG. 3, the control unit 20 (injection molding machine management unit) includes an operator positional information acquisition part 201, injection molding machine operating information acquisition part 202, injection molding machine operating state editing part 203, injection molding machine operating state display screen generation part 204, injection molding machine operating state provision part 205, and work instruction information notification part 206.”, and [0062]: “The injection molding machine operating state provision part 205 provides the injection molding machine operating state display screen generated by the injection molding machine operating state display screen generation part 204 to the client terminal 3 via the communication unit 22 …”); and
one or a plurality of terminals (Fig. 7, element 3; i.e. client terminal) configured to communicate with the server (pgs. 5-6, [0062] and pgs. 6-7, par. [0069] and [0072]; i.e. [0072]; i.e. “The injection molding machine operating state display control part 302 sends a state provision request for the injection molding machine 1 to the server terminal 2, and receives data of an injection molding machine operating state table generated by the injection molding machine operating state display screen generation part 204 from the server terminal 2 (injection molding machine operating state provision part 205).”),
wherein information on the operation states of the plurality of industrial machines is periodically transmitted to the server and stored (pg. 4, par. [0052]; i.e. “More specifically, the injection molding machine operating information acquisition part 202 acquires injection molding machine operating information for every respective injection molding machine 1 along with the operating time information thereof, by receiving this injection molding machine operating information with the injection molding machine ID information as a key along with the operating time information thereof, from the respective injection molding machines 1 (injection molding machine operating information upload part 102) serving as the management targets of the server terminal 2, via the communication unit 22.”),
wherein the server includes an operation state management screen displayed on the terminal in response to a call from the terminal (pgs. 5-6, par. [0062] and [0072]; i.e. [0062]: “The injection molding machine operating state provision part 205 provides the injection molding machine operating state display screen generated by the injection molding machine operating state display screen generation part 204 to the client terminal 3 via the communication unit 22, in response to an operating state provision request for the injection molding machine 1 from the client terminal 3.” and [0072]: “The injection molding machine operating state display control part 302 sends a state provision request for the injection molding machine 1 to the server terminal 2, and receives data of an injection molding machine operating state table generated by the injection molding machine operating state display screen generation part 204 from the server terminal 2 (injection molding machine operating state provision part 205).”), and
wherein a plurality of cards (Fig. 6) corresponding to each of the plurality of industrial machines are displayed on the operation state management screen, and each of the cards displays an industrial machine identification name (Fig. 6, element “machine no.”) and a current operation state of the corresponding industrial machine (pg. 7, par. [0073] and Fig. 6, element “operation state”; i.e. [0073]: “Operation of the injection molding machine operating state display control part 302 will be explained by referencing FIG. 6. The installation positions of six of the injection molding machines 1 are displayed on the injection molding machine operating state display screen shown in FIG. 6, and the operating state, production number, etc. of each injection molding machine is displayed.”).
Not explicitly taught is display an operation rate.
However Kouyama, in an analogous art of forming devices (pg. 2, par. [0025] and Fig. 1, element 10), teaches the missing limitation of display an operation rate (pgs. 3-4, par. [0041] and Fig. 4, element E11; i.e. [0041]: “The display area E11 is an area in which the operation status of the forming device 10 on the selected day is shown in a pie chart. A ratio of a time when the forming device 10 corresponds to “during an operation”, a ratio of a time when the forming device 10 corresponds to “during stop”, and a ratio of a time when the forming device 10 corresponds to “during the occurrence of abnormality” are shown in the display area E11.”) to provide an image of an operation status to a user (pgs. 3-4, par. [0035] and [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Uchiyama to include the addition of the limitation of display an operation rate to improve the quality and productivity of a product (Kouyama: pg. 1, par. [0016]).
As per claim 2, Uchiyama teaches the industrial machine (Fig. 2, element 1) is an injection molding machine (pg. 3, par. [0040]; i.e. “As shown in FIG. 2, the injection molding machine 1 includes a control unit 10, a storage unit 11, a communication unit 12, an input unit 13, a display unit 14, an injection unit 15 and a clamping unit 16.”).
