DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonezaki et al. (WO2019/159381) in view of Niwa et al. (US Patent Application No. 2017/0218232).
Regarding claim 1, Yonezaki et al. teach a pressure sensitive adhesive sheet (paragraph [0005]) that comprises a pressure sensitive adhesive layer (paragraph [0005]) formed from a water dispersed pressure adhesive composition (paragraph [0069]) comprising an acrylic polymer as a base polymer (paragraph [0050]), and a support substrate sheet having first and second faces, supporting the pressure sensitive adhesive layer at least on the first face (paragraphs [0005], [0016]), wherein the substrate comprises a layer forming the first face (paragraphs [0016], [0078]) and the layer comprises an ether based polyurethane (paragraphs [0078], [0080]).
Yonezaki et al. fail to teach wherein the substrate comprises a colored layer. However, Niwa et al. teach a pressure sensitive adhesive sheet (page 1, paragraphs [0003], [0008]) that comprises a pressure sensitive adhesive layer (page 1, paragraph [0008]) formed from a water dispersed pressure sensitive adhesive composition comprising an acrylic polymer as a base polymer (page 1, paragraph [0010], page 11, paragraph [0130]) and a support substrate sheet having first and second faces, supporting the pressure sensitive adhesive layer at least on the first face (page 1, paragraph [0015]), wherein the substrate comprises a colored layer forming the first face (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 14, paragraph [0157]), and the colored layer comprises a polyurethane (page 13, paragraphs [0141], [0143]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the colored layer of Niwa et al. on the substrate of Yonezaki et al. in order to bring about desirable design or optical properties in the PSA sheet (page 14, paragraph [0157]).
Regarding claim 2, Yonezaki et al. teach wherein the acrylic polymer is crosslinked with one species or a combination of two or more species of crosslinking agents selected among oxazoline-based crosslinking agent, carbodiimide-based crosslinking agents, epoxy-based crosslinking agents and isocyanate-based crosslinking agents (paragraphs [0050], [0070]).
Regarding claim 3, Yonezaki et al. teach wherein the pressure sensitive adhesive layer has a thickness of 1 µm to 20 µm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 10 µm or greater and 50 µm or less (paragraph [0011]).
Regarding 4, Yonezaki et al. fail to teach wherein the substrate comprises a first colored layer forming the first face and a second colored layer forming the second face, and a first pressure sensitive adhesive layer is placed on the first face of the substrate and a second pressure sensitive adhesive layer is placed on the second face of the substrate. However, Niwa et al. teach a pressure sensitive adhesive sheet (page 1, paragraphs [0003], [0008]) that comprises a pressure sensitive adhesive layer (page 1, paragraph [0008]) formed from a water dispersed pressure sensitive adhesive composition comprising an acrylic polymer as a base polymer (page 1, paragraph [0010], page 11, paragraph [0130]) and a support substrate sheet having first and second faces, supporting the pressure sensitive adhesive layer at least on the first face (page 1, paragraph [0015]), wherein the substrate comprises a colored layer forming the first face (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 14, paragraph [0157]), and the colored layer comprises a polyurethane (page 13, paragraphs [0141], [0143]), wherein the substrate comprises a first colored layer forming the first face and a second colored layer forming the second face, and a first pressure sensitive adhesive layer is placed on the first face of the substrate and a second pressure sensitive adhesive layer is placed on the second face of the substrate (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 14, paragraph [0157]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the colored layers of Niwa et al. on the substrate of Yonezaki et al. in order to bring about desirable design or optical properties in the PSA sheet (page 14, paragraph [0157]).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwa et al. (US Patent Application No. 2017/0218232) in view of Yonezaki et al. (WO2019/159381).
Regarding claim 1, Niwa et al. teach a pressure sensitive adhesive sheet (page 1, paragraphs [0003], [0008]) that comprises a pressure sensitive adhesive layer (page 1, paragraph [0008]) formed from a water dispersed pressure sensitive adhesive composition comprising an acrylic polymer as a base polymer (page 1, paragraph [0010], page 11, paragraph [0130]) and a support substrate sheet having first and second faces, supporting the pressure sensitive adhesive layer at least on the first face (page 1, paragraph [0015]), wherein the substrate comprises a colored layer forming the first face (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 14, paragraph [0157]), and the colored layer comprises a polyurethane (page 13, paragraphs [0141], [0143]).
Niwa et al. fail to teach wherein the polyurethane is an ether-based polyurethane. However, Yonezaki et al. teach a pressure sensitive adhesive sheet (paragraph [0005]) that comprises a pressure sensitive adhesive layer (paragraph [0005]) formed from a water dispersed pressure adhesive composition (paragraph [0069]) comprising an acrylic polymer as a base polymer (paragraph [0050]), and a support substrate sheet having first and second faces, supporting the pressure sensitive adhesive layer at least on the first face (paragraphs [0005], [0016]), wherein the substrate comprises a layer forming the first face (paragraphs [0016], [0078]) and the layer comprises an ether based polyurethane (paragraphs [0078], [0080]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ether-based polyurethane of Yonezaki et al. as the substrate of Niwa et al. in order to provide heat stability and lightness of weight (Yonezaki et al., paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 2, Niwa et al. teach wherein the acrylic polymer (page 1, paragraph [0010], page 11, paragraph [0130]) is crosslinked with one species or two or more species of crosslinking agents selected among oxazoline-based crosslinking agents, carbodiimide-based crosslinking agents, epoxy-based crosslinking agents and isocyanate-based crosslinking agents (page 10, paragraph [0116]).
Regarding claim 3, Niwa et al. teach wherein the pressure sensitive adhesive layer has a thickness of 150 µm or less and 5 µm or greater which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 10 µm or greater and 50 µm or less (page 12, paragraph [0136]).
Regarding claim 4, Niwa et al. teach wherein the substrate comprises a first colored layer forming the first face and a second colored layer forming the second face, and a first pressure sensitive adhesive layer is placed on the first face of the substrate and a second pressure sensitive adhesive layer is placed on the second face of the substrate (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 14, paragraph [0157]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 8/3/2026