DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/14/24 comply with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Minamisawa (US 11,493,779).
Regarding claim 1, Minamisawa teaches a module driving device (optical unit 1; claim 1, An optical unit with a shake correction function comprising, a movable body comprising an optical module), comprising, a module holder (movable body 3) configured to hold an optical module (claim 1, a movable body comprising an optical module) including a lens body (lens group 2A (optical element)) and an imaging element (implicitly contained within optical module 2, housing 20, circuit board 25; note: optical module 2 is a complete camera module inherently including an imaging element; claim 1, a movable body comprising an optical module); a connection member (gimbal frame 9; claim 1, the gimbal mechanism comprises: a gimbal frame) connected to the module holder (first connection mechanism 41; claim 1, a first connection mechanism structured to turnably connect the movable body with the gimbal frame around the first axis; note: first connection mechanism connecting movable body 3 to gimbal frame 9) such that the module holder is rockable about a first axial line (first axis R1; claim 1, a gimbal mechanism structured to swingably support the movable body around a first axis intersecting an optical axis; note: movable body 3 swingable supported around first axis R1) that crosses a direction of an optical axis (first axis R1, optical axis L; claim 1, swingably support the movable body around a second axis intersecting the optical axis and the first axis); a fixed-side member (fixed body 5; claim 1, a fixed body which supports the movable body through the gimbal mechanism) connected to the connection member (second connection mechanism 51; claim 1, a second connection mechanism structured to turnably connect the fixed body with the gimbal frame around the second axis; note: second connection mechanism connecting fixed body 5 to gimbal frame 9) such that the connection member is rockable about a second axial line (second axis R2; note: gimbal frame 9 swingably connected to fixed body 5 around second axis R2) that is perpendicular to an axial line direction of the first axial line (second axis R2, first axis R1; claim 1, swingably support the movable body around a second axis intersecting the optical axis and the first axis; note: second axis R2 intersecting optical axis L and first axis R1)); and a driver (drive mechanism 6 includes magnetic drive mechanism 6X; note: col. 4, lines 50-53, magnetic drive (coil and magnet)) configured to move the module holder (3) relative to the fixed-side member (5; shown in fig. 1), wherein the module holder (3) and the connection member (9) that are a first pair (claim 1, a first connection mechanism structured to turnably connect the movable body with the gimbal frame around the first axis), the connection member (9) and the fixed-side member (5) that are a second pair (claim 1, a second connection mechanism structured to turnably connect the fixed body with the gimbal frame around the second axis), or both the first pair and the second pair are connected via two first spherical bodies (first spherical body 444; second spherical body 464; claim 1, the first connection mechanism comprises: a first spherical body; a first spherical body fixing part to which the first spherical body is fixed in one of the movable body and the gimbal frame … the second connection mechanism comprises, a second spherical body; a second spherical body fixing part to which the second spherical body is fixed in one of the fixed body and the gimbal frame) that are disposed so as to face each other across the optical axis and so as to be positioned on an axial line of at least one of the first axial line or the second axial line (col. 4, lines 25-30, as shown in fig. 4, the gimbal mechanism 4 includes first supporting point parts 41 provided at diagonal positions on the first axis ‘R1’ of the movable body 3, second supporting point parts 42 provided at diagonal positions on the second axis ‘R2’ of the fixed body 5; col. 4 ,lines 30-35, the gimbal frame 9 is provided with two first support parts 901 (first spherical body support part) provided at diagonal positions on the first axis ‘R1’ and two second support parts 902 (second spherical body support part) provided at diagonal positions on the second axis ‘R2’), and two corresponding members connected via the first spherical bodies are configured such that one member is rockable relative to another member (movable body 3 rockable relative to gimbal frame 9 around first axis R1 (one member rockable relative to another – first pair; claim 1, a gimbal mechanism structured to swingably support the movable body around a first axis intersecting an optical axis; gimbal frame 9 rockable relative to fixed body 5 around second axis R2 (one member rockable relative to another – second pair; claim 1, a second connection mechanism structured to turnably connect the fixed body with the gimbal frame around the second axis) and so as to be rotatable relative to each other about the optical axis (first spherical body 444, second spherical body 464, optical axis L (members rotatable about optical axis L via spherical body point contact structure); claim 1, a first spherical body support part comprising a first concave curved face which faces the first spherical body fixing part and contacts with the first spherical body in another of the movable body and the gimbal frame, note: spherical point contact enables rotation in all direction including about optical axis L; first concave curved face, first spherical body 444 (first concave curved face contact point enabling rotation); second concave curved face, second spherical body 464 (second concave curved face contact point enabling)).