As per claim 3, Uchiyama teaches a molding condition identification name for a molding condition set in the injection molding machine is transmitted to the server and is stored in the server (pg. 4, par. 4, par. [0052]; i.e. More specifically, the injection molding machine operating information acquisition part 202 acquires injection molding machine operating information for every respective injection molding machine 1 along with the operating time information thereof, by receiving this injection molding machine operating information with the injection molding machine ID information as a key along with the operating time information thereof, from the respective injection molding machines 1 (injection molding machine operating information upload part 102) serving as the management targets of the server terminal 2, via the communication unit 22.” and Fig. 6, element “operating state”), and
wherein the molding condition identification name is displayed on the cards of the operation state management screen (pg. 7, par. [0073] and Fig. 6, element “operation state”; i.e. [0073]: “Operation of the injection molding machine operating state display control part 302 will be explained by referencing FIG. 6. The installation positions of six of the injection molding machines 1 are displayed on the injection molding machine operating state display screen shown in FIG. 6, and the operating state, production number, etc. of each injection molding machine is displayed.”).
As per claim 4, Uchiyama teaches data of the injection molding machine is periodically transmitted to the server and is stored in the server (pg. 4, par. [0052]; i.e. “More specifically, the injection molding machine operating information acquisition part 202 acquires injection molding machine operating information for every respective injection molding machine 1 along with the operating time information thereof, by receiving this injection molding machine operating information with the injection molding machine ID information as a key along with the operating time information thereof, from the respective injection molding machines 1 (injection molding machine operating information upload part 102) serving as the management targets of the server terminal 2, via the communication unit 22.”),
wherein the server includes a screen (pgs. 5-6, par. [0062] and [0072]; i.e. [0062]: “The injection molding machine operating state provision part 205 provides the injection molding machine operating state display screen generated by the injection molding machine operating state display screen generation part 204 to the client terminal 3 via the communication unit 22, in response to an operating state provision request for the injection molding machine 1 from the client terminal 3.” and [0072]: “The injection molding machine operating state display control part 302 sends a state provision request for the injection molding machine 1 to the server terminal 2, and receives data of an injection molding machine operating state table generated by the injection molding machine operating state display screen generation part 204 from the server terminal 2 (injection molding machine operating state provision part 205).”), and
wherein information where screen is displayed on the terminal (pg. 7, par. [0073]; i.e. [0073]: “The installation positions of six of the injection molding machines 1 are displayed on the injection molding machine operating state display screen shown in FIG. 6, and the operating state, production number, etc. of each injection molding machine is displayed.”).
Uchiyama does not expressly teach measurement data of the injection molding machine,
an injection molding machine screen,
wherein in a state where the operation state management screen is displayed on the terminal, in a case where one of the cards is selected by a screen operation, the injection molding machine screen is displayed on the terminal, and
the measurement data for the injection molding machine corresponding to the selected card is displayed.
However Kouyama, in an analogous art of forming devices (pg. 2, par. [0025] and Fig. 1, element 10), teaches the missing limitations of measurement data of a forming device (pg. 3, par. [0032]-[0034]; i.e. [0034]: “The calculation processing unit 112 creates an ID for each formed product, associates the above-described production management parameters with the IDs to create a file, and then transmits the file to the production management system server 113 using FTP or the like.”),
a forming machine screen (pg. 5, par. [0050] and Fig. 9; i.e. “The display device 102 can also display an overall image in which the operational status of only the corresponding forming device is shown in detail in a case where a specific portion of a split screen for each forming device in the operation status image GF5 is clicked. For example, in a case where any of the display areas E30A, E30B, E30C, and E30D of the operation status image GF5 is clicked, the display device 102 displays an overall image of only the clicked line (forming device).”),
