DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guerrero (US 20080027519 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 6, Guerrero discloses a system/method, comprising:
a laser (Par. 0047 teaches a laser), configured to:
thin a target site in an iris of an eye by irradiating the target site with one or more first radiation-pulses (Par. 0057 teaches thinning the target tissue. Par. 0031 teaches this system is used to perform an iridotomy on the iris), and
subsequently to thinning the target site, form a hole through the target site by irradiating the target site with one or more second radiation-pulses (Par. 0031 teaches that after thinning the iris, the laser can be used to create a hole in the iris); and
a controller (Par. 0053 teaches a laser control system), configured to instruct the laser to increase a peak intensity of radiation beams emitted by the laser subsequently to the laser thinning the target site and prior to the laser forming the hole (Par. 0055 teaches the elements of the laser can be picked/controlled such as the laser power, i.e. intensity)
In regards to claims 2 and 7, Guerrero discloses the system/method according to claim 1/6, wherein the controller is configured to increase the peak intensity by reducing a spot size of the radiation beams on the iris (Par. 0055-0056 teaches that there is a laser control system that can control the range of the laser power, i.e. intensity, as well as the laser spot size)
In regards to claims 3 and 8, Guerrero discloses the system/method according to claim 1/6, wherein the controller is configured to increase the peak intensity by decreasing a pulse duration of the laser (Par. 0055 teaches that there is a laser control system that can control the range of the laser power, i.e. intensity, as well as the laser duration)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 4-5 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guerrero in view of Ogilvy (US 20090304033 A1).
In regards to claims 4-5 and 9-10, Guerrero discloses the system/method according to claim 3/8, except for wherein the laser comprises an actively Q-switched laser comprising a Q-switch, and wherein the controller is configured to leave the Q-switch open for at least 100 ns for each of the first radiation-pulses, wherein the controller is further configured to pump the laser while the Q-switch is open for each of the first radiation-pulses..
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ogilvy discloses a laser system for treating the eyes (Abstract and Par. 0213) wherein a Q-switched laser is employed (Par. 0257) and wherein this Q-switch can be open for 1ns-150ns of the laser pulse (Par. 0257) in order to convert continuous laser light into a pulsed laser light (Par. 0204).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have taken the teachings of Guerrero and modified them by having the laser be a Q-switched laser, as taught and suggested by Ogilvy, in order to convert continuous laser light into a pulsed laser light (Par. 0204 of Ogilvy).
Conclusion
/S.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796