DETAILED ACTION
This is the second office action on the merits of the instant application, and is in response to Applicant’s amendment and remarks filed March 19, 2026, wherein claims 1 and 5 are amended and new claim 6 is presented for consideration. Claims 1-6 remain in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hyuga et al. (US 2020/0065595 A1).
Hyuga et al. teaches, according to claims 1-2, a safety apparatus to be mounted on a manual driving apparatus, the safety apparatus comprising a controller and a distance sensor configured to measure, in a non- contact manner, a distance between the manual driving apparatus and a driver operating the manual driving apparatus, the controller being configured to:
measure, using the distance sensor, the distance while a vehicle is traveling; and
transmit a deceleration stop request to the manual driving apparatus when the distance measured by the distance sensor exceeds a threshold (Hyuga et al., at least para. [0092], “In step S6, when it is judged that the distance A is within the range wherein the steering wheel can be appropriately operated, the processing is ended. On the other hand, when it is judged that the distance A is not within the range wherein the steering wheel can be appropriately operated, the operation goes to step S7.”; and para. [0093], “In step S7, a driving operation impossible signal is output to the HMI 40 and the automatic vehicle operation control device 50, and thereafter, the processing is ended. The HMI 40, when the driving operation impossible signal is input thereto, for example, performs a display giving an alarm about the driving attitude or seat position on the display section 41, and an announcement giving an alarm about the driving attitude or seat position by the voice output section 42. The automatic vehicle operation control device 50, when the driving operation impossible signal is input thereto, for example, performs speed reduction control.”).
Regarding claim 2, the threshold is an upper limit of a distance between the driver and the manual driving apparatus that is required for the driver to operate the manual driving apparatus (Hyuga et al., at least para. [0091], “In step S6, by reading out a range wherein the driver can reach the steering wheel stored in the RAM 13 or the storage section 15 so as to conduct a comparison operation, whether the distance A is within the range wherein the steering wheel can be appropriately operated (distance D.sub.1<distance A<distance D.sub.2) is decided. The distance range from the distance D.sub.1 to the distance D.sub.2 is a distance range wherein it is estimated that the driver 30 can operate the steering wheel 32 in a state of sitting in the driver's seat 31, and for example, the distances D.sub.1 and D.sub.2 can be set to be about 40 cm and 80 cm, respectively.”).
Regarding claim 6, the distance sensor is disposed at a position on the manual driving apparatus free from being gripped by the driver (Hyuga et al., at least Fig. 3).
Hyuga et al. teaches, according to claim 5, a control method performed by a safety apparatus mounted on a manual driving apparatus, the safety apparatus comprising a distance sensor configured to measure, in a non-contact manner, a distance between the manual driving apparatus and a driver operating the manual driving apparatus, the control method comprising: measuring, using the distance sensor, the distance while a vehicle is traveling; and transmitting a deceleration stop request to the manual driving apparatus when the measured distance measured by the distance sensor exceeds a threshold (Hyuga et al., at least para. [0092], “In step S6, when it is judged that the distance A is within the range wherein the steering wheel can be appropriately operated, the processing is ended. On the other hand, when it is judged that the distance A is not within the range wherein the steering wheel can be appropriately operated, the operation goes to step S7.”; and para. [0093], “In step S7, a driving operation impossible signal is output to the HMI 40 and the automatic vehicle operation control device 50, and thereafter, the processing is ended. The HMI 40, when the driving operation impossible signal is input thereto, for example, performs a display giving an alarm about the driving attitude or seat position on the display section 41, and an announcement giving an alarm about the driving attitude or seat position by the voice output section 42. The automatic vehicle operation control device 50, when the driving operation impossible signal is input thereto, for example, performs speed reduction control.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyuga et al. in view of Okazaki et al. (US 2018/0327016 A1).
