Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations “control unit configured to receive”, “connection module to perform”, “control unit determines”, and “control unit receives”, have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder “unit” and “module” coupled with functional language “receive”, “perform”, and “determine”, without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 6-10 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ochi (WO 2006106684).
Regarding claim 1, Ochi discloses a method of wireless communication (reception control method that receives radio waves in a predetermined frequency band at a current position of a mobile body; [0012]), comprising:
receiving, via a control unit mounted on a vehicle, at least one driving parameter of the vehicle (sensor 500 is disposed in the vehicle, detects a movement state of the vehicle, that is, a traveling state, and outputs a predetermined detection signal to the connected movement support device 600 and the reception control device 700. sensor unit 621 of the navigation main body 620 detects the movement state of the vehicle, that is, the current position, the driving situation, and the like; [0032-0034]);
determining, via the control unit, whether a condition is met according to the at least one driving parameter (the reception state determination unit 742 recognizes that the vehicle is not traveling, that is, stops or slows down; [0053]); and
controlling, via the control unit, a wireless connection module mounted on the vehicle to perform automatic channel selection (ACS), when the control unit determines that the condition is met; wherein the condition comprises that the vehicle is in an idle state (When the reception state determination unit 742 recognizes that the vehicle is not traveling, that is, stops or slows down, based on the travel state signal output from the movement state recognition unit 710, the reception state determination unit 742 performs automatic channel selection scan processing; [0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Ochi discloses wherein the at least one driving parameter comprises speed, acceleration, or engine speed of the vehicle (the reception state determination unit 742 recognizes that the vehicle is not traveling, that is, stops or slows down; [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Ochi discloses wherein the condition further comprises that the vehicle switches to the idle state from a driving state (If the reception state judging means 742 recognizes that the vehicle is stopped or slowing down, it acquires traffic jam information from the mobility support device 600, and stops or slows down due to traffic jam based on the current position information and traffic jam information; [0053]).
Regarding claim 6, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, Ochi discloses wherein the control unit receives the at least one driving parameter from an on-board diagnostic, a sensor, or a global positioning system (sensor 500 is disposed in the vehicle, detects a movement state of the vehicle, that is, a traveling state, and outputs a predetermined detection signal to the connected movement support device 600 and the reception control device 700; [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochi (WO 2006106684) in view of Smith et al. (US 20190376431).
Regarding claim 4, Ochi discloses wherein the control unit determines that the vehicle is in the driving state in response to a determination that the at least one driving parameter is higher than the threshold (based on the speed data, it is determined whether or not the force is lower than a preset traveling speed, which is a preset threshold value, and it is determined whether or not the vehicle is traveling, slowing down or stopping; [0048]).
Ochi does not expressly disclose wherein the control unit determines that the vehicle is in the idle state in response to a determination that the at least one driving parameter is lower than a threshold for more than a specific period of time and the vehicle is not stalled.
In an analogous art, Smith discloses wherein the control unit determines that the vehicle is in the idle state in response to a determination that the at least one driving parameter is lower than a threshold for more than a specific period of time and the vehicle is not stalled (Information retrieved from the cloud may include a preview of upcoming traffic conditions, type of roads, accidents along the route, stalled or stopped vehicles, and the like. For example, when a long stretch of downward sloping road is detected, it may indicate a coasting condition. Information relayed within the vehicle network may include one or more of vehicle speed, an average speed of vehicles within the vehicle network, duration for which the speed is maintained, and the like. For example, when the average speed of the vehicle is less than a threshold, the threshold being 5 mph, for example, a congestion in the traffic may be deduced. In other examples, when higher average speeds are maintained for longer duration, it may indicate cruising conditions. In still other examples, when the average speed of the vehicles in the network is lower for longer period of time, then it may indicate an extended idle condition; [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features of Smith into the system of Ochi in order to efficiently determine a current and a future driving condition based on a communication within a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) network (Smith; [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 4.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochi (WO 2006106684) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230053134).
Regarding claim 5, Ochi does not expressly disclose wherein the control unit determines whether the vehicle switches from the driving state to the idle state according to a previous state stored in a memory; wherein the previous state is the state that the vehicle was in before a period of time; wherein the previous state is the idle state or the driving state.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses wherein the control unit determines whether the vehicle switches from the driving state to the idle state according to a previous state stored in a memory; wherein the previous state is the state that the vehicle was in before a period of time; wherein the previous state is the idle state or the driving state (the state change histories may be recorded when the vehicles are operated differently from operation patterns for respective vehicles. For example, this may correspond to the case in which the autonomous driving system exits an idle state differently from an operation pattern, as in the situation in which the corresponding vehicle starts autonomous driving at a time at which the vehicle is usually parked and therefore in an idle state, or the situation in which the vehicle is usually traveling in a manual driving mode, but suddenly switches to an autonomous driving mode; [0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features of Kim into the system of Ochi in order to maximize the efficiency of computing resources of an autonomous vehicle, which has strong computing power, but is in an idle state most of the time (Kim; [0009]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kimura et al. (US 20140173679), “DIGITAL BROADCAST RECEIVER AND INFORMATION UPDATING METHOD THEREFOR.”
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413