wherein in a state where an operation state management screen (Fig. 8) is displayed on a terminal (pg. 5, par. [0049]; i.e. “FIG. 8 is an image showing the operation statuses of the plurality of forming devices 10. As shown in FIG. 8, the display device 102 can display the operation status image GF5 in which the operation statuses of the plurality of forming devices 10 are collectively displayed in a split screen format for the plurality of forming devices. The operation status image GF5 includes a display area E30A showing the operation status of the forming device 10 of the line A, a display area E30B showing the operation status of the forming device 10 of the line B, a display area E30C showing the operation status of the forming device 10 of the line C, and a display area E30D showing the operation status of the forming device 10 of the line D.”), in a case where one of a plurality of cards is selected by a screen operation, the forming machine screen is displayed on the terminal (pg. 5, par. [0050] and Fig. 9; i.e. “The display device 102 can also display an overall image in which the operational status of only the corresponding forming device is shown in detail in a case where a specific portion of a split screen for each forming device in the operation status image GF5 is clicked. For example, in a case where any of the display areas E30A, E30B, E30C, and E30D of the operation status image GF5 is clicked, the display device 102 displays an overall image of only the clicked line (forming device).”), and
the measurement data for the forming machine corresponding to the selected card is displayed (pg. 5, par. [0050]; i.e. “The display device 102 can also display an overall image in which the operational status of only the corresponding forming device is shown in detail in a case where a specific portion of a split screen for each forming device in the operation status image GF5 is clicked.”) to provide an image of an operation status to a user (pgs. 3-4, par. [0035] and [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Uchiyama to include the addition of the limitations of measurement data of a forming device, a forming machine screen, wherein in a state where an operation state management screen is displayed on a terminal, in a case where one of a plurality of cards is selected by a screen operation, the forming machine screen is displayed on the terminal, and the measurement data for the forming machine corresponding to the selected card is displayed to improve the quality and productivity of a product (Kouyama: pg. 1, par. [0016]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchiyama in view of Kouyama in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0235568 A1 (hereinafter Araki).
As per claim 5, Uchiyama in view of Kouyama does not expressly teach the injection molding machine screen includes a data display mode that displays the measurement data in a history for each shot of a molding cycle.
However Araki, in an analogous art of forming devices (pg. 2, par. [0025] and Fig. 1, element 10), teaches the missing limitation of a data display mode that displays measurement data in a history for each shot of a molding cycle (pg. 3, par. [0041]-[0043] and [0047]; i.e. [0041]: “In addition to the above-mentioned injection/measuring frame, the group of main frames MD includes various types of setting frames and of actual measurement value displaying frames, such as a mold-operation-ejection frame for setting conditions for mold opening and closing and for ejector operation, a temperature setting frame for setting temperatures for a cylinder, etc., a process monitoring frame for displaying actual measurement values of minimum cushion quantity, cycle time, etc. obtained for each shot, for a plurality of past shots, a multi waveform monitoring frame for displaying actual measurement values of pressure, speed, etc. in waveform, a production management frame for setting the number of products to be produced, etc.”, [0043]: “… the processor 11 monitors whether or not the touch switch TS is operated to select another main frame and whether or not the function keys K are operated to select another display mode (Steps S3 and S4). When another main frame MD is selected by operating the touch switch TS, the number or code of the selected main frame MD is stored in the first main-frame storage area (Step S6).”, and [0047]: “ Like the main frame MD, the subsidiary frame SD is intended to deal with molding conditions, and displays primarily the conditions, history, etc. of the injection molding machine. The subsidiary frame SD1 shown in FIG. 6 is a current value frame which shows the current position of a screw, the latest shot peak pressure, the number of shots up to now, etc. The subsidiary frame SD2 shown in the same drawing is a process graph frame which shows cycle time for the latest 100 shots, etc. in the form of a graph.”) for the purpose of displaying actual measurements (pg. 3, par. [0041] and [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Uchiyama in view of Kouyama to include the addition of the limitation of a data display mode that displays measurement data in a history for each shot of a molding cycle to display a large amount of information in a manner that is easy to read, according to a need, to provide good operability (Araki: pg. 1, par. [0011]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchiyama in view of Kouyama in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0106284 A1 (hereinafter Catoen)
As per claim 6, Uchiyama in view of Kouyama does not expressly teach a controller of the injection molding machine includes a work input screen that is displayed and operated on an attached monitor,
wherein the work input screen is configured to receive input of work performed by a user on the injection molding machine as a work record, and
wherein the work record input on the work input screen is transmitted to the server and is stored in the server.
