Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 16, 18-19, 26, 63, 78, 86, 134-135, 144, 154-155, 160, 167, 176, 180, 192, 204, and 222 are pending. Claims 1, 16, 18-19, 26, 63, 78, 86, 134-135, 144, 154-155, 160, 167, 176, 180, 192, 204, and 222 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2024 was considered by the Examiner.
Priority Data
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16, 18-19, 26, 63, 78, 86, 134-135, 144, 154-155, 160, 167, 176, 180, 192, 204, and 222 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birbara (US 2015/0133561) and Campbell (WO2017/127628) [both references disclosed on 11/14/2024 IDS].
Birbara teaches a 74 year old male with painful osteoarthritis of the knee joint received a capsaicin injection while the knee was continuously cooled with ice. This male additionally was treated with 10 ml of a 1% (10 mL of 0.01 grams/ml = 0.1g) lidocaine injection into the knee. Fourteen minutes after injection of the capsaicin, subject experienced complete relief of his osteoarthritic pain symptoms and treatment, including cooling, was terminated (see para. [0202] and Table X).
Birbara discloses capsaicin injections ranging from 0.001 mg to 1.0 mg and they can provide pain relief for greater than 6 months (see para [0116] and [0118]). Additionally, “[c]ooling the joint or administration site via external cooling means such as a gel pack or ice pack or cooling device also reduces the painful effects from capsaicinoid administration. In one embodiment, the cooling or gel pack produces a temperature above freezing, e.g. 38-50 degrees F” (see para. [0115]). (38-50 degrees F is approximately 3 – 10 degrees C.) The formulations of their invention are useful in relieving pain at an intra-articular site by intra-articular administration injection to the knee (see para [0103] and [0104]).
While Birbara teaches capsaicin administration to an osteoarthritic knee in conjunction with cooling the site, they do not teach sequential dosing of the capsaicin. They also do not teach cooling the site for at least 30 minutes pre and post treatment or reduction in pain specifically using the Numeric Pain Rating Scale (NPRS).
Campbell teaches injecting sequential dosing of capsaicin to treat pain to due to an intermetatarsal neuroma. The methods provide pain relief for up to a year (see para [0006]). The methods generally involve at least two doses of capsaicin to the patient, wherein the second dose is administered no sooner than 3 months after administration of the first dose (see para [0006] and [0007]). The first and second doses of capsaicin are in an amount ranging from about 100 ug to about 1,000 ug (see para [0008]).
Campbell additionally teaches cooling tissue adjacent to the capsaicin injection site by using a cold article having a temperature of about 5 degrees C to about 10 degrees C for approximately 15 minutes. Then, administering a local anesthetic agent including 4 mL of a 1% lidocaine solution (0.04 grams), without epinephrine, to surrounding tissue approximately 30 minutes prior to capsaicin administration. After the capsaicin injection, cooling agent is then put back on the treatment surface for about 30 to 60 minutes (see para [0062]). There is an additional embodiment where cooling is placed back on for 30 minutes between lidocaine and capsaicin injections (see para [0112]).
Campbell’s method is characterized by the following:
a) Achieving a reduction in pain on the NPRS by at least 1 for a duration of at least 8 months or at least 12 months (claims 89 and 93).
Achieving a reduction in pain on the NPRS by at least 2 for a duration of at least 8 months or at least 12 months (claims 99 and 103).
c)Achieving a reduction in pain on the NPRS by no greater than 1 for a duration of at least 8 months or at least 12 months (claims 109 and 113).
d)Achieving a reduction in pain on the NPRS by no greater than 2 for a duration of at least 8 months or at least 12 months (see para [0073]).
