DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 November 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murate (US 2015/0367633.)
Regarding claim 1,
Murate discloses a method of determining a state of a print head including
a first pressure chamber [27 in figs. 6A-6B and 19] a volume of which varies in accordance with a drive signal [as seen in figs. 6A-6B; paragraphs 0072-0075],
a second pressure chamber [27 in figs. 6A-6B and 19] a volume of which varies in accordance with the drive signal [as seen in figs. 6A-6B; paragraphs 0072-0075],
a nozzle [20 in figs. 4-6B and 19] which is communicated with the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber [as seen in fig. 19] , and which ejects a liquid [paragraphs 0064-0067],
a first piezoelectric element [35 in figs. 5 and 13-14] configured to output a first residual vibration signal according to a first residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the first pressure chamber [paragraphs 0069 and 0075], and
a second piezoelectric element [35 in figs. 5 and 13-14] configured to output a second residual vibration signal according to a second residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the second pressure chamber [paragraphs 0069 and 0075], the method comprising:
a residual vibration generation step of changing the volumes of the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber to thereby generate the first residual vibration and the second residual vibration [paragraphs 0074-0076];
a signal conversion step of converting a composite signal obtained by combining a signal waveform of the first residual vibration signal and a signal waveform of the second residual vibration signal with each other into a digital composite wave signal [paragraphs 0105-0106 and 0116-0118]; and
a determination step of determining the state of the print head [220 in figs. 3-5] based on the digital composite wave signal [paragraphs 0150-0162; seen in fig. 17.]
Regarding claim 2,
Murate further discloses wherein in the residual vibration generation step,
the volume of the first pressure chamber is changed by driving the first piezoelectric element in accordance with the drive signal, and
the volume of the second pressure chamber is changed by driving the second piezoelectric element in accordance with the drive signal [paragraphs 0072-0076.]
Regarding claim 3,
Murate further discloses wherein the signal conversion step includes an extraction step of extracting a signal of an AC component contained in the composite signal [paragraph 0114.]
Regarding claim 4,
Murate further discloses wherein the signal conversion step includes an amplification step of amplifying the signal of the AC component [paragraph 0114.]
Regarding claim 5,
Murate further discloses wherein the determination step calculates at least one of an amplitude and a frequency of the composite signal based on the digital composite wave signal, and determines the state of the print head based on the calculation result [paragraphs 0115-0118.]
Regarding claim 6,
Murate discloses a head unit [200 in figs. 2 and 13] comprising:
a drive circuit [37 in fig. 14] configured to output a drive signal [paragraph 0104];
a first pressure chamber [27 in figs. 6A-6B and 19] a volume of which varies in accordance with a drive signal [as seen in figs. 6A-6B; paragraphs 0072-0075],
a second pressure chamber [27 in figs. 6A-6B and 19] a volume of which varies in accordance with the drive signal [as seen in figs. 6A-6B; paragraphs 0072-0075],
a nozzle [20 in figs. 4-6B and 19] which is communicated with the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber [as seen in fig. 19] , and which ejects a liquid [paragraphs 0064-0067],
a first piezoelectric element [35 in figs. 5 and 13-14] configured to output a first residual vibration signal according to a first residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the first pressure chamber [paragraphs 0069 and 0075], and
a second piezoelectric element [35 in figs. 5 and 13-14] configured to output a second residual vibration signal according to a second residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the second pressure chamber [paragraphs 0069 and 0075],
an AD conversion circuit [242 in fig. 13] configured to convert a composite signal obtained by combining a signal waveform of the first residual vibration signal and a signal waveform of the second residual vibration signal with each other into a digital composite wave signal [paragraphs 0105-0106 and 0116-0118]; and
a processor configured to determine an ejection state of a liquid from the nozzle based on the digital composite wave signal [paragraphs 0150-0162; as seen in fig. 17.]
Regarding claim 7,
Murate further discloses wherein
the volume of the first pressure chamber is changed by driving the first piezoelectric element in accordance with the drive signal, and
the volume of the second pressure chamber is changed by driving the second piezoelectric element in accordance with the drive signal [paragraphs 0072-0076.]
Regarding claim 8,
Murate further discloses the head unit further comprising:
a filter circuit [251 in fig. 13] configured to extract a signal of an AC component contained in the composite signal [paragraph 0114.]
Regarding claim 9,
Murate further discloses the head unit further comprising:
an amplifier circuit [252 in fig. 13] configured to amplify the signal of the AC component [paragraph 0114.]
Regarding claim 10,
Murate further discloses wherein the processor calculates at least one of an amplitude and a frequency of the composite signal based on the digital composite wave signal, and determines the ejection state of the liquid from the nozzle based on the calculation result [paragraphs 0115-0118.]
