DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-14 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/206 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new prior art and a new combination of references for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues Jun fails to teach the newly introduced limitation "a user input device mounted within a cabin of the vehicle, the user input device being hard-wired to the electronic control unit wherein the electronic control unit is configured such that operation of the user input device cannot result in the anti-theft member being brought into the inactive condition." because Jun’s smart key is not mounted within the vehicle cabin and the smart key is not hard-wired to the vehicle controller.
However, paragraphs [0064]-[0065] of Jun clearly teach the smart key 200 is in wired communication with the vehicle controller 100. In other words, the smart key is hard-wired to the controller and wireless jamming can be prevented. Jun with inherency supported by Cho further teaches the “lock” button on the smart key is used only to lock the vehicle door or to change the door to “active condition”. The “lock” button cannot be used to unlock the vehicle doors or to change the vehicle doors to “inactive condition”.
The Office acknowledges that Jun fails to teach “user input device mounted within a cabin of the vehicle”, but the rearrangement of the smart key from outside of the vehicle to inside of the vehicle is obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, the deficiency is cured by a newly introduced prior art by Cong (Pub. No.: US 2024/0051498 A1).
Cong, in the same field of vehicle, teaches the placement of the smart key in a slot located on the armrest. See Figs. 2A-2B.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jun’s smart key to be mounted on the armrest of the vehicle to prevent fall.
Note that this rejection has been changed from the previous 35 USC § 102 rejection to the current 35 USC § 103 rejection.
In addition, the Office Action further includes a supplemental rejection, under 35 USC § 102, for rejecting independent claims 1, 9, 12 and 13.
For this rejection, a newly introduced prior art by Lange (Pub. No.: US 2018/0361955 A1) teaches the power lock buttons commonly found on the armrest area of a door are located within the vehicle cabin and are hard-wired to the vehicle for locking or unlocking its doors. Fig. 1 of Lange shows the power lock buttons include a “lock” button and an “unlock” button. The “lock” button is used to lock the doors but cannot be used to unlock the doors. This rejection applies a different approach or embodiment than the 35 USC § 103 rejection.
Accordingly, the rejection is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (Pub. No.: US 2019/0168713 A1) in view of Cong (Pub. No.: US 2024/0051498 A1) with inherency supported by Cho (Pub. No.: US 2014/0077931 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jun teaches a vehicle anti-theft device for a vehicle (Fig. 3, vehicle locking system), the vehicle anti-theft device including:
an electronic control unit (Fig. 4, controller 120);
an anti-theft member which is configurable between an inactive condition and an active condition by the electronic control unit (Fig. 1, para [0048], “When the authentication is completed between a smart key 200 (refer to FIG. 3) and the vehicle 100 via the wireless communication network, a door lock of the vehicle 100 may be released, and thus, when a user pulls the handles 17L and 17R, the doors 15L and 15R may be opened.”. The vehicle includes a door lock for each door. The door lock has a lock state and an unlock state); and
the user input device being hard-wired to the electronic control unit such that, when the user input device is operated, the anti-theft member is brought into the active condition in which the anti-theft member prevents theft of the vehicle, wherein the electronic control unit is configured such that operation of the user input device cannot result in the anti-theft member being brought into its inactive condition (para [0064], “The smart key 200 may be connected to the vehicle 100 through transmission and reception of wired or wireless signals.” and [0065], “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the smart key 200 may be a FOB key that is connected to the vehicle 100 by a wired or a wireless communication, and configured to unlock the door and configured to allow the ignition and the driving of the vehicle 100.”. The smart key 200 is connected the vehicle 100 by wire. The vehicle locks its doors if the “lock” button is pressed to prevent theft (analogous to “active condition”). The “lock” button cannot be used to unlock the vehicle doors or to change the vehicle doors to “inactive condition”. See Fig. 1 - Fig. 2 and paragraph [0045] of Cho for support and clarification.).
