DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-20, and 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gan et al. (U.S. 2024/0073847 A1).
Re claim 1, Gan et al. discloses a network entity comprising a network exposure service (e.g. Figures 1-7) comprising: one or more memories, wherein the one or more memories comprise processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (e.g. page 2, pars. [0021-0022]): obtain a first request message requesting information associated with one or more radio access network (RAN) configuration states of a RAN (e.g. Figures 3 and 6); output, to at least a second device based at least in part on obtaining the first request message, a first response message indicating that the information associated with the one or more RAN configuration states (e.g. Figure 3; REG_STATE ON (S303)/OFF (S306)) of the RAN is supported (e.g. page 3, par. [0037]); and output based at least in part on outputting the first response message, a notification message or indication comprising a report of the one or more RAN configuration states (e.g. Figure 3; page 3 pars. [0034-0038]).
Re claim 2, Gan et al. further discloses output, to a second network entity comprising a subscription service based at least in part on obtaining the first request message from a user equipment (UE), a subscription request message comprising a first identifier associated with the UE (e.g. Figure 3, registration S302), and an indication that notification of the one or more RAN configuration states is requested by the UE (e.g. Figure 3, indication of REG_STATE = OFF (S303) or REG_STATE = ON (S309)); and obtain, from the second network entity based at least in part on outputting the subscription request message, a subscription response message comprising the first identifier and comprising subscription permission information corresponding to at least one of the one or more RAN configuration states, wherein outputting the first response message is based at least in part on the subscription response message (e.g. Figure 3 such as permission such as REG_STATE indication provide permission for subscription/registration, page 3 par. [0037]).
Re claim 4, Gan et al. further discloses output, to the RAN based at least in part on obtaining the subscription response message, an activation request message corresponding to the one or more
RAN configuration states (e.g. Figure 3; page 3 pars. [0034-0037]); and obtain, from the RAN based at least in part on the activation request message, an activation response message for at least one of the one or more RAN configuration states, wherein outputting the first response message is based at least in part on the activation response message, and wherein the second device comprises a user equipment (UE) (e.g. Figure 3 (S301-S306); page 3 pars. [0034-0039]).
Re claim 5, Gan et al. further discloses output, to a second network entity and based at least in part on obtaining the first request message, subscription information corresponding to a user equipment (UE), the second network entity comprising an access and mobility service, and
obtain, from the second network entity based at least in part on outputting the subscription information, subscription notification information corresponding to the one or more RAN configuration states and comprising a second identifier corresponding to the RAN (e.g. Figure 3, pages 3-4, pars. [0034-0046]).
Re claim 6, Gan et al. further discloses output, to the RAN based at least in part on the second identifier, a second request message requesting the information associated with the one or more
RAN configuration states of the RAN, and obtain, from the RAN based at least in part on outputting the second request message to at least the second device, a second response message indicating that the information associated with the one or more RAN configuration states of the RAN is supported, wherein the second device comprises the UE, and wherein outputting the
first response message to the UE is based at least in part on obtaining the second response message from the RAN (e.g. Figure 3, pages 3-4, pars. [0034-0046]).
Re claim 7, Gan et al. further discloses obtain, from the RAN based at least in part on outputting the first response message, an indication of the report of the one or more RAN configuration
states, wherein outputting the notification message or indication is based at least in part on obtaining the indication of the report (e.g. Figure 3, pages 3-4, pars. [0034-0046]).
Re claim 8, Gan et al. further discloses the second device comprises the UE, and outputting the first response message to the UE comprises outputting the first response message to the UE via an application function (AF) or a network function (NF), a network exposure service, or any combination thereof, and outputting the first response message is based at least in
part on obtaining a second response message from the RAN indicating that the
information associated with the one or more RAN configuration states of the RAN is
supported (e.g. Figure 3, pages 3-4, pars. [0034-0046]).
Re claim 9, Gan et al. further discloses wherein the one or more RAN configuration states comprise a codebook index, an antenna configuration, a beam shape, one or more mobility parameters, a cell activation state, a cell deactivation state, a RAN loading configuration, or any combination thereof (e.g. Figure 3, such as REG_STATE = ON/ OFF).