Hyuga et al. teaches the elements of claims 1-2 above, but does not expressly teach, where Okazaki et al. teaches, a pair of touch sensors attached to a steering wheel of the manual driving apparatus and configured to detect contact of both palms of the driver, wherein the controller is configured to activate the distance sensor and measure the distance between the manual driving apparatus and the driver when at least one of the pair of touch sensors does not detect contact by a palm of the driver (Okazaki et al., at least para. [0005], “If a hand of the driver comes close to the steering wheel and ultimately takes hold of the steering wheel, first capacitor 101 comes under the influence of this action, and as a result, first frequency f1 changes. Voltage U continuously rises with a decrease in distance from the hand to the steering wheel. As soon as voltage U exceeds first threshold S1, the detection device detects contact between the hand and the steering wheel.”; and para. [0101], “FIG. 16 is a schematic view illustrating an example configuration of steering wheel grip detection device 11 that includes two heaters (first heater 37 and second heater 41) as shown in FIG. 15 and that is actually built into steering wheel 3. With reference to FIG. 16, the two (a plurality of) heaters (first and second heaters 37 and 41) are disposed symmetrical to each other with respect to center line 60 of steering wheel 3 in a neutral position. In other words, in FIG. 16 first and second heaters 37 and 41 are disposed at places that are bilaterally symmetric with respect to center line 60. This configuration enables the two heaters to warm the right and left hands of a driver more reliably. Vehicle-side control circuit 35 can determine whether the driver is holding steering wheel 3 with both hands or only one hand with high precision because steering wheel grip detection device 11 includes capacitive element 25 and thus reduces the influence of thermostat 19. As a result, vehicle-side control circuit 35 can warn the driver about a grip on steering wheel 3 while reducing the possibility of giving a false alarm.”). It would have been obvious to incorporate the teaching of Okazaki et al. into the system of Hyuga et al. for the purpose of determining total control of steering by monitoring both of driver’s hands, and as a combination of prior art elements in a known manner with an expectation of predictable results. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyuga et al. in view of Miura (US 2017/0297543 A1).
Hyuga et al. teaches the elements of claims 1-2 above, but does not expressly teach, where Miura teaches the safety apparatus further comprises a rope with a length equivalent to the threshold, the rope being configured to: connect clothes of the driver and the emergency stop switch; and turn on the emergency stop switch by a tensile force to be generated when the driver moves apart from the manual driving apparatus by a distance exceeding the threshold (Miura, at least para. [0043], “Description is given of an executing operation of emergency stop mechanism 4 in the above-described configuration. For example, if the driver is thrown from snowmobile 10, the cap is pulled by tether cord 25 connected to the driver, such that emergency stop switch 2 is turned on. When emergency stop switch 2 is turned on, driving mechanism 52 is driven forwardly under the control of control section 3, such that drum 51 rotates about rotary shaft 53 in the direction of the arrow X2 in FIG. 3A. As drum 51 rotates in the direction of the arrow X2, wire rope 42 is reeled onto drum 51. Thus, rotor 41 rotates about rotary shaft 43 in the direction of the arrow X1 in FIG. 2A, bringing brake lever 21 closer to left handle 17L. At this time, the rotation of driving track belt mechanism 13 is locked, such that the brakes are applied. Right after that, the ignition system causes the engine to stop operation under the control of control section 3. It is to be noted that in the case where snowmobile 10 includes a battery, for example, braking by the brake mechanism may be simultaneously effected as stopping the operation of the engine, and braking by the brake mechanism does not have to be effected before stopping the operation of the engine. In this manner, snowmobile 10 is prevented from moving forward even on, for example, a slope by stopping the engine as well as executing braking by the brake mechanism in an emergency situation. In other words, snowmobile 10 is safely stopped even when the driver is thrown.”). It would have been obvious to incorporate the teaching of Miura into the system of Hyuga et al. for the purpose of providing a further safeguard against driver’s inadvertent distance separation from the vehicle controls, and as a combination of prior art elements in a known manner with an expectation of predictable results. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
(313) 446-4915. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665