Jun fails to expressly teach the user input device mounted within a cabin of the vehicle.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jun’s smart key to be moutned within the vehicle because it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involve only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Also, in the same field of vehicle, Cong teaches the placement of the smart key in a slot located on the armrest. See Figs. 2A-2B.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jun’s smart key to be mounted on the armrest of the vehicle to prevent fall.
Regarding claim 2, Jun in the combination teaches the vehicle anti-theft device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an actuator which is communicatively coupled to the electronic control unit and is drivingly connected to the anti-theft member to move the anti-theft member between a locked position in which the anti-theft member prevents theft of the vehicle and an unlocked position (para [0048], “When the authentication is completed between a smart key 200 (refer to FIG. 3) and the vehicle 100 via the wireless communication network, a door lock of the vehicle 100 may be released, and thus, when a user pulls the handles 17L and 17R, the doors 15L and 15R may be opened.”. It is inherent that the door lock is operated by actuator to move the lock into a lock or unlock state. The inherency is supported by Fig. 3 and para [0061] of Cho. Cho teaches a control target driving unit 230 that controls the operation / movement of the door lock / unlock motor.).
Regarding claim 3, Jun in the combination teaches the vehicle anti-theft device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the anti-theft member takes the form of a locking member (para [0048], door lock).
Regarding claim 4, Jun in the combination teaches the vehicle anti-theft device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the user input device is a switch (Fig. 3 and Fig. 8, the smart key includes a plurality of buttons. One of the buttons is “lock” button.).
Regarding claim 9, recites a method for the device of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12, recites a method for the device of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Jun teaches a vehicle locking system that uses wired communication between the smart key and the vehicle components to prevent wireless jamming.
Regarding claim 13, Jun teaches a vehicle which includes a vehicle anti-theft device as claimed in claim 1 (Fig. 1 - Fig. 9, vehicle 100.).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (Pub. No.: US 2019/0168713 A1) in view of Cong (Pub. No.: US 2024/0051498 A1) with inherency supported by Cho (Pub. No.: US 2014/0077931 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hoehne (Pub. No.: US 2008/0135388 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the vehicle anti-theft device as claimed in claim 4, but fails to expressly teach wherein the switch is a rocker-type switch which includes a light.
However, in the same field of switch, Hoehne teaches a rocker switch with embedded OLED light. See abstract and para [0023]-[0024].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jun’s smart key buttons with OLED embedded rocker switch to provide indication.
Claims 6-7, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (Pub. No.: US 2019/0168713 A1) in view of Cong (Pub. No.: US 2024/0051498 A1) with inherency supported by Cho (Pub. No.: US 2014/0077931 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Okada (Pat. No.: US 4,730,120).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the vehicle anti-theft device as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach wherein, upon the vehicle being turned off, the electronic control unit is configured automatically to bring the anti-theft member into the active condition in which the ant-theft member prevents theft of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of vehicle, Okada teaches a vehicle that automatically locks its doors in response to a detection of the vehicle ignition being turned off. See abstract “An automatic locking device for an automobile door which can automatically lock a door a few seconds after the key is removed from the ignition switch and the door is closed. The device includes a key switch for detecting the insertion and removal of a key, a door switch for controlling the power source, and time-differential-type relays for operating an actuator.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jun’s vehicle to automatically lock its doors in response to the vehicle ignition being turned off to improve safety.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches the vehicle anti-theft device as claimed in claim 2, but fails to teach wherein, upon the vehicle being turned off, the electronic control unit is configured automatically to move the anti-theft member to the locked position.
However, in the same field of vehicle, Okada teaches a vehicle that automatically locks its doors in response to a detection of the vehicle ignition being turned off. See abstract “An automatic locking device for an automobile door which can automatically lock a door a few seconds after the key is removed from the ignition switch and the door is closed. The device includes a key switch for detecting the insertion and removal of a key, a door switch for controlling the power source, and time-differential-type relays for operating an actuator.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jun’s vehicle to automatically lock its doors in response to the vehicle ignition being turned off to improve safety.