Regarding claim 2, Minamisawa teaches the module driving device according to claim 1, wherein the module holder (3) and the connection member (9) are connected via the two first spherical bodies (444) (col. 10, lines 35-45, the movable body 3 and the gimbal frame 9 are turnably connected with each other around the first axis ‘R1’; note: first connection mechanism 47 connecting movable body 3 (module holder) and gimbal frame 9 (connection member) via first spherical bodies 444)) that are disposed so as to be positioned on the axial line of the first axial line (two first spherical bodies 444 at two diagonal positions on first axis R1; col. 4, lines 25-35, as shown in fig. 4, the gimbal mechanism 4 includes first supporting point parts 41 provided at diagonal positions on the first axis ‘R1’ of the movable body 3 … and a gimbal frame 9 … provided with two first support parts 901 (first spherical body support part) provided at diagonal positions on the first ais ‘R1’), and at least one of the module holder or the connection member (9), facing each other across the first spherical bodies (444), includes a first groove having a shape of an arc centered on the optical axis (first concave curved face 901a of first support part 901 of gimbal frame 9 (connection member) facing first spherical body 444 – arc shaped concave curved face centered on optical axis L; col. 9, lines 50-60).
Regarding claim 3, Minamisawa teaches the module driving device according to claim 2, wherein the connection member (9) and the fixed-side member (5) are connected via two second spherical bodies (464) (second connection mechanism 48 connecting gimbal frame 9 (connection member) and fixed body 5 (fixed-side member) via second spherical bodies 464; col. 14, lines 10-15, the second connection mechanism 48 includes the second support part 902 of the gimbal frame 9 and the second supporting point part 42 provided in the case 50) that are disposed so as to face each other across the optical axis and so as to be positioned on the axial line of the second axial line, and at least one of the connection member or the fixed-side member, facing each other across the second spherical bodies (two second spherical bodies 464 at two diagonal positions on second axis R2; col. 4 ,lines 30-35, the gimbal frame 9 is provided with two first support parts 901 (first spherical body support part) provided at diagonal positions on the first axis ‘R1’ and two second support parts 902 (second spherical body support part) provided at diagonal positions on the second axis ‘R2’), includes a second groove having a shape of an arc centered on the optical axis (second concave curved face 902a of second support part 902 of gimbal frame 9 – note: arc-shaped concave face centered on optical axis L; col. 10, lines 1-15, the second support part extended part 94 is provided with the second support part 902 having a second concave curve face 902a at its tip end portion. The second concave curved face 902a is formed by press working and is recessed to an inner side in the radial direction. A curvature radius of the second concave curved face 902a is larger than a radius of a second spherical body 464).
Regarding claim 4, Minamisawa teaches the module driving device according to claim 3, wherein the connection member (9) includes a first recess configured to hold the first spherical bodies (first concave curved face 901a of first support part 901 – note: recessed face holding first spherical body 444; col. 9, lines 55-63, the first support part 901 having a first concave curved face 901a at its tip end portion. The first concave curved face 901a is formed by press working and is recessed to an inner side in the radial direction. A curvature radius of the first concave curved face 901a is larger than a radius of a first spherical body 444), and a second recess configured to hold the second spherical bodies (second concave curved face 902a of second support part 902, note: recessed face holding second spherical body 464; col. 10, lines 1-15, the second support part extended part 94 is provided with … the second support part 902 having a second concave curved face 902a at its tip end portion. The second concave curved face 902a is formed by press working and is recessed to an inner side in the radial direction. A curvature radius of the second concave curved face 902a is larger than a radius of a second spherical body 464).