Regarding claims 1, 16, 18-19, 26, 63, 78, 86, 134-135, 144, 154-155, 160, 167, 176, 180, 192, 204, and 222, Birbara’s single capsaicin dose providing relief for greater than 6 months (para [0118]) reads on the amelioration of pain of at least 8 and 12 months. Birbara’s cooling temperature of 3 - 10 degrees C (see para [0115]) reads on the temperature range of about 1 to 15 degrees C. Wherein Campbell’s second capsaicin dose is administered no sooner than 3 months after administration of the first dose (see para [0006] and [0007]), this reads on the second dose being administered no sooner than or about 3, 4, 5, 6, 5-7 months post first capsaicin injection. A person of skill would have been motivated to test known administration protocols for capsaicin to determine which would provide optimum results for a given condition.
Regarding claim 26c, a cooling agent with a similar external temperature would be expected to create an analogously similar internal tissue temperature. Applicant has not demonstrated that these conditions impart any unexpected or novel aspect to the reaction. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05.
A PHOSITA would have been motivated to try Campbell’s second capsaicin dosing following Birbara’s single capsaicin injection because it was effective for one condition and osteoarthritic joint pain is difficult to treat. It would have been obvious to optimize a regimen to include further doses of capsaicin to prolong the period of pain relief and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 176, 180, 192, and 204, Campbell teaches the same pain reduction assessments. As these are standard pain reduction parameters, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to assess these markers following the two dose capsaicin treatment for osteoarthritic knee pain treatment instead of a similar regimen for intermetatarsal neuroma treatment. This renders the claimed invention non-obvious.
Double Patenting
(1 of 3) Claims 1, 16, 18-19, 26, 63, 78, 86, 134-135, 144, 154-155, 160, 167, 176, 180, 192, 204, and 222 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,026,903 in view of Birbara (US 2015/0133561) and Campbell (WO2017/127628).
The claims of the patent are generic to the subject matter of claims 1, 16, 18-19, 26, 63, 78, 86, 134-135, 144, 154-155, 160, 167, 176, 180, 192, 204, and 222 discussed under 35 USC 103 and found to be obvious. The claims of the patent disclose ameliorating joint pain by applying a cooling article, administering a local anesthetic and then administering an injection of capsaicin. The discussion and rationale under 35 USC 103 are incorporated by reference. The generic claim of the patent is deemed to render obvious the instant claims since it embraces subject that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art and that is embraced by the instant claims.
(2 of 3) Claims 1, 16, 18-19, 26, 63, 78, 86, 134-135, 144, 154-155, 160, 167, 176, 180, 192, 204, and 222 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 12201594 in view of Birbara (US 2015/0133561) and Campbell (WO2017/127628).
The claims of the patent are generic to the subject matter of claims 1, 16, 18-19, 26, 63, 78, 86, 134-135, 144, 154-155, 160, 167, 176, 180, 192, 204, and 222 discussed under 35 USC 103 and found to be obvious. The claims of the patent disclose ameliorating joint pain by applying a cooling article, administering a local anesthetic and then administering an injection of capsaicin. The discussion and rationale under 35 USC 103 are incorporated by reference. The generic claim of the patent is deemed to render obvious the instant claims since it embraces subject that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art and that is embraced by the instant claims.
(3 of 3) Claims 1, 16, 18-19, 26, 63, 78, 86, 134-135, 144, 154-155, 160, 167, 176, 180, 192, 204, and 222 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18984070 in view of Birbara (US 2015/0133561) and Campbell (WO2017/127628).
The claims of the copending case are generic to the subject matter of claims 1, 16, 18-19, 26, 63, 78, 86, 134-135, 144, 154-155, 160, 167, 176, 180, 192, 204, and 222 discussed under 35 USC 103 and found to be obvious. The claims of the copending case disclose ameliorating joint pain by applying a cooling article, administering a local anesthetic and then administering an injection of capsaicin. The discussion and rationale under 35 USC 103 are incorporated by reference. The generic claim of the copending case is deemed to render obvious the instant claims since it embraces subject that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art and that is embraced by the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/MEGHAN C HEASLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/KAMAL A SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626