However Catoen, in an analogous art of molding machine (pgs. 1-2, par. [0028] [0029]), teaches the missing limitations of a controller of an injection molding machine includes a work input screen that is displayed and operated on an attached monitor (pg. 4, par. [0042] and [0043] and pg. 6, par. [0051]; i.e. [0042]: “In the example shown, mold 10 can include user interface 4002 and injection molding machine 20 can include user interface 4004. There can also be one or more stand alone workstation computer components 60, 70, e.g., in the form of a personal computer 60, a mobile laptop computer as shown associated to the current work cell having an associated user interface 4006, and/or a mobile hand held CPU based computer 70. In one embodiment, CPU based hand held workstation component 70 can be provided by a BLACKBERRY STORM mobile telephone of the type available from Research In Motion Limited of Waterloo, Ontario. Referring to the view of FIG. 7, workstation computer 60 and workstation computer 70 can be mobile workstation computers that are adapted to be transported between work cells, e.g., work cells 100-1, 100-2, 100-3, as shown in FIG. 1 and between different ones of facilities 1000.” And [0051]: “A representation of a user interface for a mold (including a mold cavity coupled with a hot runner controller) allowing operational parameters to be changed is shown in FIG. 8. An operator can reconfigure the current programming data associated with an injection molding assembly mold by entering new setup parameters for the mold using a user interface featurized as shown in FIG. 8 using in particular selection area 4103.”),
wherein the work input screen is configured to receive input of work performed by a user on the injection molding machine as a work record (pgs. 5-6, par. [0050], [0051], and [0055]; i.e. [0055]: “An exemplary user interface configuration 5002 for use in setting up a current injection molding assembly in a current work cell is set forth in the example of FIG. 9. The user interface configuration of FIG. 9 can be conveniently incorporated into user interface 4006 of workstation computer 60 and displayed on display 3014 of standalone workstation computer 60 associated to a current work cell. User interface configuration 5002 can, in addition or alternatively, be incorporated into another user interface, e.g., user interface 4002 of mold, user interface 4004 of injection molding machine 20, and/or user interface 4008 of workstation computer 70 in portable hand held form. Referring to the user interface configuration 5002 of FIG. 9, there can be presented in area 5016 information indicating past operational injection molding configurations that have been determined to be operational and that include the mold currently within the current work cell. The operator is therefore provided a powerful representation as to "what has worked before" with the current mold.”), and
wherein the work record input on the work input screen is transmitted to the server and is stored in the server (pg. 6, par. [0053], pg. 7, par. [0057], pg. 9, par. [0064] and Fig. 1, element 200; i.e. [0053]: “System 2000 can also be operative so that when a registration request is made, e.g., responsively to an actuation of a user interface of an injection molding assembly component or responsively to a process, the components of the injection molding assembly to which the registration command is made transmit (i.e., "push") their current reconfigurable programming data at the time of registration to server 200 for storage in registered operational configurations table 308 of database 300. Programming data of an injection molding assembly component can be stored in a file format so that the programming data retains its content when transmitted between file directories of various memory equipped devices (e.g., injection molding assembly components and servers) of system 2000.” and [0064]: “Although a variety of different configurations are available the location information is conveniently stored in a component database 300 collocated with facility server 200.”) for configuring injection molding machines (pg. 6, par. [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Uchiyama in view of Kouyama to include the addition of the limitations of a controller of an injection molding machine includes a work input screen that is displayed and operated on an attached monitor, wherein the work input screen is configured to receive input of work performed by a user on the injection molding machine as a work record, and wherein the work record input on the work input screen is transmitted to the server and is stored in the server to improve a speed with which an injection molding assembly can be set up (Catoen: pg. 2, par. [0030]).
