DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the claim amendment and remarks filed on August 7, 2026. Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 12 and 14 are amended; and claims 3, 5-6 and 15 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4 and 7-14 are currently pending in this application.
The examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for all the claim amendment(s) by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting this application.
All previously outstanding objections and/or rejections to the Applicant's disclosure and/or claims not contained in this office action have been respectfully withdrawn by the examiner hereto.
Claim interpretation
Claim 1 as currently presented is shown below.
Based on the reasonings below, the patentable weight is given only to the highlighted limitations above.
The claim language shown in the solid line boxes above is simply intended use/purpose and do not limit the scope of the claim. (“An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates.” Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003)).
The claim language shown in dotted line box above describes structural limitations of a computer system where the claimed method can be applied/ran. (“To be entitled to such [patentable] weight in method claims, the recited structural limitations therein must affect the method in a manipulative sense and not to amount to the mere claiming of a use of a particular structure . . . .” Ex Parte Pfeiffer, 135 USPQ 31, 33 (B.P.A.I. 1961)).
The remaining limitations (i.e. which are not highlighted, not shown in dotted/solid line boxes) describe what the algorithm, the configuration file and the one or more ring buffers includes.
Additionally, dependent claims 2, 4, 7, 11 and 13 are also considered non-limiting as they further limit the structure of the computer system recited in the non-limiting preamble of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by IEEE publication “AI/ML Inference Engine Software for High-Reliability applications on Space Qualifiable Hardware”, hereinafter referred as “the IEEE publication” dated 10/2/2023 submitted by the applicant.
As per claim 1, the IEEE publication teaches a method comprising: implementing an optimizer, wherein the optimizer:
receives optimization criteria relating to the operation of the algorithm, wherein the optimization includes execution of at least two streams in parallel ("Adapting the Klepsydra Streaming Distribution (SDO) framework to efficiently distribute Al operations among the HPDP nodes. This adaptation will optimize the distribution of AI tasks across the co-processor, enabling parallel processing and maximizing performance"; See page 5, right-hand column);
receives data relating to the running of the algorithm in the computing system according to a naïve configuration file ("Incorporate off-line inference optimization using Genetic Algorithms to cater to different optimization criteria, such as minimal CPU usage, minimal latency, and maximal data rate"; See page 4, left-hand column); and
adjusts the naïve configuration file to output an optimized configuration file according to the optimization criteria ("The final result is a configuration file that, along with the ONNX model, enables the optimal execution of the Al model on the HPDP nodes"; See page 6, left-hand column).
As per claim 8, the IEEE publication further teaches the optimizer adjusts the native configuration file using a genetic algorithm ("Using genetic algorithms, the SDO framework further optimizes the distribution and execution of the ONNX model within the Klepsydra Al + HPDP system. This optimization process aims to achieve the best possible performance based on the defined criteria"; See page 6, left-hand column).
As per claim 9, the IEEE publication further teaches the algorithm of which the execution is to be accelerated is an AI algorithm ("developing an extension to accelerate Al algorithms via the HPDP co-processor"; See Abstract).
As per claim 10, the IEEE publication further teaches the criteria comprise minimizing or maximizing any one or more of parameters selected from the configuration file, and the configuration file comprises any one or more of latency, power consumption, throughput, array processor memory usage and CPU usage ("The findings demonstrated substantial performance improvements, including increased data processing rates and power savings", "Algorithm pipelining has experienced a resurgence in high-performance computing due to its low power consumption and high throughput capabilities. The approach proposed in this paper introduces a sophisticated threading model that combines pipeline and parallelization techniques applied to deep neural networks (DNNs)"; See Abstract; page 2, left-hand column, section II.A Overview).
As per claim 12, the IEEE publication further teaches the optimizer creates an optimal number of streams that will be executed in parallel, associates memory with the streams and determines an optimal number of ring buffers that will orchestrate the streams ("The Klepsydra Streaming Distribution (SDO) framework performs a series of dry runs to evaluate and optimize the execution of the Al model on the HPDP'; See page 6, left-hand column).
As per claim 14, the IEEE publication further teaches the optimizer distributes operators of the algorithm to different HPDP nodes ("This involves adapting Klepsydra Alto utilize the HPDP as a co-processor and hardware backend accelerator. The support will include integration with the HPDP's unique capabilities, ensuring optimal utilization and performance. Adapting the Klepsydra Streaming Distribution (SDO) framework to efficiently distribute Al operations among the HPDP nodes"; See page 5, left-hand column).
Dependent claims 2, 4, 7, 11 and 13 are considered non-limiting as they further limit the structure of the computer system recited in the non-limiting preamble of claim 1. Therefore, these claims are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that:
There is no specific disclosure in the IEEE publication that the lock-free ring buffers are assigned to CPU cores and that the ring buffers are configured to retrieve memory and streams from the respective pools and output these to processing elements. While the IEEE publication may mention optimising the configuration file, it is silent on the specific method in which the configuration file is optimised.
The IEEE publication fails to teach the skilled person how the configuration file is optimised. The IEEE publication merely states that "The final result is a configuration file that, along with the ONNX model, enables the optimal execution of the Al model on the HPDP nodes. This configuration file provides the necessary instructions and parameters to leverage the capabilities of the co-processor effectively". There is no teaching of how the lock-free ring buffers should be assigned to the CPU cores or that the lock-free ring buffers orchestrates the processing elements.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to both a) and b), as indicated in the “Claim Interpretation” section above, the argued limitations of claim 1 are a part of the non-limiting preamble of claim 1. So these arguments are moot.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4 and 7-14 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hetul Patel/
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3992