DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6,8,10-15,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weili (Chinese Patent Pub CN 103296836a hereinafter “Weili”) in view of Lijian (Chinese Patent Publication CN109951024A hereinafter “Lijian”).
Re-claim 1, Weili discloses a stator (see fig.3) comprising: a stator core (3) comprising a plurality of teeth and a plurality of slots (annotated fig.4) alternately arranged in a circumferential direction at an inner portion of the stator core (fig.4); a stator coil (annotated fig.3) wound around the teeth (annotated fig.4); and a plurality of cooling passages (1-2,1-5,1-3,1-1,1-4,see fig.1-fig.4) disposed in the stator core (stator yoke) and arranged in the circumferential direction of the stator core ( passages 1-2-1,1-2-2), wherein each of the cooling passages is configured to allow a cooling fluid to flow therethrough (1-2-N are radial passges), and wherein each of the cooling passages (1-2,1-5,1-3,1-1,1-4,see fig.1-fig.4) comprises: a plurality of radial passage portions (1-2-N) disposed at the inner portion of the stator core (see fig.4), extending in a radial direction of the stator core(1-2 are radial passages), and arranged in an axial direction of the stator core (se fig.1, showing 1-2, 1-222, 1-221; and a plurality of axial passage portions (1-3) disposed at (substantially) an outer portion of the stator core, connected to the radial passage portions (1-2), and extending in the axial direction of the stator core (see fig.1-4).
Weili does not explicitly recite or show that the axial passages dispose at an outer portion of the stator.
However, Lijian shows axial passages dispose at an outer portion of the stator (602,402,403,103 are at outer of stator core).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Weili and show that the passages dispose at an outer portion of the stator as shown by Lijian to further enhance feasibility of liquid cooling and provide efficient cooling with efficient use of space of motor (Lijian, P[0005]).
Re-claim 2, Weili as modified discloses the stator of claim 1, wherein the radial passage portions (1-2) are adjacent to a first slot of the plurality of slots (see fig.3) and surround the first slot (between teeth even passages 1-4 are around each slots, they extend axially and radially, thickness).
Re-claim 3, Weili as modified discloses the stator of claim 2, wherein the radial passage portions (1-2, 1-4, between teeth even passages 1-4 are around each slots, they extend axially and radially, thickness) are disposed at first teeth disposed at opposite sides of the first slot among the plurality of teeth (see fig.4, they are all around teeth, around at least one first teeth).
Re-claim 4, Weili as modified discloses the stator of claim 1, wherein the radial passage portions (1-4, or 1-2) are connected to the axial passage portions (1-3) via a plurality of bridge passage portions (1-1).
Re-claim 5, Weili as modified discloses the stator of claim 4, wherein the bridge passage portions (1-1) extend in the radial direction (the passages 1-1 have thickness that also extend radially) of the stator core (fig.4).
Re-claim 6, Welie as modified discloses the stator of claim 1, wherein each of the cooling passages (1, 1-1-1-6) is configured to: allow the cooling fluid to flow in through first axial passage portions (1-3), each disposed at axial opposite ends of the stator core (see fig.3- to 1-4), among the plurality of axial passage portions (1-4,1-3).
Weili fails to explicitly show that discharge the cooling fluid through a first radial passage portion disposed at an axial center of the stator core (annotated fig.3 from Weili) among the plurality of radial passage portions.
However, Lijian shows discharge the cooling fluid through a first radial passage portion disposed at an axial center (of the stator core among the plurality of radial passage portions (602,402,403,103 are at outer of stator core).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Weili and show discharge the cooling fluid through a first radial passage portion disposed at an axial center of the stator core among the plurality of radial passage portions as shown by Lijian to further enhance feasibility of liquid cooling and provide efficient cooling with efficient use of space of motor (Lijian, P[0005]).
Re-claim 8, Weili as modified discloses the stator of claim 1, wherein the stator core (3) has axial opposite ends each comprising a cooling chamber (annotated fig.3) in communication with the cooling passages (1).
Re-claim 10, Weili discloses a motor (fig.3 is a motor) comprising: a stator (see fig.3) comprising: a stator core (3) comprising a plurality of teeth and a plurality of slots (annotated fig.4) alternately arranged in a circumferential direction at an inner portion of the stator core (fig.4); a stator coil (annotated fig.3) wound around the teeth (annotated fig.4); and a plurality of cooling passages (1-2,1-5,1-3,1-1,1-4,see fig.1-fig.4) disposed in the stator core (stator yoke) and arranged in the circumferential direction of the stator core ( passages 1-2-1,1-2-2), wherein each of the cooling passages is configured to allow a cooling fluid to flow therethrough (1-2-N are radial passages), and wherein each of the cooling passages (1-2,1-5,1-3,1-1,1-4,see fig.1-fig.4) comprises: a plurality of radial passage portions (1-2-N) disposed at the inner portion of the stator core (see fig.4), extending in a radial direction of the stator core(1-2 are radial passages), and arranged in an axial direction of the stator core (se fig.1, showing 1-2, 1-222, 1-221; and a plurality of axial passage portions (1-3) disposed at (substantially) an outer portion of the stator core, connected to the radial passage portions (1-2), and extending in the axial direction of the stator core (see fig.1-4).
Weili does not explicitly recite or show that the axial passages dispose at an outer portion of the stator.
However, Lijian shows axial passages dispose at an outer portion of the stator (602,402,403,103 are at outer of stator core).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Weili and show that the passages dispose at an outer portion of the stator as shown by Lijian to further enhance feasibility of liquid cooling and provide efficient cooling with efficient use of space of motor (Lijian, P[0005]).