As per claim 7, Uchiyama teaches the server includes a screen (pgs. 5-6, par. [0062] and [0072]; i.e. [0062]: “The injection molding machine operating state provision part 205 provides the injection molding machine operating state display screen generated by the injection molding machine operating state display screen generation part 204 to the client terminal 3 via the communication unit 22, in response to an operating state provision request for the injection molding machine 1 from the client terminal 3.” and [0072]: “The injection molding machine operating state display control part 302 sends a state provision request for the injection molding machine 1 to the server terminal 2, and receives data of an injection molding machine operating state table generated by the injection molding machine operating state display screen generation part 204 from the server terminal 2 (injection molding machine operating state provision part 205).”), which is displayed on the terminal in response to a call from the terminal (pgs. 5-6, par. [0062] and [0072] and pg. 7, par. [0073]; i.e. [0062]: “The injection molding machine operating state provision part 205 provides the injection molding machine operating state display screen generated by the injection molding machine operating state display screen generation part 204 to the client terminal 3 via the communication unit 22, in response to an operating state provision request for the injection molding machine 1 from the client terminal 3.”, [0072]: “The injection molding machine operating state display control part 302 sends a state provision request for the injection molding machine 1 to the server terminal 2, and receives data of an injection molding machine operating state table generated by the injection molding machine operating state display screen generation part 204 from the server terminal 2 (injection molding machine operating state provision part 205).”, [0073]: “The installation positions of six of the injection molding machines 1 are displayed on the injection molding machine operating state display screen shown in FIG. 6, and the operating state, production number, etc. of each injection molding machine is displayed.”).
Uchiyama does not expressly teach a work report screen and
wherein the work record is displayed on the work report screen.
Uchiyama in view of Kouyama does not expressly teach a work report screen and
wherein the work record is displayed on the work report screen.
However Catoen, in an analogous art of molding machine (pgs. 1-2, par. [0028] [0029]), teaches the missing limitations of a work report screen (pg. 11, par. [0077], pg. 19, par. [0118]-[0120] and Fig. 20; i.e. [0118]: “By selection of a registration history report type using area 5318, a report can be displayed on display 3014 indicating a history of registered injection molding assembly configurations for a specified historical period which included a specified component or component sample. A registration history report for output, e.g., by display on display 3014 of the computer on which configuration 5006 is incorporated can include the form as depicted in area 5016 depicted in configuration 5002, 5004, or by table 404 (FIG. 15) sorted by the specified component or component sample. By selection of programming data update history report type using area 5322, a report can be displayed on display 3014 indicating a history of software upgrades for a specified component or component sample during a designated historical time period. Where a programming data update history report type is displayed, several identifiers for a certain component can be displayed each corresponding to a different time. Such report for output, e.g., by display on a display 3014 of a computer incorporating configuration 5006 can have the form as shown by table 308 of FIG. 13, sorted by the specified component or component sample.”) and
wherein the work record is displayed on the work report screen (pg. 11, par. [0077], pg. 19, par. [0118]-[0120] and Fig. 20; i.e. [0118]: “By selection of a registration history report type using area 5318, a report can be displayed on display 3014 indicating a history of registered injection molding assembly configurations for a specified historical period which included a specified component or component sample. A registration history report for output, e.g., by display on display 3014 of the computer on which configuration 5006 is incorporated can include the form as depicted in area 5016 depicted in configuration 5002, 5004, or by table 404 (FIG. 15) sorted by the specified component or component sample. By selection of programming data update history report type using area 5322, a report can be displayed on display 3014 indicating a history of software upgrades for a specified component or component sample during a designated historical time period. Where a programming data update history report type is displayed, several identifiers for a certain component can be displayed each corresponding to a different time. Such report for output, e.g., by display on a display 3014 of a computer incorporating configuration 5006 can have the form as shown by table 308 of FIG. 13, sorted by the specified component or component sample.”) for configuring injection molding machines (pg. 6, par. [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Uchiyama in view of Kouyama to include the addition of the limitations of a work report screen and wherein the work record is displayed on the work report screen to improve a speed with which an injection molding assembly can be set up (Catoen: pg. 2, par. [0030]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to injection molding systems and monitoring systems.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0018579 A1 discloses a system and method for monitoring system parameters from multiple independent controllers that monitor and control an injection process.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0152114 A1 discloses a method for operating a molding system.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0147296 A1 discloses a screen data generating system includes: a generation device to generate screen data for displaying a monitoring screen used for monitoring an operating state of a control device that controls an apparatus; and a server to acquire, from the control device, device identification information for identifying the control device and unit configuration information about a unit included in the control device to provide the acquired device identification information and the acquired unit configuration information.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0121545 A1 discloses an injection molding machine system includes an injection molding machine, a cloud server, and a terminal apparatus.
/JENNIFER L NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117