DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claims 1 and 11
Claims 1 and 11 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f).
Claim 1
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “stationary support structure” uses the generic placeholder “structure” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function, and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, this limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) as corresponding to a drive stand (Applicant’s specification, ¶ 40) and equivalents thereof. Regarding the interpretations of claims using generic placeholders, see MPEP § 2181(I)(A).
Claim 11
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “couch-positioning system” uses the generic placeholder “system” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function, and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, this limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) as corresponding to a turntable that is coupled to the couch and rotates about the center of rotation (Applicant’s claim 14 as originally filed) and equivalents thereof.
Claims 2 and 17
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, each claim recites “congruent” in “a center line that is congruent with an axis of rotation”. However, the ordinary meaning of “congruent” is matching in size and shape. While Applicant is free to be his own lexicographer, terms used contrary to their ordinary meaning must be clearly redefined in the written description. See MPEP § 2173.05(a)(III). No such clear redefinition exists in the written description. In view of Applicant’s disclosure, Examiner has considered --coincident-- to be intended.
Claim Rejections — 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-3 and 16-18
Claims 1-3 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Maurer (US 2016/0303400 A1) in view of Bouchet (US 2016/0067525 A1) and Jensen (US 2019/0099623 A1).
Claim 1
Regarding claim 1, Maurer discloses a radiation therapy system 200 comprising: a rotatable gantry 204 with a treatment-delivering radiation source (108, 210) and at least one X-ray imager 112 mounted thereon, wherein the treatment-delivering radiation source (108, 210) directs a treatment beam 203 through a treatment isocenter 216 of the radiation therapy system 200 and wherein the rotatable gantry 204 is rotatably coupled to a conical structure 202 and is configured to rotate about a bore 218 of the radiation therapy system 200, with the conical structure 202 for supporting the treatment-delivering radiation source (108, 210) and the at least one X-ray imager 112 (¶¶ 46-65; Figs. 1-2D; ¶ 60: “the gantry frame 202 is configured and dimensioned such that a conical tapering 221 is provided at one or both ends of the central bore 218”).
While Maurer discloses some elements may be truss-type structures (¶ 58), and while trusses were generally well-known, Maurer does not expressly disclose the conical structure is a conical truss. Bouchet discloses a radiation therapy system wherein a radiation source (particle accelerator) is supported by a truss (¶ 76).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which Applicant’s claimed invention pertains to have further modified the invention of Maurer, in view of the teachings of Bouchet, so that the conical structure is a conical truss.
One would have been motivated to do so to reduce weight as compared to using a solid structure.
Maurer modified does not expressly disclose a stationary support structure, which is a drive stand, the stationary support structure is fixed to a support surface external to the radiation therapy system, such that the rotatable gantry is further rotatably coupled to the support surface.
Jensen discloses a stationary support structure 210, which is a drive stand, the stationary support structure 210 is fixed to a support surface 202 (floor) that is external to a radiation therapy system 110, such that a rotatable gantry 220 is rotatably coupled to the support surface 202 (¶ 20; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which Applicant’s claimed invention pertains to have further modified the invention of Maurer, in view of the teachings of Jensen, to include a stationary support structure, which is a drive stand, the stationary support structure is fixed to a support surface external to the radiation therapy system, such that the rotatable gantry is further rotatably coupled to the support surface.
One would have been motivated to do so to provide more stability as compared to not having the radiation therapy fixed to the floor.
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Maurer modified teaches the radiation therapy system of claim 1, wherein the conical truss has a center line that is congruent with an axis of rotation of the rotatable gantry (Maurer, ¶¶ 46-65; Figs. 1-2D).
Claim 3
Regarding claim 3, Maurer modified teaches the radiation therapy system of claim 1, wherein the conical truss comprises a truncated sheet metal (steel) cone (Bouchet, ¶ 76).
Claim 16
Regarding claim 16, Maurer modified teaches a stationary support structure and a rotatable gantry for a radiation therapy system, the rotatable gantry configured to rotate about a bore of the radiation therapy system, the rotatable gantry comprising:
a treatment-delivering radiation source that is coupled to the rotatable gantry and directs a treatment beam through a treatment isocenter of the radiation therapy system;
at least one X-ray imager that is coupled to the rotatable gantry; and
a conical truss for supporting the treatment-delivering radiation source and the at least one
X-ray imager (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Maurer modified further teaches a rotatable coupling that couples the rotatable gantry to the stationary support structure of the radiation therapy system (Bouchet, ¶ 31, needed to use the drive stand identified in the rejection of claim 1 above);
the at least one X-ray imager has an X-ray receiving surface that is oriented at a non-orthogonal angle to X-rays received by the at least one X-ray imager (Maurer, ¶¶ 46-65, Fig. 1).
Claims 17-18
Regarding claims 17-18, see the rejections of claims 2-3 above, respectively, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 11 and 14-15
Claims 11 and 14-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Maurer in view of Bouchet and Jensen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Carol (US 5,037,374 A).
Claims 11 and 14
Regarding claims 11 and 14, Maurer modified teaches the radiation therapy system of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose a couch-positioning system that rotates a couch of the radiation therapy system about a center of rotation, wherein the couch positioning system comprises a turntable that is coupled to the couch and rotates about the center of rotation.
Carol discloses a couch-positioning system that rotates a couch 303 of a radiation therapy system about a center of rotation 307, wherein the couch positioning system comprises a turntable 302 that is coupled to the couch 303 and rotates about the center of rotation 307 (col. 1, ll. 1-12, col. 5, ll. 10-55; Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which Applicant’s claimed invention pertains to have further modified the invention of Maurer, in view of the teachings of Carol, to include a couch-positioning system that rotates a couch of the radiation therapy system about a center of rotation, wherein the couch positioning system comprises a turntable that is coupled to the couch and rotates about the center of rotation.
One would have been motivated to do so to provide convenient positioning of the patient.
Claim 15
Regarding claim 15, Maurer modified teaches the radiation therapy system of claim 11, wherein the center of rotation is vertically aligned with a longitudinal axis of the bore (Jensen, col. 5, ll. 10-55; Figs. 1-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, 12-13, and 19-20
Claims 4-10, 12-13, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if terminal disclaimers are filed and accepted for the patents identified above in the double patenting rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 4, 12, and 19
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 19, with reference to representative claim 4, the cited prior art does not expressly disclose or suggest the claimed invention, particularly wherein the conical truss forms a funnel-shaped cavity between the bore and a rotatable couch of the radiation therapy system, in combination with the other elements of the claim.
The cited prior art discloses some elements of the claim. The cited prior art teaches claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
While various means for radiation therapy were generally known in the art, the cited prior art does not expressly disclose or suggest Applicant’s particularly claimed configuration. Accordingly, claims 4, 12, and 19 would be allowable.
Claims 5-10, 13, and 20
Regarding claims 5-10, 13, and 20, the claims would be allowable due to their dependence.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Klimenko (US 2013/0317343 A1) discloses a radiation therapy system (¶ 2) and a patient couch supported by a turntable (¶ 41).
Gaderlund (US 2021/0196985 A1) discloses a radiation therapy system 100 comprising a drive stand 210, a gantry bearing 220, wherein the gantry bearing 220 is disposed on a surface 201 of the drive stand 210, and the drive stand 210 is fixed to a support surface 202 that is external to the radiation therapy system 100 (¶ 27; Figs. 2A-B).
Blake C. Riddick, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/BLAKE C RIDDICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884