DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I, Species G, Figures 17-19, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on September 8, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 19-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on September 8, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lett et al (US 20210228415).
Regarding claim 1, Lett et al (hereafter Lett) discloses a wound closure device comprising: a first portion (first bandage 14) including: a first elongated support layer (32); a first non-woven layer (24) coupled to the first elongated support layer; and a first fastening member (28 or 34) coupled to the first elongated support layer and disposed adjacent the first non-woven layer.
Regarding claim 2, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, further comprising: a second portion (second bandage 16) including: a second elongated support layer (32) having a first side and a second side; a second non-woven layer (24) coupled to the second elongated support layer on the first side; and a second fastening member (34 or28) coupled to the second elongated support layer on the second side.
Regarding claim 3, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 2, wherein the second fastening member of the second portion is configured and arranged to couple to the first fastening member of the first portion (figure 5B).
Regarding claim 4, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 3, wherein the first fastening member comprises hooks, and the second fastening member comprises loops, the hooks being releasably coupleable to the loops (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 5, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 3, wherein the second fastening member comprises hooks, and the first fastening member comprises loops, the hooks being releasably coupleable to the loops (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 6, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 2, wherein the first and second elongated support layers comprise a thermoplastic material (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 7, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 2, wherein the first and second elongated support layers comprise a rigid material (figure 5b, has sufficient rigidity to maintain shape).
Regarding claim 8, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, further comprising an adhesive layer (28) disposed on the first non-woven layer.
Regarding claim 9, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 8, further comprising a first removeable liner (30) at least partially covering the first non-woven layer.
Regarding claim 10, Lett discloses a wound closure device comprising: a first portion (14) including: a first elongated support layer; a first non-woven layer (32) coupled to the first elongated support layer; at least one first fastening member (34) coupled to the first elongated support layer; and at least one first weakened region (36) disposed along an axis of the first portion so that the first portion may be divided into at least two segments.
Regarding claim 11, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 8 10, further comprising: a second portion (16) including: a second elongated support layer (24) having a first side and a second side; a second non-woven layer (28) coupled to the second elongated support layer on the first side; at least one second fastening member (34) coupled to the second elongated support layer on the second side; and at least one second weakened region (36) disposed along an axis of the second portion so that the second portion may be divided into at least two segments.
Regarding claim 12, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 11, wherein the second fastening member is configured and arranged to couple to the first fastening member of the first portion (figure 5B).
Regarding claim 13, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 11, wherein the at least one first fastening member comprises hooks, and the at least one second fastening member comprises loops, the hooks being releasably coupleable to the loops (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 14, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 11, wherein the at least one second fastening member comprises hooks, and the at least one first fastening member comprises loops, the hooks being releasably coupleable to the loops (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 15, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 11, wherein the first and second elongated support layers comprise a thermoplastic material (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 16, Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 11, wherein the first weakened region (36) includes a first scored line extending across the first elongated support layer, the first non-woven layer and the at least one first fastening member, and wherein the second weakened region includes a second scored line extending across the second elongated support layer, the second non-woven layer and the at least one second fastening member (paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 17. Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 10, wherein the at least one first fastening member includes a plurality of fastening members spaced from one another (figure 5b, paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 18 Lett discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 11, wherein the at least one second fastening member includes a plurality of fastening members spaced from one another (figure 5b, paragraph 0040).
Conclusion
/ANH T DANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771