Regarding claim 12,
Murate discloses a liquid ejection apparatus [100 in fig. 1] comprising:
a drive circuit [37 in fig. 14] configured to output a drive signal [paragraph 0104];
a first pressure chamber [27 in figs. 6A-6B and 19] a volume of which varies in accordance with a drive signal [as seen in figs. 6A-6B; paragraphs 0072-0075],
a second pressure chamber [27 in figs. 6A-6B and 19] a volume of which varies in accordance with the drive signal [as seen in figs. 6A-6B; paragraphs 0072-0075],
a nozzle [20 in figs. 4-6B and 19] which is communicated with the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber [as seen in fig. 19] , and which ejects a liquid [paragraphs 0064-0067],
a first piezoelectric element [35 in figs. 5 and 13-14] configured to output a first residual vibration signal according to a first residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the first pressure chamber [paragraphs 0069 and 0075], and
a second piezoelectric element [35 in figs. 5 and 13-14] configured to output a second residual vibration signal according to a second residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the second pressure chamber [paragraphs 0069 and 0075],
an AD conversion circuit [242 in fig. 13] configured to convert a composite signal obtained by combining a signal waveform of the first residual vibration signal and a signal waveform of the second residual vibration signal with each other into a digital composite wave signal [paragraphs 0105-0106 and 0116-0118];
a processor configured to determine an ejection state of a liquid from the nozzle based on the digital composite wave signal [paragraphs 0150-0162; as seen in fig. 17]; and
a conveyance mechanism [“recording medium conveying device” in paragraphs 0049-0050] configured to convey a medium [113 in fig. 1] on which the liquid ejected from the nozzle lands [as seen in fig. 1; paragraphs 0046-0050.]
Regarding claim 13,
Murate further discloses wherein
the volume of the first pressure chamber is changed by driving the first piezoelectric element in accordance with the drive signal, and
the volume of the second pressure chamber is changed by driving the second piezoelectric element in accordance with the drive signal [paragraphs 0072-0076.]
Regarding claim 14,
Murate further discloses the liquid ejection apparatus further comprising:
a filter circuit [251 in fig. 13] configured to extract a signal of an AC component contained in the composite signal [paragraph 0114.]
Regarding claim 15,
Murate further discloses the liquid ejection apparatus further comprising:
an amplifier circuit [252 in fig. 13] configured to amplify the signal of the AC component [paragraph 0114.]
Regarding claim 16,
Murate further discloses wherein the processor calculates at least one of an amplitude and a frequency of the composite signal based on the digital composite wave signal, and determines the ejection state of the liquid from the nozzle based on the calculation result [paragraphs 0115-0118.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murate in view of Murayama (US 2021/0331467.)
Regarding claims 11 and 17,
Murate discloses the claimed limitations as set forth above but fails to expressly disclose the head unit / liquid ejection apparatus further comprising:
a supply port and a discharge port, wherein
the liquid supplied from the supply port is discharged from the discharge port via the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber, and
at least a part of the liquid discharged from the discharge port is returned to the supply port.
However, Murayama discloses a liquid ejection head unit [24 in fig. 2] comprising:
a drive circuit [45 in fig. 2] configured to output a drive signal [paragraph 0032];
a first pressure chamber [Ca in fig. 4] and a second pressure chamber [Cb in fig. 4], wherein a volume of each varies in accordance with the drive signal [paragraph 0047];
a nozzle [N in fig. 4] which is communicated with the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber, and which ejects a liquid [paragraph 0065];
a first piezoelectric element and a second piezoelectric element [41 in fig. 2], each configured to output a residual vibration signal according to a residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the first pressure chamber [paragraph 0033];
a supply port [E1 in figs. 3-4] and a discharge port [E2 in figs. 3-4], wherein the liquid supplied from the supply port is discharged from the discharge port via the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber [as seen in figs. 3-4], and at least a part of the liquid discharged from the discharge port is returned to the supply port [paragraphs 0050-0052 and 0062]; and
a processor [55 in fig. ] configured to determine an ejection state of a liquid from the nozzle [paragraph 0095.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head unit in the Murate invention to include a supply port and a discharge port as taught by Murayama for the purpose of circulating the liquid throughout the head unit, therefore providing bubble removal, temperature control, and a consistent flow of liquid.
Double Patenting
Claims 6-9, 11-15, and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 9-12 of copending Application No. 18/949,121 (reference application – allowed but not yet issued). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Instant application: 18/947,015
Reference application: 18/949,121
6. A head unit comprising:
a drive circuit configured to output a drive signal;
a first pressure chamber a volume of which varies in accordance with the drive signal;
a second pressure chamber a volume of which varies in accordance with the drive signal;
a nozzle which is communicated with the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber, and which ejects a liquid;
a first piezoelectric element configured to output a first residual vibration signal according to a first residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the first pressure chamber;
a second piezoelectric element configured to output a second residual vibration signal according to a second residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the second pressure chamber;
an AD conversion circuit configured to convert a composite signal obtained by combining a signal waveform of the first residual vibration signal and a signal waveform of the second residual vibration signal with each other into a digital composite wave signal; and
a processor configured to determine an ejection state of a liquid from the nozzle based on the digital composite wave signal.
7. The head unit according to claim 6, wherein
the volume of the first pressure chamber is changed by driving the first piezoelectric element in accordance with the drive signal, and
the volume of the second pressure chamber is changed by driving the second piezoelectric element in accordance with the drive signal.
