DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim(s) 20-21, 30-31 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim (s) 6 of U.S. Patent No. (11,617,035 B2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant application which merely disclose in substance of “determining characteristic of room based on sensor and audio data” is a broader aspect of the patented claims and thus would have been anticipated by the prior patented as presented.
Claim(s) 20-21, 30-31 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim (s) 17 of U.S. Patent No. (12,185,066 B2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant application which merely disclose in substance of “determining characteristic of room based on sensor and audio data” is a broader aspect of the patented claims and thus would have been anticipated by the prior patented as presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-24, 26, 28-34, 36, 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a (2) as being anticipated by Robinson et al. (US 11,222,385).
20. (New) A system comprising: an audio device comprising a microphone (fig.4 (435)); a non-acoustic sensor configured to provide sensor data (fig.4 (425, 430)), wherein the audio device and the non-acoustic sensor are located in a room (fig.2/4 (110); col.6 line 25-67); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the audio device and the non- acoustic sensor, any of the one or more processors configured to: receive audio data from the microphone; receive the sensor data from the non-acoustic sensor (fig.4 (420); fig.6 (620/130); col.18 line 15-20 & col.19 line 1-15); responsive to receiving the audio data and the sensor data, determine one or more characteristics of the room based on both the audio data and the sensor data (col.4 line 40-67 & col.5 line 35-45; col.8 line 45-67); and modify an operational characteristic of the system based on the one or more characteristics of the room (col.13 line 1-6; col.19 line 55-67).
21. (New) The system of claim 20, wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the one or more characteristics of the room by determining a configuration of the room based on both the audio data and the sensor data (col.4 line 40-67 & col.5 line 35-45; col.8 line 45-67).
22. (New) The system of claim 21, wherein the configuration of the room comprises one or more of positions or orientations of one or more objects in the room (col.4 line 60-col.5 line 15).
23. (New) The system of claim 21, wherein the configuration of the room comprises a material of one or more objects in the room (col.6 line 25-67 & col.7 line 1-15).
24. (New) The system of claim 21, wherein the configuration of the room comprises one or more of a dimension of the room or a shape of the room (col.8 line 50-67).
26. (New) The system of claim 20, wherein the one or more processors are configured to modify the operational characteristic of the system by adjusting an operational characteristic of the audio device (col.13 line 1-6; col.19 line 55-67).
28. (New) The system of claim 20, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: responsive to receiving the audio data and the sensor data, determine a location in the room of a device of the system based on both the audio data and the sensor data; and generate an augmented reality image of the room including the device of the system based on the determined location in the room of the device (fig.1-2/4 (110); col.2 line 50-67; col.4 line 40-col.5 line 15).
29. (New) The system of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate the augmented reality image by indicating optimal locations for the device of the system in the room based on both the audio data and the sensor data (fig.1-2/4 (110); col.2 line 50-67; col.4 line 40-col.5 line 15).
30. (New) A method comprising: receiving audio data at one or more processors from a microphone of an audio device (fig.4 (435)); receiving sensor data at the one or more processors from a non-acoustic sensor, wherein the audio device and the non-acoustic sensor are located in a room (fig.4 (420); fig.6 (620/130); col.6 line 25-67; col.18 line 15-20 & col.19 line 1-15); responsive to receiving the audio data and the sensor data, determining one or more characteristics of the room based on both the audio data and the sensor data, using the one or more processors (col.4 line 40-67 & col.5 line 35-45; col.8 line 45-67); and modifying, using the one or more processors, an operational characteristic of a system based on the one or more characteristics of the room, wherein the system comprises the audio device, the non-acoustic sensor, and the one or more processors (fig.6 (600); col.13 line 1-6; col.19 line 55-67)..
31. (New) The method of claim 30, wherein determining the one or more characteristics of the room comprises determining a configuration of the room based on both the audio data and the sensor data, using the one or more processors col.4 line 40-67 & col.5 line 35-45; col.8 line 45-67).
32. (New) The method of claim 31, wherein the configuration of the room comprises one or more of positions or orientations of one or more objects in the room (col.4 line 60-col.5 line 15).
33. (New) The method of claim 31, wherein the configuration of the room comprises a material of one or more objects in the room (col.6 line 25-67 & col.7 line 1-15).
34. (New) The method of claim 31, wherein the configuration of the room comprises one or more of a dimension of the room or a shape of the room (col.8 line 50-67).
36. (New) The method of claim 30, wherein modifying the operational characteristic of the system comprises adjusting an operational characteristic of the audio device (col.13 line 1-6; col.19 line 55-67).
38. (New) The method of claim 30, further comprising: responsive to receiving the audio data and the sensor data, determining a location in the room of a device of the system based on both the audio data and the sensor data, using the one or more processors; and generating an augmented reality image of the room including the device of the system based on the determined location in the room of the device, using the one or more processors (fig.1-2/4 (110); col.2 line 50-67; col.4 line 40-col.5 line 15).
39. (New) The method of claim 38, wherein generating the augmented reality image comprises indicating optimal locations for the device of the system in the room based on both the audio data and the sensor data, using the one or more processors (fig.1-2/4 (110); col.2 line 50-67; col.4 line 40-col.5 line 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (US 11,222,385) and Andrews et al. (US 2013/0190041 A1).
25. (New) The system of claim 20, wherein the non-acoustic sensor comprises one or more cameras (fig.4 (425/430)), however, none of the prior art specify as wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the one or more characteristics of the room based on the sensor data from each of the one or more cameras and based on the audio data (Robinson, col.18 line 15-20 & col.19 line 1-15).
However, Robinson neve specify of triangulation being used. However, Andrews et al. disclose of the general concept of determining certain characteristics in a room according to triangulation algorithm (par [18]). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect related to triangulation being used in determining characteristic so as to determine direction or position according to a particular algorithm using the various input signals.
Th claim(s) 35 which in substance disclose of the same feature as that to claim(s) 25 has been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 27, 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (US 11,222,385) and Kaburlasos et al. (US 10,080,095 B2).
27. (New) The system of claim 20, but the prior art lacked of the specific as (wherein the one or more processors are configured to modify the operational characteristic of the system by adjusting an operational characteristic of a camera.
However, kaburlasos et al. disclose of the similar aspect related to processors are configured to modify the operational characteristic of the system by adjusting an operational characteristic of a camera (col.4 line 40-55). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted aspect related to processors are configured to modify the operational characteristic of the system by adjusting an operational characteristic of a camera so as to provide the optimal spatialized sound according to current monitor conditions.
Th claim(s) 37 which in substance disclose of the same feature as that to claim(s) 27 has been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/DISLER PAUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695