Re-claim 11, Weili as modified discloses the motor of claim 10, wherein the radial passage portions (1-2) are adjacent to a first slot of the plurality of slots (see fig.3) and surround the first slot (between teeth even passages 1-4 are around each slots, they extend axially and radially, thickness).
Re-claim 12, Weili as modified discloses the motor of claim 11, wherein the radial passage portions (1-2, 1-4, between teeth even passages 1-4 are around each slots, they extend axially and radially, thickness) are disposed at first teeth disposed at opposite sides of the first slot among the plurality of teeth (see fig.4, they are all around teeth, around at least one first teeth).
Re-claim 13, Weili as modified discloses the motor of claim 10, wherein the radial passage portions (1-4, or 1-2) are connected to the axial passage portions (1-3) via a plurality of bridge passage portions (1-1).
Re-claim 14, Weili as modified discloses the motor of claim 13, wherein the bridge passage portions (1-1) extend in the radial direction (the passages 1-1 have thickness that also extend radially) of the stator core (fig.4).
Re-claim 15, Weili as modified discloses the motor of claim 10, wherein each of the cooling passages (1, 1-1-1-6) is configured to: allow the cooling fluid to flow in through first axial passage portions (1-3), each disposed at axial opposite ends of the stator core (see fig.3- to 1-4), among the plurality of axial passage portions (1-4,1-3).
Weili fails to explicitly show that discharge the cooling fluid through a first radial passage portion disposed at an axial center of the stator core (annotated fig.3 from Weili) among the plurality of radial passage portions.
However, Lijian shows discharge the cooling fluid through a first radial passage portion disposed at an axial center (of the stator core among the plurality of radial passage portions.
(602,402,403,103 are at outer of stator core).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Weili and show discharge the cooling fluid through a first radial passage portion disposed at an axial center of the stator core among the plurality of radial passage portions as shown by Lijian to further enhance feasibility of liquid cooling and provide efficient cooling with efficient use of space of motor (Lijian, P[0005]).
Re-claim 17, Weili as modified discloses the motor of claim 10, wherein the stator core (3) has axial opposite ends each comprising a cooling chamber (annotated fig.3) in communication with the cooling passages (1).
Claim 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weili in view of Lijian and in further view of Sakamoto (US PG Pub 20240039367 hereinafter “Sakamoto”).
Re-claim 9, Weili as modified discloses the stator of claim 8.
Weili as modified discloses wherein the stator coil comprises a pair of end coil portions protruding outwardly of the stator core in the axial direction (see fig.3 and fig.4).
Weili fails to explicitly show and wherein the end coil portions are configured to be submerged in the cooling fluid filling the cooling chambers.
However, Sakamoto teaches and wherein the end coil portions (3b) are configured to be submerged in the cooling fluid filling the cooling chambers (coil end 3b, submerged in oil, see P[0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Weili wherein the end coil portions are configured to be submerged in the cooling fluid filling the cooling chambers as suggested by Sakamoto to provide starting oil temp increase for device in cold environment, furthermore provide cooling when oil is cooled thru cooler unit (Sakamoto, P[0038,0034]).
Re-claim 18, Weili as modified discloses the motor of claim 17.
Weili as modified discloses wherein the stator coil comprises a pair of end coil portions protruding outwardly of the stator core in the axial direction (see fig.3 and fig.4).
Weili fails to explicitly show and wherein the end coil portions are configured to be submerged in the cooling fluid filling the cooling chambers.
However, Sakamoto teaches and wherein the end coil portions (3b) are configured to be submerged in the cooling fluid filling the cooling chambers (coil end 3b, submerged in oil, see P[0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Weili wherein the end coil portions are configured to be submerged in the cooling fluid filling the cooling chambers as suggested by Sakamoto to provide starting oil temp increase for device in cold environment, furthermore provide cooling when oil is cooled thru cooler unit (Sakamoto, P[0038,0034]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims 1 and 10, respectively and any intervening claims 6,15 respectively.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re-claim 7 recites “iter alia” : “1. A stator comprising: a stator core comprising a plurality of teeth and a plurality of slots alternately arranged in a circumferential direction at an inner portion of the stator core; a stator coil wound around the teeth; and a plurality of cooling passages disposed in the stator core and arranged in the circumferential direction of the stator core, wherein each of the cooling passages is configured to allow a cooling fluid to flow therethrough, and wherein each of the cooling passages comprises: a plurality of radial passage portions disposed at the inner portion of the stator core, extending in a radial direction of the stator core, and arranged in an axial direction of the stator core; and a plurality of axial passage portions disposed at an outer portion of the stator core, connected to the radial passage portions, and extending in the axial direction of the stator core. 6. The stator of claim 1, wherein each of the cooling passages is configured to: allow the cooling fluid to flow in through first axial passage portions, each disposed at axial opposite ends of the stator core, among the plurality of axial passage portions; and discharge the cooling fluid through a first radial passage portion disposed at an axial center of the stator core among the plurality of radial passage portions. 7. The stator of claim 6, wherein the first radial passage portion comprises a discharge passage portion configured to discharge the cooling fluid outside.”
The prior art of record, ai search, ip.com search and PE2E search and references fail to teach the combination of claims 7 and 6 and 1 all together is a unique combination and it does not make sense to keep adding references to reject additional limitations which are not found in any of the references of record alone or combined.
Claim 16 in combination with claim 15 and claim 10 are similar to claim 7, 6 and 1, therefore allowable same as claim 7,6 and 1 containing all the limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834