DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 11/14/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of US Patent 12,150,093 over Claims 1-20 of US Patent 11,765,687 and over Claims 1-19 of US Patent No. 11,277816.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are claiming similar subject matter relating to establishing at a radio network infrastructure element communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device, transmitting a paging message for the terminal device, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource.
Note that the table below compares the claims of the present invention with the relevant claims in the Patent Application, wherein each claim that are similar or exact are in the same box side by side.
CON AP No. 18946935
Patent No. US 12,150,093
Patent No. US 11,765,687
Patent No. US 11,277,816
1. (Currently Amended) Circuitry for a radio network infrastructure element for use in communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and a terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the circuitry is configured to:
transmit a paging message for the terminal device, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device.
1. Circuitry for a radio network infrastructure element for use in communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and a terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the circuitry is configured to: transmit a paging message for the terminal device, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource; and trigger another radio network infrastructure to page the terminal device in a case that data is received from a terminal device previously configured to enter a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state.
1. A method of operating a radio network infrastructure element for communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and a terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, the method comprising: establishing there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device; transmitting a paging message for the terminal device, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device; communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource; and in response to the radio network infrastructure receiving data from a core network for a terminal device that it has previously configured to enter a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state, triggering, by the radio network infrastructure, another radio network infrastructure to seek to page the terminal device.
19. Circuitry for a radio network infrastructure element for use in communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and a terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the circuitry comprises controller circuitry and transceiver circuitry configured to operate together to:
establish there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device; transmit a paging message for the terminal device, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device; communicate the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource; and in response to the radio network infrastructure receiving data from a core network for a terminal device that it has previously configured to enter a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state, trigger, by the radio network infrastructure, another radio network infrastructure to seek to page the terminal device.
1. A method of communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and a terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, the method comprising:
establishing at a radio network infrastructure element there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device, wherein the terminal device is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected inactive mode; transmitting a paging message for the terminal device from the radio network infrastructure element,
wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device;
notifying, from the radio network infrastructure element, one or more target radio network infrastructure elements in a tracking area of the radio network infrastructure element to transmit the paging message for the terminal device; and communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource, wherein establishing at the radio network infrastructure element that there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device includes the radio network infrastructure element receiving an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device from a core network element of the wireless telecommunications network, wherein in response to the radio network infrastructure receiving data from the core network for a terminal device that it has previously configured to enter an RRC connected inactive state, in addition to seeking to page the terminal device, the radio network infrastructure also triggers other radio network infrastructure to seek to page the terminal device.
18. A radio network infrastructure element for use in communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and a terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the radio network infrastructure element comprises controller circuitry and transceiver circuitry configured to operate together to: establish there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device, wherein the terminal device is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected inactive mode; transmit a paging message for the terminal device, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device; notify one or more target radio network infrastructure elements in a tracking area of the radio network infrastructure element to transmit the paging message for the terminal device; and communicate the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource, wherein the controller circuitry and transceiver circuitry for establishing at the radio network infrastructure element that there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device is further configured to receive, at the radio network infrastructure element, an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device from a core network element of the wireless telecommunications network, wherein in response to the radio network infrastructure receiving data from the core network for a terminal device that it has previously configured to enter an RRC connected inactive state, in addition to seeking to page the terminal device, the radio network infrastructure also triggers other radio network infrastructure to seek to page the terminal device.
Analysis: In comparing the pending application with the prior Patents they are claiming similar subject matter relating to establishing at a radio network infrastructure element there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device, transmitting a paging message for the terminal device from the radio network infrastructure element, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device; and communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource.
4. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive at the radio network infrastructure element a paging response from the
terminal device indicating the terminal device received the paging message transmitted by the
radio network infrastructure element.
5. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the network allocated resource includes a network allocated identifier for the terminal device.
6. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the network allocated identifier for the terminal device includes a cell-specific radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI.
7. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
communicate the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource, and transmit the data in association with the network allocated identifier.
8. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 7, wherein the circuitry for transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier is further configured to
address an allocation message comprising an indication of an allocation of radio resources to be used for communicating the data from the radio network infrastructure element to the terminal device to the network allocated identifier.
4. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the network allocated identifier for the terminal device includes a cell-specific radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI.
5. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to communicate the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource, and transmit the data in association with the network allocated identifier.
6. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 5, wherein the circuitry for transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier is further configured to address an allocation message comprising an indication of an allocation of radio resources to be used for communicating the data from the radio network infrastructure element to the terminal device to the network allocated identifier.
7. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 5, wherein the circuitry for transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier is further configured to address an allocation message comprising an indication of an allocation of radio resources to be used for communicating the data from the terminal device to the radio network infrastructure element to the network allocated identifier.
8. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 5, wherein the circuitry for communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device is further configured to communicate the data from the terminal device to the radio network infrastructure element as a part of the paging response.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving at the radio network infrastructure element a paging response from the terminal device indicating the terminal device received the paging message transmitted by the radio network infrastructure element.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device comprises communicating the data from the terminal device to the radio network infrastructure element as a part of the paging response.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the network allocated resource includes a network allocated identifier for the terminal device.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the network allocated identifier for the terminal device includes a cell-specific radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI.
6. The method of claim 4, wherein communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource comprises transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier comprises addressing an allocation message comprising an indication of an allocation of radio resources to be used for communicating the data from the radio network infrastructure element to the terminal device to the network allocated identifier.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving at the radio network infrastructure element a paging response from the terminal device indicating the terminal device received the paging message transmitted by the radio network infrastructure element.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device comprises communicating the data from the terminal device to the radio network infrastructure element as a part of the paging response.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the network allocated resource comprises a network allocated identifier for the terminal device.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the network allocated identifier for the terminal device comprises a cell-specific radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI.
6. The method of claim 4, wherein communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource comprises transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier.
Analysis: In comparing the pending application with the prior Patents they are claiming similar subject matter relating to receiving at the radio network infrastructure element a paging response from the terminal device indicating the terminal device received the paging message transmitted by the radio network infrastructure element; wherein the network allocated identifier for the terminal device includes a cell-specific radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI.
9. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 7, wherein the circuitry for transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier is further configured to
address an allocation message comprising an indication of an allocation of radio resources to be used for communicating the data from the terminal device to the radio network infrastructure element to the network allocated identifier.
10. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 7, wherein the circuitry for communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device is further configured to communicate the data from the terminal device to the radio network infrastructure element as a part of the paging
response.
11. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the network allocated resource comprises an allocation of physical transmission resources to be used for communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device.
12. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 11, wherein the allocation of physical transmission resources comprises resources on a physical uplink shared channel.
13. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 11, wherein the allocation of physical transmission resources comprises resources on a physical downlink shared channel.
14. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
establish at the radio network infrastructure element there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device, and receive, at the radio network infrastructure element, an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal
device from a core network element of the wireless telecommunications network.
9. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the network allocated resource comprises an allocation of physical transmission resources to be used for communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device.
10. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 9, wherein the allocation of physical transmission resources comprises resources on a physical uplink shared channel.
11. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 9, wherein the allocation of physical transmission resources comprises resources on a physical downlink shared channel.
12. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to establish at the radio network infrastructure element there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device, and receive, at the radio network infrastructure element, an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device from a core network element of the wireless telecommunications network.
13. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 12, wherein the circuitry for establishing there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device is further configured to receive, at the radio network infrastructure element, an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device from a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network.
14. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to convey an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device to a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network.
8. The method of claim 6, wherein transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier comprises addressing an allocation message comprising an indication of an allocation of radio resources to be used for communicating the data from the terminal device to the radio network infrastructure element to the network allocated identifier.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the network allocated resource comprises an allocation of physical transmission resources to be used for communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein allocation of physical transmission resources comprises resources on a physical uplink shared channel.
11. The method of claim 9, wherein allocation of physical transmission resources comprises resources on a physical downlink shared channel.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein establishing at the radio network infrastructure element there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device comprises the radio network infrastructure element receiving an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device from a core network element of the wireless telecommunications network.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier comprises addressing an allocation message comprising an indication of an allocation of radio resources to be used for communicating the data from the radio network infrastructure element to the terminal device to the network allocated identifier.
8. The method of claim 6, wherein transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier comprises addressing an allocation message comprising an indication of an allocation of radio resources to be used for communicating the data from the terminal device to the radio network infrastructure element to the network allocated identifier.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the network allocated resource comprises an allocation of physical transmission resources to be used for communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein allocation of physical transmission resources comprise resources on a physical uplink shared channel.