Re claim 10, Gan et al. further discloses wherein the one or more RAN configuration states comprise RAN operation parameters, RAN status information, or both (e.g. Figures 3-7, such as REG_STATE = ON/ OFF).
Re claim 11, Gan et al. discloses a user equipment (UE) (e.g. Figures 1-7), comprising: one or more memories, wherein the one or more memories comprise processor-executable code, and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively (e.g. page 2, pars. [0021-0022]) operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit, to a network entity, a first request message requesting information associated with one or more radio access network (RAN) configuration states of a RAN (e.g. Figures 3 and 6);
receive, from the network entity based at least in part on transmitting the first request message, a first response message indicating that the information associated with the one or more RAN configuration states of the RAN is supported (e.g. Figure 3; REG_STATE ON (S303)/OFF (S306)) of the RAN is supported (e.g. page 3, par. [0037]), and receive, based at least in part on receiving the first response message, a notification message or indication comprising a resport of the one or more RAN configuration states (e.g. Figure 3; page 3 pars. [0034-0038] and [0045-0050]).
Re claim 13, Gan et al. further discloses the first request message requests the information associated with a plurality of RAN configuration states of the RAN, and
the first response message indicates that a subset of the plurality of RAN configuration
states is supported (e.g. Figures 3-7).
Re claim 14, Gan et al. further discloses determine the one or more RAN configuration states of the RAN based on one or more conditions at the UE, wherein transmitting the first request message is based at least in part on the determining (e.g. Figure 3, S306 initiate a registration process).
Re claim 15, Gan et al. further discloses states comprise a codebook index, an antenna configuration, a beam shape, one or more mobility parameters, a cell activation state, a cell deactivation state, a RAN loading configuration, or any combination thereof (e.g. Figure 3, such as REG_STATE = ON/ OFF).
Re claim 16, Gan et al. further discloses the network entity comprises a RAN, a RAN exposure service, a network exposure service, a subscription service, an access and mobility service, or any combination thereof (e.g. Abstract; Figures 1-7).
Re claim 17, Gan et al. further discloses transmit a registration message comprising a request to establish service for the UE (e.g. Figure 3); and receive, based at least in part on transmitting the registration message, security context information, wherein transmitting the first request message is based at least in part on obtaining the security context information (e.g. Figure 3, UE send an attach request for registration purposes to the RAN control apparatus equate to ensuring action to authorized activities which can be interpreted as security context information).
Re claim 18, Gan et al. further discloses the one or more RAN configuration states comprise RAN operation parameters, RAN status information, or both (e.g. Figures 3-7, such as REG_STATE = ON/ OFF).
Re claims 19-29, they are method claims having similar limitations cited in claims 1-12 respectively. Thus, claims 19-29 are also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claims 1-12 respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues in pages 11-12 for independent claim 1 that the cited reference, particularly Gan et al. (U.S. 2024/0073847 A1) fail to anticipate the amended limitation.
The examiner respectfully submits that Gan reference reasonably discloses the amended portion as fully addressed in the rejection above. Gan explicitly describe a RAN control apparatus that manage registration states (including REG_STAGE or equivalent open/closed/ registration states) in response to messages from a base station and information provider (e.g. Figures 3-7 and paragraphs [0034-0038], and [0045-0050]. Gan is not limited to an “internal flag.” The reference teaches that after processing the registration/mapping (controlled by the state), the apparatus outputs control requests or notifications to the base station based on the information and the established correspondence (e.g. Figures 507 and paragraphs [0055-0065, where the RAN intelligent controller (RIC) sends messages back to the base station after state transitions. These outputs effectively report or act upon the RAN configuration/registration states of the User Equipment (UE). Gan discloses obtaining a request, outputting a response indicating support/capability, and then outputting a notification/indication/report regarding the RAN configuration states (via control messages to the base station driven by the registration/state handling process). Applicant’s argument that the state is purely internal is not persuasive, as the state machine explicitly controls external messaging and control actions in the RAN.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUOC H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451