DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (US 20230031538 A1).
With regards to claim 1, D1 discloses a radiotherapy apparatus and method comprising:
a stationary support structure fixed to a support surface external to the radiation therapy system (Fig. 3) [0028-0030];
a rotatable gantry 116 with a treatment-delivering radiation source 106 and at least one X-ray imager mounted thereon [0031], wherein the treatment-delivering radiation source directs a treatment beam through a treatment isocenter of the radiation therapy system [0032] and wherein the rotatable gantry is rotatably coupled to the support structure (Fig. 3) [0032] and is configured to rotate about a bore of the radiation therapy system [0032]; and
a couch-positioning system 120 for rotating a couch about a center of rotation, wherein the couch-positioning system is rotatably coupled to the support surface and the center of rotation is vertically aligned with the treatment isocenter (Fig. 3; Abstract) [0028].
With regards to claim 3, D1 discloses wherein an axis of rotation of the rotatable gantry is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the bore [0032].
With regards to claim 4, D1 discloses wherein the bore comprises an open bore [0032] (Fig. 3).
With regards to claim 15, D1 discloses wherein the couch positioning system comprises a turntable that is coupled to the couch and rotates about the center of rotation (Abstract; Fig. 3) [0028].
With regards to claim 16, D1 discloses wherein the center of rotation is vertically aligned with a longitudinal axis of the bore (Abstract) [0032, 0040].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 (US 20210031055 A1).
With regards to claims 2, 17, and 19, D1 discloses the invention according to claim 1, but does not teach the claimed X-ray source/imager. However, D2 teaches the claimed configuration [0066] (Fig. 9). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed configuration as taught by D2 in order to provide volumetric image guidance and patient positioning verification prior to or during treatment, improving treatment accuracy.
With regards to claim 18, the combination of D1 and D2 does not explicitly teach a second additional imager as claimed. However, those skilled in the art recognize that such a modification would have been known. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of D1 and D2, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and provide the benefit of faster image acquisition times.
With regards to claim 20, although not specifically taught, those skilled in the art recognize kV sources are generally used for imaging due to the low penetration. Therefore, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of D1 and D2 with the claimed source in view of the recited benefit.
Claims 5-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D3 (US 20220305292 A1).
With regards to claims 5 and 6, D1 does not teach the claimed conical truss. However, D3 teaches an RT system comprising a gantry defining a tapered bore [0092] (Fig. 1C), wherein the centerline of the tapered bore is coaxial with the rotational axis of the gantry since the imaging and treatment components are arranged symmetrically about the central longitudinal axis of the bore such that the centerline is congruent with an axis of rotation. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed configuration as taught by D3 to provide improved accommodation of imaging and treatment hardware while maintaining access to the treatment region.
With regards to claim 7, D3 does not specify the material as claimed. Nevertheless, sheet metal bore walls were generally known. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D3 with the claimed configuration to provide a lightweight, low attenuating material to provide a protective housing for the internal components.
With regards to claim 8, D3 teaches wherein the conical truss forms a funnel-shaped cavity between the bore and the rotatable couch (Fig. 1C).
With regards to claim 9, D3 teaches wherein the treatment isocenter 150 is disposed within the funnel-shaped cavity [0093] (Fig. 1C).
With regards to claim 10, D3 teaches wherein the funnel-shaped cavity is defined at least in part by a cone angle of the conical truss [0092-0093] (Fig. 1C).
With regards to claim 11, D1 does not teach the claimed configuration. However, such a modification would have been known. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to position the imaging detector on the gantry outside the funnel shaped treatment cavity to preserve treatment space within the cavity while maintaining imaging functionality.
With regards to claim 12, D1 teaches an imaging detector [0031]. Although not explicitly taught, flat panel detectors are conventionally oriented perpendicular to the incoming beam to maximize detector efficiency. As such, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed configuration in view of the recited benefit.
With regards to claim 13, D3 teaches wherein the couch positioning system is configured to rotate the couch about the center of rotation to a maximum rotated position of the couch that is within a funnel-shaped cavity of the radiation therapy system [0010] (Fig. 1C).
With regards to claim 14, D3 teaches a patient platform having multiple degrees of freedom and rotational adjustment capability [0094]. Although D3 does not teach the claimed configuration, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D3 with the claimed configuration such that the maximum rotational travel of a lterally displaced couch would be determined by the available clearance between the couch and surrounding treatment structure in order to avoid collision between the patient support and the treatment apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884