11. The method of claim 9, wherein allocation of physical transmission resources comprise resources on a physical downlink shared channel
Analysis: In comparing the pending application with the prior Patents they are claiming similar subject matter relating to wherein transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier comprises addressing an allocation message comprising an indication of an allocation of radio resources to be used for communicating the data from the terminal device to the radio network infrastructure element to the network allocated identifier.
15. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 14, wherein the circuitry for establishing there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device is further configured to
receive, at the radio network infrastructure element, an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device from a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network.
16. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
convey an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device to a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network.
17. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
select, from among a plurality of network allocated resources by the radio network infrastructure element, the network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device.
18. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
receive, by the radio network infrastructure element from a further radio
network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network, an indication of the network allocated resource.
19. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the paging message transmitted by the radio network infrastructure element comprises an indication of a characteristic to be used by the terminal device for transmitting
the paging response to allow the radio network infrastructure element to determine the paging response is from the terminal device.
20. (New) The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 18, wherein the indication of a characteristic comprises an indication of a preamble sequence for the terminal device to use for the paging response.
15. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to select, from among a plurality of network allocated resources by the radio network infrastructure element, the network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device.
16. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive, by the radio network infrastructure element from a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network, an indication of the network allocated resource.
17. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 16, wherein the indication of a characteristic comprises an indication of a preamble sequence for the terminal device to use for the paging response.
18. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the paging message transmitted by the radio network infrastructure element comprises an indication of a characteristic to be used by the terminal device for transmitting the paging response to allow the radio network infrastructure element to determine the paging response is from the terminal device.
19. A terminal device for use in communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and the terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the terminal device comprises circuitry configured to: receive a paging message from a radio network infrastructure element, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource; and receive a paging message from another radio network infrastructure element in a case that the terminal device was previously configured by the radio network infrastructure to enter a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state.
20. Circuitry for a terminal device for use in communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and the terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the circuitry is configured to: receive a paging message from a radio network infrastructure element, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource; and receive a paging message from another radio network infrastructure element in a case that the terminal device was previously configured by the radio network infrastructure to enter a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state.
13. The method of claim 1, wherein establishing there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device comprises the radio network infrastructure element receiving an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device from a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network.
14. The method of claim 1, further comprising the radio network infrastructure element conveying an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device to a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network.
15. The method of claim 1, wherein the network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device is selected from among a plurality of possible network allocated resources by the radio network infrastructure element.
16. The method of claim 1, wherein an indication of the network allocated resource is received by the radio network infrastructure element from a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the indication of a characteristic comprises an indication of a preamble sequence for the terminal device to use for the paging response.
18. The method of claim 1, wherein the paging message transmitted by the radio network infrastructure element comprises an indication of a characteristic to be used by the terminal device for transmitting the paging response to allow the radio network infrastructure element to determine the paging response is from the terminal device.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein establishing there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device comprises the radio network infrastructure element receiving an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device from a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network.
13. The method of claim 1, further comprising the radio network infrastructure element conveying an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device to a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network.
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device is selected from among a plurality of possible network allocated resources by the radio network infrastructure element.
15. The method of claim 1, wherein an indication of the network allocated resource is received by the radio network infrastructure element from a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network.
16. The method of claim 1, wherein the paging message transmitted by the radio network infrastructure element comprises an indication of a characteristic to be used by the terminal device for transmitting the paging response to allow the radio network infrastructure element to determine the paging response is from the terminal device.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the indication of a characteristic comprises an indication of a preamble sequence for the terminal device to use for the paging response.
Analysis: In comparing the pending application with the prior Patents they are claiming similar subject matter relating to wherein establishing there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device comprises the radio network infrastructure element receiving an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device from a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network.
2. (Currently Amended) A terminal device for use in communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and the terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the terminal device comprises circuitry configured to
receive a paging message from a radio network infrastructure element, wherein the
paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an
indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data
between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device;
3. (Currently Amended) Circuitry for a terminal device for use in communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and the terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the circuitry is configured to
receive a paging message from a radio network infrastructure element, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data
between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device.
2. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive at the radio network infrastructure element a paging response from the terminal device indicating the terminal device received the paging message transmitted by the radio network infrastructure element.
3. The circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the network allocated resource includes a network allocated identifier for the terminal device.
20. A method of operating a terminal device for communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and the terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, the method comprising: receiving a paging message from a radio network infrastructure element, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device; and communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource, wherein in response to the radio network infrastructure receiving data from a core network for a terminal device that it has previously configured to enter a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state, another radio network infrastructure is triggered to seek to page the terminal device.