Regarding claim 5, Minamisawa teaches the module driving device according to claim 4, wherein the first recess (first concave curved face 901a at tip end of first support part extended part 93 extending in “-Z” direction (lower side / image side) from gimbal frame 9; col. 9, lines 50-52, the first support part extended part 93 is extended to the ‘-Z’ direction in a straight line shape from the corner part of the first frame portion 91. The first support part extended part 93 is provided with the first support part 901 having a first concave curved face 901a at its tip end portion) and the second recess (second concave curved face 902a at tip end of second support part extended part 94 extending in “-Z” direction (lower side ) from gimbal frame 9; col. 10, lines 1-13, the second support part extended part 94 is provided with a first portion 941 extended to the “-Z” direction from the corner portion of the first frame portion 91 … The third portion 943 is provided with the second support part 902 having a second concave curved face 902a at its tip end portion) are provided on a lower-surface side of the connection member (both first support part 901 (first recess) and second support part 902 (second recess) at tip ends extending to “-Z” direction (lower-surface side) of gimbal frame 9; col. 9, lines 45-55, the second frame portions 92 comprise first support part extended parts 93, which are provided at two corners parts on the first axis “R1” of the gimbal frame 9, and second support part extended parts 94 provided at two corner parts on the second axis “R2” of the gimbal frame 9 – note: both extending to -Z direction).
Regarding claim 6, Minamisawa teaches the module driving device according to claim 3, wherein the connection member (9) includes a portion disposed on an upper side of the fixed-side member (5) (gimbal frame 9 / first frame portion 91 disposed in “+Z” direction (upper side) relative to case 50 (fixed body frame / fixed-side member; col.7, lines 50-57, a part of the gimbal frame 9 is protruded to the “+Z” direction through the opening part 510. Further, a part of the optical module 2 is protruded to the “+Z” direction through a center hole 90 provided at the center in the radial direction of the gimbal frame 9. The first cover 51 is located at an end part in the “+Z” direction of the fixed body 5), the module holder (3) includes a portion disposed on a lower side of the connection member (9) (movable body 3 / holder frame 30 on “-Z” side relative to gimbal frame 9; col. 9, lines 5-15, the first frame portion 91 is overlapped with the housing 20 of the optical module 2 and the holder frame 30 when viewed in the “Z”-axis (optical axis “L”) direction … The first frame portion 91 is located on an inner peripheral side of the holder frame 30), and the first spherical bodies (444) and the second spherical bodies (464) are disposed on the lower side of the connection member (9) (balls 444 and 464 at tip ends of extended parts 93, 94 in “-Z” direction; col. 9, lines 50-60, the first support part extended part 93 is extended to the “-Z” direction in a straight line shape from the corner part of the first frame portion 91. The first support part extended part 93 is provided with the first support part 901 having a first concave curved face 901a at its tip end portion).
Regarding claim 17, Minamisawa teaches an optical device (optical unit 1 with shake correction function; claim 1, an optical unit with a shake correction function comprising: a movable body comprising an optical module), comprising, the module driving device of claim 1; and the optical module (optical module 2) held by the module holder (movable body 3) (2, 3, 30; col. 5, lines 30-36, the movable body 3 includes the optical module 2 and a holder frame 30 (movable body frame) which holds the optical module 2).
Regarding claim 18, Minamisawa teaches the optical device according to claim 17, wherein the optical module includes a module-side fixed member (housing 20 of optical module 2; col. 5, lines 35-40, the optical module 2 includes a housing 20 in a rectangular shape when viewed in the optical axis “L” direction), a lens holder configured to hold the lens body (tube part 26 holding lens group 2A; col. 5, lines 35-45, a tube part 26 protruded to the “+Z” direction from the housing 20, a lens group 2A (optical element) held by the tube part 26), and a module-side driver (lens drive mechanism 27) configured to move the lens holder relative to the module-side fixed member (col. 5, lines 40-45, the lens drive mechanism 27 performs focusing for an object to be photographed by adjusting a lens position of the lens group 2A arranged in the optical axis “L” direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamisawa (US 11,493,779) as applied to claims 1, 3, and 18 above, and further in view of Takei (JP2021071494).
