DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11-14-2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 29, the phrase “the vehicle” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carcanague, et. al., U.S. Patent Number 10,809,388, published October 20, 2020.
As per claims 14 and 29, Carcanague discloses a control system comprising a control device of a vehicle, the control device programmed to:
receive at least one position signal of a global navigation satellite system by way of a navigation sensor of the vehicle (Carcanague, Fig. 1B);
determine an estimated vehicle position based on the at least one received position signal (Carcanague, Fig. 1B obs data);
determine an estimated relative velocity of the vehicle with respect to the global navigation satellite system at least based on multiple received position signals of the global navigation satellite system (Carcanague, Col. 17, lines 12-20);
receive correction values for the estimated vehicle position and the estimated relative velocity from a server based on a communication device of the vehicle (Carcanague, Fig. 1B, from 1500);
and determine a corrected vehicle position and a corrected relative velocity based on the received correction values, wherein at least one of a pseudo-range, a Doppler shift, and a measured vehicle velocity is taken into consideration by the control device (Carcanague, Fig. 1B, 1100).
Carcanague fails to explicitly disclose determining an estimated vehicle position before applying correction values. As a GPS signal is received, position is known and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to being with an estimated position in order to gain the benefit of having an approximate location of the vehicle while refining with the additional data.
As per claim 15, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 14, wherein the control device is further programmed to transmit the corrected vehicle position and the corrected relative velocity based on the communication device to the server (Carcanague, Col. 41, 29-39).
As per claim 16, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 15, wherein the correction values provided by the server are position-dependent and satellite-dependent, and the server continuously updates a map of the position-dependent and satellite-dependent correction values (Carcanague, Col. 26, lines 15-45).
As per claim 17, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 14, wherein the vehicle includes at least one velocity sensor, which is coupled with the control device, and wherein the control device is further programmed to transmit the corrected vehicle position and the corrected relative velocity to the server at least when the control device determines based on at least one measured value of the velocity sensor that the vehicle is stationary or moves at a constant overland velocity (Carcanague, Col. 41, lines 29-34).
Carcanague fails to expressly disclose transmitting the data when the vehicle is stationary or at a constant velocity. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to decide when to transmit, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Carcanague.
As per claim 18, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 17, wherein the control device is further programmed to determine the corrected vehicle position and the corrected relative velocity additionally at least based on a measured value of the velocity sensor (Carcanague, Col. 23, lines 30-45).
As per claim 19, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 17, wherein the control device is further programmed to determine the estimated relative velocity of the vehicle additionally at least based on a measured value of the velocity sensor (Carcanague, Col. 17, lines 13-30).
As per claim 20, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 14, wherein the control device is further programmed to receive topographic map information or a vehicle trajectory from the server or a trajectory planner, and determine the corrected vehicle position and the corrected relative velocity of the vehicle additionally at least based on the topographic map information or the vehicle trajectory (Carcanague, Col. 17, lines 42-47 where track angle is trajectory).
As per claim 21, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 20, wherein the control device is further programmed to determine at least one vehicle velocity vector based at least on the corrected vehicle position and the corrected relative velocity (Carcanague, Col. 17, lines 13-41).
As per claims 22 and 33, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 21, wherein the control device is further programmed to solve a single combined position-dependent and velocity-dependent optimization task to determine the corrected vehicle position and the corrected relative velocity (Carcanague, Col. 23 lines 30-50 corrections engine).
As per claim 23, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 22, wherein the correction values comprise at least time shifts between a vehicle system clock of the vehicle and a system clock of the global navigation satellite system (Carcanague, Col. 16, lines 45-60 clock drift).
As per claim 24, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 23, wherein the corrected vehicle position and the corrected relative velocity are used to control driving functionalities of the vehicle (Carcanague, Col. 2, lines 48-55).
As per claim 25, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 14, further comprising the navigation sensor and the communication device, wherein the control device is coupled at least with the navigation sensor and the communication device (Carcanague, Col. 2, lines 40-55).
As per claims 26 and 30, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 14, wherein the pseudo-range is taken into consideration by the control device when determining the corrected vehicle position and the corrected relative velocity (Carcanague, Col. 11, lines 9-15).
As per claims 27 and 31, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 14, wherein the Doppler shift is taken into consideration by the control device when determining the corrected vehicle position and the corrected relative velocity (Carcanague, Col. 17, lines 20-23).
As per claims 28 and 32, Carcanague further discloses the control system of claim 14, wherein the measured vehicle velocity is taken into consideration by the control device when determining the corrected vehicle position and the corrected relative velocity (Carcanague, Col. 17, lines 13-30).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646