19. A terminal device for use in communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and the terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the terminal device comprises controller circuitry and transceiver circuitry configured to operate together to: receive a paging message from a radio network infrastructure element, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device, wherein the terminal device is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected inactive mode; and communicate the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource, wherein the radio network infrastructure element establishes that there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device and the establishing includes the radio network infrastructure element receiving an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device from a core network element of the wireless telecommunications network, wherein in response to the radio network infrastructure receiving data from the core network for a terminal device that it has previously configured to enter an RRC connected inactive state, in addition to seeking to page the terminal device, the radio network infrastructure also triggers other radio network infrastructure to seek to page the terminal device.
Analysis: In comparing the pending application with the prior Patents they are claiming similar subject matter relating to establishing at a radio network infrastructure element there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device, transmitting a paging message for the terminal device from the radio network infrastructure element, wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device; and communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource.
With respect to claims, the Pending Application merely broaden the scope of the application by eliminating terms "establish there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device; communicate the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource; wherein the terminal device is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected inactive mode; transmitting a paging message for the terminal device from the radio network infrastructure element; notifying, from the radio network infrastructure element, one or more target radio network infrastructure elements in a tracking area of the radio network infrastructure element to transmit the paging message for the terminal device; wherein in response to the radio network infrastructure receiving data from the core network for a terminal device that it has previously configured to enter an RRC connected inactive state, in addition to seeking to page the terminal device, the radio network infrastructure also triggers other radio network infrastructure to seek to page the terminal device”
It has been held that the omission of the element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before, In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd. App. 1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Griot et al. US 20160374048 hereafter Griot.
As to Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Griot discloses circuitry [i.e. Processor] for a radio network infrastructure element [i.e. Base Station/BS] for use in communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and a terminal device [i.e. UE/User Equipment] in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the circuitry is configured to [Figs. 1, 5, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0004-0005, 0077: A wireless communication system include base stations supporting communication for communication devices known as a user equipment/UE. UE include data communication technology to communicate with a base station. Base station-800 include a processor]:
transmit a paging message for the terminal device [Fig. 5 (Depicts BS transmits Page Message with Resource Assignment-520 to UE), Sections 0066, 0091: When the base station receives the paging request including a small data packet, the BS pages the UE. The UE receives a page from the base station],
wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device [Section 0009: Method includes formatting the small data packet into a paging request/message including UE identification (i.e. identifier) and transmitting the paging to one or more base stations] and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data [i.e. packet] between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device [Fig. 5 (Depicts BS transmits Page Message with Resource Assignment-520 to UE), Fig. 12, Sections 0067, 0079, 0082: The base station identify resources and include the resources in the page message to the UE; the resources for use with small data transmission. The BS receive a paging request from C-GSN that includes a UE identification and a small data packet, and transmit a page to the UE. Base station assign a set of resource to the UE include an indication of assigned set of resources in a page].
As to Claim 2. (Currently Amended) Griot discloses a terminal device [i.e. UE/User Equipment] for use in communicating data between a radio network infrastructure [i.e. Base Station/BS] and the terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the terminal device comprises circuitry [Processor] configured to [Fig. 1, 5, 11, Sections 0004-0005, 0098: A wireless communication system include base stations supporting communication for communication devices known as a user equipment/UE. UE include data communication technology to communicate with a base station. UE include a processor-1105]:
receive a paging message from a radio network infrastructure element [Fig. 5 (Depicts BS transmits Page Message with Resource Assignment-520 to UE), Sections 0066, 0091: When the base station (radio network infrastructure element) receives the paging request including a small data packet, the BS pages the UE. The UE receives a page from the base station],
wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device [Section 0009: Method includes formatting the small data packet into a paging request including UE identification (i.e. identifier) and the small data packet; and transmitting the paging request to one or more base stations] and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data [i.e. packet] between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device [Fig. 5 (Depicts BS transmits Page Message with Resource Assignment-520 to UE), Fig. 12, Sections 0067, 0079, 0082: The base station identify resources and include the resources in the page message to the UE; the resources for use with small data transmission. The BS receive a paging request from C-GSN that includes a UE identification and a small data packet, and transmit a page to the UE. Base station assign a set of resource to the UE include an indication of assigned set of resources in a page].