Regarding claim 7, Minamisawa teaches the module driving device, wherein the connection member (9) and the module holder (3) respectively include a attract each other across the first spherical bodies (444), and the connection member (9) and the fixed-side member (5) respectively include a third magnet and a fourth magnet that are disposed so as to attract each other across the second spherical bodies (464). Minamisawa does not specifically teach first magnet and a second magnet that are disposed so as to attract each other across the first spherical bodies, and the connection member and the fixed-side member respectively include a third magnet and a fourth magnet that are disposed so as to attract each other across the second spherical bodies. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Takei teaches the module driving device, wherein first magnet (magnetic components on plate holder 52 (connection member / magnetic material); ¶36, the plate holder 52 is made of a magnetic material) and a second magnet (pressurizing magnet 62, note: pressurizing magnets on plate roll 51 (module holder side); ¶34, multiple pressurizing magnets 62 are fixed to the plate roll annular plate 59 at intervals in the circumferential direction) that are disposed so as to attract each other across the first spherical bodies (pressurizing magnets 62 attracting plate holder 52 across sliding member 53 (first spherical bodies); ¶40, the pressurizing magnet 62 attracts the plate holder 52, which is made of magnetic material, in a direction that brings it closer to the plate holder 52. In other words, the pressurizing magnet 62 constitutes a first pressurizing mechanism 54 that biases the plate roll 51 toward the plate holder 52), and the connection member and the fixed-side member respectively include a third magnet (plate holder annular portion 65 (connection member / magnetic material; ¶42, the plate holder annular portion 65 of the plate holder 52, which is made of magnetic material) and a fourth magnet (first magnet 45 and second magnet 47 on movable body side; ¶32, a first magnet 45 is fixed to the first side wall 35 via a plate-shaped first yoke 44 made of a magnetic material) that are disposed so as to attract each other across the second spherical bodies (first magnet 45 and second magnet 47 attracting plate holder annular portion 65 across bearing interface; ¶42, the first magnet 45 and the second magnet 47 attract the plate holder annular portion 65 in a direction that brings it closer to the plate roll annular portion 57. Therefore, the first magnet 45 and the second magnet 47 constitute a second pressurizing mechanism 55 that biases the plate roll 51 toward the plate holder 52.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Minamisawa with first magnet and a second magnet that are disposed so as to attract each other across the first spherical bodies, and the connection member and the fixed-side member respectively include a third magnet and a fourth magnet that are disposed so as to attract each other across the second spherical bodies of Takei, for the purpose of achieving miniaturization and improved design flexibility (¶5).
Regarding claim 10, Minamisawa further teaches the movable-side member including the module holder (3) and the connection member (9) (col. 4, lines 10-20, the movable body 3 is swingably supported around a first axis “R1” … and is swingably supported around a second axis “R2” … by the gimbal mechanism 4). Minamisawa does not specifically teach the driver includes a plurality of shape memory alloy wires that are provided between a movable-side member and the fixed-side member. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Takei teaches the module driving device, wherein the driver (drive mechanism 28) includes a plurality of shape memory alloy wires (drive member 200; the rolling drive mechanism 28 includes a drive member 200 made of a shape memory alloy. The drive member 200 connects the movable body 20 and the fixed body 23) that are provided between a movable-side member (movable body 20) and the fixed-side member (fixed body 23) (¶61, the drive member 200 connects the movable body 20 and the fixed body 23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Minamisawa with the driver includes a plurality of shape memory alloy wires that are provided between a movable-side member and the fixed-side member of Takei, for the purpose of achieving miniaturization and improved design flexibility (¶5).