8. The head unit according to claim 6, further comprising: a filter circuit configured to extract a signal of an AC component contained in the composite signal.
9. The head unit according to claim 8, further comprising: an amplifier circuit configured to amplify the signal of the AC component.
11. The head unit according to claim 6, further comprising:
a supply port and a discharge port, wherein
the liquid supplied from the supply port is discharged from the discharge port via the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber, and
at least a part of the liquid discharged from the discharge port is returned to the supply port.
12. A liquid ejection apparatus comprising:
a drive circuit configured to output a drive signal;
a first pressure chamber a volume of which varies in accordance with the drive signal;
a second pressure chamber a volume of which varies in accordance with the drive signal;
a nozzle which is communicated with the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber, and which ejects a liquid;
a first piezoelectric element configured to output a first residual vibration signal according to a first residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the first pressure chamber;
a second piezoelectric element configured to output a second residual vibration signal according to a second residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the second pressure chamber;
an AD conversion circuit configured to convert a composite signal obtained by combining a signal waveform of the first residual vibration signal and a signal waveform of the second residual vibration signal with each other into a digital composite wave signal; and
a processor configured to determine an ejection state of a liquid from the nozzle based on the digital composite wave signal; and
a conveyance mechanism configured to convey a medium on which the liquid ejected from the nozzle lands.
13. The liquid ejection apparatus according to claim 12, wherein
the volume of the first pressure chamber is changed by driving the first piezoelectric element in accordance with the drive signal, and
the volume of the second pressure chamber is changed by driving the second piezoelectric element in accordance with the drive signal.
14. The liquid ejection apparatus according to claim 12, further comprising:
a filter circuit configured to extract a signal of an AC component contained in the composite signal.
15. The liquid ejection apparatus according to claim 14, further comprising:
an amplifier circuit configured to amplify the signal of the AC component.
17. The liquid ejection apparatus according to claim 12, further comprising:
a supply port and a discharge port, wherein
the liquid supplied from the supply port is discharged from the discharge port via the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber, and
at least a part of the liquid discharged from the discharge port is returned to the supply port.
1. A head unit comprising:
a drive circuit configured to output a drive signal;
a first pressure chamber a volume of which varies in accordance with the drive signal;
a second pressure chamber a volume of which varies in accordance with the drive signal;
a first nozzle that communicates with the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber, and that is configured to eject a liquid;
a first piezoelectric element configured to output a first residual vibration signal according to a first residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the first pressure chamber;
a second piezoelectric element configured to output a second residual vibration signal according to a second residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the second pressure chamber;
an inspection signal output circuit to which the first residual vibration signal and the second residual vibration signal are input, and which is configured to output an inspection signal;
a processor configured to determine an ejection state of the liquid from the first nozzle based on the inspection signal; and
[…]
2. The head unit according to claim 1, wherein
the first piezoelectric element is driven in accordance with the drive signal, and a volume of the first pressure chamber may be changed by driving the first piezoelectric element, and
the second piezoelectric element is driven in accordance with the drive signal, and a volume of the second pressure chamber may be changed by driving the second piezoelectric element.
4. The head unit according to claim 1, wherein the inspection signal output circuit includes a filter circuit and an amplifier circuit.
3. The head unit according to claim 1, further comprising:
a supply port and a discharge port, wherein
the liquid supplied from the supply port is discharged from the discharge port via the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber, and
at least a part of the liquid discharged from the discharge port is returned to the supply port.
9. A liquid ejection apparatus comprising:
a drive circuit configured to output a drive signal;
a first pressure chamber a volume of which varies in accordance with the drive signal;
a second pressure chamber a volume of which varies in accordance with the drive signal;
a first nozzle that communicates with the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber, and that is configured to eject a liquid;
a first piezoelectric element configured to output a first residual vibration signal according to a first residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the first pressure chamber;
a second piezoelectric element configured to output a second residual vibration signal according to a second residual vibration generated in accordance with a volume change of the second pressure chamber;
an inspection signal output circuit to which the first residual vibration signal and the second residual vibration signal are input, and which is configured to output an inspection signal;
a processor configured to determine an ejection state of the liquid from the first nozzle based on the inspection signal;
[…]
a conveyance mechanism configured to convey a medium on which the liquid ejected from the first nozzle lands, […]
10. The liquid ejection apparatus according to claim 9, wherein
the first piezoelectric element is driven in accordance with the drive signal, and a volume of the first pressure chamber is changed by driving the first piezoelectric element, and
the second piezoelectric element is driven in accordance with the drive signal, and a volume of the second pressure chamber is changed by driving the second piezoelectric element.
12. The liquid ejection apparatus according to claim 9, wherein
the inspection signal output circuit includes a filter circuit and an amplifier circuit.
11. The liquid ejection apparatus according to claim 9, further comprising:
a supply port and a discharge port, wherein
the liquid supplied from the supply port is discharged from the discharge port via the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber, and
at least a part of the liquid discharged from the discharge port is returned to the supply port.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853