As to Claim 3. (Currently Amended) Griot discloses circuitry [Processor] for a terminal device [i.e. UE/User Equipment] for use in communicating data between a radio network infrastructure and the terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the circuitry is configured to [Figs. 1, 5, Sections 0004-0005, 0098: A wireless communication system include base stations supporting communication for communication devices known as a user equipment/UE. UE include data communication technology to communicate with a base station. UE include a processor-1105]:
receive a paging message from a radio network infrastructure element [Fig. 5 (Depicts BS transmits Page Message with Resource Assignment-520 to UE), Sections 0066, 0091: When the base station (radio network infrastructure element) receives the paging request including a small data packet, the BS pages the UE. The UE receives a page from the base station],
wherein the paging message comprises an indication of an identifier for the terminal device [Section 0009: Method includes formatting the small data packet into a paging request including UE identification (i.e. identifier) and the small data packet; and transmitting the paging request to one or more base stations] and an indication of a network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data [i.e. packet] between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device [Fig. 5 (Depicts BS transmits Page Message with Resource Assignment-520 to UE), Fig. 12, Sections 0067, 0079, 0082: The base station identify resources and include the resources in the page message to the UE; the resources for use with small data transmission. The BS receive a paging request from C-GSN that includes a UE identification and a small data packet, and transmit a page to the UE. Base station assign a set of resource to the UE include an indication of assigned set of resources in a page].
As to Claim 4. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor]:
receive at the radio network infrastructure element [i.e. Base Station/BS] a paging response from the terminal device indicating the terminal device received the paging message transmitted by the radio network infrastructure element [Sections 0066, 0091: The base station transmits paging request including small data packet and the UE replies to the paging. The UE receives a page from the base station and transmits a response to the page and may acknowledge the small data packet].
As to Claim 5. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1 [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor], wherein the network allocated resource includes a network allocated identifier for the terminal device [Sections 0065, 0067: The paging request includes content such as UE identity (ID), paging information and data packet; the base station transmit the page to the UE. The base station identify resources and include the resources in the page message to the UE].
As to Claim 6. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1 [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor], wherein the network allocated identifier for the terminal device includes a cell-specific radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI [Sections 0065, 0068: The paging request includes content such as UE identity, paging information and data packet. The base station transmits page message including resource information, and cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) fields as a payload of data packet].
As to Claim 7. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor]:
communicate the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device using the network allocated resource, and transmit the data in association with the network allocated identifier [Sections 0065, 0067-0068: The paging request includes content such as UE identity (ID). The base station identify resources and include the resources in the page message to the UE. The base station transmits page message including resource information, timing advance, uplink grant, and/or cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) fields as a payload of data packet].
As to Claim 8. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 7, wherein the circuitry [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor] for transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier is further configured to [Section 0009: Method includes formatting the small data packet into a paging request including UE identification and the small data packet; and transmitting the paging request to one or more base stations]:
address an allocation message comprising an indication of an allocation of radio resources to be used for communicating the data from the radio network infrastructure element to the terminal device to the network allocated identifier [Sections 0065, 0067: The paging request includes content such as UE identity, paging information and data packet; the base station transmit the page to the UE. The base station identify resources and include the resources in the page message to the UE; the resources include time, frequency, and/or preamble resources for use with small data transmission].
As to Claim 9. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 7, wherein the circuitry [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor] for transmitting the data in association with the network allocated identifier is further configured to [Section 0009: Method includes formatting the small data packet into a paging request including UE identification and the small data packet; and transmitting the paging request to one or more base stations]
address an allocation message [Section 0049: Base Station transmits a paging request with dedicated preamble assignment] comprising an indication of an allocation of radio resources [i.e. preamble resources] to be used for communicating the data from the terminal device to the radio network infrastructure element to the network allocated identifier [Sections 0068, 0070: The base station transmits page message that includes PRACH resource information; the UE transmits random access preamble using the identified PRACH resources. In some examples, the page message may include a dedicated preamble assignment which may be used to indicate small data transmission].
As to Claim 10. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 7, wherein the circuitry [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor] for communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device is further configured to communicate the data from the terminal device to the radio network infrastructure element as a part of the paging
Response [Sections 0068, 0091: The base station transmits page message that includes PRACH resource information; the UE transmits random access preamble using the identified PRACH resources. The UE receive a page from a base station; then UE may initiate a random access channel (RACH) procedure by transmitting an access request to the base station responsive to the page, and may acknowledge the small data packet transmitted, for example, via uplink resources of PUSCH].