Regarding claim 19, Minamisawa further teaches wherein the module-side driver includes a, the module-side movable member including the lens holder (Tube part 26/ lens group 2A; col. 5, lines 30-45, a tube part 26 protruded to the “+Z” direction from the housing 20, a lens group 2A (optical element) held by the tube part 26). Minamisawa does not specifically teach a plurality of module-side shape memory alloy wires that are provided between a module-side movable member and the module-side fixed member. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Takei teaches the optical device, wherein a plurality of module-side shape memory alloy wires (drive members 200 / rolling drive mechanism 28) that are provided between a module-side movable member (movable body 29) and the module-side fixed member (fixed body 23) (¶61, the rolling drive mechanism 28 includes a drive member 200 made of a shape memory alloy. The drive member 200 connects the movable body 20 and the fixed body 23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Minamisawa with a plurality of module-side shape memory alloy wires that are provided between a module-side movable member and the module-side fixed member of Takei, for the purpose of achieving miniaturization and improved design flexibility (¶5).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamisawa (US 11,493,779) in view of Takei (JP2021071494).
Regarding claim 21, Minamisawa teaches an optical device, comprising: a lens holder configured to hold a lens body (tube part 26 holding lens group 2A; col. 5, lines 35-45, a tube part 26 protruded to the “+Z” direction from the housing 20, a lens group 2A (optical element) held by the tube part 26); an imaging element (implicitly contained within optical module 2, housing 20, circuit board 25; note: optical module 2 is a complete camera module inherently including an imaging element; claim 1, a movable body comprising an optical module) holder (housing 20 of optical module 2 and circuit board 25, note: housing 20 surrounds and holds the imaging element in fixed relationship; col. 5, lines 30-45, the optical module 2 includes a housing 20 in a rectangular shape when viewed in the optical axis “L” direction, a circuit board 25 disposed at an end part in the “-Z” direction of the housing 20) provided so as to be immovable relative to an imaging element (housing 20 and circuit board 25 (carrying imaging element) in fixed immovable relationship, note: circuit board 25 is fixedly disposed at end of housing 20; col. 5, lines 30-45, a circuit board 25 disposed at an end part in the “-Z” direction of the housing 20) that is disposed to face the lens body (imaging element on circuit board 25 faces lens group 2A (lens body) through tube part 26 along optical axis L; col. 5, lines 30-45, a lens group 2A (optical element) held by the tube part 26, and a lens drive mechanism 27 (see fig. 4 and 5) disposed in an inside of the housing 20); a module-side driver (lens drive mechanism 27; col. 5, lines 30-45, the lens drive mechanism 27 performs focusing for an object to be photographed by adjusting a lens position of the lens group 2A arranged in the optical axis “L” direction) configured to move the lens holder (tube part 26 and lens group 2A) relative to a module-side fixed member (housing 20) (col. 5, lines 30-45, the lens drive mechanism 27 performs focusing for an object to be photographed by adjusting a lens position of the lens group 2A arranged in the optical axis “L” direction; note: lens drive mechanism 27 moves tube part 26 / lens group 2A (lens holder) relative to housing 20 (module-side fixed member)) including the imaging element holder (col. 5, lines 30-45, a circuit board 25 disposed at an end part in the “-Z” direction of the housing 20; note: housing 20 as module-side fixed member including circuit board 25 (carrying imaging element)); a module holder (movable body 3 and holder frame 30; col. 5, lines 30-45, the movable body 3 includes the optical module 2 and a holder frame 30 (movable body frame) which holds the optical module 2) configured to hold the module-side fixed member (col. 5, lines 30-45, the movable body 3 includes the optical module 2 and a holder frame 30 (movable body frame) which holds the optical module 2; note: holder frame 30 holds optical module 2 including housing 20 (module-side fixed member)); a connection member (gimbal frame 9; claim 1, the gimbal mechanism comprises, a gimbal frame) connected to the module holder (claim 1, a first connection mechanism structured to turnably connect the movable body with the gimbal frame around the first axis; note: first connection mechanism 47 connecting gimbal frame 9 to movable body 3 / holder frame 30) such that the module holder (3) is rockable about a first axial line that crosses a direction of an optical axis (claim 1, a gimbal mechanism structured to swingably support the movable body around a first axis intersecting an optical axis; note: movable body 3 swingably supported around first axis R1 intersecting optical axis L); a fixed-side member (fixed body 5 / case 50; claim 1, a fixed body which supports the movable body through the gimbal mechanism) connected to the connection member (9) (second connection mechanism 48 connecting fixed body 5 to gimbal frame 9; claim 1, a second connection mechanism structured to turnably connect the fixed body with the gimbal frame around the second axis) such that the connection member is rockable about a second axial line (gimbal frame 9 swingably connected around second axis R2; claim 1, a second connection mechanism structured to turnably connect the fixed body with the gimbal frame around the second axis) that is perpendicular to an axial line direction of the first axial line (second axis R2 intersects optical axis L and first axis R1 – perpendicular to first axis R1; claim 1, swingably support the movable body around a second axis intersecting the optical axis and the first axis) wherein the module holder (movable body 3) and the connection member (gimbal frame 9) that are a first pair (claim 1, a first connection mechanism structured to turnably connect the movable body with the gimbal frame around the first axis), the connection member (gimbal frame 9) and the fixed-side member (fixed body 5) that are a second pair (claim 1, a second connection mechanism structured to turnably connect the fixed body with the gimbal frame around the second axis), or both the first pair and the second pair are connected via two first spherical bodies (first spherical body 444 (first connection mechanism) and second spherical body 464 (second connection mechanism); claim 1, the first connection mechanism comprises, a first spherical body; and claim 1, the second connection mechanism comprises, a second spherical body) that are disposed so as to face each other across the optical axis (col. 4, lines 20-40, two first support parts 901 (first spherical body support part) provided at diagonal positions on the first axis “R1” and two second support parts 902 (second spherical body support part) provided at diagonal positions on the second axis “R2”) and so as to be positioned on an axial line of at least one of the first axial line or the second axial line (first spherical body 444 on first axis R1; second spherical body 464 on second axis R2; col. 4, lines 20-40, the gimbal mechanism 4 includes first supporting point parts 41 provided at diagonal positions on the first axis “R1” of the movable body 3, second supporting point parts 42 provided at diagonal positions on the second axis “R2” of the fixed body 5), and two corresponding members connected via the first spherical bodies are configured such that one member is rockable relative to another member ((first pair) movable body 3 rockable relative to gimbal frame 9 around first axis R1; col. 4, lines 10-20, the movable body 3 is swingably supported around a first axis “R1” perpendicular to the optical axis “L” (“Z”-axis) and is swingably supported around a second axis “R2” perpendicular to the optical axis “L” and the first axis “R1” by the gimbal mechanism 4; and (second pair) first concave curved face 901a and first spherical body 444 enabling rotation about optical axis L; second concave curved face 902a and second spherical body 464 enabling rotation about optical axis L; col. 9, lines 50-65, the first support part extended part 93 is provided with the first support part 901 having a first concave curved face 901a at its tip end portion. The first concave curved face 901a is formed by press working and is recessed to an inner side in the radial direction. A curvature radius of the first concave curved face 901a is larger than a radius of a first spherical body 444) and so as to be rotatable relative to each other about the optical axis (444, 901a, L; col. 4, lines 25-40, the gimbal mechanism 4 is assembled so that the first support part 901 is point contacted with the first supporting point part 41 and the second support part 902 is point contacted with the second support point part 42). Minamisawa does not specifically teach a driver configured to move the module holder relative to the fixed-side member. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Takei teaches the module driving device, wherein a driver (roller drive mechanism 28 / SMA drive member 200; ¶61, the rolling device mechanism 28 includes a drive member 200 made of a shape memory alloy. The drive member 200 connects the movable body 20 and the fixed body 23) configured to move the module holder (movable body 20) relative to the fixed-side member (fixed body 23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of a driver configured to move the module holder relative to the fixed-side member of Takei, for the purpose of achieving miniaturization and improved design flexibility (¶5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 11, 12, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not disclose the claimed module driving device specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the first spherical bodies and the second spherical bodies are formed of a magnetic material.”