Regarding claim 11, recites a method for the device of claim 6. Therefore, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, recites a method for the device of claims 1 and 7. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (Pub. No.: US 2019/0168713 A1) in view of Cong (Pub. No.: US 2024/0051498 A1) with inherency supported by Cho (Pub. No.: US 2014/0077931 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hille (Pat. No.: US 10,002,535 B1) and Oesterling (Pub. No.: US 2009/0164053 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Jun teaches the vehicle anti-theft device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a wireless communication module which is communicatively coupled to the electronic control unit and is configured to communicate with a remote device (Fig. 4 and para [0081], “The communicator 110 is a hardware device capable of transmitting an analog or digital signal over wire or wirelessly and may include one or more components that enable communication with an external device.”. The vehicle includes wireless communicator 110 that is in communication with the controller 120 and with an external device).
Jun fails to teach wherein, upon operation of the user input device for a predetermined length of time, the electronic control unit is configured to forward a panic signal to the remote device via the wireless communication module.
However, in the same field of vehicle, Hille teaches that the smart key 24 outputs a panic signal if the user presses the “lock” button 32 twice within a short period of time. See Fig. 1 and Col. 1 line 24-30, “Historically, when attempting to locate a vehicle in a crowded parking lot, the vehicle owner has traditionally relied on either pressing a panic button or double pressing a lock button on a key fob to activate either the vehicle alarm system or a soft chirp respectively. The vehicle owner may then listen for the audible response produced by the vehicle to locate the vehicle.”.
Also, in the same field of vehicle, Oesterling teaches a vehicle is configured to transmit a warning signal to a call center that indicates the user has actuated the panic function on the keyfob. See para [0006], “(c) sending a wireless warning signal from the telematics-equipped vehicle to a call center, wherein the wireless warning signal indicates that the panic button on the vehicle keyfob has been engaged;”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jun’s smart key to output a panic signal if the “lock” button is pressed twice within a short duration of time to reduce the number of buttons and to modify the vehicle to transmit a warning signal to an external call center to indicate the panic has been actuated to improve safety.
Regarding claim 10, recites a method for the device of claim 8. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The following is a supplemental rejection under 35 USC § 102, rejecting independent claims 1, 9, 12 and 13. The rejection relies on the power lock buttons commonly found on the armrest area of a door. Note that this rejection applies a different approach or embodiment than the 35 USC § 103 rejection above.
Claims 1, 9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lange (Pub. No.: US 2018/0361955 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lange teaches a vehicle anti-theft device for a vehicle (Fig. 1, vehicle door lock system), the vehicle anti-theft device including:
an electronic control unit (Fig. 2, control module 170);
an anti-theft member which is configurable between an inactive condition and an active condition by the electronic control unit (Fig. 1 door lock. The door lock has a lock state and an unlock state); and
a user input device mounted within a cabin of the vehicle (Fig. 1, door lock switch 116), the user input device being hard-wired to the electronic control unit such that, when the user input device is operated, the anti-theft member is brought into the active condition in which the anti-theft member prevents theft of the vehicle, wherein the electronic control unit is configured such in that operation of the user input device cannot result in the anti-theft member being brought into the inactive condition (para [0025], “A vehicle includes one power door lock switch associated with each front and each rear door of the vehicle. The PDL switch of a door can be actuated to lock and unlock all of the doors of the vehicle. In some implementations, a PDL switch of a door may lock and unlock only a subset of the doors (e.g., only the door of the PDL switch) instead of locking and unlocking all of the doors of the vehicle.” and para [0084], “The module may include one or more interface circuits. In some examples, the interface circuits may include wired or wireless interfaces that are connected to a local area network (LAN), the Internet, a wide area network (WAN), or combinations thereof. The functionality of any given module of the present disclosure may be distributed among multiple modules that are connected via interface circuits.”. The power lock switch 116 is mounted within the vehicle and is wired to the control module. The power lock switch includes a “lock” button and an “unlock” button as shown in Fig. 1. The “lock” button locks the vehicle doors to prevent theft (analogous to “active condition”). The “lock” button cannot be used to unlock the vehicle doors or to change the vehicle doors to “inactive condition”).
Regarding claims 9, 12 and 13, are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHEN Y WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685