As to Claim 11. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1 [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor], wherein the network allocated resource comprises [Section 0067: The BS identify resources and includes in the page message to the UE] an allocation of physical transmission resources to be used for communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device [Sections 0082, 0091: Base station assign a set of resource to the UE include an indication of assigned set of resources in a page; the set of resources may be physical random access associated with transfer of data packets. UE receive resources associated with PDSCH and use resources via PUSCH].
As to Claim 12. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 11 [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor], wherein the allocation of physical transmission resources comprises resources on a physical uplink shared channel [Sections 0091: UE receive resources associated with PDSCH and use resources via PUSCH (physical uplink shared data channel)].
As to Claim 13. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 11 [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor], wherein the allocation of physical transmission resources comprises resources on a physical downlink shared channel [Sections 0091: UE receive resources associated with PDSCH (physical downlink shared channel)].
As to Claim 14. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor] establish at the radio network infrastructure element [i.e. Base Station/BS] there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device [Section 0009: Method includes formatting the small data packet into a paging request including UE identification and the small data packet; and transmitting the paging request to one or more base stations]
and receive, at the radio network infrastructure element, an indication [i.e. paging request] there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device from a core network element [i.e. C-SGN] of the wireless telecommunications network [Section 0048, 0066: Core network such as serving gateway node (C-SGN) receive data to be transmitted to a UE and core network transmits data packet to the BS. When the base station receives the paging request including a small data packet, the BS pages the UE].
As to Claim 15. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 14, wherein the circuitry [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor] for establishing there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device is further configured to [Section 0009: Method includes formatting the small data packet into a paging request including UE identification and the small data packet; and transmitting the paging request to one or more base stations]
receive, at the radio network infrastructure element, an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure and the terminal device from a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network [Fig. 4, Section 0016, 0065: Receiving, at a base station from a network node, a paging request associated with a UE, wherein paging request comprise small data packet for UE. C-SGN can transmit paging request-425 to the second base station and then to the first base station].
As to Claim 16. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor] convey an indication there is data available for communication between the radio network infrastructure [Section 0054: Base Stations communicate with the core network and with one another] and the terminal device to a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network [Sections 0061, 0068: Base station communicate data traffic information to the C-SGN or MME (mobile management entity/element). Further the base station confirm to the C-SGN data packet was delivered to the UE].
As to Claim 17. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor] select, from among a plurality of network allocated resources by the radio network infrastructure element, the network allocated resource for use in subsequently communicating the data between the radio network infrastructure element and the terminal device [Sections 0067, 0082: The base station identify (i.e. select) resources in the page to the UE, the resources may be selected from a set of available resources configured for use. Base station assign a set of resource to the UE include an indication of assigned set of resources in a page].
As to Claim 18. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor] receive, by the radio network infrastructure element from a further radio network infrastructure element of the wireless telecommunications network, an indication of the network allocated resource [Sections 0054, 0079: Base Stations communicate with one another via interface to perform scheduling (i.e. allocation of resources) for communication with UE. A base station manager determine resources for use in transmitting and receiving].
As to Claim 19. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 1 [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor], wherein the paging message transmitted by the radio network infrastructure element comprises [Fig. 5 (Depicts BS transmits Page Message with Resource Assignment-520 to UE), Section 0066: The BS pages the UE] an indication of a characteristic to be used by the terminal device for transmitting the paging response [i.e. PRACH using preamble assignment] to allow the radio network infrastructure element to determine the paging response is from the terminal device [Sections 0049, 0070: Message procedure used, in which a base station transmit a paging request with dedicated preamble assignment; UE then transmit on a PRACH using the dedicated preamble assignment. The page message include a dedicated random access preamble assignment which may be used to indicate a small data transmission; UE then transmit random access preamble].
As to Claim 20. (New) Griot discloses the circuitry for the radio network infrastructure element according to claim 18 [Figs. 1, 8 (Diagram of Base Station-800), Sections 0077: Base station include a processor], wherein the indication of a characteristic comprises an indication of a preamble sequence for the terminal device to use for the paging response [Sections 0049, 0082: Message procedure used, in which a base station transmit a paging request with dedicated preamble assignment; UE then transmit on a PRACH using the dedicated preamble assignment. In some examples, indication of assigned set of resources comprises an index into the set of preamble resources].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: RYU et al. US 20160205661 in particular Fig. 13, Sections [0247-0254, 0261] in summary discloses core network element such as S-GW sending downlink data to eNB which receives paging message and sends paging message to UE and when procedure is completed the UE receives the downlink data.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
September 17, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477