Specifically, with respect to claim 9, is objected to the same reason as claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art does not disclose the claimed module driving device specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the driver includes a plurality of first shape memory alloy wires that are provided between a first movable portion including the module holder and a second movable portion including the connection member, and the plurality of shape memory alloy wires that are provided between the movable-side member and the fixed-side member include a plurality of second shape memory alloy wires that are provided between the second movable portion and the fixed-side member.”
Specifically, with respect to claim 12, is objected to the same reason as claim 11.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art does not disclose the claimed module driving device specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the plurality of module-side shape memory alloy wires include two third shape memory alloy wires disposed at two positions that are apart from each other in an axial line direction of the second axial line across the lens holder, and two fourth shape memory alloy wires disposed at two positions that are apart from each other in the axial line direction of the first axial line across the lens holder, wherein the two third shape memory alloy wires cross each other as viewed in the axial line direction of the second axial line, and the two fourth shape memory alloy wires cross each other as viewed in the axial line direction of the first axial line.”
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103 would be improper.
Regarding claim 13, the closest prior art Minamisawa (US 11,493,779) teaches a module driving device (optical unit 1; claim 1, An optical unit with a shake correction function comprising, a movable body comprising an optical module), comprising, a module holder (movable body 3) configured to hold an optical module (claim 1, a movable body comprising an optical module) including a lens body (lens group 2A (optical element)) and an imaging element (implicitly contained within optical module 2, housing 20, circuit board 25; note: optical module 2 is a complete camera module inherently including an imaging element; claim 1, a movable body comprising an optical module); a connection member (gimbal frame 9; claim 1, the gimbal mechanism comprises: a gimbal frame) connected to the module holder (first connection mechanism 41; claim 1, a first connection mechanism structured to turnably connect the movable body with the gimbal frame around the first axis; note: first connection mechanism connecting movable body 3 to gimbal frame 9) such that the module holder is rockable about a first axial line (first axis R1; claim 1, a gimbal mechanism structured to swingably support the movable body around a first axis intersecting an optical axis; note: movable body 3 swingable supported around first axis R1) that crosses a direction of an optical axis (first axis R1, optical axis L; claim 1, swingably support the movable body around a second axis intersecting the optical axis and the first axis); a fixed-side member (fixed body 5; claim 1, a fixed body which supports the movable body through the gimbal mechanism) connected to the connection member (second connection mechanism 51; claim 1, a second connection mechanism structured to turnably connect the fixed body with the gimbal frame around the second axis; note: second connection mechanism connecting fixed body 5 to gimbal frame 9) such that the connection member is rockable about a second axial line (second axis R2; note: gimbal frame 9 swingably connected to fixed body 5 around second axis R2) that is perpendicular to an axial line direction of the first axial line (second axis R2, first axis R1; claim 1, swingably support the movable body around a second axis intersecting the optical axis and the first axis; note: second axis R2 intersecting optical axis L and first axis R1)); and a driver (drive mechanism 6 includes magnetic drive mechanism 6X; note: col. 4, lines 50-53, magnetic drive (coil and magnet)) configured to move the module holder (3) relative to the fixed-side member (5; shown in fig. 1), wherein the module holder (3) and the connection member (9), the connection member (9) and the fixed-side member (5), or both the module holder and the connection member and the connection member and the fixed-side member are connected via two first spherical bodies (first spherical body 444; second spherical body 464; claim 1, the first connection mechanism comprises: a first spherical body; a first spherical body fixing part to which the first spherical body is fixed in one of the movable body and the gimbal frame … the second connection mechanism comprises, a second spherical body; a second spherical body fixing part to which the second spherical body is fixed in one of the fixed body and the gimbal frame) that are disposed so as to face each other across the optical axis.
However, regarding claim 13, the prior art Minamisawa taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest a module driving device, comprising the first spherical bodies are formed of a magnetic material, and two corresponding members connected via the first spherical bodies include a first magnet and a second magnet that are disposed so as to attract each other across the first spherical bodies, in combination with all other claimed limitation of claim 13.
With respect to claims 14-16, these claims depend on claim 1 and are allowable at least for the reason stated supra.
Conclusion
/HENRY DUONG/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 07/11/26